đŸłď¸â€đŸŒˆ LGBTQ Community, Discussion regarding LGBTQ

TSinternaldisputes
post May 27 2020, 09:36 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Federal Court allows challenge to Syariah jurisdiction on unnatural sex

The Federal Court has granted leave for a challenge filed by a man who was charged in the Selangor Syariah High Court with attempting to commit unnatural sexual intercourse.

The application from the man challenged the constitutionality of Section 28 of the Syariah Criminal Offences (Selangor) Enactment 1995 on "Sexual intercourse against the order of nature"...

Subscribe to Malaysiakini to read more: https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/527383

This post has been edited by internaldisputes: May 27 2020, 09:36 AM
TSinternaldisputes
post May 27 2020, 02:58 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Understanding the Laws Against Us and What We Can Do About Them
Source: https://www.queerlapis.com/the-laws-against-us/

NATHALIE tries to distil the knowledge and insight on the current anti-LGBTQ laws in Malaysia from ‘DISKUSI: The Laws Against Us’. She writes from the perspective of a practising lawyer and ally who firmly believes in free access to legal knowledge.

Applying the law can sometimes be like using a crude and blunt tool to repair a delicate object. But, what of the situation where there is nothing to fix?

This is the case for the enforcement of laws against consensual, private acts by LGBTQ individuals. Like many laws, they affirm certain moral values, which in turn justify the existence of such laws. This creates an endless cycle—a feedback loop—that not only excuses many types of violence against LGBTQ persons, but also makes it much more difficult to change narratives, whether in the public sphere or in parliament (for civil laws) or state legislative assemblies (for Syariah laws).

This was the major underlying theme during the online discussion ‘DISKUSI: The Laws Against Us’ organised by LGBTQ communities on 11 May 2020. Moderated by Gavin Chow, it featured activists Yee Shan and Mus, and legal experts Nurul, Andi and Alicia. The speakers not only provided a comprehensive overview of the existing legal framework—both civil and Syariah—but also addressed the systemic and institutional nature of discrimination and violence against LGBTQ persons, and the practical limitations of getting legal help as a queer person in Malaysia.

The layers of discrimination

The discrimination experienced by LGBTQ persons in the legal system in Malaysia has many layers to it, but generally fall under 2 categories:
  • direct; and
  • indirect (systemic or institutionalised).
The legal speakers at DISKUSI did a brilliant job explaining both the types of laws that are directly discriminatory, as well as indirectly discriminatory against LGBTQ persons in Malaysia.

The laws that indirectly, or systemically, or institutionally discriminate against LGBTQ persons, or even non-LGBTQ persons who are associated with LGBTQ persons or the community, or perceived to have LGBTQ qualities, were also a point of discussion, for example:
  • Section 377A (read with 377B) of the Penal Code (criminalising both consensual and non-consensual oral and anal intercourse) being used almost exclusively against LGBTQ persons, even though cis-heterosexual people may also be charged for engaging in oral and anal sex;
  • Section 5 of the Film Censorship Act 2002 (criminalising possession, custody or control of films which are obscene or against public decency) being used to ban homosexual content in films, with the exception of homosexual characters having to ‘repent’ (read: become straight), be portrayed in a negative light or befell misfortune.
Recently, 12 men were arrested and charged in November 2019 at the Selangor Syariah High Court. 9 men were charged under Section 28 of the Selangor Syariah law (criminalising consensual and non-consensual sexual intercourse against the order of nature with any man, woman or animal). The 3 other men were charged for abetment and conspiracy under the Selangor Syariah law.

Section 28 is another example of a law that, while applicable to even cisgender and heterosexual persons, is more likely, if not almost exclusively, wielded against the LGBTQ community.

Institutions are not people, but they run on people

During DISKUSI, a participant reflected that he has received a mix of positive and negative experiences as a transgender male lawyer.

This goes to show that institutionalised discrimination is not a numbers game. It is not a case of ‘bad apples’ spoiling the stock. An institution can be inherently discriminatory without having to reach a certain percentage of ‘discriminatory’ people.

It is heartening to note that the Malaysian courts have given the LGBTQ community cause for victory, such as the Court of Appeal’s decision in 2014 which declared that the Section 66 of the Negeri Sembilan State Syariah Criminal Enactment which criminalises males who dress or pose as women, or “cross-dress”, as being unconstitutional because they were inconsistent with Articles 5 (Right to life and personal liberties), 8 (Right to equality and non-discrimination), 9 (Right to freedom of movement) and 10 (Freedom of speech, assembly and association) of the Federal Constitution.

