Anyone heard of them?
Gigabit Fiber Sdn Bhd, What ISP is this?
Dec 3 2019, 11:35 PM, updated 7y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
3 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
Building management said they came and gave like a proposal of sort, from what I heard its like a receiver type deal and then fiber connection to the individual apartments.
Anyone heard of them? |
Dec 3 2019, 11:43 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
243 posts Joined: May 2009 |
ifiber?
Dec 3 2019, 11:46 PM
In the paper its written Gigabit Fiber Sdn Bhd.
Dec 4 2019, 06:14 AM
243 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Same team ... good concept
Dec 4 2019, 07:12 AM
4,582 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: West johor |
No website ?
Dec 4 2019, 07:57 AM
It's www.gigabit-fiber.com
It's basically a placeholder though, there is no info. There is no marketing or anything it's like suddenly appears out of nowhere. |
Dec 4 2019, 11:05 AM
309 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
look like they are finding new supporter. jobstreet
i though ifiber too. seem the website legit but not shown launch yet. |
Dec 4 2019, 01:28 PM
13 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Got the same provider coming in to my condo. No details can be found for this. And wonder if using this kind of ISP will have security risk?
Dec 4 2019, 06:09 PM
4,582 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: West johor |
QUOTE(shaunlye @ Dec 4 2019, 07:57 AM) It's www.gigabit-fiber.com https://who.is/whois/gigabit-fiber.comIt's basically a placeholder though, there is no info. There is no marketing or anything it's like suddenly appears out of nowhere. Registrant Contact Information: Name Registration Private Administrative Contact Information: Name Registration Private Registered On 2019-08-26 Updated On 2019-08-26 dont like legit ISP you can trust |
Dec 5 2019, 01:46 AM
1,418 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
QUOTE(fat16 @ Dec 4 2019, 06:09 PM) https://who.is/whois/gigabit-fiber.com https://ipinfo.io/AS139761Registrant Contact Information: Name Registration Private Administrative Contact Information: Name Registration Private Registered On 2019-08-26 Updated On 2019-08-26 dont like legit ISP you can trust |
Dec 5 2019, 10:33 AM
13 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(fat16 @ Dec 4 2019, 06:09 PM) https://who.is/whois/gigabit-fiber.com Not exactly that's the website. Gigabit Fiber is under JV Communication.Registrant Contact Information: Name Registration Private Administrative Contact Information: Name Registration Private Registered On 2019-08-26 Updated On 2019-08-26 dont like legit ISP you can trust Any sifu can elaborate what is the worst thing can happen if we were to use "unknown" ISP? Data breach? This post has been edited by porky67: Dec 5 2019, 10:34 AM |
Dec 6 2019, 02:53 PM
1,276 posts Joined: Sep 2018 From: Ampang |
They have to be licensed by the MCMC as an ASP to provide ISP services
Dec 6 2019, 11:00 PM
1,878 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Opting for small unknown ISPs is a big risk to take.
Unlike large ISPs which has the capacity to handle large traffics with good international routing, small ISPs cannot cope well if they have large number of subscribers. You need massive funds to buy bandwidth and peering won't help if you cannot contribute back sufficient bandwidth to your partners. The only large local ISPs that have good international connectivity in this country are TM, Time, Maxis, Celcom and DiGi. Each of them have their own good points depending on which part of the continents you would like to access frequently. For example: DiGi is good for European sites/contents but their China connectivity is among the lousiest. By the way Gigabit Fiber sounds similar to one local hosting company called Gigabit Hosting. Are they the same company? If yes, please avoid. Even connecting locally, my VPN is using one of their servers. Ping is still tolerable but bandwidth and speed like using Streamyx/ADSL when surfing even Asian servers despite connecting to the VPN with a fibre line. It is that lousy. Not sure what will happen when their subscribers grow will they oversell their lines? |
Feb 6 2020, 03:19 PM
444 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
I am staying in Penang. My management was approached by Gigabit Fibre Sdn Bhd sales personnel too. They said the internet is through satellite and then fibre to home. Is this company legitimate or illegal, does this company have licence to operate as a Internet Service Provider in Malaysia?
BTW, the address of this company is the same as JV Communication. Edit: I found this company at this page: https://www.mcmc.gov.my/en/legal/registers/...keyword=Gigabit ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by weejin2000: Feb 6 2020, 04:33 PM |
Feb 6 2020, 08:20 PM
248 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
QUOTE(weejin2000 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:19 PM) I am staying in Penang. My management was approached by Gigabit Fibre Sdn Bhd sales personnel too. They said the internet is through satellite and then fibre to home. Is this company legitimate or illegal, does this company have licence to operate as a Internet Service Provider in Malaysia? They promised "Hardware live time warranty" BTW, the address of this company is the same as JV Communication. Edit: I found this company at this page: https://www.mcmc.gov.my/en/legal/registers/...keyword=Gigabit ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Feb 7 2020, 10:27 AM
2,797 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(weejin2000 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:19 PM) I am staying in Penang. My management was approached by Gigabit Fibre Sdn Bhd sales personnel too. They said the internet is through satellite and then fibre to home. Is this company legitimate or illegal, does this company have licence to operate as a Internet Service Provider in Malaysia? Tell me about JV Communications.BTW, the address of this company is the same as JV Communication. Edit: I found this company at this page: https://www.mcmc.gov.my/en/legal/registers/...keyword=Gigabit ![]() # JV Communications is a company with 18 Years experienced in Wired & Wireless ISP & Networking industry. https://jv-communications.com/faq/ there are a few JV Communications. jv-communications.com i think is the correct one. i think. top antenna - wireless isp bottom antenna - satelite isp satellite and gigabit fibre ? unlimited quota ? and cheap ? no way man. |
Feb 7 2020, 04:34 PM
2,807 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
