13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Medical specialist salary in Malaysia, How much do specialists earn in private

Py80
post Jan 27 2020, 10:32 PM

66 posts

Actually, Malaysian trained specialist doctors actually have a broader depth of experience with general cases than UK trained ones.

The US is the worse for pure focus training... they only work in their field of expertise don't do general medicine/surgery like the rest of the world.
limeuu
post Jan 27 2020, 10:50 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Py80 @ Jan 27 2020, 10:29 PM)
Race issues aside, I think you are slightly mistaken on the Royal College exams.

MRCS was not de-recognised in Malaysia the way you describe it, and certainly NOT because of racial issues.

The MRCS is a written exam only. Taken during your MO years. Purely theory and therefore not proof of qualitication as a surgeon. In the UK system its considered an entrance exam. This means if you didn't pass it, its very unlikely you will not be able to proceed into surgical training of any speciality.

After your MRCS, and once you completed your 5-6 year surgical training, you sit for an exit viva  exam. If you pass you will get the CCST and be awarded the FRCS. There is actually no such things as CCST post nominal. The post nominal is just FRCS (speciality). Some non-UK doctors may also carry the FRCS post nominal if they have been awarded the fellowship from the Royal College for outstanding achievement in their speciality.

The problem in Malaysia was that doctors were at the time were using the MRCS it as a recognition of specialist surgical training (in the same way the MRCP is used for internal medicine). This is totally flawed as surgical training is basically a structured apprenticeship program and not something you can just study and pass.

For internal medicine , its more knowledge based.. so for a long time, passing the MRCP(UK) meant you had achieved a certain level of clinical knowledge in general internal medicine. In the UK having the MRCP meant you could then pursue subspecialization , gastro, cardio, oncology, etc.

In Malaysia, due to lack of internal medicine subspecialist in the past, we maintained the general internal medicine physician to cover everything. and the MRCP with 4 years experience as an MO in general medicine was enough to gazette you as a specialist in general medicine.

In the UK there is no longer just a general physician. Everyone must continue into a subspecialty whereby there is another exit exam.. the MRCP SCE for each sub speciality.

Some non-UK subspecialists have also taken the MRCP SCE exam just to see if their knowledge is on par with the UK trained subspecialist.

The FRCP title is automatically awarded to UK consultants working in substantive posts within NHS hospitals after a period of time, the FRCP title can also be awarded to non-uk doctors if they show substantial contribution to their field of expertise.

Hope this clears up some ambiguity.
eh....i think you confused the mrcs with the old frcs in general.....the later is still recognised as a specialist qualification....

and the mrcs is in 2 parts, a theory part 1 and a osce part 2.....

and no, the general physician is still very much in existence in uk....although most will have a subspeciality interest....that has nothing to do with the mrcp....the certification of a specialist in uk is the cst....and entry into the specialist registry of the gmc....
Py80
post Jan 27 2020, 11:15 PM

66 posts

I just came came from the UK not long ago...
With my mrcp and SCE

You do general medicine as part of of the training to sub.
But everyone is in a subspecialty training program and will eventually be sub trained but provide gen med on call as well

Malaysia has pure gen med
wild_card_my
post Jan 28 2020, 04:36 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Jan 27 2020, 09:14 PM)
Well this is a truth and a fact. Whichever industry it is.

The minority is always at a losing edge at the start. We as the rakyat do not stir it up and we live in peace, but u cannot deny the fact that our education system and career progression is also based on not meritocracy
Be that as it may, let's not take this topic tangent and racially-charge it - although I may have started it by pointing it out.

I appreciate your thorough sharing above though, keep them coming thumbsup.gif
gahpadu
post Jan 28 2020, 05:19 AM

1,438 posts

Junior specialist rm1k perday only
SUSTwenty-Fifth Baam
post Jan 28 2020, 05:39 AM

