http://na.square-enix.com/remnant/

cool trailer
support 720P HD
rclxms.gif
alex5813
post Jul 16 2007, 01:27 PM

73 posts

Hmm....any release dates ? They mentioned Jap and North America released at the same time....
RoxyMunky
post Jul 16 2007, 01:42 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

very nice indeed~~ rclxms.gif

at the end of the trailer, its written thatere: Unreal Engine. Does this means its using the same engine that drives Unreal??
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 16 2007, 02:50 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

same engine as GearsOfWar
munky
post Jul 16 2007, 03:14 PM

1,971 posts

gears of war using unreal engine ?
SUSleenaz
post Jul 16 2007, 04:09 PM

29 posts

is it GOW using unreal??
i tot unreal only used for fps game
nargoe
post Jul 16 2007, 04:14 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Jul 16 2007, 03:14 PM)
gears of war using unreal engine ?
QUOTE(leenaz @ Jul 16 2007, 04:09 PM)
is it GOW using unreal??
i tot unreal only used for fps game
yup gow used the unreal engine
Breaktru
post Jul 16 2007, 04:39 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

By the years , EPIC use to name their engine as Unreal Engine , and their game as Unreal and Unreal Tournament . Hence , spawns off the many version of Unreal thingy and to date , the most recent Unreal Engine is UE3 (which GOW , R6V etc using) , the game Unreal 2 (the crappy fps one with story uses UE2) and the soon-to-be-released Unreal Tournament 3 . (UT is mp only game just like Quake3) .

And nope ,Unreal Engine is not really particular for FPS game . During the years , many games had been powered by Unreal Engine 2 (or modified based on it) . Those that I can recall was Splinter Cell and Lineage II .

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Jul 16 2007, 04:43 PM
SUSleenaz
post Jul 17 2007, 12:44 AM

29 posts

doesnt matter wat engine they want to ised
even v6 engine also i dont care
more important is...
i will bought this game for sure
tongue.gif
xylotrupes
post Jul 17 2007, 10:54 AM

-----------deleted-------------------- wrong acc

This post has been edited by xylotrupes: Jul 17 2007, 10:54 AM
Breaktru
post Jul 17 2007, 10:55 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Yeah , it's the game matter . Jrpg + Square (minus Enix) = Rocks . I'm not sure but I've lost some faith to Square since the merge .
SUSleenaz
post Jul 17 2007, 11:00 AM

29 posts

as long as the game like FF
i will definately bought it
since day of ff and legion of dragoon
it was hard to find any rpg game that suits my type
Revamperz
post Jul 17 2007, 03:53 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

Squarenix+RPG=FTW!

slightly off topic.. what other RPG games can i get for xbox360.. kinda new in xbox360 world here biggrin.gif
SUSleenaz
post Jul 17 2007, 05:16 PM

29 posts

blue dragon,enchaned arm,eternal sonata

tailgunner
post Jul 17 2007, 07:36 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(leenaz @ Jul 17 2007, 05:16 PM)
blue dragon,enchaned arm,eternal sonata
and oblivion?
samurai20
post Jul 17 2007, 08:01 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

360 got litttle title only for RPG.. most RPG game.. from japan.. org japan kedekut... to give to 360.. donno why la.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by samurai20: Nov 9 2007, 03:50 PM
SUSleenaz
post Nov 9 2007, 03:42 PM

29 posts

bump this thread
tongue.gif
madmoz
post Nov 9 2007, 09:20 PM

4,250 posts

Nampak macam the final fantasy with Vaan sahaja... same old hero 'type'... well, a final fantasy clone by the makers of final fantasy?

This post has been edited by madmoz: Nov 9 2007, 09:33 PM
jackal_x2005
post Nov 9 2007, 11:13 PM

236 posts

er...guys..isn't it the same with Lost Odyssey? or is it two diff titles? confuse here...
MmxZero
post Nov 10 2007, 12:00 AM

189 posts

Square Enix.

Must be nice game. i taught FF in the first place. LOL.

Even tom clancys rainbow six vegas using unreal engine tech.
SUSleenaz
post Nov 10 2007, 08:28 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(jackal_x2005 @ Nov 9 2007, 11:13 PM)
er...guys..isn't it the same with Lost Odyssey? or is it two diff titles? confuse here...
diff
i saw the trailer
verry diff from lost odyssey
cheepan
post Nov 10 2007, 04:21 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(jackal_x2005 @ Nov 9 2007, 11:13 PM)
lain ler. one from square. another one from people who previously worked for square.
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 10 2008, 06:55 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

The Last Remnant will feature a brand new battle system labelled by Hiroshi Takai (director) as a "Turn-burst, command-based system using symbol encounters." There will be no random encounters. It will also contain quick time events, sequences where the player must press a combination of buttons with a correct timing to defeat enemies. This system has appeared in other video games before The Last Remnant, for instance in Shenmue, Dark Cloud, Kingdom Hearts II and God of War.

In addition to the main character, the player's team (called a "Union") is composed of a number of soldiers whose skills vary according to different parameters. One parameter is the "morale" bar, which is affected by the events in battle and affects the way characters perform in battle. Battles can involve up to 70 enemies at once and will be at the core of the gameplay. Nobuyuki Ueda has commented on the battle system, claiming that it is "much deeper than the few seconds it received in the movie". Additionally, a high number of quests are expected.

::Trailers::

::Screenies::

This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Jun 10 2008, 07:06 PM
chinook
post Jun 11 2008, 03:01 AM

273 posts

Seen it, love it, can't wait to get my hands on it.

Love JRPGs which stay true to tradition, turn-based/menu battle system. New stuff(which work properly) in JRPGs are great but things that change the traditional gameplay elements...not good IMO. for example- FF12. i grew up playing FF4 til FF10, loved em all.. then FF12 came along and ZOMG, hated it. If I wanted to play an RPG like that, I would have continued playing WoW.

Hopefully last remnant is more traditional than FF12. and hopefully also a bit more modern than the dull combat of LO. (Still love LO though, it was a good JRPG)
ben3003
post Jun 11 2008, 07:09 AM

10,859 posts

i have same test like u, i don't like FF12.. If wan play action rpgs, i think westerners are doing them better. I think last remnant combat is like the upcoming FF13, dunno how to explain, have to see it urself.
hackinz
post Jun 12 2008, 11:25 AM

135 posts

I grew up playing FF7 - FF12 as well as other various RPG titles. Pretty much easy to adapt & like the combat systems. I like the FF12 action combat system (bring fresh air to rpg game genre).

Just love the JRPG story telling & emotional touch from the soundtracks. This game looks very promising to me. Hope it lift up to my expectation.
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 22 2008, 10:15 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Some work art on this upcoming game.

user posted image user posted image

rhoyo
post Jun 22 2008, 07:21 PM

-
2,800 posts

can't wait to play this . hope it will score big points for the xbox .
-= Virgil =-
post Jul 25 2008, 12:00 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

The Last Remnant Japanese TV Spot

Looking good rolleyes.gif
lksing78
post Jul 25 2008, 12:23 AM

91 posts

November 20th...that the date ..Alamak pokai lah cam ni
All the good title comes out end of the year..
And now boring to death ,no good title out. rclxub.gif
siayy
post Nov 16 2008, 11:31 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Jul 25 2008, 12:23 AM)
November 20th...that the date ..Alamak pokai lah cam ni
All the good title comes out end of the year..
And now boring to death ,no good title out. rclxub.gif
Yup...coming this thursday
I wonder how gd is this title

acougan
post Nov 16 2008, 11:35 PM

590 posts

reviews so far are mixed. some say its average, some say its better than expected.

i'll wait for more impressions before deciding.
dark lenanza
post Nov 17 2008, 08:00 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

alamak nov 20th ker
im not even finish play infinite undiscovery laa
doh.gif
isis
post Nov 17 2008, 11:19 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Nov 17 2008, 08:00 AM)
alamak nov 20th ker
im not even finish play infinite undiscovery laa
doh.gif
hahahaha... same here!!! and i still havent finish Mass Effect & Mirror's Edge as well~ cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

so many games, so little time..... and not enough money!!! cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
dark lenanza
post Nov 17 2008, 11:25 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

so many game so litle time ok

like me
so many game sometimes got time but machine 3rod
how
doh.gif
samurai20
post Nov 17 2008, 12:29 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Nov 17 2008, 11:25 AM)
so many game so litle time ok

like me
so many game sometimes got time but machine 3rod
how
doh.gif
sell buy new one la... whistling.gif.. aku tau ko dapat bonus 5 bulan.... rolleyes.gif ... masa untuk change to jesper.. tongue.gif
dark lenanza
post Nov 17 2008, 12:54 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

perghhh
kaya2...kalau laa company aku bagi 5 bulan
sweat.gif
mambo
post Nov 17 2008, 02:22 PM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

fuh 5 bulan tu bang.. banyak tu... hahaha many many rm.....apa lagi beli lah satu replace ment for ur xb360.. or kalau nak beli 2 pun ok bagi kat aku satu..
jOlv
post Nov 19 2008, 09:36 AM

tongue.gif will this be available at GH tomorrow?????

Added on November 20, 2008, 10:37 amno one else hyped about this? sad.gif *sobs

This post has been edited by jOlv: Nov 20 2008, 10:37 AM
alex5813
post Nov 20 2008, 01:47 PM

73 posts

i am waiting for this.....Djinn, any idea when this is available ?
acougan
post Nov 20 2008, 02:33 PM

590 posts

Asian version delay by 1 week according to p-a
junshen
post Nov 20 2008, 04:12 PM

got my copy oh japanese LAST REMNANT... *cough*

no english sub...no english voice....

but battle really fun tho.... must buy title this year for XBOX JRPG fans 2 Disc FYI...

hmm altho the engine made bu UE3...seems other makers cant fully utilised the engine.... only Epic who developed the Unreal Engine can produce good quality game...

graphic and cut scene really awesome.... beautiful...but load time for battle...actually short but not smooth enough... but the battle really cool..... really a next gen rpg ....
DarkSaviour
post Nov 20 2008, 04:32 PM

336 posts

ah... this game so nice... must have...

too bad can't read japanese... I think Yunax shd be playing now.. wait for his comments
AurorA|CS
post Nov 20 2008, 11:14 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(junshen @ Nov 20 2008, 04:12 PM)

got my copy oh japanese LAST REMNANT... *cough*

no english sub...no english voice....

but battle really fun tho.... must buy title this year for XBOX JRPG fans 2 Disc FYI...

hmm altho the engine made bu UE3...seems other makers cant fully utilised the engine.... only Epic who developed the Unreal Engine can produce good quality game...

graphic and cut scene really awesome.... beautiful...but load time for battle...actually short but not smooth enough... but the battle really cool..... really a next gen rpg ....
Hey, where did you got your copy?

You staying in Japan?