QUOTE(weejin2000 @ Feb 6 2020, 03:19 PM) I am staying in Penang. My management was approached by Gigabit Fibre Sdn Bhd sales personnel too. They said the internet is through satellite and then fibre to home. Is this company legitimate or illegal, does this company have licence to operate as a Internet Service Provider in Malaysia? Good luck when raining. Later got complaints about inconsistent fiber Internet when raining, idk. AhahaBTW, the address of this company is the same as JV Communication. Edit: I found this company at this page: https://www.mcmc.gov.my/en/legal/registers/...keyword=Gigabit ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Mar 5 2020, 06:05 PM
275 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
anyone subscribe with them? give some review pls
Mar 9 2020, 12:14 PM
25 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
just subscribe 50mb rm99 half year contract , around march 15 will setup at my home ..... hope not like p1max
Mar 9 2020, 03:06 PM
2,281 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i didnt see any fiber |
Mar 9 2020, 05:28 PM
444 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Mar 9 2020, 06:27 PM
4,541 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BSRPPG51 Access Concentrator |
QUOTE(weejin2000 @ Mar 9 2020, 05:28 PM) Ask them what technology are they using? Share here pls. Curious to know. I dont think is satellite. From the pictures, it seems the company use wireless backhaul to carry Internet to the building, then use fiber(?) to distribute it to the tenants of the building that subscribe to the service. |
Mar 9 2020, 07:40 PM
Mar 9 2020, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(weejin2000 @ Mar 9 2020, 05:28 PM) Ask them what technology are they using? Share here pls. Curious to know. I dont think is satellite. The set up is similar to that of Google's acquired Webpass and YTL's collaboration with FB's Terragraph 5G wireless backhaul tech.Instead of pulling fibre directly into the building to service it they use high capacity 5G P2P microwave antennas that gets buildings connected within days instead of months. The last mile solution to each building tenant/subscriber is using wired tech instead. In the case of Webpass USA, they install gigabit ethernet switches serving every floor of the building and pull CAT6 cables to each home unit.All switches on each floor is controlled by a layer 3 switch within the same building that is linked back to the ISP's concentrators/broadband routers for authentication. Similarly, instead of installing switches on each floor as ethernet wiring could not travel far for gigabit capable services for future proofing, you can use many other wired technologies in place. You have GigaWire 2.0 which claims to deliver 1Gbps over short existing telephone wiring or go with the safest solution FTTH(direct fibre to the home). In this case they opted the most obvious and future proof solution: passive optics to the home. All they needed was an OLT switch connected to the layer 3 switch which is hookup to the wireless backhaul feed and you've the building serviced with high speed ethernet. Somehow this solution provided by Google Webpass is even more popular and suited for dense cities than Google Fiber itself. Cheaper and easier to deploy. This post has been edited by Candy12: Mar 9 2020, 09:30 PM |
Mar 11 2020, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(ddr12 @ Mar 9 2020, 07:40 PM) ![]() ![]() here the application from with term and conditions n ya they say is satellite same like astro but signal more strong satellite top of building > hub?serve?cpu? from there adjust our package speed (same building) > fiber > to costumer home can subscribe anywhere in msia right? currently my home got no unifi.. |
Mar 11 2020, 05:26 PM
Mar 12 2020, 06:31 PM
Mar 12 2020, 07:31 PM
Apr 19 2020, 08:57 AM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
Apr 19 2020, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(CicakHaters @ Apr 19 2020, 08:57 AM) is ok my plan is 50mb , download can reach 5Mb/s ++ from baidu , mega and torrent , some chinese website need times to load (i think vpn can bypass) battlefield online no more lag , raining signal still ok n i just use 2 weeks only~~ |
Apr 20 2020, 10:58 PM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
QUOTE(ddr12 @ Apr 19 2020, 09:42 AM) is ok my plan is 50mb , download can reach 5Mb/s ++ from baidu , mega and torrent , some chinese website need times to load (i think vpn can bypass) battlefield online no more lag , raining signal still ok n i just use 2 weeks only~~ I tried to contact the no incharge with the wifi but no responds.. I wanna ask if there is a contract for subscribing it.. If yes.. How many month? Haahha.. Since they still have no proper customer service and only provide whatsapp no as for the contact number (company).. So im a bit like "is this wifi/company is okay?" .. Hahha u knw what i mean? |
Apr 22 2020, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(CicakHaters @ Apr 20 2020, 10:58 PM) I tried to contact the no incharge with the wifi but no responds.. I wanna ask if there is a contract for subscribing it.. If yes.. How many month? Haahha.. Since they still have no proper customer service and only provide whatsapp no as for the contact number (company).. So im a bit like "is this wifi/company is okay?" .. Hahha u knw what i mean? contract minimum half year , yeah~~ so i pick half year |
Apr 27 2020, 01:17 AM
808 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: soul society |
May 1 2020, 08:19 PM
89 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Guys, the antenna is shared the whole building as per Candy12 explained ?
May 4 2020, 08:37 PM
Probation
1 posts Joined: May 2020 |
Currently I'm using this "Gigabit-Fiber" and the speed I subscribe is 100Mbps. So far I use the speed is stable on morning or night same. But the large problem is their server site communicate to other web services. For example I'm playing ubisoft game and sometime I couldn't launch success of the launcher by using their services so that I need use vpn to by pass their server to ubisoft service. And right now EA launcher same as what I mention, can launch but no service. The next problem I not sure is my modem place problem or their problem cause sometime whatever I doing playing games, browsing.. the internet will suddenly disappear and will reconnect back in 3 minutes, but when I playing games this couldn't be allow though. Last problem I also not sure is my problem or their problem.. My house are using TVbox to watch drama which 三立, not sure is the tv box server problem or ISP problem cause my family only watch few channel every weekend and weekday and only one channel not able to view. But first, I tried use simcard to sim modem and share LAN to tv box, the channel was able to watch.
