4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

dzi921
post Sep 4 2007, 03:01 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(menghong68 @ Sep 4 2007, 02:55 PM)
how if i install XP then want to switch back to the vista then i need to modify the bios back to the default setting right?
Yes, correct smile.gif

Btw, the way of changing the BIOS to install XP was recommended by Dell. It is fast and easy

But there are others that suggest to load this driver while installing XP
http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/...1&fileid=205611
By doing this, there is no need to change BIOS settings

*I've not tried this. Lazy to format computer again
dzi921
post Sep 6 2007, 07:28 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Sep 5 2007, 10:40 AM)
guys, i have a problem for my audio... The volume icon notification on the taskbar seems to make loud system sound when i adjust the volume there... any idea?  hmm.gif
In the Volume Control, Goto Options -> Properties -> Tick the PC Speaker

You will see another bar called PC Speaker, adjust it lower

Hope this help
dzi921
post Sep 6 2007, 02:13 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Sep 6 2007, 10:52 AM)
Hi, I also experience this "tak" high pitched sound one in a while, can anyone confirm me what the problem it is?
QUOTE(ramp_r @ Sep 6 2007, 01:21 PM)
Hmm.... me too though....
Wow, both of you can hear high pitched sound which no other normal human ear can hear sweat.gif

<joking>
dzi921
post Sep 6 2007, 07:00 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Sep 6 2007, 06:27 PM)
well, i can heard the hard disk running sound too when at quiet environment.
When I first got the laptop I can hear that sound too. But after few days of using, now no more sound

Must be that time v*rgin hdd spinning, now loose liao sweat.gif
dzi921
post Sep 8 2007, 08:24 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(kingmax @ Sep 8 2007, 01:09 AM)
Is it hard disk or the pitched noise ? If hard disk , means your vista had finish indexing your file while if the high pitched noise stop means you are actually or overall running cpu usage 30% or more which trigger power status mode to C2 or even C1.
That's a very decent answer smile.gif But I'm on XP from day 1. Didn't even boot into Vista, straight away format it to XP

Don't know where the pitched noise came, but now no more. Not even the hardisk spinning sound. Used to hear it for the first few days... or is it that my ears are immuned to it already hmm.gif
dzi921
post Sep 11 2007, 05:49 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(lks84 @ Sep 11 2007, 05:35 PM)
i installed a new driver for the webcam and now it wont work??? should i reinstall back the old driver or wat?

Help
XP or Vista?

If it is XP, after install it, you might want to update it again via Windows Update

For Vista, I'm not sure sweat.gif
dzi921
post Sep 16 2007, 09:36 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 16 2007, 09:20 AM)
do you guys buy a cooling pad for ur laptop?
With this model I don't see the need. It's not that hot
dzi921
post Sep 16 2007, 09:37 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 16 2007, 09:22 AM)
Not at all. Ha! Ha!
You also on Inspiron 1520?
dzi921
post Sep 17 2007, 02:33 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Sep 17 2007, 02:15 PM)
Hi, mhave anybody experience their 1520 hang before? seems like i get it yesterday, was running some program and suddenly, hang  dry.gif
Was shock to see this because for the last few weeks never experience hang before.
Never had this problem on XP, but I never push it that hard...
dzi921
post Sep 22 2007, 06:00 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Update - Official for Dell Insipron 1520 XP

R158235 STAC 92XX C-Major HD Audio (09-13-2007)
-Sigmatel STAC92XX C-Major HD Audio Driver
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...3&fileid=211297

R147115 D330,HDA,MDC,v.92,modem (09-20-2007)
-Conexant D330 HDA MDC WinXP/Win2K Modem Driver V.7.59.00.50
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...0&fileid=195675

This post has been edited by dzi921: Sep 22 2007, 06:22 PM
dzi921
post Sep 22 2007, 06:07 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Updated (22/09/2007) - Tested Working

Installing Windows XP on Dell Inspiron 1520

Before you install XP, you must first configure a setting in BIOS else XP CD will not detect your hardisk

In BIOS:
Onboard Devices -> Flash Cache Module -> Set Off
Onboard Devices -> SATA Operation -> Set ATA

Ok, you can now proceed with installing XP

Dell Inspiron 1520 XP Drivers (Complete)
*Best to install in sequence

For more updates, check out Dell Inspiron 1520 Drivers & Downloads official page
http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...=WLH&hidlang=en

R153997 Mobile Chipset (06-26-2007)
-The Intel(R) Chipset Software Installation Utility installs Windows* INF files to the target system. These files outline to the operating system how to configure the Intel(R) chipset components in order to ensure that the following features function properly: - Core PCI and ISAPNP Services - PCIe Support - IDE/ATA33/ATA66/ATA100 Storage Support - SATA Storage Support - USB Support - Identification of Intel(R) Chipset Components in the Device Manager
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...7&fileid=205326
*Must install this first

R141246 R5C833 (06-26-2007)
-Ricoh Memory Card Drivers for Vista 32-Bit and XP/2K
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...7&fileid=188377

R160738 GeForce 8400M/8600M (09-03-2007)
-nVidia 101.38 WHQL Windows XP-32bits Driver for G86/G84
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...6&fileid=215217

R158235 STAC 92XX C-Major HD Audio (09-13-2007)
-Sigmatel STAC92XX C-Major HD Audio Driver
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...3&fileid=211297

R149798 440x 10-100 Integrated Controller (06-26-2007)
-Broadcom 4401/B0 Ethernet Drivers
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...5&fileid=198980

R147115 D330,HDA,MDC,v.92,modem (09-20-2007)
-Conexant D330 HDA MDC WinXP/Win2K Modem Driver V.7.59.00.50
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...0&fileid=195675

