7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Giant to exit Sabah and Sarawak, within the next couple of months

alexkos
post Feb 3 2020, 12:44 PM

2,275 posts

Kalah to sarawak retail? This is a cash game ya...
Robin Hood
post Feb 3 2020, 12:51 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(reed90 @ Feb 3 2020, 10:53 AM)
bataras is shit
dirty store, bodo arrangements

giant is way better
U org sbh isit?
zhou.xingxing
post Feb 3 2020, 12:52 PM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Feb 3 2020, 12:28 PM)
GAFU is another new player in the game.

They started from Mukah (?) and now come to Sibu liao.
haven seen any gafu in kch yet
TheGoodGuy
post Feb 3 2020, 12:53 PM

Saxit?
Mikeshashimi
post Feb 3 2020, 12:58 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

sure kalah.

Sarawak got:

Everrise
H&L
Everwin
CS Mart
Upwell
Aeon
Mydin (one close down oredi)
Econsave
E-mart
Chyan
post Feb 3 2020, 01:06 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 3 2020, 12:58 PM)
sure kalah.

Sarawak got:

Everrise
H&L
Everwin
CS Mart
Upwell
Aeon
Mydin (one close down oredi)
Econsave
E-mart
All of them caters to each individual's needs and shopping preferences.
Not to mention, there's FARLEY (whole Sarawak) and UNACO (Kuching only).
ozak
post Feb 3 2020, 01:08 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Feb 3 2020, 12:38 PM)
Tesco doesn't even exist in Sarawak so how to call it the biggest? At least Giant I can believe but here in Miri its being beaten by local hypermarket that you probably never heard if you are from the West side. Last Jan already Everwin open its 4th branch, not far from the last Giant in Miri.
Tell us more about Sabah and Sarawak local hypermarket.

I believe Giant been established for long in Sabah and Sarawak. And such local player will just recently expanding.

So why hypermarket like Giant can be loose to local hypermarket?
la bella
post Feb 3 2020, 01:17 PM

962 posts

Serway supermarket

i'm from semenanjung, recently visited kk, they have huge variety of local goods, organic goods, and also imported goods like cold storage and price is cheap! not expensive as cold storage!

This post has been edited by la bella: Feb 3 2020, 01:22 PM
WhatMan
post Feb 3 2020, 01:21 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 3 2020, 01:08 PM)
Tell us more about Sabah and Sarawak local hypermarket.

I believe Giant been established for long in Sabah and Sarawak. And such local player will just recently expanding.

So why hypermarket like Giant can be loose to local hypermarket?
There were 2 Giant in Miri, now left 1 and even that looks like dead hypermaket walking. They been around long before Everwin.

Everwin is fairly new, i think they open first Miri branch in 2016. Then open second in 2018, third in 2019 and now fourth in 2020 which is just a kilometer away from the last Giant. They beat Giant in terms of price and products that caters more to everyday needs. I feel kesian to see Giant dying and have nothing against it but what to do when their competitors does better.
Mikeshashimi
post Feb 3 2020, 01:22 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Feb 3 2020, 01:06 PM)
All of them caters to each individual's needs and shopping preferences.
Not to mention, there's FARLEY (whole Sarawak) and UNACO (Kuching only).
forgot about farley.

Ta Kiong also.

Giant sure cannot survive because there's nothing special about them, and quite pricey, some of the goods.
touristking
post Feb 3 2020, 02:32 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Feb 3 2020, 04:57 AM)
Tax is another issue.
Tax is also called DUTY. It is called duty for a reason, that no one can run away from their 'duty'
so why is PH wanting to get rid of GST?
SUSnasilemaksedap
post Feb 3 2020, 02:36 PM

120 posts

Let them fight till the death

Best for consumer

Kek
Nanti Sekejap
post Feb 3 2020, 02:41 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 3 2020, 02:32 PM)
so why is PH wanting to get rid of GST?
I dont like bijan, but I think GST is a good tax system, to be fair.

Bijan is right to swing in GST, but at the wrong timing, for the wrong reason and at the wrongful rate (too high). On such basis, PH is right to bashed it last time, and to 'moderate' it now.

This post has been edited by Nanti Sekejap: Feb 3 2020, 02:42 PM
pcGeeK
post Feb 3 2020, 02:42 PM

208 posts

big hypermarkets offer too much variety. for the majority of customers those products are not even on their radar.

whereas newer players like CS, Everwin, Farley and Unaco focus only on the products found in the basket of a typical consumer. they can focus on a small range of products, ordering more to negotiate for a better price, then pass that down to their customers.

that's why sometimes even the promo price of big hypermarket cannot even beat the normal price of these new players
touristking
post Feb 3 2020, 02:43 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Feb 3 2020, 07:41 AM)
I dont like bijan, but I think GST is a good tax system, to be fair.

Bijan is right to swing in GST, but at the wrong timing, for the wrong reason and at the wrongful rate (too high). On such basis, PH is right to 'moderate' it.
So SST is the right thing and the right time to do it?

When SST launched, majority of items went up in price. so SST rate is even more wrongfully high?

Nanti Sekejap
post Feb 3 2020, 02:45 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 3 2020, 02:43 PM)
So SST is the right thing and the right time to do it?

When SST launched, majority of items went up in price. so SST rate is even more wrongfully high?
To be honest, I do not have much understand to the SST. I blame PH for not promoting it as besar besaran as BN promoting GST last time.
perhaps you can educate me how it works, in brief and lay man term. TQ
Bill888
post Feb 3 2020, 02:46 PM

Better just close down lah. Too many of such shit stores. Giant so plain.
allvin
post Feb 3 2020, 02:49 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 3 2020, 01:22 PM)
forgot about farley.

Ta Kiong also.

Giant sure cannot survive because there's nothing special about them, and quite pricey, some of the goods.
Don't forget about sneaky CS Mini Market. They always try to operate by opening next door to 'popular supermarket'. One of the reason why Tabuan Giant is getting lower sales, and that Giant branch start operate at 8AM rolleyes.gif CS Mini Market operate at 7AM I think.
SUSjoe_star
post Feb 3 2020, 02:51 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Millimewah enjoice
touristking
post Feb 3 2020, 02:51 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Feb 3 2020, 07:45 AM)
To be honest, I do not have much understand to the SST. I blame PH for not promoting it as besar besaran as BN promoting GST last time.
perhaps you can educate me how it works, in brief and lay man term. TQ
6% GST. Going through every stage, from factory to wholesale to retail to end-user, everybody have to pay GST. All will be refunded except the end user. That way, very difficult for everyone to escape paying tax.

10% SST. Paid at factory gate only. Because of mark-up through every stage of the trade, the original 10% will snowballs so by the time the end user get their product, it could be far higher than 10%. This is called tax cascading. Easier to evade tax by businesses.

And if use the product in restaurant, you pay another 6% on top of the 10% SST (paid by factory)

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0201sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:05 AM