Jun 15 2020, 08:46 AM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Jun 2020 |
QUOTE(air_pull91 @ Mar 12 2020, 06:31 PM)
https://pictr.com/images/2020/06/15/7xnNuB.md.jpg I just subscribed on the 100mbps plan and used for a week. The speed is quite stable on morning and night. Ping while gaming is stable too. |
Jul 15 2020, 11:51 AM
1,307 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(ddr12 @ Mar 12 2020, 07:31 PM) QUOTE(MRWJ @ May 4 2020, 08:37 PM) Currently I'm using this "Gigabit-Fiber" and the speed I subscribe is 100Mbps. So far I use the speed is stable on morning or night same. But the large problem is their server site communicate to other web services. For example I'm playing ubisoft game and sometime I couldn't launch success of the launcher by using their services so that I need use vpn to by pass their server to ubisoft service. And right now EA launcher same as what I mention, can launch but no service. The next problem I not sure is my modem place problem or their problem cause sometime whatever I doing playing games, browsing.. the internet will suddenly disappear and will reconnect back in 3 minutes, but when I playing games this couldn't be allow though. Last problem I also not sure is my problem or their problem.. My house are using TVbox to watch drama which 三立, not sure is the tv box server problem or ISP problem cause my family only watch few channel every weekend and weekday and only one channel not able to view. But first, I tried use simcard to sim modem and share LAN to tv box, the channel was able to watch. QUOTE(kentm @ Jun 15 2020, 08:46 AM) <a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/06/15/7xnNuB.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/06/15/7xnNuB.md.jpg </a> Just saw this at my place. How is the service after using them so far?I just subscribed on the 100mbps plan and used for a week. The speed is quite stable on morning and night. Ping while gaming is stable too. |
Aug 2 2020, 04:16 PM
216 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
whatsapp them the num to ask about my place coverage, they said will get back to me, but 1 month later, still no response.
Aug 2 2020, 09:10 PM
30 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
They are gonna run roadshow at my building, I might give it a try, considering I (we, residents) am out of choices, this new ISP provides the best attractive internet solutions compared to others available in my area.
Any users from Penang? Could share 2 cents? Thanks. |
Aug 3 2020, 08:04 AM
QUOTE((^.^)v @ Aug 2 2020, 09:10 PM) They are gonna run roadshow at my building, I might give it a try, considering I (we, residents) am out of choices, this new ISP provides the best attractive internet solutions compared to others available in my area. Good luckAny users from Penang? Could share 2 cents? Thanks. They were supposed to be here last week for 5 evenings but in the end habuk pun tak ada |
Aug 3 2020, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(danieln @ Aug 3 2020, 08:04 AM) seeing the lack of their response in whatsapp, probably won't put my hope on this.had a terrible experience with penangfon long long time ago. saw many customers went to penangfon office in mayang mall to pounce on the tables and scold all kinds of foul languages... hahaha they are still standing today... but they improved a lot after new mgmt took over. |
Aug 3 2020, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(rahtid @ Aug 3 2020, 03:48 PM) seeing the lack of their response in whatsapp, probably won't put my hope on this. LOL... well I have doubt on penangfon too much earlierhad a terrible experience with penangfon long long time ago. saw many customers went to penangfon office in mayang mall to pounce on the tables and scold all kinds of foul languages... hahaha they are still standing today... but they improved a lot after new mgmt took over. but now after using for a few months, so far so good. the bad part is there were a few service interruptions with no advanced notice. they have a whatsapp number for their customer service but don't expect fast reply. sometimes they fixed the problem first then only reply to ask you how is it.. LOL |
Aug 9 2020, 09:10 PM
417 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Hi guys,
Any reviews sharing? Seem like very little reviews I can get over the internet. |
Aug 22 2020, 08:52 PM
53 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Penang |
Appreciate if anyone subscribed to this could give further reviews...still thinking should I subscribe this or not...
Aug 22 2020, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(maxlim94 @ Aug 22 2020, 08:52 PM) Appreciate if anyone subscribed to this could give further reviews...still thinking should I subscribe this or not... I took a look at their routing and peering. Quite good on par with Time Broadband or better. Very diverse with many peers.Uptime and customer service, that one can't comment. The name of the company sounds similar to Gigabit Hosting though. Are they related? |
Aug 26 2020, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(Candy12 @ Aug 22 2020, 09:23 PM) I took a look at their routing and peering. Quite good on par with Time Broadband or better. Very diverse with many peers. i also interested. too bad infos/reviews i could get.Uptime and customer service, that one can't comment. The name of the company sounds similar to Gigabit Hosting though. Are they related? even its pages looked very low cost |
Aug 27 2020, 02:01 AM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Feb 2020 |
![]() One of the resident in my community just shared this. He said it is quite good after installed for two weeks. Hence I decided to give it a shot since the newly installed unifi refuses to open for new applicant but old streamyx users... There are one high rise apartment and several rows of townhouse in my community, Time promised Management Committee to install fibre optic before MCO, but nothing was done. Perhaps we should give this new company one chance XD because I have no other option lol. At least I can threw away the so call DIGI 4G infinite 150 with only 4-8Mbps recently, I think the worse performance that I can get from gigabit fibre would still better that DIGI. |
Aug 27 2020, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(nosteik @ Aug 27 2020, 02:01 AM) ![]() One of the resident in my community just shared this. He said it is quite good after installed for two weeks. Hence I decided to give it a shot since the newly installed unifi refuses to open for new applicant but old streamyx users... There are one high rise apartment and several rows of townhouse in my community, Time promised Management Committee to install fibre optic before MCO, but nothing was done. Perhaps we should give this new company one chance XD because I have no other option lol. At least I can threw away the so call DIGI 4G infinite 150 with only 4-8Mbps recently, I think the worse performance that I can get from gigabit fibre would still better that DIGI. need to know how well the customer service is as well if possible |
Aug 27 2020, 10:04 AM
customer service so far (via whatsapp) is almost non-existent, never reply or follow up on my inquiries as i wanted to install as well... i can't imagine the response during outages.. back then, penangfon would have outages dragging for weeks even months!! all the rage back then
Aug 27 2020, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(rahtid @ Aug 27 2020, 10:04 AM) customer service so far (via whatsapp) is almost non-existent, never reply or follow up on my inquiries as i wanted to install as well... i can't imagine the response during outages.. back then, penangfon would have outages dragging for weeks even months!! all the rage back then wow... LOLat least penangfon now improved a lot. getting response on the whatsapp, but during weekdays working hours only |
Aug 27 2020, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(danieln @ Aug 27 2020, 10:26 AM) wow... LOL The parent company Gigabit Hosting does has a number of diverse upstream providers and it seems to have one of the best China/Taiwan connectivity from Malaysia.at least penangfon now improved a lot. getting response on the whatsapp, but during weekdays working hours only If you access lots of China contents and online games, this is the BEST ISP to use in Malaysia. Among their major upstream providers are China Unicom Global and the other is China Mobile International. But there's a concern though. It is one of the THREE Malaysian ISPs to have peering agreements with some Australian military surveillance company named: AS132825 Defense Australia Network The other 2 Malaysian ISPs which also peer with them are: TMNET and IPServerONE (LowyatNet parent company)? The also have some weird peers which are into gaming businesses such as: AS131651 loongaming Taiwan Just some precaution you want to take. This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 27 2020, 07:05 PM |
Sep 3 2020, 06:46 PM
1,679 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Penang |
hi guys, just saw this advert on my flat in Penang. Seems too good to be true but are really tempted to give it a try considering only half year contract.
