Is Acer a good laptop brand these days?

TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 1 2020, 03:54 PM, updated 6y ago

33 posts

Asking because I'm opting to purchase a Predator Helios 300 from Harvey Norman.
Afraid of it being unreliable and breaking down on me. Though unlikely, it's always nice to seek advice from the sifus, yes?

My questions are:
Are acer products generally reliable?
How about their customer service?

btw hope this thread can be of tolong for other potential acer buyers too.
Cheers!
ZM Fong
post Feb 1 2020, 03:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

every brand has good and bad models, same goes to Acer

for best reliability, go for business laptops
cmgan72
post Feb 1 2020, 05:48 PM

Daisyoix PC
1,340 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Feb 1 2020, 03:54 PM)
Afraid of it being unreliable and breaking down on me. Though unlikely, it's always nice to seek advice from the sifus, yes?

My questions are:

Cheers!
so far acer has been improving n i guess same goes to any brands available in the market, if they dont improve then they will no longer be around the market anymore.
sheerwin
post Feb 1 2020, 05:59 PM

85 posts

My questions are:

Cheers!
I am using Acer products and they serve me well so far with no issue
TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 3 2020, 02:10 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 1 2020, 03:59 PM)
every brand has good and bad models, same goes to Acer

for best reliability, go for business laptops
Hi! I know I'm a bit late on replying, but I saw your input on various gaming laptops in the gaming laptops approval list.
But may I ask why do you recommend business laptops compared to consumer grade laptops? Is it because of the more strict QC and testing involved in the manufacturing process?

Just wanted to use this opportunity extend my sincerest thank yous for the help you've been giving to the community! You've surely become a prominent figure in the mobile computing community.
Appreciate it lots on behalf of everyone!

TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 3 2020, 02:11 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(cmgan72 @ Feb 1 2020, 05:48 PM)
so far acer has been improving n i guess same goes to any brands available in the market, if they dont improve then they will no longer be around the market anymore.
That does make sense! It should be a relatively safe purchase then.
Thanks for the input!
Dr.Drool
post Feb 3 2020, 02:18 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(cmgan72 @ Feb 1 2020, 06:48 PM)
Make sense. For gaming & consumer it is bang for buck in value & features. But is their after sales support improved now? My previous experience with Acer on the business side wasn't that pleasant. Let's just say no spare parts even when under warranty, need to order parts from Taiwan or Singapore. Delay in getting the crucial part up to 1 month.
ZM Fong
post Feb 3 2020, 04:49 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Feb 3 2020, 02:10 PM)
But may I ask why do you recommend business laptops compared to consumer grade laptops? Is it because of the more strict QC and testing involved in the manufacturing process?

Just wanted to use this opportunity extend my sincerest thank yous for the help you've been giving to the community! You've surely become a prominent figure in the mobile computing community.
Appreciate it lots on behalf of everyone!
Yes, but also other reasons like longer+premium warranty, better guarantee on reliability+longevity, usually more durable etc

You're welcome
azuradaniel
post Feb 3 2020, 04:55 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(Dr.Drool @ Feb 3 2020, 02:18 PM)
Make sense. For gaming & consumer it is bang for buck in value & features. But is their after sales support improved now? My previous experience with Acer on the business side wasn't that pleasant. Let's just say no spare parts even when under warranty, need to order parts from Taiwan or Singapore. Delay in getting the crucial part up to 1 month.
+1, Acer now produce good product but their support make us less confident
badai
post Feb 3 2020, 05:28 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(azuradaniel @ Feb 3 2020, 04:55 PM)
+1, Acer now produce good product but their support make us less confident
really? my experience is totally the opposite. the products sucks but support very good. and price are cheap too.
shrade
post Feb 3 2020, 11:17 PM

93 posts

Idk about anyone one here but it has been good for me. Product wise, never reached support cuz never had any problem so far. I own an acer 144hz monitor
kllonely1
post Feb 3 2020, 11:25 PM

321 posts

My questions are:

Cheers!
no,
bad,
better buy hp,
bibiWong
post Feb 4 2020, 10:45 AM

226 posts

they are known for value so that's really a no
had their 3k laptop, 5k laptops and 1k+ monitor, all were cheap but the moment I got it, those products always leave something more to desire

not the best but OK tier
TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 4 2020, 11:36 AM

33 posts

Can't deny the abundance of their servicing centers though, quality wise I'm unsure, as I never had my acer product fail on me in the recent years.
Seldom see people complain about a predator/conceptD series laptop in real life though. Usually it's the lower end models that get the most criticism. But hey, em value banyaks sia
king9595
post Feb 6 2020, 10:57 AM

93 posts

want cheap want quality brows.gif

doesn't work this way
wira020
post Feb 13 2020, 07:25 PM

111 posts

Bought a predator helios 300 in june 2018 and used it almost daily for my gaming and media consumption needs. It's an ok laptop, screen could have been better and thermal performance is borderline acceptable. Gpu fan broke down last month so I called Acer support. They only speak english btw. I was out of range for the on site warranty so had to walk in for warranty. Estimated repair time is 2 weeks and its been 15 days since and still the repair status reads awaiting spares. So yeah not impressed atm.

On the plus side they have service center in almost every state.

TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 16 2020, 04:47 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(wira020 @ Feb 13 2020, 07:25 PM)
Bought a predator helios 300 in june 2018 and used it almost daily for my gaming and media consumption needs. It's an ok laptop, screen could have been better and thermal performance is borderline acceptable. Gpu fan broke down last month so I called Acer support. They only speak english btw. I was out of range for the on site warranty so had to walk in for warranty. Estimated repair time is 2 weeks and its been 15 days since and still the repair status reads awaiting spares. So yeah not impressed atm.

On the plus side they have service center in almost every state.
Damn you are making me worried lol.
How did you buy the predator helios though? I'm searching but acer malaysia website doesn't sell it (404 page not found).
Btw I prefer not to purchase from lazada./shoppee
UnknownMy
post Feb 16 2020, 09:33 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Feb 16 2020, 04:47 PM)
How did you buy the predator helios though? I'm searching but acer malaysia website doesn't sell it (404 page not found).
Acer Malaysia Store website usually slow in product update, sell on retail price (never reduce price), and always no stock.
You may go to their official store in Lazada or Shopee, but they also sell on retail price.
If you want to touch/test the machine, better go to the retailer store, you may find the list on Acer website.
VCBlogger
post Feb 17 2020, 08:05 AM

314 posts

I just bought my Helios 300 (i5 with RTX2060) on Saturday and upgraded the ram to 16 GB and warranty to 3 years ( default is 3 years )

My experience so far ?

Just last night I was playing overwatch and suddenly a loud pop sound came out and the machine shutdown . Totally took me by surprise .

Couldn’t restart for a while then managed to get it to boot into windows after a few tries .

Did a diagnostic check says no issue but some forum mentioned this problem before : https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/56...omly-shuts-down

Not sure how common or uncommon

Will check later tonight .

Didn’t have any issue playing overwatch on my ultra thin envy 13 with mx150 ... thought it would be better with A gaming notebook .

This is unexpected

Savor_Savvy
post Feb 17 2020, 08:23 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Feb 17 2020, 08:05 AM)
I just bought my Helios 300 (i5 with RTX2060) on Saturday and upgraded the ram to 16 GB and warranty to 3 years ( default is 3 years )

My experience so far ?

Just last night I was playing overwatch and suddenly a loud pop sound came out and the machine shutdown . Totally took me by surprise .

Couldn’t  restart for a while then managed to get it to boot into windows after a few tries .

Did a diagnostic check says no issue but some forum mentioned this problem before : https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/56...omly-shuts-down

Didn’t have any issue playing overwatch on my ultra thin envy 13 with mx150 ... thought it would be better with A gaming notebook .