Yet such victories are often hard-won through many years of litigation. These positive stories are also rarely heard in personal anecdotes from many LGBTQ persons. This is because, aside from laws that discriminate against LGBT persons, there are many fears and stigmas which are almost exclusive to LGBTQ persons, that are not directly attributed to the legal system, such as the fears of:
  • being outed;
  • publicity in the mass media;
  • being ostracized by their family and community;
  • their employers finding out;
  • spiritual or religious consequences.
Such fears and stigma may be strong motivating factors for queer people to plead guilty for consensual private acts, avoid seeking help and sometimes even ‘return to the right path’, just so that they can be free of the criminal justice system as soon as possible. On top of this, the lack of access to justice and information to LGBTQ persons arising from the legal system can also create huge problems.

Lack of access to justice & information

It was interesting to note the challenges and issues that activists Yee Shan and Mus respectively faced when monitoring cases in which LGBT persons were prosecuted for consensual sex acts, notably the lack of access to:
  • resources and information on where to get help;
  • mental health services;
  • safe spaces;
  • resources (e.g. shelters, counselling) relating to domestic violence.
More depressingly, they also highlighted the way the system does not encourage or facilitate access to the above, and in fact, sometimes discourages LGBT persons from getting help particularly from activist groups.

Intersectional discrimination

The diskusi on DISKUSI aside, it is important to remember that no two LGBTQ persons’ experience with discrimination in law and legal enforcement are the same.

From arrest to sentencing, there are various stages in which many characteristics will come into play in determining your chances of getting fair and just treatment in the criminal justice system, such as the tone of your skin and the quality of your clothes. Some LGBTQ people are also more visible than others, and that visibility can make them more prone to bullying, harassment and other forms of discrimination and violence. For example, the queerness of certain transgender women is more visible than others.

The level of access to justice can also vary from person to person. Traditionally, access to justice is understood as access to legal representation. However, in a broader sense, it also includes access to legal information, affordable legal fees, etc.

The mental health of an LGBTQ person can be affected by whether they are able to confide in others about their experiences in the criminal justice system and whether they have family and community who will support them during the process – whether it is by giving spiritual, moral or financial support. Some LGBTQ persons are also more likely than others to be wrongfully dismissed at work if the employer finds out.

It is only by recognizing that different people can experience discrimination and violence from the enforcement of anti-LGBTQ laws, that we can begin to build our vision of a better legal framework.

What you can do
  1. Going to court and filing a judicial review

Unfortunately, this option is only available to those who are considered to be ‘adversely affected’ (as opposed to a stranger) by the decision of a ‘public authority’ (as opposed to a private entity). Only such persons can file a judicial review against a decision that is unconstitutional.

Judicial review can be costly for many, but there may be law firms out there who would be willing to do the job pro-bono. Law firms that are known for strategic litigation are your best bet. Note that you only have 3 months from the date of the decision to file for leave for judicial review, so you need to move fast and consult a lawyer as soon as possible.
  2. Amending or abolishing anti-LGBTQ laws

Only Members of Parliament or State Assembly Representatives can amend or abolish anti-LGBTQ laws. Unless you have your lawmaker on speed dial, you have to resort to other methods of persuasion. There are various ways to pressure the majority of the day to change the laws, ranging from writing for QueerLapis (starting by clicking on this link to submit your article) to being quietly subversive in your own everyday life.
Concluding remarks

All the above shows that discrimination and violence against LGBTQ persons do not just happen on an individual level. They also occur on a wider, systemic level, which is not only used to, but favourable towards, individuals who fit traditional forms of gender expression, sexual orientation and gender identity (a.k.a. cis-heteronormative).

Dismantling any discriminatory laws requires time and must be done in tandem dismantling discriminatory mindsets within the community. For the law is nothing but an expression of the general will of the people.

This post has been edited by internaldisputes: May 27 2020, 02:59 PM
TSinternaldisputes
post May 28 2020, 09:49 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

FAQ on the Federal Court case challenging Selangor’s Syariah law on unnatural sex
Source: https://www.queerlapis.com/faq-on-the-feder...-unnatural-sex/

The news has just broken on a number of ongoing civil court cases that will impact all Malaysians, especially LGBTQ people.