Going to get myself a japanese copy too.
ben3003
post Nov 20 2008, 11:22 PM

10,859 posts

bro, can u try to switch ur locale to chinese and see whether it will show chinese menu and sub or not? If like that those who can understand chinese can go and grab it 1st smile.gif
junshen
post Nov 20 2008, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 20 2008, 11:22 PM)
bro, can u try to switch ur locale to chinese and see whether it will show chinese menu and sub or not? If like that those who can understand chinese can go and grab it 1st smile.gif
no...japan version fully japanese....even change the console language also same.....
bedhouin
post Nov 22 2008, 01:19 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(jOlv @ Nov 19 2008, 09:36 AM)

no one else hyped about this?  sad.gif  *sobs
I was. Until I played it...
juine
post Nov 22 2008, 07:06 AM

618 posts

game is out btw ..
ben3003
post Nov 22 2008, 07:53 AM

10,859 posts

bedhouin, is the game bad?
rhoyo
post Nov 22 2008, 09:54 AM

-
2,800 posts

man the gameplay is too confusing . i see that u set one specific action to the group and u see them do the action to the enemies one by one with some flashy slow motion thingy .
bedhouin
post Nov 22 2008, 12:24 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 22 2008, 07:53 AM)
bedhouin, is the game bad?
Some of the innovations are good. City maps mean fast travel and never being lost. Over world maps mean getting straight to your destination, and no random battles to piss you off.

The voice acting for the most part is wooden and stiff. The character models in cut scenes are badly animated - they look like they're handicapped while walking. Compared to FF's FMV sequences these in-game cutscenes are pretty embarassing.

Lots of texture pop-in and framerate drops - but everyone has been talking about that. Installing with NXE doesn't eliminate the problem.

All of the above I can look past, but I don't get the combat system.

Firstly the screen really does look cluttered. The camera is positioned too far back you don't really get a good look at your units or the enemies. You feel really detached from your "union" during battle. They should have had a close up cam, and a separate tactical view. Maybe its early days but I don't even know the difference between my unions. I just initiate attack after attack by spamming the 'A' button.

When the combat sequences start I have no idea what is going on. I just sit there and watch a series of fights, but I don't know who is attacking what. In one mission where I wasn't fighting monsters but characters similar to mine, I didn't know if I was being hit or was attacking in the sequence. I only found out that one of my unions was KO'd at the end when I reached the order phase and had one unit less to command.

There are a lot of interesting options with the combat such as deadlocks and flank attacks. Unfortunately I can't really tell what I'm doing without a tactical map. I just attack and it tells me that I flanked someone - hooray.

Bottom line I'm finding the combat system quite confusing. Maybe it's because I suck. You might like it more, but give it a try before you buy. I've never fallen asleep playing a game before, but I was so bored and uninterested during the combat I started dozing off. That's when I turned it off.

I don't want to bash the game, I was really looking forward to a new tactical JRPG to play but this wasn't what I was expecting. Your mileage may vary.

Added on November 22, 2008, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 22 2008, 09:54 AM)
man the gameplay is too confusing . i see that u set one specific action to the group and u see them do the action to the enemies one by one with some flashy slow motion thingy .
Same here. I had no clue what was going on. Just attack, attack, attack, then watch, watch, watch.

This post has been edited by bedhouin: Nov 22 2008, 12:28 PM
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 22 2008, 05:15 PM

133 posts

Maybe you guys don't read the manual? tongue.gif

Anyway, reviewers out there are complaining about visually confusing battles too... But as a RPG fan, i have to buy it even it sucks sad.gif
ben3003
post Nov 22 2008, 06:25 PM

10,859 posts

Gamespot says if u can bear with the technical flaw, it is a good game to play.
bedhouin
post Nov 22 2008, 06:32 PM

45 posts

A score of 6.5 is pretty weak for a Square game. But it's about right. I would have rated it at around 6. I wonder what IGN and EG will have to say.

This post has been edited by bedhouin: Nov 22 2008, 06:39 PM
ben3003
post Nov 22 2008, 06:53 PM

10,859 posts

lots of negative reviews for x360 rpg throughout the year, only Tales of Vesperia managed to survive lol. BUt famitsu gave last remnant 38/40, probably japanese have some different taste from us lolz.
jOlv
post Nov 25 2008, 10:14 AM

wth, famitsu 38/40 lol while others is giving this a bad writeup except gametrailers... aih why did they have all the tech flaws and all. So who hated this game and wanna sell it over to me? tongue.gif hahaa

looks like i gotta look for Star Ocean sad.gif

eddie2u
post Nov 25 2008, 03:49 PM

I've been waiting so long for this game and I cant just let it drop from my queue just because of some low ratings and bad reviews...
gonna get it soon rclxms.gif
ben3003
post Nov 25 2008, 04:22 PM

10,859 posts

Lol.. me too.. gonna try it out. At least this game got limit break.. Lost odyssey all no limit break one.. Lost odyssey also got bad review here and there, but still got ppl say it is the best rpg. Will give my opinion once i got my hands on it.
DarkSaviour
post Nov 25 2008, 04:25 PM

336 posts

I still will buy it, graphic quite nice....
Lost odyssey a bit bored.. but still quite nice to me
eddie2u
post Nov 25 2008, 04:45 PM

check here to see the review by Gameplayer.

well 8/10.... not so bad rite? rolleyes.gif
dark lenanza
post Nov 25 2008, 05:42 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

well
i will buy this game after i finish my infinite undiscovery

dx_treme
post Nov 25 2008, 05:45 PM

64 posts

a must game for me laugh.gif
alex5813
post Nov 25 2008, 10:28 PM

73 posts

Heard that it is smoother if you 'copy' the game into your XBOX HDD....any confirmation ?
deodorant
post Nov 26 2008, 12:43 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

ign gave it a 5.3 dry.gif
jOlv
post Nov 26 2008, 09:54 AM

are they gonnna release it on other platforms? I believe by then the tech flaws can be resolved ;[
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 26 2008, 11:47 AM

133 posts

IGN always bashes jRPG, espeically turn based, screw their review.

I'm gonna get this regardless of the reviews tongue.gif When will it be available anyway, tomorrow?
ben3003
post Nov 27 2008, 11:11 AM

10,859 posts

Tried the game already. Yeah, the load time is damn fustrating BUT after i install the game on HDD. BIG improvement man! The game became enjoyable edi. Load time not that long edi. Looking forward to play more...
samurai20
post Nov 27 2008, 11:14 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Just install la.. easy and smooth... smile.gif... but this game damn hard weii... mampos byk kali.. fight ngan normal monster... doh.gif.... hmm maybe my RPG skill already "berkarat".... laugh.gif.... and i like this game.... same as BD and LO
juine
post Nov 27 2008, 11:19 AM

618 posts

alot smoother if you install to hdd.

sorry to say this... it fail on my expectation after what happen to infinite discovery, they seem like trying too hard.

well nevertheless, i will still try to finish the game. : D

so far the best jrpg i played on X360 was Lost Odyssey and Tales Of Vesperia.
jOlv
post Nov 27 2008, 11:30 AM

But LO was boring...how's Tales compared to LO?
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 27 2008, 02:31 PM

133 posts

Argh where do you guys get your copies?
dx_treme
post Nov 27 2008, 02:45 PM

64 posts

for me, tales of vesperia is the best among jrpg on 360... Blue Dragon is fun with colorful gameplay n got no random encounter laugh.gif
Lost Odyssey good with storyline.... a bit sad story...n i dont like sad stuff laugh.gif
jOlv
post Nov 27 2008, 04:42 PM

is it not out yet at GH?

Damm, if i get it i must install onto my HDD right? I havent' look into the fray with NXE.

alex5813
post Nov 27 2008, 04:51 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Nov 27 2008, 02:31 PM)
Argh where do you guys get your copies?
yeah~~~where u get ur copies ~~~~ share plsss !!!!
alexwlh
post Nov 28 2008, 04:12 PM

262 posts

This game is available at my store
DjiNn
post Nov 28 2008, 06:27 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(jOlv @ Nov 27 2008, 04:42 PM)
is it not out yet at GH?

Damm, if i get it i must install onto my HDD right? I havent' look into the fray with NXE.
just got it today as well..
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 28 2008, 06:39 PM

133 posts

Aduh, so slow? tongue.gif Keep a copy for me, i'll come tonight!
juine
post Nov 29 2008, 11:20 PM

618 posts

gotten my pre-order copy.. so regret to buy this shit www but the boss give me member price for sgd55 www after i told him this game suck ass w..

i almost fell down when the sales telling someone this is a mega hit.. more like mega flop.. w

whatever.. anyway.. i just hope i can finish this shit n.. get over with it.

SUSzhiyung
post Nov 30 2008, 12:00 AM

133 posts

It's not that bad... Yea there are a lot of graphic problem, constantly, even installed on hdd, but that is not the only reason we play games, right? Ok, the battle might be confusing at first... but after you get used to it (assuming you haven't give up), it's actually quite interesting.
samurai20
post Nov 30 2008, 12:11 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Unreal Engine... all the same problem... doh.gif... mapping popup and loading time... "worst" .... dry.gif
naruto_kun
post Nov 30 2008, 01:00 AM

818 posts

Anybody who play this game, care to give comments? I have high expectation for this because of SE but the reviews seems to be a let down. Graphic glitches and poor gameplay... sad.gif . How's the storyline (important to me cause that's the main reason i play jrpg)?

juine
post Nov 30 2008, 01:05 AM

618 posts

i don't really care about load time, if you have problem with load time just install the shit into hdd.. perform like a charm.

my problem are with the game itself, the quality seem to fade quickly.. just wish it will pull me in more like how LO and pretty soon TOV... it's the storyline man!

i need more something like LO www. i played jrpg all my life.. this is the worst shit square ever produce.. seriously give me back squaresoft......
DjiNn
post Nov 30 2008, 04:41 AM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Nov 30 2008, 12:11 AM)
Unreal Engine... all the same problem... doh.gif... mapping popup and loading time... "worst" .... dry.gif
I think is how square-unix use the codes for unreal engine.. Maybe not "pro" ? laugh.gif But all these hard to say, Maybe Unreal Engine is not meant for RPG games.. More for Shooters..
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 30 2008, 12:16 PM

133 posts

Funny, i like this more than LO actually. LO gameplay mechanics is simply, you'll find out that you know the drill in no time and the game quickly loses challenge. While LR is a bit tricky, i don't know if i'm doing it wrongly or what, but the battles are pretty difficult... But of course, this might not appeal to everyone...

I don't really care about story, because all games carry shit stories nowadays, i gave up long time ago.
naruto_kun
post Nov 30 2008, 09:41 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(juine @ Nov 30 2008, 01:05 AM)
i don't really care about load time, if you have problem with load time just install the shit into hdd.. perform like a charm.

my problem are with the game itself, the quality seem to fade quickly.. just wish it will pull me in more like how LO and pretty soon TOV... it's the storyline man!

i need more something like LO www. i played jrpg all my life.. this is the worst shit square ever produce.. seriously give me back squaresoft......
You mean the game gets boring fast?

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Nov 30 2008, 12:16 PM)
Funny, i like this more than LO actually. LO gameplay mechanics is simply, you'll find out that you know the drill in no time and the game quickly loses challenge. While LR is a bit tricky, i don't know if i'm doing it wrongly or what, but the battles are pretty difficult... But of course, this might not appeal to everyone...

