Xbox Series X, The next Xbox generation

tripleB
post Nov 4 2020, 04:00 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 4 2020, 03:22 PM)
Ah bummer.

Question is, will they even bring in XBOX games? I asked them about AC Valhalla and they said only for PS4  tongue.gif
We have to assume they will start selling Xbox games again. Otherwise why bother bring in Series X. But remember, AC Valhalla is a smart delivery title. You can just grab the Xbox One version and it will be using the Series X/S features when run on Series X/S.
tripleB
post Nov 4 2020, 04:21 PM

201 posts

Anyhow. I have no rush for now, since I will probably have my hands full with building a new gaming rig in late November or sometime in December. I hope the Series X reviews will be positive. Will give me something to look forward next year.

This post has been edited by tripleB: Nov 4 2020, 04:23 PM
tripleB
post Nov 7 2020, 07:36 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 6 2020, 12:06 PM)
Super depressed looking at XBOX Series X reviews, don’t even want to click any lol.

Was really looking forward to next-gen next week man. Sigh.
Same here. I wanted to be a Day 1 owner, something I've never done before. Looks like it's the same again this time haha.
tripleB
post Nov 7 2020, 09:24 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 7 2020, 07:49 PM)
Guess it will be like that until Microsoft officially supports Malaysia as a market in SEA.
I wonder what's Microsoft's excuse for continuing to ignore Malaysia? It used to be piracy, now I have no idea.
tripleB
post Nov 8 2020, 08:46 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 7 2020, 10:02 PM)
So it was a nightmare. ..

I register a new outlook account (Microsoft account) so i can sub the XBGPU
Everything was done yesterday:
1) Register account - US Address and US Region
2) Load up 3 years worth of xbox live gold
3) Load up USD20 inside
4) Paid USD1 to convert everything to XBGPU
5) Test on my PC and everything is fine
6) call it a day off

This morning i boot up my PC and try to play some game but lead me to my account error!!

So i login browser microsoft dot com and found out my account was locked due to "some activity that violates our Microsoft Services Agreement..."

Then request me to key in US phone number to request verification code.

I'm glad i have a friend that can help me to get his friend in US to help out >.< which i had just unlock my account.

Now here's the question, why is my account get locked in the first place sad.gif

Cause i dun use VPN ?
Not sure why. Because most of us here also had to use fake addresses and fake phone numbers. I also didn't use a VPN service. The main difference is that I didn't do all in the same day.
tripleB
post Nov 9 2020, 04:08 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Nov 9 2020, 02:19 PM)
Do we need any step down covnertor

Since the pwoer brick is inside

Just thought bout this
It's not really a power brick anymore. What we used to call the power brick was actually a power adapter. Since Xbox One X, the power supply is now using universal voltage. Meaning should be usable anywhere in the world. No more using power adapter with specific voltage requirement.
tripleB
post Nov 9 2020, 04:31 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 9 2020, 04:17 PM)
Like the one Sony using all the while, right?
I'm not sure about the last few Playstation consoles to be honest. PS1 and PS2 still used country specific power supply. You still needed a power adapter with them. Supposedly PS3 and PS4 use universal power supply though. PS5 too.
tripleB
post Nov 9 2020, 05:17 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 9 2020, 04:53 PM)
I have PS3 slim, PS4 and both just grab the generic Sony power plug actually.

From those unboxing video, i saw the head are also like same one, so i assume should be no problem.

I think Asia version (Singapore) should be using UK plug
Yeah that means it doesn't require step up/down transformer. It accepts both 110/220v, so can use anywhere in the world. We follow UK anyhow, so that's why we get the UK type 3-pin 13amps plug.
tripleB
post Nov 9 2020, 09:49 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Nov 9 2020, 08:06 PM)
Hi guys, I heard if you play the Xbox series S on a 1440p monitor it will be upscaled from 1080p to 1440p.

Is there a major difference to our eyes between the 1080 upscale to 1440p (S) vs 4k downscale to 1440p (X)?

Things to take into consideration:
I only play on my 1440p monitor, no way I'll upgrade to a 4K tv as the 1440p monitor is my PC's monitor too.

Thanks!
Xbox Series S is definitely a 1440p machine. PS5 is the one that can't do 1440p resolution. It's either 1080p or 4k only. Nothing in between.

There is definitely a difference between 1080p upscaled to 1440p, vs 4k downscaled to 1440p. An example of this would be the current Xbox One S (not OG Xbox One). The Xbox One S does output to 4k, but the image definitely looks softer when displayed on a 4k TV, since the actual resolution is just 720p, 900p or 1080p maximum. It's just upscaled to 4k. On the opposite end, you know how PC games can make use of DSR (Dynamic Super Resolution) to render render at a higher resolution than your monitor resolution? For example, in Shadow of Mordor you can set your internal resolution to 3840 x 2160, and output it to 1920 x 1080. Even though the monitor is outputting 1920 x 1080, you will see that the image is sharper, as there is more pixel density in the scene.
tripleB
post Nov 9 2020, 10:07 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Nov 9 2020, 09:53 PM)
You’re also in Sg? I found a retailer that still has unit for series S, arriving tomorrow!
Awesome. So series S is a native 1440p correct? I’m totally new to the console world, taking into consideration that I’ll only play on my 1440p monitor, the series S will suffice right?
Yup native 1440p for sure. Supposedly even BC titles can be running up to 1440p in enhanced mode. You know how games that are Xbox One X Enhanced can run up to 4k? It's something like that, but up to 1440p instead.