Sexual intercourse against the order of nature under Section 28 of Shariah Criminal Offences (Selangor) Enactment 1995 is being challenged for the first time at both the Federal Court and the High Court. Here is everything you need to know.

What are these cases about?

Queer Lapis reported on the 11 men (now 12) who were charged under Section 28 (read together with Section 52) for attempting to have sex. The men were arrested in November 2018 and have trials in the Syariah courts in late 2019. See here for an introduction to the case.

One of the men who pleaded not guilty to the charge has gone to civil courts to challenge these charges by filing two applications:
  • A judicial review* at the High Court which argues that Section 28 is invalid for going against the human rights principles in the Federal Constitution, and;
  • A petition** to the Federal Court, arguing that the Selangor state does not have the authority to enact Section 28.
*Leave for the judicial review was granted in January 2020. Leave means that the judge has established that the case is valid and they have allowed the full and substantive hearing to take place later. However, the judicial review action has been put on hold so that the petition could commence.

**Leave for the petition was granted on 14 May 2020 and the decision was publicised on 27 May 2020.

See here for excellent news coverage by Malay Mail and Malaysiakini.

Is there a summary of the outcome of the Federal Court hearing?

A summary of the leave hearing and the full decision made by the judge can be accessed here.

What are the problems with Section 28?

Here is are some infographics that show why Section 28 is unconstitutional and how it impacts our rights.

What are LGBTQ groups saying about this case?

Here is a snippet of the joint statement released by the LGBTIQ network in Malaysia regarding the case:

Spokespersons for the LGBTIQ+ Network, Thilaga Sulathireh, Numan Afifi, and Chong Yee Shan, stated, ‘Based on past experience, some may claim this is petition is against religion, but this is fundamentally a petition against injustice and inhumanity’, adding ‘We hope to discuss the erosion of boundaries between federal and state, privacy and community and reasons for the increasingly hysterical discrimination against LGBT persons.’

Although states do have the power to enact Muslim laws, they cannot when a law already exists — as in, Item 1 of the State List which allows for ‘creation and punishment of offences by persons professing the religion of Islam against precepts of that religion ‘except in regard to matters included in the Federal List’. Section 28 of the Syariah Criminal Offences (Selangor) overlaps with Section 377 and 377A of the Penal Code, a Federal law. It is inconsistent with the Federal Constitution.

Read here for the full statement.

I want to join the LGBTQ community in fighting for their constitutional rights! How can I help?
  1. Donate. Pelangi Campaign estimates that our community needs to raise at least RM200,000 for the entire duration of this legal battle. The money is needed for legal fees, financial support for the 11 men, and mental health support. Please PayPal or bank in donations to Pelangi Campaign at 8603744100 (CIMB) and email the slip to ask@pelangicampaign.org
  2. Get involved. Fill up this form and we will contact you promptly on how you can help.
  3. Share your story. We are collecting stories of LGBTQ experiences for research on how these laws affect us and to raise a case against discrimination. Fill up this form to share them with us confidentially.
Law is not one of my strengths. Is there anything I could read to help me learn more?

Here are some legal resources that Queer Lapis has prepared for your knowledge:External reading and helpful articles:

This post has been edited by internaldisputes: May 28 2020, 09:51 AM
TSinternaldisputes
post May 29 2020, 06:36 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

WalidAnakBulus My bf and I still haven't reached our one-year anniversary yet, so I probably isn't qualified enough to comment about your relationship. But it sure sounds like your partner is the toxic one. sweat.gif

In the past year I've seen plenty of homosexual relationships who treat each other as equals, even the ones practicing open-relationships. I've even met someone who is in a loving "trouple" relationship. If you have the impression that the local gay community is toxic, maybe you need to switch your circle of friends because based on my experience that couldn't be further from the truth.
TSinternaldisputes
post May 30 2020, 10:50 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(openuptheeconomy @ May 29 2020, 10:07 PM)
Are any of you consider migrating ?
What are your plans / strategies ?
There is a guy who is planning to migrate to Switzerland in previous pages if I'm not mistaken.

To be honest, this is the worst year to plan for migration with the coronavirus and all. sweat.gif

QUOTE(skyblue8 @ May 29 2020, 10:21 PM)
I believe you know the answer to your questions. It seems very double standard, if you ask me and not an equal partnership.