I don't really care about story, because all games carry shit stories nowadays, i gave up long time ago.
So how is the story so far? IMO the storyline of most jrpg is something like watching anime...so games with good storyline appeals me. The infinite discovery I'd played have ok storyline but just when you are getting attach it ended up so abruptly where things could have been better. Haven't tried TOV yet still thinking of getting one hmm.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 30 2008, 11:40 PM

133 posts

Well, i'm just not far from the beginning, not far into the story yet, but so far, i find the story... not appealing. Combine with the lame animation, you'll probably find it not satisfactory... Don't count on my thought tho, the story might take a turning later in the game and become epic, who knows wink.gif
alex5813
post Dec 1 2008, 12:07 PM

73 posts

just got my copy last nite and began playing for a few hours....overall, I would give it an average...nothing to hoo ha about, maybe because I just started...

The graphic wise, there's a bit of glitch, even though I installed it into my HDD and play from the HDD...

Battle system...we really need to levelup more at the beginning of the game when the Four Generals are with you, else we will be easily KO-ed after Rush decides to leave Anthlum and go venture his own...

Storyline...is quite typical, with a Brother(Rush) searching for his sister(Irina) and acting recklessly whenever he sees his sister (am at WillDoor or was it DoorWill, forgot ><)...hope he will grow up later in the game...
samurai20
post Dec 1 2008, 12:13 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Nov 30 2008, 04:41 AM)
I think is how square-unix use the codes for unreal engine.. Maybe not "pro" ? laugh.gif But all these hard to say, Maybe Unreal Engine is not meant for RPG games.. More for Shooters..
yeah Unreal Engine for "shooter" game ONLY... tongue.gif
SUSadli
post Dec 1 2008, 04:29 PM

33 posts

i guess that unreal engine works as expected. itu graphic pon ada glitch, so now sudah tak real. then become unreal la. haha hence the name unreal engine. tongue.gif
kuuga28
post Dec 2 2008, 01:19 PM

I'm clocking at 15 hours, did some of the sub quest. This game is not bad IMHO but it's kinda hard and have confusing battle systems. So far the story and quest bosses are not that hard to kill but i just met my match and got lots of game overs when i met the RARE monsters.They're even harder to kill than the boss and have lots of HPs with multi-hit skills that hit so HARD. Gonna try again tonight smile.gif

This post has been edited by kuuga28: Dec 2 2008, 01:21 PM
hairuLeZ
post Dec 2 2008, 01:56 PM

67 posts

I want turn based action&$!!

hmmph nak habiskan Lost Odysey lah....
alex5813
post Dec 2 2008, 06:27 PM

73 posts

Last Remnant has a lot of RPG elements that I like, such as

- the characters can master both Mystic arts and Combat arts, instead of some RPG where the certain characters are only good at certain skill/magics
- Equipment / weapon / accessory customization
- Item / material harvesting using Mr Diggs
- Use of 'limit breaks', kinda rare to see limit breaks in RPG nowadays (major influence from FF series)
- Possible summons ( I heard Rush can summon a Cyclops, but I think I can't yet)
- Characters are not restricted to using one type of weapon only.
- HP and AP restored after a battle

There are also things I don't like
- quite a large scale of arsenal and equipments, means you will be burning money...
- money is very hard to earn...
- the areas /maps are small / medium, nothing much to explore
- limit breaks are very hard to build...and it does not carry forward to the next battle...
- magic graphics are simple, and does not differentiate even though is at different level, like Spark is same like Spark III, but only the damage is higher...

samurai20
post Dec 2 2008, 08:04 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 2 2008, 06:27 PM)
Last Remnant has a lot of RPG elements that I like, such as

- the characters can master both Mystic arts and Combat arts, instead of some RPG where the certain characters are only good at certain skill/magics
- Equipment / weapon / accessory customization
- Item / material harvesting using Mr Diggs
- Use of 'limit breaks', kinda rare to see limit breaks in RPG nowadays (major influence from FF series)
- Possible summons ( I heard Rush can summon a Cyclops, but I think I can't yet)
- Characters are not restricted to using one type of weapon only.
- HP and AP restored after a battle

There are also things I don't like
- quite a large scale of arsenal and equipments, means you will be burning money...
- money is very hard to earn...
- the areas /maps are small / medium, nothing much to explore
- limit breaks are very hard to build...and it does not carry forward to the next battle...
- magic graphics are simple, and does not differentiate even though is at different level, like Spark is same like Spark III, but only the damage is higher...
yeah that kinda lame.. laugh.gif... but i still cant summon "big gun or monster" arhhh tension... bila nak dapat nie.... anyway... i try to finish IU 1st then... after that will con.. this game.... ( must buy guide book... tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by samurai20: Dec 2 2008, 08:05 PM
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 3 2008, 01:08 AM

133 posts

The evocation magics becomes multi-shot when they reach higher level. Combining multiple mages and the magic enhancing formation, they are like a nuclear team...

Money, use the rare monster spawning trick, farming those rare monsters that give tons of gold, you'll be having too much gold in no time.

The "limit-break", i still don't understand how are they triggered.... seem like random only sad.gif

Some stupid quest bosses use AOE attack every DAMN turn and multi-deadlock, those are really SOB... Some AOE status effect attack some more, aduhai... I gave up on some until my BR gets higher and can totally pwn them...

This post has been edited by zhiyung: Dec 3 2008, 01:08 AM
kuuga28
post Dec 3 2008, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 3 2008, 01:08 AM)
The evocation magics becomes multi-shot when they reach higher level. Combining multiple mages and the magic enhancing formation, they are like a nuclear team...

Money, use the rare monster spawning trick, farming those rare monsters that give tons of gold, you'll be having too much gold in no time.

The "limit-break", i still don't understand how are they triggered.... seem like random only sad.gif

Some stupid quest bosses use AOE attack every DAMN turn and multi-deadlock, those are really SOB... Some AOE status effect attack some more, aduhai... I gave up on some until my BR gets higher and can totally pwn them...
Yeah i really can't understand how Limit Break's triggered too,it's probably random coz sometimes when the battle just started,my Dave's already able to use his big cannon attack but i do find that if your party are in nearly dying stage,the Limit Break shows up more.

Bosses with AOE attack's very annoying..especially the one that cast the FREAKING CURSE not to mention most of the bosses cast that status spell ...i wish my party can cast that status spell...AOE CURSE FTW....smile.gif
eddie2u
post Dec 3 2008, 12:38 PM

the boss battle sounds so hard to defeat blink.gif ....
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 3 2008, 03:14 PM

133 posts

The most important thing you gotta do in this game is SAVE OFTEN.

For some of the rare (strong) monsters and bosses, you simply can't tell the appearance difference between them and normal ones... you link it with some other monsters, you go into battle, you hear boss music playing, you say 'shit', you pray hard, you game over, you restart.

I remember when i was collecting material to make dragonfly, i fought mobs that are way too high level for my party (i crafted them when i was ~BR30), every turn i pray hard, please don't use cavalry call, because it automatically means game over for my party...
' or 1=1 --
post Dec 3 2008, 03:20 PM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

probably the limit break is random like ff8 hmmm
kuuga28
post Dec 3 2008, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 3 2008, 03:14 PM)
The most important thing you gotta do in this game is SAVE OFTEN.

For some of the rare (strong) monsters and bosses, you simply can't tell the appearance difference between them and normal ones... you link it with some other monsters, you go into battle, you hear boss music playing, you say 'shit', you pray hard, you game over, you restart.

I remember when i was collecting material to make dragonfly, i fought mobs that are way too high level for my party (i crafted them when i was ~BR30), every turn i pray hard, please don't use cavalry call, because it automatically means game over for my party...
Rare monsters have different colour when you targetted them,their name's are in green. Cavalry call is the most annoying skills the rare monster uses.Once the rare uses that skills..it's bye bye Rush and gang.
alex5813
post Dec 3 2008, 04:41 PM

73 posts

Anyone knows how to increase the basic AP....I am at BlackDale now and I do not have any members in my Union...my AP is stucked at 6 (basic 5 + accessory increase 5%)... i got a few times of AP increase/level up message, but it is still stuck at 5 !!!!

A bit earlier, I am able to use Combat Art (Kneel Splitter II - 6AP) at the start of battle, but after the Kneel Splitter II became Mighty Kneel Splitter II, I am only left with 2 or 3 Commands - Attack, Heal, Standby...very de sienz....
kuuga28
post Dec 3 2008, 05:36 PM

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 3 2008, 04:41 PM)
Anyone knows how to increase the basic AP....I am at BlackDale now and I do not have any members in my Union...my AP is stucked at 6 (basic 5 + accessory increase 5%)... i got a few times of AP increase/level up message, but it is still stuck at 5 !!!!

A bit earlier, I am able to use Combat Art (Kneel Splitter II - 6AP) at the start of battle, but after the Kneel Splitter II became Mighty Kneel Splitter II, I am only left with 2 or 3 Commands - Attack, Heal, Standby...very de sienz....
If i remember correctly, you can recruit leaders from the Guild at that stage. I did the sub quest and got Baulson then recruit another leader to form a party of 3. Baulson's my life saver at that stage since my Rush's always die first.

alex5813
post Dec 3 2008, 05:39 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 3 2008, 05:36 PM)
If i remember correctly, you can recruit leaders from the Guild at that stage. I did the sub quest and got Baulson then recruit another leader to form a party of 3. Baulson's my life saver at that stage since my Rush's always die first.
I recruited Baulson too, and he is active too, but he is a Union Leader, meaning he will head one union of ONE person, which is him alone...same goes with my Rush...with HP of 300++ and a static AP of 6....I just dunno how to increase my AP more although I got the message my AP has increased...zzz....
kuuga28
post Dec 3 2008, 06:07 PM

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 3 2008, 05:39 PM)
I recruited Baulson too, and he is active too, but he is a Union Leader, meaning he will head one union of ONE person, which is him alone...same goes with my Rush...with HP of 300++ and a static AP of 6....I just dunno how to increase my AP more although I got the message my AP has increased...zzz....
I made a mistake by putting Baulson in another Union before this too. After that i tried to put Baulson into the same union with Rush and have no problem. Since adding Baulson that have chunk of HP and putting him in the same union with Rush makes the union harder to die and can last longer in battle.
alex5813
post Dec 3 2008, 06:12 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 3 2008, 06:07 PM)
I made a mistake by putting Baulson in another Union before this too. After that i tried to put Baulson into the same union with Rush and have no problem. Since adding Baulson that have chunk of HP and putting him in the same union with Rush makes the union harder to die and can last longer in battle.
huh...did I get you right ? Baulson can be in the same union with Rush, although Baulson is a Union Leader ?
kuuga28
post Dec 3 2008, 06:28 PM

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 3 2008, 06:12 PM)
huh...did I get you right ? Baulson can be in the same union with Rush, although Baulson is a Union Leader ?
Yes you can. Sometimes i put 2 union leaders together in the same group.

SUSzhiyung
post Dec 3 2008, 07:00 PM

133 posts

When fighting certain monsters that can multi-deadlock AND single entity only, it's best to put your strongest man into one big group or two.