For me personally I would still buy a Series X, mainly because I still like using discs, but also because both my monitor and TV is 4k. Even if I was going to be playing at 1440p, I would still probably get the Series X. BUT I can also understand if you only play digital games, and you will be playing on a 1440p monitor, then the Series S is the perfect system for you. I would say a Gamepass subscription is an absolute must to fully take advantage of the Series S.
tripleB
post Nov 10 2020, 10:24 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Nov 10 2020, 09:52 AM)
Quick resume and faster loading time will only apply if you’re using internal ssd or the proprietary seagate ssd. With only 300GB usable space, you’ll only be able to have 4-6 games loaded onto it. If this is enough for you, then Xbox series S will suit you well. If you’ve a fast internet, it helps mitigate this as well.
Deleting and redownloading games all the time would be a pain I think. At least Xbox Series S/X can copy games to an external drive. Basically when you don't need to play a game, just move it to the external drive. Then when you want to play it, move it back to the internal SSD. I can see myself doing this a lot when I eventually get my Series X next year.
tripleB
post Nov 10 2020, 10:42 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 10 2020, 10:30 AM)
I will try to have a habit of ... play one game at a time until i finish it XD
Currently playing Ori and enjoying this game.

Else like my current gen PS4, horde so many backlog, gg ...
All those PS+ free game claim = forever in library and no touch  doh.gif
My first proper console was the first PlayStation back in 1999. Since then I have Dreamcast, Saturn, PS2, PS3, PS4, Xbox, Xbox 360, Xbox One. Not counting my Steam / Origin / Uplay / Epic games library. I've made my peace that I will never finish all my games, not in this lifetime haha. So I just play when I feel like it, then I move on to the next. I barely finished any games on current gen. I literally can count on just one hand the number of games I finished.
tripleB
post Nov 10 2020, 12:08 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 10 2020, 11:34 AM)
Today’s launch day, here I am still waiting for updates from GH.

Ugh
Yeah it sucks bro. And here I was thinking it's not too bad waiting for 2nd batch. Who knew we would need to wait until February 2021. Or could be even longer. Who knows.
tripleB
post Nov 10 2020, 01:25 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 10 2020, 01:13 PM)
Oh man, by then Cyberpunk 2077’s enhanced version should be already available for next gen  tongue.gif
Yeah I guess that's one silver lining we can look forward to. By that time maybe Cyberpunk 2077 will be ready for Series X. Devil May Cry V RT patch for Series X too.
tripleB
post Nov 10 2020, 08:18 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Nov 10 2020, 07:46 PM)
I need to stay off of Reddit for the sake of my mental health. Everywhere also series X😂 the series S is like a trash to them.
Do share some screenshots and your thoughts on it when you get the chance. It would be the first time someone on this forum got a chance to play it I think.
tripleB
post Nov 10 2020, 11:42 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Nov 10 2020, 09:29 PM)
[attachmentid=10674156]

Just got home lol but can’t play yet. Brought work back with me since I didn’t OT.

On a side note, I don’t as ex excited as I thought I would be lol.
Oddly, the game I really want to see running on it are old Xbox games. I was playing Panzer Dragoon Orta earlier, and just wondered what it would look like on Series S. And maybe something more recent like Final Fantasy XV too.
tripleB
post Nov 11 2020, 12:41 AM

201 posts

Have you guys try downloading some EA Games from the EA Play? I was just passing time before my night meeting, when I noticed the EA Play item on the dashboard. Apparently it's already been added to Gamepass Ultimate. Nice!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mX6ytsNtlqA
tripleB
post Nov 11 2020, 01:53 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 11 2020, 12:58 PM)
PS5 officially announced for 12th December launch, while we are still waiting....
Yeah we just twiddle our thumbs until then. What luck.
tripleB
post Nov 12 2020, 04:26 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(SubRoutine @ Nov 12 2020, 01:55 PM)
Not trying to be a buzzkill but I suggest that you guys dont get Series S. Take AC Valhalla for example, the game runs up to 1440p at 30 FPS. From SkillUp review IIRC

1440p is still ok, coz Series S has the hardware to upscale to 4K. But 30fps...? dang.
So what resolution and framerate does it run on Series X? I didn't know about the Series S 1440p/30 thing.
tripleB
post Nov 12 2020, 05:12 PM

201 posts

I hope this doesn't become the norm going forward. The entire idea behind Series S is that whatever Series X can do, it can do too. Except it will just be limited to 1440p only, and it won't have an optical drive. If we can't even have performance parity, Microsoft just torpedoed the Series S, and pretty much force everyone to get Series X instead.

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1440sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:39 AM