This is unexpected
Have you checked the temperature?
VCBlogger
post Feb 17 2020, 08:45 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 17 2020, 09:23 AM)
Have you checked the temperature?
From the Predator Sense it was 50+ to 43+
Is this ok?
Was in an aircond room at 24 degrees celcius

Unsure what diagnostic tool i should use

any advice appreciated !!

Sincere thanks
Savor_Savvy
post Feb 17 2020, 08:47 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Feb 17 2020, 08:45 AM)
From the Predator Sense it was 50+ to 43+
Is this ok?
Was in an aircond room at 24 degrees celcius

Unsure what diagnostic tool i should use

any advice appreciated !!

Sincere thanks
Normal temp I would say.

Under NVIDIA settings, is the PhysX processor = RTX2060?
TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 17 2020, 05:01 PM

33 posts

My experience so far ?

Couldn’t  restart for a while then managed to get it to boot into windows after a few tries .

This is unexpected
Damn son, did you buy it from a non authorised reseller or something? Takut explode ni
ZM Fong
post Feb 17 2020, 05:04 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

Maybe it's a lemon unit...anyway you have warranty
VCBlogger
post Feb 17 2020, 08:07 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Feb 17 2020, 06:01 PM)
Damn son, did you buy it from a non authorised reseller or something? Takut explode ni
Authorised unit and already registered with Acer.
Let see how it goes
VCBlogger
post Feb 17 2020, 09:20 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 17 2020, 09:47 AM)
Normal temp I would say.

Under NVIDIA settings, is the PhysX processor = RTX2060?
Changed it to default Physx as RTX 2060
Savor_Savvy
post Feb 17 2020, 09:24 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Feb 17 2020, 09:20 PM)
Changed it to default Physx as RTX 2060
Ok. Monitor again. Do not change it back to Auto-Select.
TruboXL
post Feb 17 2020, 09:26 PM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

ask lcd backlight failure rate then you know who is top
wira020
post Feb 18 2020, 05:01 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Feb 16 2020, 04:47 PM)
I bought mine from lowyat. It was the cheapest laptop with gtx 1060 at the time. Btw, 20 days since sent for repair and now the repair status says "allocating at hub", whatever that means. Its frustating lol.

My experience so far ?

This is unexpected
There should be a log in event viewer for every unexpected shutdown. Kinda sound like thermal or power draw issue from that community forum. Might be useful to try undervolting the cpu.
VCBlogger
post Feb 18 2020, 06:18 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(wira020 @ Feb 18 2020, 06:01 PM)
I bought mine from lowyat. It was the cheapest laptop with gtx 1060 at the time. Btw, 20 days since sent for repair and now the repair status says "allocating at hub", whatever that means. Its frustating lol.
There should be a log in event viewer for every unexpected shutdown. Kinda sound like thermal or power draw issue from that community forum. Might be useful to try undervolting the cpu.
I thought helios is undervolted from the start

Let me research online and come back never thought of that
TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 18 2020, 07:31 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Feb 17 2020, 05:04 PM)
Maybe it's a lemon unit...anyway you have warranty
So do you think the helios 300 is still a reliable choice? Looks like units in malaysia aren't holding up so well
ZM Fong
post Feb 18 2020, 08:20 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Feb 18 2020, 07:31 PM)
So do you think the helios 300 is still a reliable choice? Looks like units in malaysia aren't holding up so well
Maybe it's just a lemon batch. No one can guarantee on reliability anyway (business grade tend to do better but still not bulletproof)
VCBlogger
post Feb 19 2020, 06:24 AM

314 posts

No issues last night was running overwatch at 60-70 degrees with no sudden shutdown

What I have done
Set physx to be 2060 as per Savor Savvy advise
Took out both piece of ram , reinserted each one separately rebooted until windows and then put both ram slots for a final reboot ( advise from sales )
Reinstalled killer WiFi software drivers and tools
Updated windows to the latest version with all the patches
Updated nvidia drivers