I think character building is one of the most difficult part of the game... My plan was to at least build a union of healing/attacking magic, but it's so damn difficult until i scrapped the plan and make all melee unions... Anyone has good tips ah? Like how to make one character get to learn the starting art of certain magics type (like restore or invocation)...
kuuga28
post Dec 3 2008, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 3 2008, 07:00 PM)
When fighting certain monsters that can multi-deadlock AND single entity only, it's best to put your strongest man into one big group or two.

I think character building is one of the most difficult part of the game... My plan was to at least build a union of healing/attacking magic, but it's so damn difficult until i scrapped the plan and make all melee unions... Anyone has good tips ah? Like how to make one character get to learn the starting art of certain magics type (like restore or invocation)...
I built one tanker, one magic attack and one melee unions but still got owned by the Blackdale's Rare burrowing monster.Any tips how to kill that monster?
alex5813
post Dec 3 2008, 10:37 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 3 2008, 06:28 PM)
Yes you can. Sometimes i put 2 union leaders together in the same group.
urgh ! never knew that ! gonna try that again tonite !
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 4 2008, 01:30 AM

133 posts

Urgh, i gave up after game over like 6 times fighting the ancient dragon. Status effect attack really pwn big big time, combine with a AOE attack every turn, it is impossible for my party, which has little or no remedy or potion skill...

So i recruited a few soldiers with remedy skill, make sure every leader has either remedy or potion skill, gonna train those arts till the max. Then I'll go back ripping the dragon apart (and probably most monsters after that)...

Added on
Shit yeah, finally beat the stupid dragon...

This post has been edited by zhiyung: Dec 4 2008, 03:48 AM
alex5813
post Dec 4 2008, 04:06 PM

73 posts

was indeed better after putting Gauldson same union with me...now can pawn harder....plus...i never knew we can save almost ANYWHERE... i thoght we can only save at world map...isk, wasted time.....

Now just able to recruit soldiers for my union, Rush (equipped with Flameberge - 2hand sword) with mainly magic union coz he already has Wind Shear + Spark III, quite powerful but use lotsa AP, and union members with Spark + Mystic missile. David + Emma + soldier mainly for slashing...Baulson + 2 soldier usin 2 hand weapon (str based)

one of the main problem now is....although i know my union members have a certain skill, i cannot use it..coz frequent use of skills can have it lvlup...like my union member has Spark, but i wan to lvlup it by using it frequently...but i can't coz when i select Attack using Mystic Art, some other member will attack using mystic art instead of the person I want...
kuuga28
post Dec 4 2008, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 4 2008, 04:06 PM)
was indeed better after putting Gauldson same union with me...now can pawn harder....plus...i never knew we can save almost ANYWHERE... i thoght we can only save at world map...isk, wasted time.....

Now just able to recruit soldiers for my union, Rush (equipped with Flameberge - 2hand sword) with mainly magic union coz he already has Wind Shear + Spark III, quite powerful but use lotsa AP, and union members with Spark + Mystic missile. David + Emma + soldier mainly for slashing...Baulson + 2 soldier usin 2 hand weapon (str based)

one of the main problem now is....although i know my union members have a certain skill, i cannot use it..coz frequent use of skills can have it lvlup...like my union member has Spark, but i wan to lvlup it by using it frequently...but i can't coz when i select Attack using Mystic Art, some other member will attack using mystic art instead of the person I want...
Just keep on using mystic if you want it to lvl up,sometimes it will lvl up automatically even if it's not use by the character i think. Last night my Rush learned Wind Shear 2 automatically,i just sellect use mystic arts and the one that cast the mystic art is Emma and not Rush but after the battle it stated that Rush's learned new skills.My Rush didn't even cast anything yet.

This post has been edited by kuuga28: Dec 4 2008, 06:51 PM
alex5813
post Dec 4 2008, 08:56 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 4 2008, 06:48 PM)
Just keep on using mystic if you want it to lvl up,sometimes it will lvl up automatically even if it's not use by the character i think. Last night my Rush learned Wind Shear 2 automatically,i just sellect use mystic arts and the one that cast the mystic art is Emma and not Rush but after the battle it stated that Rush's learned new skills.My Rush didn't even cast anything yet.
if i remembered correctly, we can specify the mystic art or combat art to use at the Arts menu....need to confirm again tonite (still at work..zzz...)
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 5 2008, 12:44 AM

133 posts

The game system is VERY VERY complex, hence VERY VERY confusing. I really think it's a bad move to make such a game because it will not appeal to majority gamers... I myself am not really enjoying the game, i find myself cracking my head to solve problem too often... And then there isn't a official guide yet, i really don't wanna find out that i have to replay the game after 100 hours into the game.
neoakirax
post Dec 5 2008, 12:38 PM

This game is quite complex, till i realise the Battle Ranks and the Chains.
kuuga28
post Dec 5 2008, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 4 2008, 08:56 PM)
if i remembered correctly, we can specify the mystic art or combat art to use at the Arts menu....need to confirm again tonite (still at work..zzz...)
This game really focus on randomness.Random Rare,random skill learning,random usage of skills and the worst is random limit breaks. I've played for so long and still can't specify how to get my character to choose the skills i want them to use.

alex5813
post Dec 5 2008, 04:30 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 5 2008, 12:43 PM)
This game really focus on randomness.Random Rare,random skill learning,random usage of skills and the worst is random limit breaks. I've played for so long and still can't specify how to get my character to choose the skills i want them to use.
Ya true...but actually, you can have a some idea from the Amount of AP used for that particular action, like if Attack using Mystic Arts - 25AP, i can expect at least Wind Shear III + Spark III used...

It is true that the Arts are leveled up not by how you used that particular skill, but more to how your union acts...such as if I want to levelup my Wind Shear, my union must use Mystic Arts regularly...even if you did not cast Wind Shear during that battle, it is still possible to levelup that skill after victory...

For limit breaks, I believe having ur HP in the danger zone (blinking red), helps a lot, but it is difficult as well coz u can easily be KO-ed by another union of 3 members that attacks 70-100 per hit...

Current union settings:
Rush, Pagus + 2 magic caster
David, (forgot the general name - big guy with chunks of HP) + 2 2hand weapon user with Restore
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 5 2008, 04:54 PM

133 posts

For Rush, i notice the unique art appears more often when hp is low, it's like a survival skill. For Daaaaaavid, i think it's more when high morale and high hp, it's more like a pwnage skill.

My setup is 3 teams of 5 (will add one more magic team when Irina joins):
Rush, baulster, restore, lotion, melee
David, Torgal, restore, remedy, melee
Emmy, blocter, lotion, remedy, melee

I think i'll go for 4 teams of 5 for final build:
Rush, 2*melee, lotion, restore
Emmy, 2*melee, remedy, restore
Torgal, 2*melee, remedy, restore
David, Magic girl, Irina, lotion, restore
alex5813
post Dec 5 2008, 05:41 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 5 2008, 04:54 PM)
For Rush, i notice the unique art appears more often when hp is low, it's like a survival skill. For Daaaaaavid, i think it's more when high morale and high hp, it's more like a pwnage skill.

My setup is 3 teams of 5 (will add one more magic team when Irina joins):
Rush, baulster, restore, lotion, melee
David, Torgal, restore, remedy, melee
Emmy, blocter, lotion, remedy, melee

I think i'll go for 4 teams of 5 for final build:
Rush, 2*melee, lotion, restore
Emmy, 2*melee, remedy, restore
Torgal, 2*melee, remedy, restore
David, Magic girl, Irina, lotion, restore
For David, it is quite random....it's like I only get it 1/10 times, and David no longer launch Gae Bolg...but uses Ex-machina... I super love Gae Bolg coz it attacks ALL enemies...

I am still at early of the game, should be goin to Ivory Peak now, but I want to complete Emma's quest first...then I always got Ko-ed by the Blackwing coz it keeps casting curse...any idea? should I go with 2 unions(5 +4) or 3 unions (3+3+3)
neoakirax
post Dec 5 2008, 07:10 PM

go for 3 unions (3+3+3) for Emma's quest OR go lvl up your battle rank 1st b4 you do that quest. Most important you must have Revive skill from RUSH.

i grinding my Battle Rank at Blackdale. As i heard the more CHAINS you get, the higher chances of Bonus you will get. I got 200 chains and getting stats bonus up frequently.
alex5813
post Dec 5 2008, 09:25 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(neoakirax @ Dec 5 2008, 07:10 PM)
go for 3 unions (3+3+3) for Emma's quest OR go lvl up your battle rank 1st b4 you do that quest. Most important you must have Revive skill from RUSH.

i grinding my Battle Rank at Blackdale. As i heard the more CHAINS you get, the higher chances of Bonus you will get. I got 200 chains and getting stats bonus up frequently.
Chains are the number of enemies you killed rite ? But is that the one that get resetted whenever you leave a map ?
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 6 2008, 02:16 AM

133 posts

Reload the game.
neoakirax
post Dec 6 2008, 06:45 AM

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 5 2008, 09:25 PM)
Chains are the number of enemies you killed rite ? But is that the one that get resetted whenever you leave a map ?
Yes chains are the number enemies u kill. Only will be reset when u leave map & it will also be reset if Mobs attack you 1st (Enemy Advantage).
Try to save as much as possible, u can reload if ya make mistake.
ben3003
post Dec 7 2008, 07:07 AM

10,859 posts

i wanted to ask that after the main quest that u go to damolis or wat edi there rush saw Irina. After that rush go by his ownself rite? Then i accept the quest of going into gasolin caves, but the bandits leader are so OP. I wanted to know how to add union member.. my union only got rush and another union leader, no union member.
kuuga28
post Dec 7 2008, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2008, 07:07 AM)
i wanted to ask that after the main quest that u go to damolis or wat edi there rush saw Irina. After that rush go by his ownself rite? Then i accept the quest of going into gasolin caves, but the bandits leader are so OP. I wanted to know how to add union member.. my union only got rush and another union leader, no union member.
If i'm not mistaken at that point you can't add soldiers yet. Which other union leader is in your team?
alex5813
post Dec 7 2008, 01:35 PM

73 posts

You will need to go buy a Union Leader before accepting the quest, just to be safe
ben3003
post Dec 7 2008, 06:33 PM

10,859 posts

yea.. i bought a union leader. I got 2 union, 1 guest union. But no soldiers. How to kill the bandits la... they got like 3-4unions with soldiers, They 2 union come hit rush oleidi die... 1 deadlock, 1 flank attack.. then they rinse and repeat for the other two. They hit like 120-130 while rush only have 300hp..

Added on December 7, 2008, 6:33 pmand start 1st round sure rush will die one.. not even got time to recover or heal..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 7 2008, 06:33 PM
alex5813
post Dec 7 2008, 08:17 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2008, 06:33 PM)
yea.. i bought a union leader. I got 2 union, 1 guest union. But no soldiers. How to kill the bandits la... they got like 3-4unions with soldiers, They 2 union come hit rush oleidi die... 1 deadlock, 1 flank attack.. then they rinse and repeat for the other two. They hit like 120-130 while rush only have 300hp..

Added on December 7, 2008, 6:33 pmand start 1st round sure rush will die one.. not even got time to recover or heal..
huh? 3 to 4 ? i remembered only 2 unions, one is the boss's union, another one is the member's union....for my case, i hit the member union first before attacking the boss....

