hrmm. come to think of it, i think it's a good idea to disallow trading for people who have unsettled matters.
Feedback Suggestion: a Dispute/Blacklisted Tag?, To forewarn other users of scammers..
Sep 1 2007, 04:04 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hrmm. come to think of it, i think it's a good idea to disallow trading for people who have unsettled matters.
Sep 1 2007, 04:09 AM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Sep 1 2007, 02:14 AM) Sometimes I'm pretty tempted to lock their threads temporarily if they tend to ignore their dispute untill they put some effort to settle it Viking, that's the logical thing to do for such cases and if you're gonna lock their threads temporarily, I believe everyone will agree with such a move. Of course, if possible, removing their posting rights in the trade zone area temporarily will even be much better as there are some who will create another new thread to con unsuspecting buyers. |
Sep 1 2007, 02:48 PM
9,778 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL(Wangsa Maju) , Seremban 2 |
QUOTE(c9 @ Jul 16 2007, 09:46 AM) Maybe we can have a clickable tag that point to the dispute thread, or maybe the reason of why he was blacklisted and disputed. At least everyone will be well aware of the dispute that he/she has not solved. QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Sep 1 2007, 12:13 AM) hmmmm Currently I'm using my manual way, PM whoever who replied on the seller's thread about the dispute thread against the seller. or how bout if once click it would link to a page wit threads which links to dispute tat involves that particular person? then ppl can see how many dispute(s) that person has. QUOTE(Regarding seller XXX) Just to draw your attention to this in case you are not aware of it. Here are some replies from those I've pm-edClick here and here p/s: This PM is forwarded to all who replied in the seller's thread » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 1 2007, 04:09 AM) Viking, that's the logical thing to do for such cases and if you're gonna lock their threads temporarily, I believe everyone will agree with such a move. Of course, if possible, removing their posting rights in the trade zone area temporarily will even be much better as there are some who will create another new thread to con unsuspecting buyers. mm, so far, other than getting dispute tag, other forummers will receive a notice like below each time the seller PM them.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I've some minor suggestions to create more awareness about dealing with sellers with Dispute Tag. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « p/s : I've created a Dispute Tag FAQ thread, pending review and approval from Admin. (credits to wKkay, shockk, Geminist for helping me out) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Sep 2 2007, 12:56 AM |
Sep 1 2007, 05:00 PM
740 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Land of Smiles. |
I'd say the red warning label to be applied both in the seller's PM and in the seller's post.
But here's an idea. Instead of using the word "dispute", y not change it to....emm...something more commonly used word. Im referring to the dispute tag that is already there. (cant think of any now, blur-mind mode on) And frankly, the original dispute tag now is somewhat....un-noticable. From a short glance, its somewhat similar as the safe trader/trade enforcer tag. Maybe a change of colour for the dispute tag would be a good thing? Just the same way as the word "DANGER" gives more impact towards people rather than the word "CAREFUL". Even though both words serves to give warning to others, but the word "DANGER" would bring a greater awareness and impact, dont u think so? The same applies for the colour red being used as warnings in most cases. Dark colour for the dispute tag would sometimes go unnoticed, so maybe make it to red? Just a few ideas though. The 2 ideas from viking regarding the warning labels would be great in addition to the dispute tag. Applying both of it would really create more awareness towards people who frequents the trade section. But even so, the main problem should be how to ensure that the same person with a dispute tagged account does not end up using another account to continue his activities. Some senior/regular members would be careful when dealing with newly created accounts (lets take an example that a conman created a new account to continue his business) as they are well aware of the possibilities of getting cheated. But honestly, there's quite a huge number of people here who arent that careful. |
Sep 1 2007, 05:16 PM
How about this?
QUOTE ![]() This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Sep 1 2007, 05:20 PM |
Sep 1 2007, 05:19 PM
It'd be nice, but I still think that the dispute tag itself doesnt bring much attention to others. Its just....not that attractive enough to get noticed. Maybe its just me though.
U cant really see the word "dispute" at a single quick glance as compared to the other tags available. |
Sep 1 2007, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(xeda @ Sep 1 2007, 05:19 PM) It'd be nice, but I still think that the dispute tag itself doesnt bring much attention to others. Its just....not that attractive enough to get noticed. Maybe its just me though. or how about assigning them a nice bigger Dispute Siggy that will follow the seller where ever he post?U cant really see the word "dispute" at a single quick glance as compared to the other tags available. |
Sep 1 2007, 06:07 PM
1,580 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
suggest the dispute tag stays at their siggy permanently till they solve the dispute. and they cant access or edit their siggy page.
Sep 1 2007, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Sep 1 2007, 05:23 PM) or how about assigning them a nice bigger Dispute Siggy that will follow the seller where ever he post? Isnt that just pretty much the same as one of ur ideas where there'd be a warning ontop of every post the person makes? Posting the warning/Dispute status on top of his posts would bring more attention than to make it as a siggy I think. |
Sep 2 2007, 01:29 PM
798 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: The SS |
Clickable dispute tag is i good idea.and make it more noticeable.
