DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here
djlah
Apr 22 2008, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(smudge @ Apr 22 2008, 10:15 PM) hey.i'm new here.got the 1520 for a few months now.nway have a few Q's to ask. is it possible to change the color kit&where can i do it? & is it possible if dont have the build-in webcam can add in later?? hehe. thanks in advance for webcam, definitely cannot add on in future if request to dell. about back color kit not too sure. may ask the sales rep and see.
djlah
May 18 2008, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(clivengu @ May 18 2008, 05:28 PM) I think reason many get Insipiron 1520 is bcause of this: Lower price and higher spec...and you can customize. But what you get in return is a lower build quality and outlook (personal opinion .pls don flame me  ) Im planning to get a laptop with 3.5k below and still has up to certain requirements. I check around, Hp, Asus, lenovo, Vaio, compaq... and i cant deny the fact that Inspiron series still d most affordable. What stop me from buying right away is d news of 1535 is releasing this 26may 2008. And the design is very much convincing (from pictures) If this is true.. I will be getting a perfect laptop with: 1: Low price 2: Good Spec 3: Good Design But will they new generation Inspiron maintain their lower price range is smthing im worry about as they seem to include a lot of new features in it. And also I have to get the laptop before end of next month. Will it worth waiting? I guess not worth to wait, as usually new model launch; the cost bit higher. 1435, 1535, 1536, 1735 will not offer on the lowest price I bet.
djlah
May 29 2008, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ May 29 2008, 02:02 PM) well better PC Backup for Vista Business, but u lose Windows Media Center, Windows DVD Maker. Pls correct me if i am wrong. more features add for business edition, almost near the ultimate features but all entertainments features remove like windows media center. business edition should cost more, if not mistaken. QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 29 2008, 02:28 PM) oO but i heard vista business only can support IIS n home premium don have yes, business, enterprise and ultimate will have IIS function. others 2 version nope.
djlah
May 29 2008, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 29 2008, 04:56 PM) but tht means if wan upgrade to business then i need uninstall windows media center 1st? i wan to ask, wat's the reason and main point u wan upgrade to business edition at first?
djlah
May 29 2008, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 29 2008, 06:22 PM) act i taking IT course.n need do some programming n database..but i duno home premium sufficient to me or not.n mayb need previous assignment i need IIS only can do the work.thts y i duno whether need upgrade or not in this case, you need to upgrade to business edition to get the IIS work coz premium no such features. meanwhile, windows media center function will disable. i guess you will put ur IT course at first priority rite, after complete the course then can use back ur home premium for entertainment. heheh....
djlah
Jun 6 2008, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jun 6 2008, 11:12 PM) Wow GOOd specs.and price much better than what i have paid for before. What i read before on some reviews,DELL wireless can be a little bit more difficult to get a successful connection compared to Intel wireless. For games i think WXGA is fine. but for better photos viewing, WXGA+ recommended. I use WXGA because i intend to games. Added on June 6, 2008, 11:15 pmMost Dell nowadays got pre-installed Bluetooth.maybe u can call them to verify this.  to add on: if the system is free-dos or no os bundled. then will not have internal bluetooth option.
djlah
Jun 21 2008, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(Vorx @ Jun 21 2008, 09:12 AM) Just wondering...How many slots are there for the RAM? 2? 4? of course is only 2 slots for all standard normal notebook.
djlah
Jul 7 2008, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 7 2008, 04:15 PM) im using everest and rmcpu clock yeah~ I try a few software, at last I still felt Everest Ultimate is the best..... for me
djlah
Jul 20 2008, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jul 19 2008, 10:10 PM) GUYS...bad news. Dell does not offer Nvidia 8600M GT on the inspiron line except the Inspiron 1720. They only supplied the 1520 with the lower GPU 8400M GS. Don't know whether this will stay on until they discontinue the model. so probably we can't expect anymore members with the same GPU. Maybe DELL realised that 1520 is more value for money than the new STudio Line.  erm.... inspiron - studio - XPS from here we can see that inspiron is most value machine. studio are in between. but now the price are slightly high coz just launch. usually is like that. for SOHO, will be starting from vostro, latitude, mobile precision for desktop, also got from inspiron desktop, studio desktop and XPS desktop.
djlah
Aug 16 2008, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(Ranny @ Aug 16 2008, 12:57 AM) thx for the recommendation alexnvidia. huh? how come i did not notice got infrared in this laptop? how do i enable the infra red and where it located? sorry, new to tech thingy  the infra red only design for the remote control, not for others usage like data transfer. located at front of the center touchpad.
djlah
Aug 20 2008, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(s373n @ Aug 20 2008, 11:14 AM) just wondering ... Inspiron 1525 has no "Centrino" technology? inspiron 1525 is Centrino system if you opt for intel wireless card when purchased. if you select dell wireless card then no lor...
djlah
Aug 24 2008, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Aug 23 2008, 10:11 PM) Hmm, since my laptop now is running smoothly, I think I should just stick to my current 2GB dual channel RAM. Anyway, just now have a chance to take a look at DELL 1525 and I found that the body material is not the same as 1520. It feels very plasticky and I dont think it is magnesium alloy  . Anyone can verify? The looks of 1525 is quite nice though.  i guess inspiron is not fully magnesium alloy. if anyone need better chassis build, can consider Vostro.
djlah
Aug 29 2008, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 28 2008, 11:23 PM) hmm..can vista let user set a time tht user wan to auto shut down? i always wan to shut down itself especially after i finish dl my things when im slping..any idea? alternatively, suggest that if using some of bt client software have a function to shutdown computer when the task complete downloaded.
djlah
Aug 30 2008, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 29 2008, 07:21 PM) got the software link?? im not using bt client..just FTP dl..n once i closed lid then my connection also will close nowadays, some of famous bt client software can handled FTP or HTTP download too.....
djlah
Aug 31 2008, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Aug 31 2008, 12:51 PM) and also lately when i on my lappy,the blue screen comes out once in awhile,and the problem caused is this: Problem signature: Problem Event Name: BlueScreen OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3 Locale ID: 17417 Additional information about the problem: BCCode: c5 BCP1: 0000FDF8 BCP2: 00000002 BCP3: 00000000 BCP4: 8190315E OS Version: 6_0_6001 Service Pack: 1_0 Product: 768_1 Files that help describe the problem: C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini083108-01.dmp C:\Users\Wil14\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-98639-0.sysdata.xml C:\Users\Wil14\AppData\Local\Temp\WERCF5F.tmp.version.txt Any idea what izit? BCCode: c5 is refer to Bug Check 0xC5: DRIVER_CORRUPTED_EXPOOLcan using dumpchk.exe to check your C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini083108-01.dmp for more detail information regarding this BSOD.
djlah
Sep 18 2008, 07:32 AM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 18 2008, 12:59 AM) err..means?? drain faster than vostro? meant Latitude better.... not only battery. in term of quality build are also much more better too..