Currently just after Elysion...going to meet the Evil Duke...anyone knows how to strengthen the weapon? I am currently using 2 katanas at both hands, but it just won't go to the level +1, my other party members are already +1 and +2, but mine still remains at +1....any idea how to improve it ?

Anyone notice the arts has a Modifier column, any idea what it means ?

I also learnt a great magic, Blackout ~~~~~~ Attacks all enemies, acts like a Limit break, real cool !!!
ben3003
post Dec 7 2008, 08:20 PM

10,859 posts

cannot le... i very sure 1st round rush sure die one.. i got equip bracelet edi.. maybe i need shield for that?
alex5813
post Dec 7 2008, 09:25 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2008, 08:20 PM)
cannot le... i very sure 1st round rush sure die one.. i got equip bracelet edi.. maybe i need shield for that?
you can use the Greaves u found earlier, +3%HP i think..............and check what equipment you are using now....if necessary, go get a 2-hand weapon, or Kiteshield...it's ok to spend a bit
ben3003
post Dec 7 2008, 10:02 PM

10,859 posts

i got use 2h weapon, prob is the 1st round rush sure die one. IS 100% die.. so i dunno how.. maybe i go back buy shield.. i buy 2 +3% HP thing edi. Maybe i need to up lvl.. see how lo.. if cannot i throw this game into the bin ><
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 8 2008, 05:39 AM

133 posts

Suspend the mission, do later when you added soldiers. It's close to impossible to beat the mission without soldiers.

And damn, the maximum members is only 18, wtf... 6 leaders + 12 soldiers... aduh...

Now the leader setup a bit messy because i've been using rush, emmy, david and torgul for my 2 melee teams all along, but just now i noticed that there are some reserve leaders that are more powerful than them, the stat is higher, the weapon is CRAZILY better (emmy holding 86, boulster who sits on bench for whole life has a 195), except they don't have the unique arts... uh... so difficult to choose...
kuuga28
post Dec 8 2008, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2008, 10:02 PM)
i got use 2h weapon, prob is the 1st round rush sure die one. IS 100% die.. so i dunno how.. maybe i go back buy shield.. i buy 2 +3% HP thing edi. Maybe i need to up lvl.. see how lo.. if cannot i throw this game into the bin ><
Put all leaders together with Rush make it one union only.
alex5813
post Dec 8 2008, 03:37 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 8 2008, 05:39 AM)
Suspend the mission, do later when you added soldiers. It's close to impossible to beat the mission without soldiers.

And damn, the maximum members is only 18, wtf... 6 leaders + 12 soldiers... aduh...

Now the leader setup a bit messy because i've been using rush, emmy, david and torgul for my 2 melee teams all along, but just now i noticed that there are some reserve leaders that are more powerful than them, the stat is higher, the weapon is CRAZILY better (emmy holding 86, boulster who sits on bench for whole life has a 195), except they don't have the unique arts... uh... so difficult to choose...
Boulster is STRONG !!! + another Yama (from the first mission at Gaslin Cave) in a union can deal heavy melee damage!

Emma got unique arts ? hmm...din notice that...but Boulster's combat arts are every strong like Cyclone and Dragon Flight, dealing around 4K damage each....

For Rush, I emphasize on Mysic Arts and I got the Synergy Blackout magic that is real cool, but one bad thing is, the members of your unions will be in blackout as well....

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 8 2008, 02:40 PM)
Put all leaders together with Rush make it one union only.
I dun think the Guest Union can be inserted at Rush's union...

neoakirax
post Dec 8 2008, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2008, 06:33 PM)

Put the 2 leader you just bought into same union with Rush, you just need to figure out the Union setting, i was confuse at 1st too.
Dont BUY Shield waste $, cos you can get FREE shield at Dilmoor 2nd visit biggrin.gif
DjiNn
post Dec 8 2008, 08:34 PM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

After seeing Ed1001 playing the game.. Plus reading all information that you guys posted.

I strictly still don't know what is going on laugh.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 9 2008, 01:36 AM

133 posts

Ok after about a week of gameplay, probably 60-70 hours, i decided to restart.

The leveling system is so damn confusing and i can almost guarantee those who have started without reading thru tons of forum information can and will cacat your characters. Imagine your team of BR100 has the same stats with another guy's team of BR50.

Now i think the system is a failure because in order to build the strongest team, you will enjoy the least. You gotta pick what to fight, how many, how long, plan everything, if not on course, reload the game, there goes your hours of efforts. So now you have the strongest possible team, but you can not fight mobs, you run and run, go straight to the boss/objective. Oops, you ran into a mob, reload game. Good thing you can save any where tho.
' or 1=1 --
post Dec 9 2008, 10:26 AM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

too complicated for me. yawn.gif i just got it a few days ago and to be honest. They should've spent less time on turn based crap and turn it into a hack and slash woahahaha!!
kuuga28
post Dec 9 2008, 10:47 AM

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 9 2008, 01:36 AM)
Ok after about a week of gameplay, probably 60-70 hours, i decided to restart.

The leveling system is so damn confusing and i can almost guarantee those who have started without reading thru tons of forum information can and will cacat your characters. Imagine your team of BR100 has the same stats with another guy's team of BR50.

Now i think the system is a failure because in order to build the strongest team, you will enjoy the least. You gotta pick what to fight, how many, how long, plan everything, if not on course, reload the game, there goes your hours of efforts. So now you have the strongest possible team, but you can not fight mobs, you run and run, go straight to the boss/objective. Oops, you ran into a mob, reload game. Good thing you can save any where tho.
What happended? Why do you wanna restart? Are your BR too high and can't kill mobs or the boss too hard at your BR level? I read from forums that bosses par with your BR level.The higher the BR level the harder the boss is. Think they followed the FF VIII system.

SUSzhiyung
post Dec 9 2008, 12:07 PM

133 posts

Story bosses are fine, my stats and BR is out, but not that far la (BR100, 3 teams of 5, 3k-4k hp each team), still managed to beat the crap out of every bosses before i stopped upon entering Undelwalt.

I can start the proper leveling now and probably doing ok afterward, should be able to take out mini bosses fine. But the thing is, i've missed quite a bunch of things, like the kill god mission, nurse hiring, and EMMY FREAKIN STOLE MY NIGHTBLOSSOM. I'll need to do another round to kill god and get the 140gs anyway, so restart now lo.
kuuga28
post Dec 9 2008, 01:19 PM

I'm currently at Hero Rampart and running around doing all the side quest .My BR is 52 now. Hope i don't miss any subquest yet.I heard this game is heavy on missable quest. Clocking at 16 hours
alex5813
post Dec 9 2008, 02:48 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 9 2008, 12:07 PM)
Story bosses are fine, my stats and BR is out, but not that far la (BR100, 3 teams of 5, 3k-4k hp each team), still managed to beat the crap out of every bosses before i stopped upon entering Undelwalt.

I can start the proper leveling now and probably doing ok afterward, should be able to take out mini bosses fine. But the thing is, i've missed quite a bunch of things, like the kill god mission, nurse hiring, and EMMY FREAKIN STOLE MY NIGHTBLOSSOM. I'll need to do another round to kill god and get the 140gs anyway, so restart now lo.
heh heh, saw ur post at gamefaqs on this problem...too bad it is not retrievable....

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 9 2008, 01:19 PM)
I'm currently at Hero Rampart and running around doing all the side quest .My BR is 52 now. Hope i don't miss any subquest yet.I heard this game is heavy on missable quest. Clocking at 16 hours
I think I am at the same place with you, before going to Hero Rampart...currently doing quest in Balterossa....to find Hannah's sister, Hinnah....eer....anyone knows how to find this treasure that Hinnah lost ?
kuuga28
post Dec 9 2008, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Dec 9 2008, 02:48 PM)
heh heh, saw ur post at gamefaqs on this problem...too bad it is not retrievable....
I think I am at the same place with you, before going to Hero Rampart...currently doing quest in Balterossa....to find Hannah's sister, Hinnah....eer....anyone knows how to find this treasure that Hinnah lost ?
It's in one of the locked room inside. Pick up the glowing thing beside Hinnah,it happends to be a key and the key opens the locked doors inside.

alex5813
post Dec 9 2008, 05:41 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kuuga28 @ Dec 9 2008, 05:13 PM)
It's in one of the locked room inside. Pick up the glowing thing beside Hinnah,it happends to be a key and the key opens the locked doors inside.
thanks, I found the answer in Gamefaqs dy.....
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 9 2008, 06:09 PM

133 posts

The quests in LR are still ok, if you wanna talk about heavy-missable, try Tales of Vesparia. Some LR quests are only disc sensitive, must do in disc 1, only very limited, only 2 or 3 that i know, that are actually time sensitive, you have to do it between this certain period.

I went thru some forums, read that some people has a team of 3, has LOTS MORE hp than my team of 5, and lower BR some more, that's where it puts me off...

Attachment:
The freakin nightblossom emmy stole...
Baulson's omgwtfbbq weapon...
Rush relatively pathetic weapon...
(Emmy's stat is low because i hate her so i don't train her)

This post has been edited by zhiyung: Dec 10 2008, 03:04 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
althosmk
post Dec 10 2008, 02:08 PM

15 posts

Which sites do you guys go to read up on all the hints and tips of leveling up etc?
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 10 2008, 02:24 PM

133 posts

Most major chinese game forums have discussions about this.
althosmk
post Dec 10 2008, 02:25 PM

15 posts

aiyaa i dun know how to read chinese sad.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 10 2008, 05:32 PM

133 posts

Well, not only you need to know chinese, good command in japanese is always handy as a lot of information especially map names, item names, quest names are all in japanese... took me REALLY long time to figure out simple simple instructions...
Simactol
post Dec 10 2008, 10:47 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(althosmk @ Dec 10 2008, 02:25 PM)
aiyaa i dun know how to read chinese sad.gif
How about Gamefaq?
http://www.gamefaqs.com/console/xbox360/game/939444.html
http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/gentopic.php?board=939444

or even here xbox360achievements.org:
http://www.xbox360achievements.org/forum/f...splay.php?f=611

SUSzhiyung
post Dec 13 2008, 02:03 PM

133 posts

Holy crap, anyone starting this game better read all the guides, especially how to obtain secret achievements... A total of 540gs (3 ach) can be missed and you have to restart the game to get those.
Simactol
post Dec 13 2008, 05:45 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 13 2008, 02:03 PM)
Holy crap, anyone starting this game better read all the guides, especially how to obtain secret achievements... A total of 540gs (3 ach) can be missed and you have to restart the game to get those.
Hello,mind to share ....?thks
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 13 2008, 09:06 PM

133 posts

>_> I don't know there is any English guides out there... but i suggest you wait for a bit, the official guide is planned to be released on 15th (no idea delayed again or not), so lots of information will be flooding out.

The missable quests i know are
Disc 1:
- baulson (do it as soon as you see him)
- emma (before nest of eagle)
- melphina knight guild quests (must choose the lower option every time)
The rest just complete before boss fight (jager and hell gate).