Their fishy promotions is what prompted me to on hold of my decision to subscribe. Pay 6 months in advance within 7 days to enjoy 12 months of service..... Any users from Penang and review so far ? |
Sep 3 2020, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 3 2020, 06:46 PM) hi guys, just saw this advert on my flat in Penang. Seems too good to be true but are really tempted to give it a try considering only half year contract. They seem to be peering with questionable online gaming company and Australian spying agency which are big giveaways.Their fishy promotions is what prompted me to on hold of my decision to subscribe. Pay 6 months in advance within 7 days to enjoy 12 months of service..... Any users from Penang and review so far ? |
Sep 4 2020, 10:36 PM
After reading those reviews, i guess the major concern should be the customer services part. This is exactly what I worried if terminating streamyx and it does not work at the end
Nov 16 2020, 04:48 PM
106 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Can i know what modem and router Gigabit provided to 100mbps contract 2 years?
Nov 16 2020, 07:01 PM
752 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
anyone did installed on landed house cuz i see everywhere just apartment or condominium
Nov 19 2020, 12:23 AM
3 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
Nov 19 2020, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 3 2020, 06:46 PM) hi guys, just saw this advert on my flat in Penang. Seems too good to be true but are really tempted to give it a try considering only half year contract. i from penang, been using about 3 months, first two months the speed is quite ok, stable, i able to get full speed. but nowdays the speed sometimes below 70% of subsciption speed, go complain the whatsapp customer service not trying to solve the problems, seem to tell me that is normal, because too many device connected at the time, the walls bla bla bla(i disconnected all and try speedtest using lan before i go complaint still below 70%) if you have desperate you can try, somehow they are better than streamyxshit and shit telco 4g speed (so far)Their fishy promotions is what prompted me to on hold of my decision to subscribe. Pay 6 months in advance within 7 days to enjoy 12 months of service..... Any users from Penang and review so far ? one more important thing, if you try to terminate before the contract, you need to pay RM 300 for early termination, installation fee will Charge you RM150 if you terminate before contract , and the last thing is you still need to pay the remaining monthy fee. |
Nov 19 2020, 01:12 PM
752 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
QUOTE(nightwalker69 @ Nov 19 2020, 12:34 AM) i from penang, been using about 3 months, first two months the speed is quite ok, stable, i able to get full speed. but nowdays the speed sometimes below 70% of subsciption speed, go complain the whatsapp customer service not trying to solve the problems, seem to tell me that is normal, because too many device connected at the time, the walls bla bla bla(i disconnected all and try speedtest using lan before i go complaint still below 70%) if you have desperate you can try, somehow they are better than streamyxshit and shit telco 4g speed (so far) Thanks for the info, then i would infer that they r like 4g dependent on number of users to get maximum performance (subjected to congestion also)one more important thing, if you try to terminate before the contract, you need to pay RM 300 for early termination, installation fee will Charge you RM150 if you terminate before contract , and the last thing is you still need to pay the remaining monthy fee. |
Jan 8 2021, 01:36 PM
124 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Saw their ad near the lift entrance of my flat. Tried looking for more info on the net, but info is quite scarce, as if nobody uses this service.