R164255 Intel(R) PRO-Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (08-14-2007)
-Installer package for driver version 11.1.1.22 and Intel PROSet/Wireless utility version 11.1.1.7 supporting Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN Mini Card and Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection Mini Card on Windows XP and Windows 2000 operating systems.
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...5&fileid=220545

R161378 Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module (Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR) (08-08-2007)
-Dell Wireless Bluetooth 355 driver release for Windows XP32 bit OS
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...5&fileid=216131

R160323 Laptop Integrated Webcam (09-03-2007)
-This combo driver packages supports both 0.3M CCD and 2M CCD of cameras.
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...7&fileid=214676
*If this doesn't work, you might want to try the driver from Windows Update

R155586 Touchpad-Pointing Stick (06-26-2007)
-Combined 32-Bit Touchpad Driver for XP/2K and Vista
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...7&fileid=207655

1520_A03 Inspiron 1520 System BIOS (08-20-2007)
-Dell Inspiron 1520 FlashBIOS
Download: http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...1&fileid=221269

This post has been edited by dzi921: Sep 22 2007, 06:21 PM
dzi921
post Sep 23 2007, 08:43 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Sep 22 2007, 09:29 PM)
man. use less than a month began to have 1 dead pixel on my screen dee ohmy.gif

is this normal or dells product fault shakehead.gif
How to test whether the LCD has dead pixel?
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 08:21 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Andy-7M @ Sep 24 2007, 12:59 AM)
Hello there,

my name's Andy and I'm a new 1520 Inspiron black owner and fan from middle Europe.

I got my laptop two weeks ago and screwed win vista after couple of days while trying to
use partition magic (although the OS warning me). So, I deleted everything and installed
a fresh copy of Win XP pro w/ SP2.

Got all the drivers, so there are no errors or questionmarks under device manager or
event manager. The BIOS is also tunned as some of you mentioned in the first post. Also, it's flashed and up to date.
Everything's looks pretty smooth and cosy. But...

I haven't got much of opportunities to burn CDs or DVDs recently until today. I try and burn a CD-R only to
find out that it's empty
. Actually, my girlfriend can see it's empty on her asus laptop while mine laptop
gets tired of trying to read something from the CD it wrote to. I tried switching the media to Verbatim CD-R and still no luck.
And while I was trying to verify data written, Nero prompted that it will discontinue error check due to too much errors.
Oh wel... I've read that Nero 7 is kinda buggy... Next Nero 7 was removed from the system. I will probably try to burn
once again using Nero 6 but... I doubt that it will help. Just didn't attempt to write any of DVD yet.

A couple of minutes ago I erased one of my 4X speed CD-RWs using Windows XP integrated right-mouse-menu command and then
dragged and dropped a video of 150MB. Burned with no errors, but still, could only open it to see it's empty.

What's the problem guys? Any ideas? Faulty writer? Any other solutions than bringing the laptop to the service center?

In any case, I got error log from Nero. Maybe that could explain in more details if anybody would be willing to help.

A million thanks in advance. I would appreciate any input.

A.

p.s. the two attachements: the log and the picture, generated while Nero6 failed to check the written CD-RW.
[attachmentid=300229]
[attachmentid=300230]
I'm on XP and using Nero.Burning.Rom.7.10.1.0
No problem with burning CDR, CDRW & DVDR

Maybe you have a hardware problem. You can try consult Dell helpdesk. Don't worry if it is under warranty, they will replace
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 03:26 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(sanzo86 @ Sep 24 2007, 01:07 PM)
y we need to charge our battery more than 8 hours for the 1st time?
sweat.gif Got such thing? Didn't know...
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 05:17 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 24 2007, 04:40 PM)
http://dellstore01.sg.dell.com/public/cata...17139224132903#

guys do check this bundle out.....it's kinda cheap drool.gif
Linik not valid
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 09:08 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Andy-7M @ Sep 24 2007, 07:22 PM)
Any way to test it in more details?

Well, I'm probably bringing it to the helpdesk, 'cause I can't imagine of any other way to test it...
The helpdesk told me to just bring the laptop.
I don't know how to test

After you have call Dell, can you post how they tell you to test?
dzi921
post Sep 25 2007, 08:11 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Andy-7M @ Sep 24 2007, 10:20 PM)
I told them every detail same as here, but the only option is to bring the laptop to the service.

Anyway, what's the OS you're using?
Maybe this has something to do with the installation of win xp when turning off some features in BIOS...  blink.gif
I'm using XP Pro (DELL OEM CD from another DELL computer) with the BIOS Settings disabled

Aren't they suppose to come to your place for service? Where are you supposed to bring your laptop to service?
dzi921
post Oct 20 2007, 11:23 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Hayumi @ Oct 20 2007, 10:57 PM)
I'm getting this brand of laptop from dell.
Buying it online...
I'm getting flamingo pink.
How long do you think I will get it?

The tread is long and i cant read all... hehehe... Just read 1st post and last...
If they have stock and you are lucky, you will get it in <5 days (which I did)

Else if no stock, you might need to wait 2 to 4 weeks

You can try to call up and ask them when they will deliver
dzi921
post Oct 24 2007, 04:09 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 24 2007, 03:33 PM)
it seems that all dell 1520 has vista preinstalled.i have an original vista ultimate, if i talk to the dell salesperson on not wanting the vista, do u think the laptop price will be reduced?
In short. No!
dzi921
post Jan 2 2008, 08:41 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

New BIOS is out A04
http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloa...1&fileid=233235

I've tried. No problemo smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top