Disc 2:
- ghor lord (start before base fight, must follow exact sequence during bass fight)
- the fallen (after mt vakel appears, before entering undelwalt)
- haruko (before the quest in darken forest)

If you really finished all the quests, you'll get a new quest (you very last quest) in athlum pub from the secret lady (the onewho gave you first quest. Finish that, you can fight with absolute conqueror.

So, 140gs for the fallen, 200gs for the final quest, 200gs for absolute conqueror.
ben3003
post Dec 14 2008, 11:02 AM

10,859 posts

baulson very kik eh... is it the one ask u go save aristocrat's son? Cannot win le..
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 21 2008, 07:31 PM

133 posts

A guide for those who are frustrated and angry on the game:

http://bbs.a9vg.com/read.php?tid=1057445&fpage=1
alex5813
post Dec 22 2008, 06:14 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 21 2008, 07:31 PM)
A guide for those who are frustrated and angry on the game:

http://bbs.a9vg.com/read.php?tid=1057445&fpage=1
zhiyung, my current BR is 71 and my Rush team's is only 1800++ HP (4 members), while 2 other team with 2 Union Leaders is having 2200++ HP....I seriously think that I should restart the game....any ideas ?

I think of the main reason I am getting such high BR is because I am doing lotsa sidequests as soon as I can get it, and I am scared that the sidequests will be gone after a certain time period....

Anyone can give advise, should I restart....

Added on December 23, 2008, 2:48 amAm getting bored and fed up with spawning the rare monsters..... was trying with two Guild Quest monsters at the Catacombs and Mojcado Castle, been spawning over 2 hours for both places, but with no luck....

Any great ideas ??

This post has been edited by alex5813: Dec 23 2008, 02:48 AM
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 23 2008, 03:19 AM

133 posts

Continue to read if you are be prepared to restart the game...

alex5813
post Dec 23 2008, 12:56 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 23 2008, 03:19 AM)
Continue to read if you are be prepared to restart the game...

thanks real much ~~~ can pls pm me on how to do stats grinding ?? real thx ~~~
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 23 2008, 02:46 PM

133 posts

Too lazy to explain the in depth concept tongue.gif , but the general rules is:

Do NOT engage monsters that you do NOT need to fight, like when doing a quest, only engage the boss at the end, do NOT engage the mobs on your way. If you are trying to gather components, only fight the monster once, if the component doesn't drop or the mob is not captured, reload save until it is.

The leveling process:
< BR30 - Blackdale's Oblivion, first vulture mob, one group of two
< BR45 - Numor's 5th zone, after escalator turn left scavenger mob, one group of one
< BR60 - Ancient ruin level 1, go straight second junction turn right first black-flying-octopus, one group of four
< BR120 - Ancient ruin level 3, turn left at first junction second giant mob, one group of three

The only problem you might run into is probably holy servant (need to beat it to gain access to ancient ruin level 3). It took me 1.5 hours at BR55, wasted dunno how many herbs...

It's best that you start the leveling after you assemble your full team with the leaders you wanna use. For soldiers, choose 12 and stick to them, do not change.

alex5813
post Dec 23 2008, 09:12 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 23 2008, 02:46 PM)

Do NOT engage monsters that you do NOT need to fight, like when doing a quest, only engage the boss at the end, do NOT engage the mobs on your way. If you are trying to gather components, only fight the monster once, if the component doesn't drop or the mob is not captured, reload save until it is.

The leveling process:
< BR45 - Numor's 5th zone, after escalator turn left scavenger mob, one group of one
< BR60 - Ancient ruin level 1, go straight second junction turn right first black-flying-octopus, one group of four
< BR120 - Ancient ruin level 3, turn left at first junction second giant mob, one group of three

The only problem you might run into is probably holy servant (need to beat it to gain access to ancient ruin level 3). It took me 1.5 hours at BR55, wasted dunno how many herbs...

It's best that you start the leveling after you assemble your full team with the leaders you wanna use. For soldiers, choose 12 and stick to them, do not change.
Thanks Zhiyung, I saw a similar method on one of the website you posted earlier, but couldn't really understand....
In your example, when you say < BR30 - Blackdale's Oblivion, first vulture mob, one group of two, do I only fight this vulture mob until I reach BR30 ?

SUSzhiyung
post Dec 23 2008, 10:24 PM

133 posts

Well, yes, in a way, but you can always move to the next stage once your team is strong enough to survive them, like if you can take the scavenger down at BR20, by all means, go for it.

This post has been edited by zhiyung: Dec 23 2008, 10:24 PM
alex5813
post Dec 23 2008, 10:49 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 23 2008, 10:24 PM)
Well, yes, in a way, but you can always move to the next stage once your team is strong enough to survive them, like if you can take the scavenger down at BR20, by all means, go for it.
As I recalled reading, I am not supposed to kill the enemies in a bunch rite ? I am supposed to kill it one by one, because killing them in a bunch will increase my BR drastically, but just levelup my stats in a bit...

The other part I do not quite get it is, do I keep killing the SAME enemy until I reach the certain BR ? ie, for < BR30 - Blackdale's Oblivion, first vulture mob, one group of two - I only kill this particular enemy until my BR reach 30 ?
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 23 2008, 11:07 PM

133 posts

Yes, that one, that particular one. So you kill it, you move back to previous zone, save, reload, kill it again, repeat. Yea, damn stupid process, but maximum gain.

Linking mobs will not lower stat gain, but it will increase BR gain. So for example, there are two mobs:
1. you link and kill them - you get stat gain, and you get BR gain.
2. you kill them separately - you get stat gain twice (2 battles), and you BR might not increase. Even increase also, you get twice the stat gain in the end, still better than linking.
alex5813
post Dec 23 2008, 11:22 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 23 2008, 11:07 PM)
Yes, that one, that particular one. So you kill it, you move back to previous zone, save, reload, kill it again, repeat. Yea, damn stupid process, but maximum gain.

Linking mobs will not lower stat gain, but it will increase BR gain. So for example, there are two mobs:
1. you link and kill them - you get stat gain, and you get BR gain.
2. you kill them separately - you get stat gain twice (2 battles), and you BR might not increase. Even increase also, you get twice the stat gain in the end, still better than linking.
Huh ? I can respawn the enemy just by moving one zone back ? So for an example I am having now, I am trying to spawn the rare monster in Mojcado castle. The condition for it to appear is no Hypnos, no Wild Raptors and no Prowler.... So if before I enter the Phoenix Section (where the rare monster is), I can save it outside Oath Section (one zone before Phoenix Section), go in and if I do not find the rare monster, I can just re-load and try again?? I thought I need to exit the whole map to get the monster respawned...urgh !
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 23 2008, 11:55 PM

133 posts

Zoning to respawn existing mobs and zoning to spawn different set of mobs are different.

For the vulture example, you want to fight the same vulture again, so you can just move one zone away, save/load, it'll respawn. For rare monsters also, if you already got the mob spawned and wanna fight it again and again, so just zone out and save/load.

But to spawn a rare monster that didn't show up in the current map config, you'll have to go back from world map.
Jcsy
post Dec 24 2008, 12:31 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

how good is the game compared 2 FF series?
tidus2k
post Dec 24 2008, 12:42 AM

31 posts

not good enough to compare it with FF
Jcsy
post Dec 24 2008, 01:43 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

i see.. thanks for the heads up smile.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 24 2008, 01:44 AM

133 posts

But still, Tales of Vesperia and this are probably the best RPG available for Xbox360.
Simactol
post Dec 24 2008, 10:27 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 24 2008, 01:44 AM)
But still, Tales of Vesperia and this are probably the best RPG available for Xbox360.
agree with u smile.gif this game is worth to try
sickboy
post Dec 24 2008, 11:18 AM

473 posts

how's Lost Odyssey compare to this game?
SUSzhiyung
post Dec 24 2008, 11:44 AM

133 posts

Well... lots of people prefer LO over TLR, but personally i prefer TLR.

Story wise, both have crappy story, no one is better than the other one.
Gameplay wise, TLR definitely better, the battle system, the rare monsters, guild task and all, way way more things to do than LO.
In TLR, a lot of people are having trouble with most bosses. But of course, once you actually learn the system, they are not that difficult, but i wouldn't call them cake walk. In LO, most people only struggle against the first 2 bosses, the rest of the bosses... close one eye.

Oh yea, some people will say TLR is technically inferior, slow frame rate, graphic glitches, but to me, what do i care, it's a freakin RPG, not a shooter.

This post has been edited by zhiyung: Dec 24 2008, 11:45 AM
alex5813
post Dec 24 2008, 05:55 PM

73 posts

Am gonna restart tonight....I would prefer TLR than LO coz LO seems expression-less.....but TLR, although seems expresionless, but it is more to you are unable to tell / differentiate the expression, especially the Siovanni and Qsiti...

Added on December 25, 2008, 5:02 pmZhiyung, I currently just got to Elysion and max number of Leaders I can get is 4 and current BR=5.... Should I go levelup at Blackdale Obsidian Trail now or should I wait after I get a better expand on the max number of Leaders ?

I think I've got it...the best time should be just when I am about to go to Heroic Ramparts and can 5 Union Leaders in the team

This post has been edited by alex5813: Dec 25 2008, 05:15 PM
beetch
post Jan 2 2009, 01:41 PM

429 posts

actually alot of people has misconception on this BR thing that it affects max stat growth substantially.

To be honest from my experience, BR growth is pretty linear with the stats and the progress of the game.

I have experimented that with different BR end of the game would more or less yield the same stats for all the characters. Maybe with a 5% offset which is not much of a concern. Weather u grind at every quest or only grind at ancient ruins for the so called "maximum growth" is the same.

The game actually progresses in such a way that no matter what, when you are just strong enough the BR will just grow to the point that retards your growth, there is no way to prevent this but only a way of delaying, which by all means it just ends up the same and psychologically people actually think it does matter.

What matters is what monster you are fighting at your BR rate and linking it or not. Linking it does increase your BR, but only on assumptions that you are too strong for the monster, and that means you get little exp.

The theory is, your BR is linear with your stats growth. No matter how you avoid it, it will grow at the amount of your stats gain. Some ppl complain aiyoo my BR too high,no stats gain, my BR too high my hp so low, i wanna restart lah etc bullsht.The game is very simple, at disk 1 get around 60-65BR(i beat disk 1 with all the quest at BR58 only) then you are able to beat every boss and quest in disk one already.

Oh, forgot to mention, character selection in union is very important too. If you plan to get max skills put your leader on as soon as possible.For eg, caedmon with max stats is literally god already if u can buy him at 19k as early as possible and train him.His final does 15k damage alone.

This post has been edited by beetch: Jan 2 2009, 01:44 PM
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 2 2009, 03:57 PM

133 posts

Not really. Not to say playing it normally is difficult, but if you do the maximum stat grinding, you will definitely notice the difference.

Just to let you know, my first run characters at BR120 have lesser stats then my second run characters at BR70. The only things that they (second run) are lagging behind are combat arts and weapons.