Want to ask, has anybody tried online gaming between 8 PM -1 AM using Gigabit Fiber ? How is the performance ? Thanks in advance. |
Jan 10 2021, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(pmg @ Jan 8 2021, 01:36 PM) Saw their ad near the lift entrance of my flat. Tried looking for more info on the net, but info is quite scarce, as if nobody uses this service. Subscribed this 1 week ago. If you are using streamyx now, i think you should give it a try.Want to ask, has anybody tried online gaming between 8 PM -1 AM using Gigabit Fiber ? How is the performance ? Thanks in advance. There is nothing that can be worse than streamyx |
Jan 11 2021, 05:24 PM
124 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(dreamfasten @ Jan 10 2021, 01:52 PM) Subscribed this 1 week ago. If you are using streamyx now, i think you should give it a try. Thanks for replying.There is nothing that can be worse than streamyx Sure it might be better than Streamyx in your opinion, but is it usable for online gaming between 8 PM to 1 AM ? Some telco/ISP throttle connections during those hours, which means not only online gaming suffers, but Netflix/YouTube/Twitch as well. If Gigabit Fiber implements such throttling, I might as well suffer with my current ISP instead of jumping ship. This post has been edited by pmg: Jan 11 2021, 05:24 PM |
Jan 11 2021, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(pmg @ Jan 11 2021, 05:24 PM) Thanks for replying. I dont play online games now so dont have a good answer on this. I only watch youtubes and some dramas and as you know youtube have a better server, it wont likely have that issues. But from speedtest during 8pm-10pm, I dont see any issues as well.Sure it might be better than Streamyx in your opinion, but is it usable for online gaming between 8 PM to 1 AM ? Some telco/ISP throttle connections during those hours, which means not only online gaming suffers, but Netflix/YouTube/Twitch as well. If Gigabit Fiber implements such throttling, I might as well suffer with my current ISP instead of jumping ship. If you have other options like unifi/TIME, i will recommend you to go for that. IMO, just take the minimum contract (half year). By the worst, it will just waste your half year money. Streamyx is always there for you. |
Feb 19 2021, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(dreamfasten @ Jan 11 2021, 07:27 PM) I dont play online games now so dont have a good answer on this. I only watch youtubes and some dramas and as you know youtube have a better server, it wont likely have that issues. But from speedtest during 8pm-10pm, I dont see any issues as well. I switch to TIME , i wait untill the half year contract end, contact them for service termination, so far from now what i can say is, this is the hardest service termination that i ever met. good luck guysIf you have other options like unifi/TIME, i will recommend you to go for that. IMO, just take the minimum contract (half year). By the worst, it will just waste your half year money. Streamyx is always there for you. |
Feb 19 2021, 10:53 PM
Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM
3 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
I've dealt with Maxis, Unifi and YTL before, and all of them been able to solve my issue within a time frame. This is how they deal with customers when you lodge a complaint to them (speed less than 10% of the subscription speed during night time). Be prepared if you wish to sign up for their service. 😉
![]() |
Jun 27 2021, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(NeohWG @ Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM) I've dealt with Maxis, Unifi and YTL before, and all of them been able to solve my issue within a time frame. This is how they deal with customers when you lodge a complaint to them (speed less than 10% of the subscription speed during night time). Be prepared if you wish to sign up for their service. 😉 the problem with these small players is, if you subscribe 100mb they assign 100mb to u only. so any hiccups you feel it badly as there is always a drop and you don't get 100% of the speed. while unifi they normally assign higher speed to you, so you don't feel the drop that much that often. EG: an 8mb streamyx plan would be assigned 10mb which is what I got![]() NeohWG liked this post
Jun 27 2021, 01:54 PM
2,615 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
QUOTE(NeohWG @ Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM) I've dealt with Maxis, Unifi and YTL before, and all of them been able to solve my issue within a time frame. This is how they deal with customers when you lodge a complaint to them (speed less than 10% of the subscription speed during night time). Be prepared if you wish to sign up for their service. 😉 if you want some evidence that ISP's can rig speedtests, here's some![]() https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport/commen...ed_internet_to/ With that said OP is not from Malaysia. NeohWG liked this post
Jun 27 2021, 06:02 PM
319 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
thats the problem of internet users nowadays; relying on so-called "speedtest". doesn't matter whats its name, speedtest.net, fast.com, slowmo.gov, checkspeed.ru etc. etc.
if you want to know your line capabilities, download the binary files. there is many mirrors out there that serve the *.bin file. how about the upload? you can upload to google drive, mega, or if you can find any local mirrors to upload. the theoritically speed that you get, is the speed between you and the nearest node. not to the usa, not to the russia, not to the europe and so on. if you subscribe 1000Mbps, then thats the speed you get between you and your connected node, without calculation the loss because of your hardware, the cable quality etc etc. speedtest or whatever mechanism you use in the website will not guarantee anything. back in the day when i am using 56kbps connection, in theory i can get download speed 7kBps (please see the capital B). thats happen if i download a binary file. for an asciii file, text file, a file who has a "bubble" inside it, i can download 15kBps. how come? my connection just 56kbps only. right. because the file that i download is not "solid", then the packet has much space to fill, seems like the line speed were 128kbps on that day. pls guys. don't be too obsessed with the speedtest. if on normal days you can download/stream more than 50% from your "paid speed", you should be grateful. of a peak hours, if you still can achieve a download/stream without buffering, you should be grateful too. remember that sometime your download/streaming is from another country, outside our borders. you may not get the max speed of your "paid speed". if local connection you can only get 80% from your actual speed, do you think that you can use 80% of your allocate bandwidth downloading from usa? |
Jun 27 2021, 09:05 PM
3 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