If you are comfortable with it, then is fine.

If it was me, I would not be able to accept it.
Yeah, I would've packed my bags a long time ago. Maybe there is a reason why he can't leave his emotionally abusive bf.
TSinternaldisputes
post May 31 2020, 10:27 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4970408&hl=

Most of the replies in this thread are really wholesome. wub.gif
TSinternaldisputes
post May 31 2020, 10:29 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ May 31 2020, 01:50 AM)
Got PM asking me about Sarah Benjamin celebrating her lesbian marriage with Marcia Ong. oh well it's kinda surprised yes since I didn't know she's part of LGBT but I'm always big fan of her since she won food Hero show.

Congrats to her to anyway really happy for her. smile.gif
Congratulations to her! Love her wedding—it's very simple and elegant. biggrin.gif

In case you guys wanna check out the photos, go here: https://www.theknot.com/real-weddings/a-fre...s-angeles-album
TSinternaldisputes
post May 31 2020, 05:28 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ May 31 2020, 01:46 PM)
Had to close my thread in Kopitiam. Yeah the bigots just won't leave queers alone. :/ Getting anal about dildo usage and comparing homo marriage with pedophilia are fucking stupid.
I expected nothing more from the average ktards. sweat.gif

Sorry to hear that. I read it yesterday and it was a great thread, though. Hope you won't feel detered to share more LGBT news/stories because of the few vocal homophobes.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 1 2020, 03:13 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Malaysian man wins right to challenge country’s Islamic anti-gay laws in court
Source: https://www.gaytimes.co.uk/community/136481...-laws-in-court/

The highest court in Malaysia has granted a 30-year-old Muslim man the right to challenge the country’s Islamic anti-gay laws which prohibit sex “against the order of nature.” The man’s identity has been withheld for his own protection.

In 2018, the man involved in the case was arrested for attempting to engage in gay sex, he has denied the charge. The country has a dual-track legal system for its 13 states, in which Islamic criminal and family laws applicable to Muslims run alongside civil laws.

The man is arguing that the Selangor state, in which he was arrested in, had no power to enforce the Islamic ban on “intercourse against the order of nature” as it was already a crime in the country’s civil law. Malaysia’s constitution says a state cannot exact a law when the same law already exists at a national level.

The case was granted the right to be heard on 14 May, but it was only on Wednesday (27 May) that the decision became public.

Speaking to Reuters, Surendra Ananth said: “This will be the first. (If we win), the state law will be struck down and the criminal charges in the (Islamic) shariah court should be dropped.” Surendra added that arguments should start being heard by the end of the year.

In a statement, LGBTIQ+ Network, a group of 12 Malaysian LGBTQ rights groups, praised the decision to go ahead with the case, saying in a statement: “It is clear this state law is being used by authorities to disproportionately criminalise marginalised and persecuted communities based on sexual orientation and gender identity.”

If the case is successful, it would stop all current cases in sharia courts, and would allow legal challenges to be made in other states.

LGBTQ people are heavily persecuted in Malaysia, including from homophobic politicians. Last year, the Human Rights Commission of Malaysia, known by the acronym SUHAKAM, gave their annual report, but a politician refused to debate parts of the report around LGBTQ rights.

“Since when did Malaysia start recognising LGBT as part of its cultural values? Which religion accepted LGBT as part of their teachings? Have Malaysia [even] built special toilets for the LGBT group?”

And in 2018, in a speech to university students, the Malaysian PM, Dr Mahathir Mohamad decried LGBTQ rights as just “Western values” explaining: “Sometimes Asians accept Western values without questioning. We should be free not to change our values according to their wishes.”

He added: “At this moment, we do not accept LGBT, but if they [the West] want to accept, that is their business. Don’t force it on us.

“The institution of marriage, the institution of the family has now been disregarded in the West. Why should we follow that? Our value system is as good.If [the West] one day decided to walk around naked, do we have to follow?”

His comments got even worse, implying that LGBTQ families weren’t real. “For example in the west now, men marry men, women marry women, and then the family is not made up of father, mother and the child, but is two men adopting one child from somebody,” Mohamad said.