Oh yea, torgal, ceadmon, baulson literally destroy everything once they have their weapon arts. The other guys' weapon arts are not as effective as theirs.
Thrust
post Jan 3 2009, 02:53 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Bros, can I install this game into my 20GB HDD disc by disc. Meaning that I'll install disc 1 at first, after completing disc 1, then install Disc 2. Is it possible to do so?
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 3 2009, 02:55 PM

133 posts

Yes, you can, in fact, I'm doing that, because of my puny 20gig hdd.
Thrust
post Jan 3 2009, 02:58 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Woooo.. syiok!! thanks bro... Heard this game has serious frame rates issues... Hopefully by installing it into HDD, it's less obvious.... Haven't got my hands on this title though. Just ordered from Playasia together with Tales of Vesperia.

I AM A HARDCORE JRPG fan!! biggrin.gif
cannavaro
post Jan 3 2009, 08:04 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

The Last Remnant is now on offer at PA!
Around RM123.
http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-dw-49-en-70-3168.html
Thrust
post Jan 3 2009, 11:00 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Maybe they are dumping it cheap due to technical problem of the game. sad.gif
cannavaro
post Jan 4 2009, 05:41 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Oh is it that serious?
I thought it's just one of their random promotions. Really tempted to get this game. Famitsu gave it an almost perfect score after all while western sites/magazines almost tore it to shreds. sweat.gif

Simactol
post Jan 4 2009, 11:42 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 3 2009, 11:00 PM)
Maybe they are dumping it cheap due to technical problem of the game. sad.gif
whatever it is,the price offered by PA is good enough,why dun have a try? smile.gif
Thrust
post Jan 4 2009, 12:03 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Ya, Ordered already tongue.gif I'm a sucker for JRPG (stay away from Enchanted Arms, totally a crappy title... I've boycotted UBISOFT for releasing such a trash into the market)
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 4 2009, 12:38 PM

133 posts

Personally i don't think the technical problem is that serious. After installing to HDD, it's within my tolerable limit. This is a RPG, does the slow frame rate (occasionally during battle), texture popping matter that much? And frequent loading, lots of 360 titles are too..

The only real problem of this game is not player friendly. Lack of documentation and the system is more to the hardcore players.
lksing78
post Jan 5 2009, 01:20 AM

91 posts

Boy this game lagging...need to change the graphic chip to Ati4870x2 tongue.gif laugh.gif
Happy new year
Simactol
post Jan 5 2009, 10:50 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 4 2009, 12:03 PM)
Ya, Ordered already tongue.gif I'm a sucker for JRPG (stay away from Enchanted Arms, totally a crappy title... I've boycotted UBISOFT for releasing such a trash into the market)
cool rclxms.gif enjoy ur game bro brows.gif

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Jan 4 2009, 12:38 PM)
Personally i don't think the technical problem is that serious. After installing to HDD, it's within my tolerable limit. This is a RPG, does the slow frame rate (occasionally during battle), texture popping matter that much? And frequent loading, lots of 360 titles are too..

The only real problem of this game is not player friendly. Lack of documentation and the system is more to the hardcore players.
agree with some points here too.... smile.gif

ZeroX2Cool
post Jan 5 2009, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Jan 4 2009, 12:38 PM)

Yeap, the technical glitches in TLR is not so apparent since it is a RPG, for me the loading is the most annoying thing, it loads after every battle. I think Lost Odyssey did better for the loading part.

The lack of documentation is also pretty annoying, you just do not know what is happening since the levelling system and battle system are not like those conventional system I played before. So gotta trial and error as you play and read as much as possible on forum.

So far the game is quite addictive since its very different and you will want to explore how it work. Character development is dynamic as you got plenty of weapons to choose from and different arts that you can grow your character.

This game is definitely worth getting for JRPG lover. Singapore is selling at SGD52.
alex5813
post Jan 6 2009, 11:17 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Dec 23 2008, 02:46 PM)

The leveling process:

ZhiYung, I am already at Ancient Ruin Level 1, but I canot find the black-flying-octopus...is it on Ancient Ruins - Grammi Tier - Anatoray/Distish or other floors ?? Thanks ya....I am currently in BR64...and I have killed Ymir....
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 6 2009, 11:44 AM

133 posts

The first floor. The mobs you encounter upon entering are either rockgraters (scorpion thingy) or the charb... (whatever, octopus thingy).

Oh btw for the giants at level 3, turn left at first junction, you will encounter 2x2, 1x3, 1x2 and another 1x2. I usually go for 2nd 3rd and 4th.
alex5813
post Jan 7 2009, 12:24 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Jan 6 2009, 11:44 AM)
The first floor. The mobs you encounter upon entering are either rockgraters (scorpion thingy) or the charb... (whatever, octopus thingy).

Oh btw for the giants at level 3, turn left at first junction, you will encounter 2x2, 1x3, 1x2 and another 1x2. I usually go for 2nd 3rd and 4th.
i tried a few times, but still encountering those big birds....am not sure am at the correct place....
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 7 2009, 01:17 AM

133 posts

You probably passed the intersection.

alex5813
post Jan 7 2009, 01:28 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Jan 7 2009, 01:17 AM)
You probably passed the intersection.
wow~~~ cool !!! thanks so much ~~~!

According to you picture, the room where the birds are is the place where I killed Ymir...hmm....maybe I have to go in and out a few times...thanks ya !
cannavaro
post Jan 18 2009, 09:16 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Okay I've been reading the from a few pages back and I'm still wondering, what is BR?
I'm very early in the game (Elysion city I think) and I can only have a max of 4 leaders in unions. I've been going back to previous 'dungeons' to gather components and level up my arts. Is there anything wrong with this?
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 18 2009, 10:25 PM

133 posts

If you want to have the absolute strongest possible team, yea, you probably doing it wrongly. But as long as you still less than BR30-40, it's not too late to correct, you'll still end up with a pretty good team.

There are so many things to consider building your team, so many things you can miss in the game. I suggest you spend some times, hours if needed, reading gamefaqs forum. If not, you'll probably need to restart after spending tens of hours.

PLEASE read the quest list, there are quests that can be missed. There is NO new game plus, you will have to restart and go thru a FULL playthru if you missed something.
alex5813
post Jan 19 2009, 01:37 PM

73 posts

am currently BR80 and I cannot defeat the !@#$% Holy Servant in Ancient Ruins ~~~!!! Any recommendation places to level up aside than Ancient Ruins for the moment ? I have just started the Base Attack...
samurai20
post Jan 19 2009, 05:02 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Tonight will start again this game coz... just borrow guide book from my friend.. brows.gif... anyway now no new game so time to play and complete all old game that i bought... smile.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 19 2009, 07:36 PM

133 posts

Hmm holy servant, i managed to beat it at BR55, the battle took 1.5 hour, my hardest battle in this game. Buy lots of herbs, have lots of patience, prepare a pot of hot tea, play a relaxing music album. Keep healing and reviving your team, do not attack unless you can use unique attack, OR make sure whichever union that attacks can survive three consecutive attacks (current turn's counter - current turn's end - next turn's raid or splash).

The brady game guide or the japanese one? If the brady, better be careful, some claimed it has some mistakes and unspecified critical information.
S4PH
post Jan 19 2009, 07:43 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

wow this game sure looks hard,thinking of buying it.
cannavaro
post Jan 20 2009, 08:17 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Found a very informative thread:
http://www.xbox360achievements.org/forum/s...ad.php?t=118750

Be prepared to read walls of text. laugh.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Jan 20 2009, 11:05 PM

133 posts

Some of the information are just plain wrong, ok, not really wrong, but wrong in the way if you want the best possible setup. Some of them have no idea or don't intend to obtain the ultimate team. However, those info will be really helpful in your first playthru, and after that you will finally grasp the entire system, and if you do start a second playthru, you will be able to formulate much much improved strategies.
alex5813
post Jan 21 2009, 11:09 PM

73 posts

I practically gave up on this game...waaay too complicated to play and to think...utilizes too many of my brain cells...zzz...
rid88
post Jan 22 2009, 08:48 AM

currently in disc 2,where u have to beat all six bases before going to the fortress.

The 4th base is damn hard!(where u have to fight 2 babes)
SUSadli
post Jan 23 2009, 03:39 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(alex5813 @ Jan 21 2009, 11:09 PM)
I practically gave up on this game...waaay too complicated to play and to think...utilizes too many of my brain cells...zzz...
ok sell it to me at a cheap cheap (and reasonable) price. biggrin.gif
kuuga28
post Feb 6 2009, 12:39 PM

Currently at Disc 2.My BR is 107. I'm struggling with The Fallen quest,he owns me bigtime with his Arcana magic and God Hand. My Union team is 5/5/4/4,Rush Group have 6k HP,Torgal Group 5k HP,Irina Group 4k HP and Pagus group with 3k HP. Is my stats ok or i have to restart the game all over?

This post has been edited by kuuga28: Feb 6 2009, 12:40 PM
SUSzhiyung
post Feb 6 2009, 04:59 PM

133 posts

Try not to use groups with less than 3-4k hp, they will become a burden. Memorize the pattern of fallen's attack, plan accordingly. I took it out at Br9x in 4 turns. Anyway, at your BR, doesn't any of your general have weapon art? They will make the fight extremely easy.
kuuga28
post Feb 6 2009, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Feb 6 2009, 04:59 PM)
Try not to use groups with less than 3-4k hp, they will become a burden. Memorize the pattern of fallen's attack, plan accordingly. I took it out at Br9x in 4 turns. Anyway, at your BR, doesn't any of your general have weapon art? They will make the fight extremely easy.
Yes they have. Pagus-Daisy Chain,Caedmon-Heaven's Door(hit 35k),Baulson-Heaven's Door(hit 60k-75k).I've no problem with most of Fallen's atack but he keeps on using God Hand that instant KO my units(last time i fight him he did like 6-7 times God hand.) Furthermore he has that annoying attack Animacule that silent my union and all they can do is healing with items. Also my unions seems not wanting to use their Combat attack,all they wanna do is heal and normal attack.
cannavaro
post Feb 6 2009, 11:40 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

One good strategy (if you leveled up properly that is) is to use just 1 union with only Generals. You'll get more weapon art/omnistrike trigger.

That's what I read anyway. tongue.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Feb 6 2009, 11:48 PM

133 posts

AFAIK you only need to score about 300 (or 400k) of damage within 6 turns.

I suggest you screw Pagus, move one soldier to the other group, make 3 groups with 5k over hp, which can take 2 turns of punishment without healing. A 3k hp union will probably need to heal every turn (after first turn), so they are useless.

Honestly, the damage of your weapon art is at the low side, because caedmon's hd should be able to do 200k upwards, and baulson's 100k upwards. But anyway, one thing you can try is get a group without weapon art to deadlock fallen, the rest standby, then on second turn, unleash weapon art, then just heal and use weapon art. Exploit the unit that can do weapon art.

Bloctor can use a accessory that can auto cancel status effect on next turn, utilize that if you need. And, Torgal's weapon art can do miracle also.
kuuga28
post Feb 7 2009, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Feb 6 2009, 11:48 PM)
AFAIK you only need to score about 300 (or 400k) of damage within 6 turns.

I suggest you screw Pagus, move one soldier to the other group, make 3 groups with 5k over hp, which can take 2 turns of punishment without healing. A 3k hp union will probably need to heal every turn (after first turn), so they are useless.