QUOTE(cybersans @ Jun 27 2021, 06:02 PM) thats the problem of internet users nowadays; relying on so-called "speedtest". doesn't matter whats its name, speedtest.net, fast.com, slowmo.gov, checkspeed.ru etc. etc. I know it's a shared service and speeds are based on best effort, so I don't expect it to reach the advertised 100% speeds all the time. The problem I'm facing is that I can't even play videos over 720p on Youtube at night with my 4K smart TV using the 100Mbps package. Until then, I'll just run speed tests to make sure the problem is with the network.if you want to know your line capabilities, download the binary files. there is many mirrors out there that serve the *.bin file. how about the upload? you can upload to google drive, mega, or if you can find any local mirrors to upload. the theoritically speed that you get, is the speed between you and the nearest node. not to the usa, not to the russia, not to the europe and so on. if you subscribe 1000Mbps, then thats the speed you get between you and your connected node, without calculation the loss because of your hardware, the cable quality etc etc. speedtest or whatever mechanism you use in the website will not guarantee anything. back in the day when i am using 56kbps connection, in theory i can get download speed 7kBps (please see the capital B). thats happen if i download a binary file. for an asciii file, text file, a file who has a "bubble" inside it, i can download 15kBps. how come? my connection just 56kbps only. right. because the file that i download is not "solid", then the packet has much space to fill, seems like the line speed were 128kbps on that day. pls guys. don't be too obsessed with the speedtest. if on normal days you can download/stream more than 50% from your "paid speed", you should be grateful. of a peak hours, if you still can achieve a download/stream without buffering, you should be grateful too. remember that sometime your download/streaming is from another country, outside our borders. you may not get the max speed of your "paid speed". if local connection you can only get 80% from your actual speed, do you think that you can use 80% of your allocate bandwidth downloading from usa? |
Jun 28 2021, 10:30 AM
685 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
QUOTE(NeohWG @ Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM) I've dealt with Maxis, Unifi and YTL before, and all of them been able to solve my issue within a time frame. This is how they deal with customers when you lodge a complaint to them (speed less than 10% of the subscription speed during night time). Be prepared if you wish to sign up for their service. 😉 fast.com relies on Netflix server lol![]() How can it be not accurate Each large scale ISP have their own cache OCAs on each location For example , TIME They have three location nodes , Penang , Kuala Lumpur , Johor When TIME IP performs a test , Fast.com will priority assign ISP's own cache OCAs for better performance and also they will assign some SG OCAs. and he said mobile data not accurate because many ISP on mobile data (certain package for unlimited one) limit speed towards Netflix server thats why it will be unaccurate , but for home fiber i dun think this is a problem for me i currently get few of the Local ISP Netflix OCAs Celcom , Digi , Maxis , U Mobile , TM , TIME all have their own nodes NeohWG liked this post
Aug 19 2021, 11:22 PM
390 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(NeohWG @ Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM) I've dealt with Maxis, Unifi and YTL before, and all of them been able to solve my issue within a time frame. This is how they deal with customers when you lodge a complaint to them (speed less than 10% of the subscription speed during night time). Be prepared if you wish to sign up for their service. 😉 The support says inaccurate because Fast.com uses netflix speedtest server which located outside Malaysia. Speedtest.com has local servers throughout Malaysia which exactly the most accurate results you need and ISP aim for. Most internet package speed offered are referring to local traffic inside Malaysia hence that is why ISP will ask you to perform speedtest on Oookla (Speedtest.net). If local traffic speed is 80% lower than promised speed, there clearly there is an issue with your connection.![]() For international traffic speeds are vary because it heavily depends on routing. The longer the path for your packets to travel back/forth the slower the speed gets. That is why fast.com cannot give you the promised speed. This applies to ALL ISP known on the globe even the most advanced fiber internet like Google fiber. For fast.com case use lets say if you are having issues in streaming Netlfix keeps on buffering then you can use Fast.com to detect if there is speed issue to Netflix server. |
Aug 20 2021, 03:34 AM
975 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(Daniel Hyuuga @ Aug 19 2021, 11:22 PM) The support says inaccurate because Fast.com uses netflix speedtest server which located outside Malaysia. Speedtest.com has local servers throughout Malaysia which exactly the most accurate results you need and ISP aim for. Most internet package speed offered are referring to local traffic inside Malaysia hence that is why ISP will ask you to perform speedtest on Oookla (Speedtest.net). If local traffic speed is 80% lower than promised speed, there clearly there is an issue with your connection. Netflix local server at MyIX, not sure this ISP using which route/peer.For international traffic speeds are vary because it heavily depends on routing. The longer the path for your packets to travel back/forth the slower the speed gets. That is why fast.com cannot give you the promised speed. This applies to ALL ISP known on the globe even the most advanced fiber internet like Google fiber. For fast.com case use lets say if you are having issues in streaming Netlfix keeps on buffering then you can use Fast.com to detect if there is speed issue to Netflix server. (at fast.com, there is a button show more info after complete download speed test, which can tell which server connected) |
Aug 16 2022, 08:46 PM
14 posts Joined: May 2022 |
Just subscribed last week, their support is non-existent and atrocious + link disconnect throughout the day randomly. And I stuck with them for a year contract, RIP. Avoid like your life depends on it. rahtid liked this post
Sep 15 2022, 12:17 PM
1,725 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ookla-speedtest-1.2.0-win64>speedtest.exe -s 53237
Speedtest by Ookla Server: Gigabit Fiber Broadband Sdn Bhd - Johor Bahru (id: 53237) ISP: TM Net Idle Latency: 268.37 ms (jitter: 8.78ms, low: 256.05ms, high: 274.90ms) Download: 53.51 Mbps (data used: 88.2 MB) 426.45 ms (jitter: 95.02ms, low: 265.98ms, high: 859.13ms) Upload: 1.49 Mbps (data used: 2.7 MB) 414.12 ms (jitter: 94.26ms, low: 261.82ms, high: 841.61ms) Packet Loss: 2.4% Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/ ookla-speedtest-1.2.0-win64>speedtest.exe -s 53123 Speedtest by Ookla Server: Gigabit Fiber Broadband Sdn Bhd - Shah Alam (id: 53123) ISP: TM Net Idle Latency: 203.22 ms (jitter: 171.19ms, low: 195.85ms, high: 528.69ms) Download: 314.18 Mbps (data used: 429.7 MB) 331.74 ms (jitter: 88.84ms, low: 198.73ms, high: 769.59ms) Upload: 1.06 Mbps (data used: 1.8 MB) 313.76 ms (jitter: 86.80ms, low: 195.36ms, high: 688.42ms) Packet Loss: 5.2% Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/ |