33 posts

that's why there is no such thing as a poor doctor

doctors are all rich as fuck

and all you peasants kowtow to doctors really damn funny la

you paid thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, then pray to them and shits like that... topkek lel

unless they do it for free or for a damn damn damn damn damn fucking low price, then i will kowtow and respect them. other than that, they are just a bloodsucking vampire like any other businessman
wild_card_my
post Jan 28 2020, 05:51 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Twenty-Fifth Baam @ Jan 28 2020, 05:39 AM)
that's why there is no such thing as a poor doctor

doctors are all rich as fuck

and all you peasants kowtow to doctors really damn funny la

you paid thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, then pray to them and shits like that... topkek lel

unless they do it for free or for a damn damn damn damn damn fucking low price, then i will kowtow and respect them. other than that, they are just a bloodsucking vampire like any other businessman
the younger doctors are not having it easy, as per any professions. It is much more difficult in the beginning. They have long hours and their pay reflects that, if any.
SUSTwenty-Fifth Baam
post Jan 28 2020, 06:36 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 28 2020, 05:51 AM)
the younger doctors are not having it easy, as per any professions. It is much more difficult in the beginning. They have long hours and their pay reflects that, if any.
Still, we give shits to businessman when they charge exorbitant prices, but we don't give shits to doctors that charge exorbitant prices.

Usually people will ask to boycott a certain business, but not to doctors.

What I don't get is the fascination for doctors. What makes them so great? I mean yes, they help to cure patients, they help to patch you up. But in the end, they still make money, unlike voluntary doctors, now those I really do respect them. They give their all without expecting anything in return.
arsenwagon
post Jan 28 2020, 08:01 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(Py80 @ Jan 27 2020, 10:32 PM)
Actually, Malaysian trained specialist doctors actually have a broader depth of experience with general cases than UK trained ones.

The US is the worse for pure focus training... they only work in their field of expertise don't do general medicine/surgery like the rest of the world.
How does one get FRCS without completing a training position?
Like for example I know ppl who worked in UK /Singapore as registrar and subsequently had FRCS post nominals

QUOTE(Twenty-Fifth Baam @ Jan 28 2020, 06:36 AM)
Still, we give shits to businessman when they charge exorbitant prices, but we don't give shits to doctors that charge exorbitant prices.

What I don't get is the fascination for doctors. What makes them so great? I mean yes, they help to cure patients, they help to patch you up. But in the end, they still make money, unlike voluntary doctors, now those I really do respect them. They give their all without expecting anything in return.
Steve Jobs sell iPhone how much
That's more than one life saving appendix operation
Yet u all still line up day n night to get it
And last I checked Steve Jobs was revered more than any doctor in the world. Not even Jonas Salk who didn't patent the polio vaccine is regarded to be his equal. Basically Steve Jobs = god to the masses...

After all, Steve Jobs created something the world needs right. What a visionary. When was the last time the polio vaccine ever made anyone's life easier?

Ever heard of Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Kobe Bryant?
They play sports to their own enjoyment and get paid .handsomely is an understatement -a Medical specialist salary is a joke compared to them, even top tier surgeon won't be paid as much as a second tier player.
Yet they're Hailed as God and when they pass away you'll see tonnes of tribute to them but since when was the last time u saw a patient posting a tribute to his doctor?
Ppl queue up to meet Ronaldo be damn happy just to get his signature
Ppl queue up to see doctors and scold them for seeing patients too slowly.

Last I checked , doctors are being sued everywhere in the world .
I've never seen Ronaldo being sued by bookies for not scoring a goal... A job he is paid few millions to do. I don't know but I wouldn't call putting someone in the accused dock in court respected

So.... Which parallel world you live in where doctors are so respected. Is like to be there.

This post has been edited by arsenwagon: Jan 28 2020, 08:47 AM
pr0pofol
post Jan 28 2020, 08:09 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(Twenty-Fifth Baam @ Jan 28 2020, 06:36 AM)

who says ppl dont give shits to docs who charge exorbitant prices?
all doctors have to follow the fee schedule which stated the maximum/ceiling amount they can charge
the fee schedule is in the public domain
if u think they overcharge, can always complain to MMC
if they followed the schedule and u still think they overcharge, it means ur the one not earning enough money to afford a private doc services

munky
post Jan 28 2020, 09:05 AM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 27 2020, 05:52 PM)
YES. Ive only seen one commercial airline Pilot that drives a Myvi. That guy is loaded and has a 1.5M house in Cyberjaya but refuses to buy conti cars like his friends

Pilots have a lot of training requirements too but the pay off is huge. Do your hours, don't duck up, and you can easily earn RM100k a month in your 40s as long as you chose to continue flying (some pilots become lazy and do not fly anymore)
agreed.

pilot is the best job in the world (other than celebrity/sports athlete)

u get high salary, can travel around the world, and only work for like 3 or 4 days per week
wild_card_my
post Jan 28 2020, 09:07 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Jan 28 2020, 09:05 AM)
agreed.

u get high salary, can travel around the world, and only work for like 3 or 4 days per week
To add, the can have long career into their 50s too, and they only get paid more as they become more experienced. Their job is also international which means they won't ever find themselves out of jobs

In fact there are shortages for experienced commercial pilot now
viole
post Jan 28 2020, 09:15 AM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Jan 28 2020, 09:05 AM)
agreed.