He added: “They call themselves a family.”
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 1 2020, 03:21 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Iraqi state television channel censors prominent LGBTQ+ activist
Source: https://www.gaytimes.co.uk/community/136384...lgbtq-activist/

Al Sharqiya TV, a national television channel in Iraq, have removed an interview highlighting the disproportionate amount of violence against LGBTQ+ people in the country. It was broadcast live on Friday (22 May) but was deleted from the channel’s online platforms shortly after.

In the interview, activist Amir Ashour demands justice for the deaths of LGBTQ+ Iraqis, only to be told by the host that queer people are “rejected by society” and are therefore “the ones who need to be punished and held accountable.”

After reminding him that religion states that “all human life is sacred and that it needs to be preserved and protected” and that Iraq are obliged to protect its LGBTQ+ citizens, the interview came to an abrupt finish.

Amir, who is the founder and executive director of Iraq’s first LGBTQ+ charity IraQueer, said its disappearance from online platforms is evidence of Iraqi politicians “violating” and overlooking crimes committed against the community.

“They are also actively trying to silence us and stop the public from hearing our side of the story,” he said.

“This fight is far from over. LGBTQ+ Iraqis have been receiving an increased amount of threats since 17 May. We have even documented six killings of people who are or perceived to be LGBTQ+.”

Amir says government representatives and those with political connections need to “pressure” Iraq into publicly supporting and acknowledging the “importance of the right to life for all citizens including LGBTQ+ people.”

He also says funders need to “keep in mind that while combating COVID19 is an immediate threat facing the world including LGBTQ+ people, the threat against LGBTQ+ Iraqis did not start with COVID19, and will not end when we have a vaccine.”

He continued: “If you work at a media organization, please reach out. We want to make as much noise as possible about Iraqi media’s attacks on LGBT+ citizens, and oppression of LGBT+ voices in the rare occasions they host us.

“Iraqi media must be held accountable for their role in promoting anti-LGBT+ discrimination.”

Amir has since uploaded the entire interview in full on IraQueer’s YouTube page, which you can view below.

IraQueer celebrated its fifth anniversary earlier this year. The charity has transformed from an online platform to a registered human rights organisation that’s recognised internationally and relied upon by thousands of LGBTQ+ people in Iraq.

Over the last five years, they’ve trained more than 100 activists, social workers and journalists to help the cause, and spoke on some of the biggest world stages including the UN’s Human Rights Council, the General Assembly and One Young World.

The work of IraQueer has reached one million people online and offline, and the organisation has met with world leaders, raised awareness about LGBTQ identities in Iraq, campaigned on the streets of Bagdad, and lobbied decision makers.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 3 2020, 01:19 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Happy Pride! How to celebrate Pride month 2020
Source: https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/1289965/H...020-lockdown-UK

HAPPY PRIDE! Pride will be celebrated across the world throughout the month of June, so here are some of the ways you can celebrate Pride 2020 this year.

Every year June is marked as Pride month across the world. Millions take part in the celebrations, which usually involves musical performances and special events, along with marches in cities such as Manchester and London. Here's what's planned for the Pride 2020 celebrations.

What is Pride?

Pride is a global celebration of LGBT communitiesand the right to celebrate the freedom to be yourself.

Pride takes place in June because it is the month the Stonewall riots took place in New York City back in 1969.

At this point LGBT rights were not tolerated across much of the world.

However the Stonewall riots, also known as the Stonewall uprising, marked an important milestone in the fight for LGBT rights.

Every year in June millions of people across the world take part in demonstrations for Pride.

Pride marches are held across cities in the UK like London and Manchester, with people wearing the colours of the rainbow associated with Pride.

However public gatherings are currently banned due to the coronavirus pandemic, so many of this year’s celebrations will be taking place virtually.

How can you celebrate Pride at home?

Pride will be a bit different this year due to the coronavirus crisis.

This year Amnesty International announced its collaboration with UK Black Pride, Stonewall and ParaPride to bring Pride celebrations online for 2020.

Sen Raj, Amnesty International’s Rainbow Network committee member said: “COVID-19 won’t stop us celebrating LGBT+ rights.

“This year, Pride will be inside – in our homes and in our hearts.

“Around the world, the pandemic is having a disproportionate effect on LGBTI+ people who have been historically discriminated against in their access to healthcare, housing and employment."

The event will include performances and talks from a range of musicians, artists and activists.

A full itinerary and line-up is expected to be announced in due course.

Sarah Hagger-Holt, from Stonewall UK, said: “Pride season is the highlight of the year for many LGBT people, so it’s been hard to hear that most Prides have had to cancel this year.