Sep 21 2022, 07:15 PM
3,902 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Sin Lor, B'worth,Pg. |
Saw this at my apartment
![]() Not gonna change from unifi though So many years Their website..... |
Sep 29 2022, 11:13 PM
Probation
14 posts Joined: Apr 2022 |
Stupid ISP ever, Internet always down and their support doesnt help at all. It is hard to get real person customer support. Always shows few photos with step by step on how to turn off your modem and wait 15 sec bla bla bla. And the most funniest moment is when the wifi is down and you cant even lookup for the network name in the list, they asked you to screenshot the network on your phone. XD Worst salesman as well, their manners their talking style not professional at all. After my contract finished, there is 1 woman whatsapp me and tell me about their new package, but I told them I wont continue anymore, and this woman suddenly vanished forever. While few weeks later, another guy contacted me and ask me to renew my contract, I said I told the woman before that I wanna terminate this service but I got ignored and this guy said he cant do anything regarding this because he just a salesman, if you need to terminate service you need to write an email. While my bills keeps continue and im not using any of their fibre services. So highly not recommended. rahtid liked this post
Jan 24 2023, 07:48 AM
7 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
So far, so good. Within their promised 65%-100% promised speed. Subscribed to their new, 350Mbps, RM119/month (Included GST), 2-year contract, promo plan. Newly completed condominium (KL), new infrastructure, new router (Their own brand of XPON router). Tested 3x devices watching YouTube at 4K 60fps, simultaneously, no issue. Didn't had the option for TIME yet, my favorite, my provider before moving home. Was juggling between Unifi/Digi/Maxis or YTL Broadband or Gigabit-Fiber. For the price, compare to currently available competitor, still value for money. Gave them a chance. Hope all the best for me.. Only worries, some US website, debatable slower speed, but still fair at ping (within ping range of competitors). Speedtest to Malaysia Server (on LAN) ![]() Netflix Speedtest (on LAN) ![]() Speedtest to Singapore Server (on LAN) ![]() Texas, US Speedtest (on LAN) ![]() Dota 2, Roundtrip Ping Test (on LAN) ![]() Apex Legends, Roundtrip Ping Test (on LAN) ![]() Uptime statistic (5 days). (on LAN) Noticed they do, Daily server restart at 3AM everyday, less than 1min. ![]() Router Provided (XPON ONU) ![]() Currently Available Plan for my building ![]() This post has been edited by Dr.Jay: Jan 29 2023, 08:06 AM Patent liked this post
Jan 24 2023, 01:45 PM
2,004 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(Dr.Jay @ Jan 24 2023, 07:48 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Dr.Jay liked this post
Jan 29 2023, 11:32 PM
932 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
Wanted to quote from Dr. Jay's post, all things considered, their ping to Luxemborg is actually really good, 150ms ish to Frankfurt, my Unifi ping to my Hetzner is 220-290ms.. Wonder how their routing is done.. Dr.Jay liked this post
Feb 1 2023, 05:41 AM
QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 24 2023, 01:45 PM) QUOTE(yenchenje @ Jan 29 2023, 11:32 PM) Wanted to quote from Dr. Jay's post, all things considered, their ping to Luxemborg is actually really good, 150ms ish to Frankfurt, my Unifi ping to my Hetzner is 220-290ms.. Wonder how their routing is done.. Very interesting indeed..Repeated the test many2 times, in many2 different peak hours, across all Europe, same result 150-170. My previous provider TIME (don't shoot me plz, its my favorite ISP, forced to change due to unavailability) was around 220-290ms, same as Unifi (as Yenchenje mention), no-where near of Gigabit. My 3 suspects would be, 1. Due to their heavy use of Microwave link infra, may Google, its 2xtimes faster latency vs physical fiber, but smaller bandwidth capacity. 2. They use XPON instead of GPON on their fiber infra, may Google the difference. (TIME and Unifi is on GPON) This 2 may not be noticeable on shorter distance, but collectively on longer distance like Europe, theoretically, it should make a difference. ..... 3. According to HE routing list.. Simplified/direct routing on Gigabit = Less routing delay perhaps? Also, few non-existence routing on TIME/Unifi routing, but exist on Gigabit. (Ref TIME vs Ref Unifi vs Ref Gigabit) I could be wrong... maybe if someone more expert can check and explain This post has been edited by Dr.Jay: Feb 1 2023, 05:47 AM |
Feb 1 2023, 08:21 PM
1,030 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
QUOTE(Dr.Jay @ Feb 1 2023, 05:41 AM) Very interesting indeed.. I'll tell you why Gigabit Fiber has better pings than the other major ISPs.Repeated the test many2 times, in many2 different peak hours, across all Europe, same result 150-170. My previous provider TIME (don't shoot me plz, its my favorite ISP, forced to change due to unavailability) was around 220-290ms, same as Unifi (as Yenchenje mention), no-where near of Gigabit. My 3 suspects would be, 1. Due to their heavy use of Microwave link infra, may Google, its 2xtimes faster latency vs physical fiber, but smaller bandwidth capacity. 2. They use XPON instead of GPON on their fiber infra, may Google the difference. (TIME and Unifi is on GPON) This 2 may not be noticeable on shorter distance, but collectively on longer distance like Europe, theoretically, it should make a difference. ..... 3. According to HE routing list.. Simplified/direct routing on Gigabit = Less routing delay perhaps? Also, few non-existence routing on TIME/Unifi routing, but exist on Gigabit. (Ref TIME vs Ref Unifi vs Ref Gigabit) I could be wrong... maybe if someone more expert can check and explain 1) Number of hops: Your Gigabit Fiber setup is probably just 1-2 hops away from the datacentre in the city from the CPE/modem you're using. Unlike TM/TIME multi service networks which are big and span by regions there will be more hops needed to travel through regional gateways, switches and finally reach the datacentre where it exits the country. 2) A smaller ISP which is still unknown to public with a small number of customers: Congestion hasn't caught up yet with Gigabit Fiber's network. The availability is still very limited so their network can still have lots of unused capacity. TM and TIME both very popular ISPs which monopolized most of the country's internet connections have peak hours when everyone gets online simultaneously. The company's major upload provider is HE(Hurricane Electric) FYI it's still GPON. They won't be supplying XGS-PON yet because CPEs pricing are still on the higher side. |
