16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Xbox Series X, The next Xbox generation

KomradMikhail
post Jan 19 2022, 11:01 AM

99 posts

If only Bungie hadn't left Activision 3years ago, MS would have their posterchild dev studio back with them with this acquisition. Or were they part of Activision, or just published under Activision, like Sekiro was?

Missed opportunities........

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 19 2022, 11:05 AM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 19 2022, 06:03 PM

99 posts

Microsoft Deal Wipes $20 Billion Off Sony's Market Value in a Day

Ouch! And I quote for those not able to read the article linked without a Bloomberg account:

Sony Group Corp. shares fell 13% in Tokyo on Wednesday, their biggest drop since October 2008, after PlayStation rival Microsoft Corp. announced a $69 billion deal to acquire games publisher Activision Blizzard Inc.

The blockbuster acquisition escalates Microsoft's spending spree to secure intellectual property assets for its Xbox Game Pass service, wiping $20 billion off Sony's valuation in a day. The push to attract paying subscribers with an overwhelming portfolio of games challenges Sony's traditional console business model that relies on high-profile exclusive titles and hardware sales. Games and network services account for about 30% of Sony revenue.

KomradMikhail
post Jan 19 2022, 09:38 PM

99 posts

But, but, but, but I was told Xbox got no games liao! /s

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 19 2022, 09:51 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 06:00 PM

99 posts

Really, Sony? lol.gif

WSJ: Sony Expects Microsoft to Keep Activision Games Multiplatform due to "existing contractual agreements"

Sony scared of losing Activision games already? laugh.gif

And I quote from the article:
"We expect that Microsoft will abide by contractual agreements and continue to ensure Activision games are multiplatform," a Sony spokesman said Thursday.

Activision supplies some of the most popular games for Sony's PlayStation game console, including the Call of Duty series. After Microsoft on Tuesday announced its acquisition plan, some analysts raised the possibility that Activision games might be available exclusively for Microsoft's own Xbox console and its subscription videogame services in the future.

It's okay for them to keep third party games exclusive to their platform, but not others it seems.

It's okay if they do it to others, but it's not okay when it's done to them. Past games like Persona 5 (both standard AND Royal), Final Fantasy VII Remake, Nioh, and Street Fighter V, current ones like Deathloop and future ones like FFXVI and Ghostwire: Tokyo, likes to say hi.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 20 2022, 06:14 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 06:07 PM

99 posts

Electronic Arts: the next target.

Article paywalled, I'll quote the juicy parts:

Two huge US gaming deals in the space of a fortnight means the race is on to guess who might be third. Like Activision Blizzard and Zynga, the next acquisition target is likely to have an impressive library of game titles. Step forward Electronic Arts.

Video game publishers and the platforms competing for titles know that the $200bn gaming sector is in flux. Consoles are still popular but mobile gaming is the industry's fastest growing segment. More players are streaming games via subscription services instead of buying them outright. Franchises are being milked for longer. To compete, companies are looking for more high profile content — known as AAA games.

EA fits the bill. The Redwood City company has produced The Sims and Fifa, a football game popular with both fans and professional players. It has made astute investments in mobile gaming development too, buying Glu Mobile and Playdemic last year in two cash deals for a combined $3.6bn.

With an enterprise value of $38bn, potential buyers would need deep pockets. This is not a problem in the tech industry. Apple has an enterprise value 71 times as large. Amazon, Meta, Google and Netflix are all expanding their gaming divisions too. Rival Sony may also be on the lookout to build up its portfolio of exclusive games.

EA's 500m user accounts exceed Activision's monthly active user total. But EA has been less successful at extracting money from players. The sub 20 per cent operating margin over the past year compares poorly with Activision's 35 per cent.

EA has not experienced the same stumbles as Activision. Shares fell last year as negotiations over Fifa's branding went sour. The sporting body was reported to request double its $150m per year licensing fee — a figure that would equal around half of EA's forecast annual net income. But the game is popular enough to survive a rebrand and shares recovered. Less expensive than Zynga and less risky than Activision, EA is an attractive target.

KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 06:42 PM

99 posts

MS buy Activision Blizzard, Sony buy EA.
MS buy Ubisoft, Sony buy___.

Fill in the blank and continue the story. lol.gif

This is fun! Almost like improv at comedy club shows. laugh.gif

Suddenly..........new challengers appear! Amazon and Google enters the arena. flex.gif

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 20 2022, 06:45 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 06:49 PM

99 posts

I blame my ramblings here on the late appearance of Hitman 3 and Hitman 3 Trilogy on GamePass. ranting.gif
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 07:28 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jan 20 2022, 07:12 PM)
bloody h*ll, i bought Hitman 3 on PS5. I did finished it though. Hitman 3 ps5 HDR is trash. Apart from that, I enjoyed the entire game.
Steam also no news. I'm completing my Hitman trilogy there, already got Hitman 1 and 2 on Steam. Hitman 3 went exclusive to EGS on PC a year ago, I REFUSE to spend anything on EGS, I dont even have an account there. Their exclusivity practice reeks of Sony's own similar selfishness. Just happen to have the entire Trilogy coming to GamePass too. All three games are masterpieces on their own right. Promotes lateral thinking, no one way is right, plenty of methods to complete the assassination. Makes you think before diving into the scenarios. My kind of game.