“But this has opened up new ways to bring us together to celebrate and show that defiant spirit our community is known for.

“Pride Inside promises to be a powerful platform that helps bring in and centre marginalised voices in the LGBT community.

“As the coronavirus pandemic risks increasing existing inequalities, it’s never been more important that we all show up for each other and stand together in the name of equality.”

The event has been dubbed Pride Inside and will kick off June 28 running until July 5.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 3 2020, 03:56 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(doczane @ Jun 3 2020, 01:36 PM)
Hi. Just chipping in. As a spouse to a specialist handling infectious disease clinic, where more than 90% of the patient with HIV are homosexuals who contracted HIV from anal sex, compared to previous source of IV drug user, i truly wish your community shouldn’t encourage your lifestyle further. Not only lives are lost, preventable disease are spreading by abhorrent lust. I even lost a good friend to HIV he got from gay sex. By principle, I’m against the unnatural lifestyle but it’s your right at individual level, not as a recognized community.  As a muslim majority country, we will fight tooth and nail against recognizing your community as much as we can. Whichever government comes into power, the voice of the majority and natural sense will prevail against this nonsense.
Most of the infections stem from lack of education on safe sex practices and those who were infected are afraid to go for tests/receive treatments due to social stigma and discrimination. Instead of driving homosexuals into hiding even further, you should help your spouse (and even your late gay friend) by spreading awareness and dispelling misconceptions of the LGBT lifestyle. That's what several NGOs are doing currently and based on recent statistics, HIV infections in the country are on a downward trend ("Epidemic Snapshot", page 9). I personally know a lot of people living with HIV in my life and all of them are living happy, productive lives.

Regarding Malaysia being a muslim-majority country, I'm muslim too and the Islam that I believe in accepts everyone regardless of who they are.

This post has been edited by internaldisputes: Jun 3 2020, 08:45 PM
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 3 2020, 04:19 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

This gay politician wants you to remember ‘the first Pride was a riot’ against police brutality
Source: https://www.pinknews.co.uk/2020/06/02/brad-...ew-york-racism/

Gay New York state senator Brad Hoylman is calling for Pride events to return to their “radical roots” and refocus their efforts to support Black people protesting against racism and police brutality in the US.

Protests against racism and police brutality continue in the US, following the deaths of George Floyd and Black trans man Tony McDade.

Democrat Hoylman, 54, made the comments in an open letter to the organisers of New York City Pride.

“The first Pride was a riot and an outpouring of anger and frustration, led by transgender women of colour who threw bricks at police and sparked the beginning of the queer liberation movement,” he said.

“As protests against police brutality continue in New York City and nationwide, we are reminded that millions of our Black and brown siblings… are still denied justice,” Brad Hoylman added.

His comments came at the start of Pride month, which commemorate the 1969 Stonewall uprising and kicks off Pride season..

The Stonewall Inn was the site of protests against police violence in 1969, when a police raid on the bar turned sour after officers accosted bar-goers.

Although accounts of events that night differ, many agree that it was when the police tried to shove butch Black lesbian StormĂŠ Delarverie into a police car that the uprising was triggered.

The ensuing protests are commonly credited as the birth of the modern-day gay-rights movement.

His remarks are the latest LGBT+ voice standing in solidarity with the Black community.

More than 100 leaders of LGBT+ organisations in the US have united in solidarity with the Black Lives Matter movement, noting their shared experiences of harassment and police brutality.

They represent over 75 groups, including GLAAD, The Trevor Project and Human Rights Watch, which have signed a joint statement denouncing racial violence in America.

In an open letter calling for intersectional support, they name George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery and Christian Cooper alongside the many members of the Black transgender community who have been lost to the shocking “epidemic of violence”.

“This police violence movement, this anti-racism movement, is our movement,” said Mara Keisling, founder and executive director of the National Center for Transgender Equality.

“We can’t have a moral or effective trans or LGBT+ movement if it’s not an anti-racist movement,” she said.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 3 2020, 08:59 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(mohdnaseem @ Jun 3 2020, 08:50 PM)
ish ish ish...kembalilah ke pangkaln jalan, bro. jgn macam ini
Pangkalan jalan mana? There's nothing wrong with being an LGBT member.

