Need advice on JMB

TSlex11
post Feb 27 2020, 04:49 PM, updated 6y ago

153 posts

Hi all! I need some help in getting the right direction to seek some legal advice concerning condo's Joint Management Body (JMB). My building JMB hasn't done a proper in building maintenance for many years and some of the residents are getting really frustrated with the non-performing JMB. Can someone provide contact details of authority/legal resources that I can contact and send my questions to? Are the any reading materials regarding the power of JMB that I can go through? By the way, I live in Ampang?

Thanks a lot!
MeToo
post Feb 27 2020, 04:53 PM

9,333 posts

If all the residents are frustrated, why not vote them out, they are elected by you the resident
stryfox
post Feb 27 2020, 04:56 PM

354 posts

go to COB and lodge a complaint
Hades76
post Feb 27 2020, 05:04 PM

680 posts

Ministry of local housing and development can help. Go ask them.

I also had the same issues before. However, if the residents are frustrated then must go to JMB meeting and voice out. Most of the time residents are too lazy of busy to attend and thus the JMB goes into a rotten mode.

Its by law you need a JMB now so the powers and process is well documented.
Zwean
post Feb 27 2020, 05:10 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 27 2020, 04:53 PM)
If all the residents are frustrated, why not vote them out, they are elected by you the resident
If management office play proxy game how?

Got solution?
MeToo
post Feb 27 2020, 05:15 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Feb 27 2020, 05:04 PM)
Ministry of local housing and development can help. Go ask them.

I also had the same issues  before. However, if the residents are frustrated then must go to JMB meeting and voice out. Most of the time residents are too lazy of busy to attend and thus the JMB goes into a rotten mode.

Its by law you need a JMB now so the powers and process is well documented.
This is basically the problem.

Owners just whine in WA group etc, but refuse to get organised and step up. So just noise with no concrete work done.

Just like my JMB, always got that 1 or 2 fella who complain this and that. We urge them to come to during the meeting to voice out their concern, but every meeting never show up. How lah?
Hades76
post Feb 27 2020, 05:20 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 27 2020, 05:15 PM)

Owners just whine in WA group etc, but refuse to get organised and step up. So just noise with no concrete work done.

Just like my JMB, always got that 1 or 2 fella who complain this and that. We urge them to come to during the meeting to voice out their concern, but every meeting never show up. How lah?
No choice but to organise the meeting and state there no quorum is needed to pass any resolution. Then if got only 3 people there, you all set the rules lah.

Its drastic, but no choice. Just have to bulldoze. Ensure all minutes is taken care off and distributed properly.
CaEsAr HaIrI
post Feb 27 2020, 05:22 PM

Hi TS,

Please download Akta 757 Pengurusan Strata to have better understanding on JMB/MC. You might find something from there.
CaEsAr HaIrI
post Feb 27 2020, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 27 2020, 05:15 PM)

People like to complaint if the problem directly involve them self, the fact is some of the owner never pay the maintenance fee. When JMB don't have the fund to maintain the apartment,flat,condo then bigger problem will arise. It is a headache for JMB to collect from those who never pay their bill. COB also the same, always let JMB to settle their problem and occasionally provide advice. If you have a strong JMB committee it might help to do the awareness campaign, but JMB committee also have other works to do.

TSlex11
post Feb 28 2020, 10:57 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(CaEsAr HaIrI @ Feb 27 2020, 05:22 PM)
Hi TS,

Please download Akta 757 Pengurusan Strata to have better understanding on JMB/MC. You might find something from there.
Thanks for the tip!
TSlex11
post Feb 28 2020, 10:59 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(stryfox @ Feb 27 2020, 04:56 PM)
go to COB and lodge a complaint
What does COB stand for? Sorry, not familiar with that abbreviation.
Yveatel
post Feb 28 2020, 11:01 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Feb 27 2020, 05:10 PM)
If management office play proxy game how?

Got solution?
as far as I know, one person can only be one proxy. New rules I think. so, yeah, no more one management get 200 proxies
Yveatel
post Feb 28 2020, 11:02 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(lex11 @ Feb 28 2020, 10:57 AM)
Thanks for the tip!
go buy, online version not up to date, does not have the Regulation 2015 at the back
Zwean
post Feb 28 2020, 11:28 AM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Feb 28 2020, 11:01 AM)
as far as I know, one person can only be one proxy. New rules I think. so, yeah, no more one management get 200 proxies
They prepare one stack of proxy forms.

Then ask every owner if they can attend, if cannot they will ask them sign proxy form.

Then come in Bangla Pakistani all also got vote heavily biased towards management. They don't understand English, so how do they know how to vote?

And when raise hands all raise together, you know I know confirm follow someone indication.
Yveatel
post Feb 28 2020, 11:31 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Feb 28 2020, 11:28 AM)
They prepare one stack of proxy forms.

Then ask every owner if they can attend, if cannot they will ask them sign proxy form.

Then come in Bangla Pakistani all also got vote heavily biased towards management. They don't understand English, so how do they know how to vote?

And when raise hands all raise together, you know I know confirm follow someone indication.
this confirm violation and exploitation of loopholes of the Act, so the management can stay in power and continue makan duit. pakat with your neighbout and vote in to be JMB, no need many, at least majority. then when inside, kick the management company out
Zwean
post Feb 28 2020, 11:41 AM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Feb 28 2020, 11:31 AM)
this confirm violation and exploitation of loopholes of the Act, so the management can stay in power and continue makan duit. pakat with your neighbout and vote in to be JMB, no need many, at least majority. then when inside, kick the management company out
Last AGM 40+ owners and 40+ proxies.

Many owners uncertain of the story. So votes are split. Terrible.
Yveatel
post Feb 28 2020, 11:57 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Feb 28 2020, 11:41 AM)
Last AGM 40+ owners and 40+ proxies.

Many owners uncertain of the story. So votes are split. Terrible.
you do not need AGM to remove management company. When you said JMB is doing terrible job, most likely is the management company which is controlling from behind. As you said, most owners are not aware of the strata law. Some management company dont even know the law, and continue to suck the money from condo.
Zwean
post Feb 28 2020, 11:59 AM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Feb 28 2020, 11:57 AM)
you do not need AGM to remove management company. When you said JMB is doing terrible job, most likely is the management company which is controlling from behind. As you said, most owners are not aware of the strata law. Some management company dont even know the law, and continue to suck the money from condo.
Committee selected are puppets, and do not carry out the will of the owners.

Suspect that they may be part of the issue.
Yveatel
post Feb 28 2020, 12:21 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Feb 28 2020, 11:59 AM)
Committee selected are puppets, and do not carry out the will of the owners.

Suspect that they may be part of the issue.
so, vote yourself in and kick out management company...

Zwean
post Feb 28 2020, 12:24 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Feb 28 2020, 12:21 PM)
so, vote yourself in and kick out management company...
With 40 proxies?

Management chosen committee members 40 votes all of them.

All non selected around 25 votes saja.

0.0177sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:26 PM