4,254 posts

so far ive been using stended cheapo aluminum pan lol

but i made sure to preheat + oil properly to ensure nonstick

so far no issues with frying egg, but first attempt always harder than next
andyng38
post Jan 1 2020, 07:28 PM

2,402 posts

Stainless steel frypan & pots with a cast-iron wok in my kitchen and they serve their purposes very well. I have a cast-iron frypan too, but it's a thin cheap one and I don't like using it.
zerorating
post Jan 1 2020, 07:35 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

for frying? the choice is obvious, seasoned wok are the best.
cheap, light and efficient.
most eateries used this, so you know why.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jan 1 2020, 07:36 PM
tvcat
post Jan 1 2020, 07:43 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,920 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jan 1 2020, 06:05 PM)
Can it fry egg without sticking? So sick of having to scrape my pans clean
u use the wrong method, i use wok or the flat pan like the one mamak use for capati, never once the egg stick
shirohamada
post Jan 1 2020, 07:44 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(palankon @ Jan 1 2020, 05:15 PM)
is goshop one good?

i hope the non stick surface can last long.

any recommendation?
Ikea 365
Relaxing work
post Jan 1 2020, 07:45 PM

167 posts

Last year I bought a pan something like stone ware non stick and not using teflon.
helven
post Feb 19 2020, 11:02 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

Is there a way to determine if a cast iron pan is real or fake?
Why does it in black color? I googled cast iron material, it is silver color?

Does it coated with black spray paint?
https://shopee.com.my/Cast-Iron-Skillet-Pan...8353.2138193337

This from Shopee is cheap while IKEA / Lodge is RM1xx, why? Any difference in terms of material and quality?

empire
post Feb 19 2020, 01:56 PM

2,549 posts

the safest are Stainless Steel cookware and Cast iron.
Dont buy those cheapo Stainless steel cookware cos they are very thin and will burn your food easily. Buy Amway cookware if you can afford cos they are the best and can tahan for decades if you treat them right!

Cheapo cookware cant tahan long no matter how delicate you treat them. Thats why they are cheap.

CAST IRON is the first choice for me. it's heavy yes...but the food tastes so much nicer no matter what you cook.

empire
post Feb 19 2020, 01:58 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Feb 19 2020, 11:02 AM)
Is there a way to determine if a cast iron pan is real or fake?
Why does it in black color? I googled cast iron material, it is silver color?

Does it coated with black spray paint?
https://shopee.com.my/Cast-Iron-Skillet-Pan...8353.2138193337

This from Shopee is cheap while IKEA / Lodge is RM1xx, why? Any difference in terms of material and quality?
I bought a new Cast Iron from a seller. Met her in SS2 and COD. been using it for more than 1 year almost daily.so far so good.
No black paint peeling. it is a solid cast iron. rclxm9.gif
ahcab
post Feb 19 2020, 02:07 PM

141 posts

ASD
cycheah
post Feb 19 2020, 02:18 PM

237 posts

no brand. so far so good. important is how to maintain your non stick pan, not buy the best. if you gonna wash with scrap or use metal spatula... sure gg in no time
kamfoo
post Feb 19 2020, 02:44 PM

847 posts

tefal
kehvin88 P
post Mar 23 2020, 09:38 PM

Probation

Does anyone know whether can Tefal cookware, specifically Tefal Everest Saute Pan, be repaired? Anyone did any Tefal pans repairs before, perhaps involving recoating? If yes, how much would it be?

My wife got this Tefal Everest Saute Pan 1 year ago, and she's been using it with a wooden spatula. But after barely 9 months of using it, there are bits and pieces of coating chipped off and the center's red indicator has already worn off. It may be due to certain wrong usage or maintenance.

If it's unrepairable or too costly to repair, we may just try for stainless steel cookware instead.

p/s: We're only having induction cooker here.
Maxieos
post Jun 5 2021, 07:55 AM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 19 2020, 01:56 PM)
the safest are Stainless Steel cookware and Cast iron.
Dont buy those cheapo Stainless steel cookware cos they are very thin and will burn your food easily. Buy Amway cookware if you can afford cos they are the best and can tahan for decades if you treat them right!

Cheapo cookware cant tahan long no matter how delicate you treat them. Thats why they are cheap.

CAST IRON is the first choice for me. it's heavy yes...but the food tastes so much nicer no matter what you cook.
What about those those frying pan 3 ply ? it said 304 stainless steel.

Having frying pan 28cm but the brand on top of the glass lead is TAM and bottom of the pan forge name "deluxe" .The problem is how do I know what coating is it ? it's black.Remember bought during Jusco days.

cockerish
post Jun 5 2021, 07:57 AM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

Tefal but don't get the pirated one. Made in France and buy at reputable shop
ieatchickens
post Jun 5 2021, 08:23 AM

111 posts

tefal PTFE regardless if its PFOA free or not equals severe respiratory toxicosis of lungs in birds due to the fumes released when the material is exposed to temperatures exceeding 65°c, birdkeepers/petshops have known this for decades.

and afaik, the lungs and respiratory system of avian is very very similar to humans, compound that fact with the $4b amount to be paid in the scandalous Dupont, Chemours and Corteva PFOS lawsuit by single virtue of environment or blood contamination, regardless of ones pol stance on the Isr/Palstne issue is enough encouragement not to choose.

Stainless steel = have fun on cleanup, very much fun.

ceramic coats = meh, 60% non-stickiness of tefal during first year, 2nd year onwards its double meh, welcome to cleanup city

Any thin pan/wok = no sear on meat, or sweat a bucket after an hour trying to.

copper = Le' best temp control, slightly higher cost, but no sear, perfect non stickiness, maybe .. if you can find a thick one.

on paper ? id get a thick alum but coated with copper thats advertised as non stick.

rich ? enamelled La creuset's or the soon to be released molecularly enhanced cast iron (inherently non-stick/no seasoning required)
Maxieos
post Jun 6 2021, 06:45 AM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(ieatchickens @ Jun 5 2021, 08:23 AM)
tefal PTFE regardless if its PFOA free or not equals severe respiratory toxicosis of lungs in birds due to the fumes released when the material is exposed to temperatures exceeding 65°c, birdkeepers/petshops have known this for decades.

and afaik, the lungs and respiratory system of avian is very very similar to humans, compound that fact with the $4b amount to be paid in the scandalous Dupont, Chemours and Corteva PFOS lawsuit by single virtue of environment or blood contamination, regardless of ones pol stance on the Isr/Palstne issue is enough encouragement not to choose. 

Stainless steel = have fun on cleanup, very much fun.

ceramic coats = meh, 60% non-stickiness of tefal during first year, 2nd year onwards its double meh, welcome to cleanup city

Any thin pan/wok = no sear on meat, or sweat a bucket after an hour trying to.

copper = Le' best temp control, slightly higher cost, but no sear, perfect non stickiness, maybe .. if you can find a thick one.

on paper ? id get a thick alum but coated with copper thats advertised as non stick.

rich ? enamelled La creuset's or the soon to be released molecularly enhanced cast iron (inherently non-stick/no seasoning required)
I have a pan but I do not know what Brand was it and it only show TAM logo at the glass lid and the bottom of the pan "deluxe Japan".Bought it during jusco time.
It's black but i don't think it's non stick.
What kind of black pan without non stick ?
layzieboy
post Jun 6 2021, 07:24 AM

496 posts

Scanpan much more durable
azbro
post Jun 6 2021, 08:39 AM

4,403 posts

Meanwhile, Mamak use cheapest pan all black already, some more hit pan with utensils so that got iron to eat.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0233sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:51 AM