Terima kasih je lah atas nasihat tu bro. sweat.gif
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 4 2020, 09:08 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Siasat segera pelaku provokasi perlembagaan negara
Source: https://harakahdaily.net/index.php/2020/05/...mbagaan-negara/

ALHAMDULILLAH pada hari ini, saya telah mewakili Dewan Pemuda PAS Negeri Pahang telah membuat satu laporan polis khusus ke atas 2 isu utama untuk siasat lanjut pihak Polis Diraja Malaysia (PDRM) iaitu:

1. YB Xavier Jayekumar (MP Kuala Langat) yang menghina Parlimen dan YDPA.

2. Artikel mempromosi LGBT di akhbar Malay Mail.

Dewan Pemuda PAS Negeri Pahang (DPPNP) berpandangan kedua-dua isu ini adalah isu yang menyentuh sensitiviti masyarakat Malaysia terutamanya orang Melayu dan Islam.

Kami berpandangan memperlekehkan institusi Parlimen adalah sama seperti menghina YDPA memandangkan YDPA merupakan salah satu tonggak penting dan utama dalam berdirinya sebuah institusi parlimen di negara ini.

Kami juga berpandangan mempromosi budaya songsang LGBT secara terbuka di akhbar arus perdana seolah-olah mencabar kedaulatan undang-undang dan institusi fatwa negara ini yang secara jelas menolak amalan songsang ini.

Maka kerana itu, kami menggesa satu siasatan menyeluruh dijalankan secara adil dan telus ke atas individu-individu yang terlibat di dalam kedua-dua kes ini bagi terus menjamin kestabilan, keharmonian dan ketenteraman masyarakat di dalam negara ini.

Demi Islam – Islam Memimpin Perpaduan
USTAZ AIRIEROSHAIRI ROSLAN

----

Signed off with "For Islam - Islam Leading Unity" but the content is promoting disunity. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by internaldisputes: Jun 4 2020, 09:09 AM
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 4 2020, 09:38 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(bunyip @ Jun 4 2020, 08:11 PM)
What do the tale of Sodome & Gamorrah and also the punishment of Prophet Loth's people have on you? I know when people commit to any sin, they feel no guilty and even proud of it...But the tale and the punishment are repeated in 2 holy books. That means it is the reminder for not to do it.
Here's an alternative view on the story of Sodome and Gamorrah if you care to read it. Don't get spoonfed by everything the society been telling us because not everything is right.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 4 2020, 09:54 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(bunyip @ Jun 4 2020, 09:46 PM)
to be a non practising one religion is considered ok, but blasphemy is no no.
QUOTE(internaldisputes @ May 4 2020, 09:15 AM)
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
I think you just need to be more open-minded to accept alternative views instead of brushing things off as blasphemous. sweat.gif
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 4 2020, 10:02 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(bunyip @ Jun 4 2020, 09:57 PM)
freak is my term is not weird but getting irritated or angry.i have no problem with your religion, since you said the Five Precepts has no say about homosexuality, that is why you stay with this religion, arent you? to know other religion that condemn this, you get angry.
There's nothing to be angry about because there are Christian and Muslim scholars who are strong LGBT proponents these days (Amina Wadud for example). smile.gif But of course someone who is inclined towards homophobia would just listen to the one fitting their narratives.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 4 2020, 10:32 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(bunyip @ Jun 4 2020, 10:09 PM)
is that the lady who be the front person in praying and men behind? i think other muslim will not  look upon her views. as you mentioned But of course someone who is inclined towards homophobia would just listen to the one fitting their narratives.
I'm not sure. Some people consider women to be less than men and hence dismissed her as a deviant. Personally, I hope the mainstream media would offer her a chance to give a talk or maybe debate about gender and sexual diversity in Islam. I think it will be eye-opening.

Ourr muftis and imams—on the other hand— are mostly salaried positions and hence need to issue fatwas according to what the masses/government want/say.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jun 4 2020, 10:38 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(bunyip @ Jun 4 2020, 10:28 PM)
But what make people against the homosexuality is what written in those books. otherwise it can be a lifestyle with nobody finds it is a sin. no problem with it after all.
I guess some people just interpret the books differently. sweat.gif

Is there anything else you want to add? You are entitled to your opinion but you are not convincing anyone here to repent because some of us are proud gay muslims as well as proud gay adherents of other religions. We don't find any conflict between our lifestyle and our beliefs at all.

28 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0804sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:17 AM