Plus, I'm building up my library for my Q2 2022 pre-ordered Steam Deck with current AAA titles. 17 years worth of content on Steam, no EGS nonsense is going to taint my Deck.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 20 2022, 09:07 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 08:27 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 20 2022, 08:01 PM)
Dont forget Apple and Netflix also  laugh.gif
Continue the story lah.

I dont see Apple, out of the FAANG elites ever interested to get into gaming. Netflix "dabbles" but in mobile space, but more like testing the waters than anything.

Amazon has their own studios creating games like the "New World" MMO game that fried a couple of RTX3090 GPUs.Google has Stadia, and before it flops they had Jade Raymond who co-created the Assassin Creed franchise to head its Stadia studio initiative.

Facebook? Maybe, if they're not so engrossed in their Metaverse bullshit and their gaming populace frantically grabbing virtual swords on their Oculuses.

Apple? they facilitate games with walled garden policy. Not gonna work in 2022, unless they function only as silent partner pumping in capital, but somehow I dont see Apple being that type of investor. They absorb tech for their own use. I dont see much Apple can "sbsorb" from game publishers and studios.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 20 2022, 08:31 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 08:36 PM

99 posts

I'd love to be proven wrong, it's wildly unexpected MEGATONs like MS absorbing AB is worth getting speculations wrong for, and worth getting excited about the game space for. Otherwise, it's just gonna die a slow death like Anthem.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 20 2022, 09:06 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 21 2022, 12:15 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 21 2022, 11:55 AM)
How and where you PO Steam Deck??
From a 501st Legion brother-in-arms in the States. A relationship that started with sharing interest in small toys, right to collecting bespoke movie-perfect replicas and costumes. 6 years of collecting those goes a long way among collectors, that are also into PC gaming. I've trusted bigger sums of money to him in our past collecting days than the USD649 for the 512GB Steam Deck.

You could always wait for the second wave releases "after Q2" 2022 from countries like Australia, Japan and South Korea. not confirmed, strongly rumored, after their respective FCC documents appeared in these countries.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 21 2022, 12:16 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 23 2022, 12:11 PM

99 posts

Xbox's First Party Studios Organization. Click (+) further to enlarge.

Image too big to be posted here, can only be linked, sorry. Posting it here will only shrink the graphics, causing the text to be unreadable.

KomradMikhail
post Jan 24 2022, 10:51 PM

99 posts

Elden Ring has gone gold!

I'm ready to purchase on Steam, review and proof of properly developed version of the game on PC required before any money goes out my wallet.

I however will play this game offline if I decide to play on PC, no invasion mode for me. Due to this:

Security exploit on Dark Soul 3 may affect Elden Ring.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 24 2022, 11:41 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 25 2022, 01:49 PM

99 posts

Sekiro pretty easy for me, wide open spaces.

Bloodborne, with its combination of tight spaces, and aggravating below 30fps boss fights, makes the boss fights a toss-up. I love the lore, but I hate the 30fps battles.

From the network test and developer interview, Elden touts seamless transition between open world and dungeons. Just to be safe, I'm gonna postpone buying until I get clear picture of how it plays. I still havent touch Demon Soul PS5 remake.

And then there's FH5, Hitman 1/2 replays before I even touch 3, God of War PC, Cyberpunk 2077 PC, RE Village, Death Stranding, and I've not even talked about the games on GamePass I've put into Play Later list.

Drowning in games!
KomradMikhail
post Jan 25 2022, 03:10 PM

99 posts

EDIT 2: back up now. Carry on. Not like there's much going on. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 25 2022, 03:36 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 25 2022, 07:47 PM

99 posts

First XSS with custom design, I believe? Xbox Series S Lunar New Year Tiger Edition.

Speaking about custom officially sanctioned console version. Not wraps or skins or anything.
KomradMikhail
post Jan 25 2022, 11:40 PM

99 posts

I still play Elite 4 until now. My kind of game. Gimme a scope and a high perch and I'm happy.

Con-lan-firmed! Sniper Elite 5 is Day 1 on Game Pass! Woohoo!

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 25 2022, 11:55 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 26 2022, 10:21 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 26 2022, 10:17 AM)
damn fugly, put it on the desk with CNY tidbits and ppl will think it's a tissue box laugh.gif
Just a huge red angpau packet you should've not spent on? lol.gif
KomradMikhail
post Jan 26 2022, 08:49 PM

99 posts

Crysis 4 announced.

Will "Can it run Crysis?" re-emerges as a meme again?

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 26 2022, 08:50 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 27 2022, 10:22 AM

99 posts

Forced retirement affords all the time in the world. As for forced retirement affords the funds to buy games?

GamePass solved half of that.

The other half is just careful selection of games and never preordering, only buy after review. Hell, my backlog is so huge, and at the leisurely rate I explore and complete my games, I dont think I'll be running out of games to play anytime soon. And oh, all the recent bullshit online issues of Unifi affecting online multiplayer? Doesn't affect me, single player only.

SteamDeck to help finish out the PC backlog, anywhere and everywhere.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 27 2022, 10:23 AM

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1814sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:03 PM