Feb 1 2023, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Feb 1 2023, 08:21 PM) I'll tell you why Gigabit Fiber has better pings than the other major ISPs. I see. Thank you for the information. 1) Number of hops: Your Gigabit Fiber setup is probably just 1-2 hops away from the datacentre in the city from the CPE/modem you're using. Unlike TM/TIME multi service networks which are big and span by regions there will be more hops needed to travel through regional gateways, switches and finally reach the datacentre where it exits the country. 2) A smaller ISP which is still unknown to public with a small number of customers: Congestion hasn't caught up yet with Gigabit Fiber's network. The availability is still very limited so their network can still have lots of unused capacity. TM and TIME both very popular ISPs which monopolized most of the country's internet connections have peak hours when everyone gets online simultaneously. The company's major upload provider is HE(Hurricane Electric) FYI it's still GPON. They won't be supplying XGS-PON yet because CPEs pricing are still on the higher side. So basically, we have to not tell others of this ISP, to keep it small and at peek performance, i suppose. 😅 Regarding the GPON, it is strange thou, the modem they gave is XPON, written on the back of their modem. I did try to connect the fiber, on 3x different GPON device, to no-success, was the signal detectable. Now I'm not sure what is it, since you mentioned XPON is expensive. Attached is the XPON device they gave, for you to check what it is. They operate only on, single-device, fiber connect to it, wifi comes out of it, no separate device like in Time/Unifi. ![]() This post has been edited by Dr.Jay: Feb 2 2023, 01:56 AM |
Feb 2 2023, 04:40 AM
QUOTE(Dr.Jay @ Feb 1 2023, 11:57 PM) I see. Thank you for the information. If I’m not wrong, GFB might me trying to future proof their customer for upcoming 10gb infra, from anime4000’s ditching ONU post, one user in there said that there was dark fiber in Malaysia that supposedly reached 10gbps, but only in Cyberjaya or w/e, GFB might be that exact provider, and then doing XPON instead of GPON might just to be future proofing their customer, and locking them into just using their equipment as opposed to other ISP seperating ONU/Router, and you can upgrade at will.So basically, we have to not tell others of this ISP, to keep it small and at peek performance, i suppose. 😅 Regarding the GPON, it is strange thou, the modem they gave is XPON, written on the back of their modem. I did try to connect the fiber, on 3x different GPON device, to no-success, was the signal detectable. Now I'm not sure what is it, since you mentioned XPON is expensive. Attached is the XPON device they gave, for you to check what it is. They operate only on, single-device, fiber connect to it, wifi comes out of it, no separate device like in Time/Unifi. ![]() |
Feb 2 2023, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(Dr.Jay @ Feb 1 2023, 11:57 PM) I see. Thank you for the information. XPON is non standardized unlike ITU's GPON and IEEE's EPON standards.So basically, we have to not tell others of this ISP, to keep it small and at peek performance, i suppose. 😅 Regarding the GPON, it is strange thou, the modem they gave is XPON, written on the back of their modem. I did try to connect the fiber, on 3x different GPON device, to no-success, was the signal detectable. Now I'm not sure what is it, since you mentioned XPON is expensive. Attached is the XPON device they gave, for you to check what it is. They operate only on, single-device, fiber connect to it, wifi comes out of it, no separate device like in Time/Unifi. ![]() It's basically the universal version created by China companies to merge both GPON and EPON standards so that the CPE can accept either standards at the headend of the ODN. Still it is still considered just a 2nd gen PON standard. Huawei Enterprise - xPON Definition The main parameters of the xPON network are as follows: QUOTE ●Multi-service support capabilities: to achieve full-service (including ATM, Ethernet, TDM) support capabilities with strict QoS guarantee, for business optimization, support downlink cable TV transmission through WDM; ●Automatic identification and management of EPON and GPON access cards; ●Support 1:32 branch ability; ●The transmission distance is not more than 20 kilometers; ●Upstream and downstream symmetric line rate 1.244Gbit/s. Support port traffic statistics function; ●Support dynamic and static bandwidth allocation functions. ●Support multicast and multicast functions |
Feb 2 2023, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(yenchenje @ Feb 2 2023, 04:40 AM) If I’m not wrong, GFB might me trying to future proof their customer for upcoming 10gb infra, from anime4000’s ditching ONU post, one user in there said that there was dark fiber in Malaysia that supposedly reached 10gbps, but only in Cyberjaya or w/e, GFB might be that exact provider, and then doing XPON instead of GPON might just to be future proofing their customer, and locking them into just using their equipment as opposed to other ISP seperating ONU/Router, and you can upgrade at will. When the need arrives for 10G, the ISP needs to swap both the line card/transceivers/splitters/CPEs at both ends of the ODN to enable the service. It uses different wavelengths than current 2nd gen GPON/EPON in the same fibre. What I meant earlier was 2nd gen PON equipment are very cheap and abundant in the market right now. It makes sense why XPON tranceivers/modems were supplied is because it universally accepts either GPON/EPON headend equipments having the advantage of self-tuning. TM has also recently deployed XPON ONTs/modems not too long ago. That's why you can now use different brand ONTs with their headend OLTs nowadays. |
Feb 2 2023, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Feb 2 2023, 11:51 AM) When the need arrives for 10G, the ISP needs to swap both the line card/transceivers/splitters/CPEs at both ends of the ODN to enable the service. It uses different wavelengths than current 2nd gen GPON/EPON in the same fibre. Ah makes sense, thanks for the explanation, hoping that we'll get news on 10G officially in Malaysia soon. Colossally overkill but if the price is right, maybe Malaysia can be one of the internet players in the world that offers 10G after KR, FR. What I meant earlier was 2nd gen PON equipment are very cheap and abundant in the market right now. It makes sense why XPON tranceivers/modems were supplied is because it universally accepts either GPON/EPON headend equipments having the advantage of self-tuning. TM has also recently deployed XPON ONTs/modems not too long ago. That's why you can now use different brand ONTs with their headend OLTs nowadays. |
| Change to: | 0.0658sec
5 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:33 PM |