Sep 2 2007, 04:49 PM
2,838 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: KL |
but ,once the people receive the dispute tag ,they will register new account
let me give an example ,like cheong chan wah (big con men),he juz register new account and con forumer again .and i think tag is not the best way to solve con case i would suggest that open another black list thread and pinned it up at garage sale (then must colsed it to avoid spamming),and admin or mod can post up all the conman infomation and thier photo (i think can get from dispute zone since so many conman info over there) This post has been edited by zac1: Sep 2 2007, 09:35 PM |
Sep 2 2007, 04:51 PM
1,580 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
hmmm how bout if block their ip add after failure to solve the dispute after a certain period? block them forever..
Sep 2 2007, 08:10 PM
1,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 192.168.0.100 |
QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Sep 2 2007, 04:51 PM) hmmm how bout if block their ip add after failure to solve the dispute after a certain period? block them forever.. streamyx IP is dynamic.. if not, one can always use CC or any free wifi to access internet.. so, block IP address is not a good idea |
Sep 2 2007, 08:56 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(zac1 @ Sep 2 2007, 04:49 PM) but ,once the people receive the dispute tag ,they will register new account Well, you're right about this. Perhaps, we can only allow people with at least 1000 posts (quality ones of course) and above in order to create any new threads in the trade zone area. Not sure what the mods think about this but some forums are implementing such a rule. It's nothing new but at least, it will reduce a number of scammers here as they definitely wouldn't want to post 1000 times here before they're able to scam an innocent soul. like me give an example ,like cheong chan wah (big con men),he juz register new account and con forumer again .and i think tag is not the best way to solve con case i would suggest that open another black list thread and pinned it up at garage sale (then must colsed it to avoid spamming),and admin or mod can post up all the conman infomation and thier photo (i think can get from dispute zone since so many conman info over there) |
Sep 2 2007, 09:04 PM
3,110 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 2 2007, 08:56 PM) Well, you're right about this. Perhaps, we can only allow people with at least 1000 posts (quality ones of course) and above in order to create any new threads in the trade zone area. Not sure what the mods think about this but some forums are implementing such a rule. It's nothing new but at least, it will reduce a number of scammers here as they definitely wouldn't want to post 1000 times here before they're able to scam an innocent soul. this will make this forum become spammer paradiseand the whole forum will become like Kopitiam... |
Sep 2 2007, 09:12 PM
1,635 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BASF Asia Pacific |
nice idea TS.
Sep 2 2007, 09:27 PM
6,008 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 2 2007, 10:56 PM) Well, you're right about this. Perhaps, we can only allow people with at least 1000 posts (quality ones of course) and above in order to create any new threads in the trade zone area. Not sure what the mods think about this but some forums are implementing such a rule. It's nothing new but at least, it will reduce a number of scammers here as they definitely wouldn't want to post 1000 times here before they're able to scam an innocent soul. So you suggest that we enforce a threshold of 1000 posts before someone is allowed to start a TZ topic.Do you think that this yields the same effect as your suggestion? --> Everyone who enters TZ is told to ignore thread starters who have < 1000 posts. If you answer no, why wouldn't it? |
Sep 2 2007, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(tan_pang @ Sep 2 2007, 09:04 PM) that y i say must closed it after pinned up (juz for forumer to refer or view)QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 2 2007, 09:27 PM) So you suggest that we enforce a threshold of 1000 posts before someone is allowed to start a TZ topic. but this will cause more serious de spamming ,i would suggest that only forumer that join at least 1 month then only can start create a TZ thread ,(like i saw other forum doing ,people didt sign in 1 month ,account will automatic deleted )Do you think that this yields the same effect as your suggestion? --> Everyone who enters TZ is told to ignore thread starters who have < 1000 posts. If you answer no, why wouldn't it? |
Sep 3 2007, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(zac1 @ Sep 2 2007, 09:40 PM) that y i say must closed it after pinned up (juz for forumer to refer or view) That will not help in reducing also. Any T,DnH can register and start conning after one month. Hence no difference.but this will cause more serious de spamming ,i would suggest that only forumer that join at least 1 month then only can start create a TZ thread ,(like i saw other forum doing ,people didt sign in 1 month ,account will automatic deleted ) |
Sep 3 2007, 03:21 PM
but at least join 1 month mah and nid alway sign in to prevent deleted of account mah ,so mafan ,i think conman will go con at other place mah
if really wan to reduce the con case ,why dun make it only senior member or those safe trader can post TZ thread lor for those junior wan post TZ thread ,they have to pay RM100 to admin as deposit or IC verify then get the verify member tag lar This post has been edited by zac1: Sep 3 2007, 03:23 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0203sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:07 AM |