Will monitor for any changes and try out a few new games and graphics editor
wira020
post Feb 21 2020, 12:04 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Feb 19 2020, 06:24 AM)
No issues last night was running overwatch at 60-70 degrees with no sudden shutdown

What I have done
Set physx to be 2060 as per Savor Savvy advise
Took out both piece of ram , reinserted each one separately rebooted until windows and then put both ram slots for a final reboot ( advise from sales )
Reinstalled killer WiFi software drivers and tools
Updated windows to the latest version with all the patches
Updated nvidia drivers

Will monitor for any changes and try out a few new games and graphics editor
To be fair, overwatch isnt a demanding game. My laptop cpu and gpu went up to 80+ celcius with borderlands 3 at medium low-ish settings and never had a crash. Try one of those free stress test software instead. I dunno whats the standard tools overclockers use nowadays. You might need to google some suggestions.

If it's a ram issue, you should have start up problems once in a while. Run a test with the windows built in memory test to be sure. https://www.windowscentral.com/how-check-yo...lems-windows-10

VCBlogger
post Feb 23 2020, 04:54 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(wira020 @ Feb 21 2020, 01:04 AM)
To be fair, overwatch isnt a demanding game. My laptop cpu and gpu went up to 80+ celcius with borderlands 3 at medium low-ish settings and never had a crash. Try one of those free stress test software instead. I dunno whats the standard tools overclockers use nowadays. You might need to google some suggestions.

If it's a ram issue, you should have start up problems once in a while. Run a test with the windows built in memory test to be sure. https://www.windowscentral.com/how-check-yo...lems-windows-10
Replaced the Ram by the vendor or shop and now it’s ok .
Don’t face anymore issue

Agree that overwatch is not too demanding . Installing Division 2 now since it’s on sale for Rm 10 and Starcraft 2 .

Also be adding in another 1TB SATA SSD Crucial MX500.

sheerwin
post Feb 28 2020, 12:13 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Feb 23 2020, 04:54 PM)
Replaced the Ram by the vendor or shop and now it’s ok .
Don’t face anymore issue

Agree that overwatch is not too demanding . Installing Division 2 now since it’s on sale for Rm 10 and Starcraft 2 .

Also be adding in another 1TB SATA SSD Crucial MX500.
so the RAM is the culprit, at least it is still under acer warranty n their service centers covers most of Malaysia
kuci_mayong
post Feb 28 2020, 01:45 AM

808 posts

Acer is not bad, one brand i won't hesitate to buy.
VCBlogger
post Feb 28 2020, 09:17 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(sheerwin @ Feb 28 2020, 01:13 AM)
so the RAM is the culprit, at least it is still under acer warranty n their service centers covers most of Malaysia
So far after replaced no issue .
I also added a 1TB SATA SSD Crucial

So really good now
TSGodsweirdson
post Feb 29 2020, 09:27 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Feb 28 2020, 09:17 PM)
So far after replaced no issue .
I also added a 1TB SATA SSD Crucial

So really good now
How much did it it cost? Did you DIY it so it would be cheaper?
VCBlogger
post Mar 1 2020, 11:29 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Feb 29 2020, 10:27 AM)
How much did it it cost? Did you DIY it so it would be cheaper?
DIY can find a YouTube guide on this
Bought from lazada Rm 540.

Performance is really good for the price you are paying

MX500 SATA SSD

https://www.pcgamer.com/best-ssd-for-gaming/

TSGodsweirdson
post Mar 2 2020, 06:32 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Mar 1 2020, 11:29 AM)
DIY can find a YouTube guide on this
Bought from lazada Rm 540.

Performance is really good for the price you are paying

MX500 SATA SSD

https://www.pcgamer.com/best-ssd-for-gaming/
Will follow your advice on the SSD, thanks!
Just ordered a helios 300 from lazada, hope it goes well
ry8128
post Mar 2 2020, 07:42 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

My 1st laptop was acer, last me 6 years.. I would say not bad and quite reliable..
vhs1
post Apr 12 2020, 12:39 PM

2,830 posts

Looking around

0.0282sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:47 PM