Honestly, the damage of your weapon art is at the low side, because caedmon's hd should be able to do 200k upwards, and baulson's 100k upwards. But anyway, one thing you can try is get a group without weapon art to deadlock fallen, the rest standby, then on second turn, unleash weapon art, then just heal and use weapon art. Exploit the unit that can do weapon art.

Bloctor can use a accessory that can auto cancel status effect on next turn, utilize that if you need. And, Torgal's weapon art can do miracle also.
Finally defeated the Fallen in 4 turns.I use 2 groups.One damage dealer and the other healer.IDK if it's luck or it's game engine,it seems when i use 2 party,Fallen hardly uses Hand of God attack(only use once the rest is just apocalypse and normal atk on the NPC). Anyway thanks for the tips.
As for the HD for Caedmon,what affect the attack damage?He have atk power of 147.
SUSadli
post Feb 23 2009, 12:30 PM

33 posts

this game, despite what the reviewers sed, is good. i had it installed in my hdd, and i really love this game. i think for anyone who loves traditional turn-based rpg games, ull like this game.

my doubt has been cleared! smile.gif
kenshee
post Feb 23 2009, 09:23 PM

74 posts

great game icon_rolleyes.gif , but kinda hard because the higher BR you have, the stronger enemy they are. so any idea to get lower BR and high character status?? hmm.gif
cannavaro
post Feb 24 2009, 01:37 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

The leveling system is a joke.
To become uber powerful you'll have to dodge most enemies right from the start and only fight a selected few. And don't bother about chaining multiple enemies, you'll only make it worse.
I started leveling properly only after BR25 or so. Still managed to get good stats. Haven't tried fighting the Ultimate Conqueror though.

Anyway, here's the best way to level.
Taken from x360achievements. Credits to InfinityMaster.

What is the purpose of this thread ?

Explaining how to make a god-like party and not having to restart at the beginning of Disc 2 because you're weaker than my little sister armed with a tea spoon.

To beat what kind of über-bosses do I need to stat-grind ?

You will be able to beat everybody in the game unless you totally screw things up, except for :

1) Holy Servant, a strong dragon that guards the Metopon Tier - Boreas door in the Ancient Ruins from the DLC. This tier holds a Giant-type foe called Ancbolder. Ancbolders are your best bet to grind at high levels (and they drop Jewel Steel, which is a rare component nearly every character needs for ultimate weapons), so you have to beat Holy Servant to become god-like.

2) The Fallen, a badass boss that nets you an achieve of 140G during the Wyngale quest, in Baaluk. Has 450K HP over BR75 (400K if you're under) and must be killed in 10 turns or game over. Nets you the achieve, 250K in cash and Wyngale recruitable (he has loads of arts, looks awsome but by that time he will be too weak for you).

3) Demigod, a Fallen-type foe that has 1 million HP, and can curse and enthrall your unions. Last boss of the Metopon Notus tier in Ancients Ruins. Hard as nails unless you're god-like.

4) The Absolute Conqueror, the ultimate secret boss of the game, that appears during the quest Things Unchangeable. Has 1 million HP and nets you 1 million cash (which you don't need anymore) and a 200G achieve. So you have to beat him, obviously.

Why do I need to stat-grind ?

According to my answer to the last question, to kick The Fallen (140G) and the Absolute Conqueror (200G) in the nuts, and finish the 68 sidequests (200G) for a grand total of 540G. And, of course, to have a kick-ass party.

What is the best way to stat-grind ?

Here we go...

You would think you're supposed to link like crazy and fight everything you encounter to raise your BR as fast as possible, but much like in Oblivion, it is the other way around. The idea here is to keep you BR very low so you can gain more stats between each BR. To do that, you have to manage a few things and follow a few rules :

1) Dodge EVERYTHING, and NEVER fight anything that isn't a boss or a forced fight (like 2 immobile Skull Scavengers sitting on a chest, or Landworms in the mist). Save whenever you're not targeted and dodge like crazy getting all the chests (you will need what's inside for your über-characters).

2) Plan boosting sessions against powerfull foes, not linking them of course, to develop your characters and their stats. I'll tell you where and when in a minute.

3) Again, never link.

4) Do every possible sidequest for cash and components (and because you have to), and try to finish the 42 sidequests of Disc 1 before leaving Nagapur.

5) Try and do a shitload of Guild tasks for cash, formations, achievements (at least one), and rare components you will need for your characters.

In a few words, fight only extremely strong enemies for your level (morale bar near 0 at the start of the fight), and only one by one.

Where should I grind on Disc 1 and on Disc 2 ?

This is the "where" part.

1) Between BR05 and BR25, go in Blackdale regular entrance, turn right and save before entering the Obsidian Trail. Go in and you will see a Skull Scavenger sleeping on the floor. Go and fight him. It is going to be hard, so if he kills one of your leaders or 2 or 3 of your soldiers, exit and retry. And when you succeed, watch the 5 stats per character scrolling on you TV screen, and you BR staying the same. Nice. Stop when you're BR25.

2) Between BR40 and BR70, in the Grammi Tier - Anatoray part of the Ancient Ruins, second door on the left (second floor, you need to beat Ymir to gain access). You will have 3 Rockgraters roaming free. Ice them, then go back to the teleporter in the first zone, save, reload, and kill them again untill you're BR60-70.

3) Between BR70 and BR100, in the Metopon Tier - Boreas (third floor). Go there and kill Ancbolders, the giants I already talked about. They're easy and give a shitload of stats. Then do the save and reload trick. You can build up your chain meter to try and get more Jewel Steel from them, but it changes nothing. And you're not supposed to link, remember ?

When should I grind and when should I do the rest ?

This is the "when" part. Here is a planning in 10 steps you could follow :

1) Do the start of the game dodging everything and only fighting bosses. Never link. Never fight. Never breathe. Dodge everything and follow the main story untill you have your last roster capacity upgrade. Always use the maximum leaders and soldiers even if you don't like using 4 unions, because they WILL level faster and offer you more options at the end of the game. Do the Baulson sidequest and go recruit Caedmon before your first boosting session.

2) Go kill the Skull Scavengers. You should be BR10 or less at this point. When you're BR25, stop grinding and follow the story untill Nagapur (the Skull Scavengers won't give you anymore good stats).

3) Finish all the sidequests of Disc 1. You should be BR 35, more or less, with all quests done. Finish Disc 1 and start Disc 2. I was BR37 with all quests done when I booted Disc 2, and Ardorius was BR33.

4) On Disc 2, follow the main story (dodging everything, as usual) untill you get your last roster upgrade and can use 6 leaders and 18 soldiers. Do some sidequests, beginning by the ones that will give you the leaders you want to use (Jager, anyone ?) Make 2 unions of 4 and 2 of 5 so as to use everybody, even if you prefer using 3 unions.

5) Talk to the big Yama on the right of Athlum's pub, and he will put the 6th Path on your map. Go in, travel to the upper-left dead-end and open the Ancient Ruins with your beautiful DLC key (the DLC is free). You should be BR40 or BR45, no more. You can find Ancient Ruins maps on GameFAQs.

6) People say you can start by killing the Charybdis on the first floor untill you're strong enough to tackle Ymir (the Giant-type creature in the middle room) and defeat him to gain access to the second tier. I know I went straight for him and to the second floor.

7) Here, go to the second room on the left and kill the Rockgraters untill you're BR70, then exit and do the Bases.

8) Follow the story untill Undelwalt, but don't enter the town or The Fallen will disappear. Finish all the sidequests you can, then go back to Blackdale first entrance. Disband all unions and make one with Rush only (he should have at least 1700 HP), kill the 3 insects on the right and the 3 on the left with mystic and combat arts only, then run to Obsidian Trail to save. Save and reload, and do it again untill your reach a 500 chain. You will only have gained 3 BR and go watch your roster : every leader will have learnt every art available to him, in just 3 BR.

9) Go back to the Ancient Ruins, and go kill Holy Servant (easy at BR70) to gain access to the third tier. Here, kill the Ancbolders untill you're BR100, then go kill The Fallen in Baaluk. If the Ancbolders aren't here but you find Greater Demons, exit and enter again, untill you have no one on the first floor. If you see Rockgraters, Ancbolders won't spawn.

10) After The Fallen has fallen, finish the main story and all the sidequests except one, finish all Guild tasks for components, farm rare monsters and upgrade your gear, then go back to the Ancient Ruins if you want to reach BR130-140. No, no enemies will give your more stats than Ancbolders. Then go tackle the Absolute Conqueror.

Who should I use ?

Last but not least, you should use who you like, of course, but Torgal, Baulson, Emmy and Rush are must-haves, so the real question is about the last 2. People like Dave for his Gay Bolg (sorry, I had to do it), Irina because she is the best healer and Pisonics user, Jager because he's strong and has a summon, Schiavona and the art Beowulf... It's your choice but I would use Blocter, Irina, Caedmon or Jager.

The only rule is to recruit the ones you want ASAP, before grinding, put them in your active party, and NEVER change them. That's what I did with Baulson, Caedmon and Jager. Once they're on the team, they stay on the team, because if you change a lot, they won't be as strong as they could.

What about the soldiers ?

It is highly recommended to recruit only healers (unless you're after Arcana spells, which are useless when you're a beast and can destroy every union in one turn). Never recruit a fighter without healing capabilities, because he won't learn anything new, whereas healers with no arts ALWAYS learn combat arts in their first fights. Some are must-haves like Damecus, Atis, Deacon or Sutherby, the rest is up to you. But recruit the ones with the most HP. This is what I use :

Union 1 : Rush (Herbs, Lotions and Remedies), Caedmon (Herbs and Remedies), Herbs soldier, Remedies soldier, Lotions soldier.
Union 2 : Torgal (squat), Blank, Herbs soldier, Herbs soldier, Lotions soldier.
Union 3 : Jager (squat), Blank, Herbs soldier, Herbs soldier, Lotions soldier.
Union 4 : Emmy (Remedies), Baulson (Herbs and Remedies), Herbs soldier, Remedies soldier, Lotions soldier.

Rush, Baulson, Caedmon and Emmy will be healing tanks at the end of the game, each one having learnt Kiss of Life and Second Chance (Dave too).
SUSadli
post Feb 25 2009, 03:29 PM

33 posts

laaa aku main belasah aje. hahaha.
Jcsy
post Apr 3 2009, 03:49 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

how does the game fair against FF series sad.gif

thinking of getting the game
ashburn98
post Apr 10 2009, 06:01 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Feb 24 2009, 01:37 AM)
The leveling system is a joke.
To become uber powerful you'll have to dodge most enemies right from the start and only fight a selected few. And don't bother about chaining multiple enemies, you'll only make it worse.
I started leveling properly only after BR25 or so. Still managed to get good stats. Haven't tried fighting the Ultimate Conqueror though.

Anyway, here's the best way to level.
Taken from x360achievements. Credits to InfinityMaster.
That's not applicable for PC. That's for XBOX360. In XBOX version you can only have max. 6 leaders and in PC version you have no leaders limit in an union and they have fixed reload'/save hence you cannot grind or much more troublesome.
cannavaro
post Apr 10 2009, 06:27 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

That sounds so much better. I guess you can also see the hidden stats in the PC version?

0.0894sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:07 AM