Unfortunately our /k pilot already rip due to accident.

I wonder if /k got another pilot here.
wild_card_my
post Jan 28 2020, 09:19 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Jan 28 2020, 09:15 AM)
Unfortunately our /k pilot already rip due to accident.

I wonder if /k got another pilot here.
There are plenty of pilots that found me and sought my services from Lowyat. They would either PM me so I would know their nickname, or they would just drop me a text on Whatsapp and we would discuss there - when asked they would say they found me here. I never pursued for their nicknames here

But just saying that pilots spend time in the forums too, whether or not they would reveal themselves is a whole different story
viole
post Jan 28 2020, 09:20 AM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 28 2020, 09:19 AM)
There are plenty of pilots that found me and sought my services from Lowyat. They would either PM me so I would know their nickname, or they would just drop me a text on Whatsapp and we would discuss there - when asked they would say they found me here. I never pursued for their nicknames here

But just saying that pilots spend time in the forums too, whether or not they would reveal themselves is a whole different story
So /k 20k is true then.

wild_card_my
post Jan 28 2020, 09:27 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Jan 28 2020, 09:20 AM)
So /k 20k is true then.
RM20k a month is not that difficult to get, even err.. yours truly but I'm not employed per se (insurance agents and agency are separate entity to the insurance company they represent)

Typically highly technical jobs would pay their specialists well. Other than the obvious medical specialists, it networking specialist are also making more than 20k a month, pilots too as they are responsible to hundred million Ringgit aircrafts, oil and gas specialists of their own fields...

Managers would generally be older before they can earn that kind of money, their influence and experience must be staggering otherwise they can always be replaced by someone younger and cheaper

Lets get back to sales: its like a pyramid, very few earn more than 20k, a good number earn low 5-figures, and the majority can only make do with 4-figures. Sales data also depends on the industry; insurances, banking and real estate make a lot, gym/clubs memberships and car (used and new) do not, at least not as much. Also depends if you are Independent (like me) or attached to the company (like a banker). I would make more than my counterparts that are employed
viole
post Jan 28 2020, 09:31 AM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 28 2020, 09:27 AM)
RM20k a month is not that difficult to get, even err.. yours truly but I'm not employed per se (insurance agents and agency are separate entity to the insurance company they represent)

Typically highly technical jobs would pay their specialists well. Other than the obvious medical specialists, it networking specialist are also making more than 20k a month, pilots too as they are responsible to hundred million Ringgit aircrafts, oil and gas specialists of their own fields...

Managers would generally be older before they can earn that kind of money, their influence and experience must be staggering otherwise they can always be replaced by someone younger and cheaper

Lets get back to sales: its like a pyramid, very few earn more than 20k, a good number earn low 5-figures, and the majority can only make do with 4-figures. Sales data also depends on the industry; insurances, banking and real estate make a lot, gym/clubs memberships and car (used and new) do not, at least not as much. Also depends if you are Independent (like me) or attached to the company (like a banker). I would make more than my counterparts that are employed
Seems 20k is a norm then.

Nevermind, i can always go cry in my own tiny rented room.

wild_card_my
post Jan 28 2020, 09:38 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Jan 28 2020, 09:31 AM)
Seems 20k is a norm then.

Nevermind, i can always go cry in my own tiny rented room.
Whatever industry you are or are comfortable in, try specializing in a field related to it

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jan 28 2020, 09:38 AM
Pain4UrsinZ
post Jan 28 2020, 09:48 AM

1,856 posts

private start from 10 k . month, if government kapcai alot, from 3k , senior MO (about 3 years to 5 years) gaji also 5k to 7k, this amount stated is after all the incentive and oncall allowance.
viole
post Jan 28 2020, 09:49 AM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Jan 28 2020, 09:48 AM)
private start from 10 k . month, if government kapcai alot, from 3k , senior MO (about 3 years to 5 years) gaji also 5k to 7k, this amount stated is after all the incentive and oncall allowance.
Yeah but gov doesnt have epf deduction. So private 10k is almost the same like gov 8k.

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:41 PM