Seiko Watch Thread V6, Seikoholics Unite Kopitiam

Doomsday
post Jun 20 2022, 09:02 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(M@Y @ Jun 20 2022, 08:03 PM)
I was targeting this model before. So I have emailed Sakura Watches about it and they said it has been discontinued adi. Saw one preowned sell for RM5k++  rclxub.gif

Crazy
locco81
post Jun 21 2022, 12:48 PM

I'm in da huhu world
1,121 posts

My 14th wedding anniversary gift, my 1st seiko... I'm timex and g-shock guy btw biggrin.gif

jolipoli81
post Jun 21 2022, 02:44 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

This probably has been asked before somewhere else, but I couldn't find something relatable here about restorations, so please pardon me on this.

I recently just got a few watches from my dad, one of it (the Seiko) is passed on from his dad which my dad just kept it in the drawer since the 70's. I have never met my grandpa because he passed away even before I was born and I wouldn't say it has a lot of sentimental value to me nor my dad.
A quick search tells me the watch worth nothing much, but I just love seeing old watches being revived and being made useful again.
Surprisingly the watch still runs but I have not check the accuracy on it.

Now my question is, what are the range should I be expecting to service or polish/replace the crystal for such watch?

The model written on the back says 7005-8070.

This post has been edited by jolipoli81: Jun 22 2022, 08:35 AM
M@Y
post Jun 21 2022, 04:04 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Jun 20 2022, 09:02 PM)
Crazy
Thanks wub.gif
Everdying
post Jun 21 2022, 05:18 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,731 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Jun 21 2022, 02:44 PM)
This probably has been asked before somewhere else, but I couldn't find something relatable here about restorations, so please pardon me on this.

I recently just got a few watches from my dad, one of it (the Seiko) is passed on from his dad which my dad just kept it in the drawer since the 70's. I have never meet my grandpa because he passed away even before I was born and I wouldn't say it has a lot of sentimental value to me nor my dad.
A quick search tells me the watch worth nothing much, but I just love seeing old watch being revived and being made useful again.

Now my question is, what are the range should I be expecting to service or polish/replace the crystal for such watch?

crystal got deep grooves? that one no use polishing...
anyway crystal replacement shouldn't be more than rm100... servicing also somewhere between rm150-200...
guess that'll cost more than the watch...

btw what's the blue dial? rado? nice vintage style bracelet...
same for the citizen datejust copy..

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jun 21 2022, 05:20 PM
Zhik
post Jun 21 2022, 05:19 PM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,226 posts

I recently just got a few watches from my dad, one of it (the Seiko) is passed on from his dad which my dad just kept it in the drawer since the 70's. I have never meet my grandpa because he passed away even before I was born and I wouldn't say it has a lot of sentimental value to me nor my dad.
A quick search tells me the watch worth nothing much, but I just love seeing old watch being revived and being made useful again.

Seiko? Just leave it there without service. It just run good after u keep it there for 20 years.

haturaya
post Jun 21 2022, 06:34 PM

2,553 posts

Nice golden Rado. I have one. Given by my dad. thumbsup.gif
jolipoli81
post Jun 21 2022, 11:00 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 21 2022, 05:18 PM)
crystal got deep grooves? that one no use polishing...
anyway crystal replacement shouldn't be more than rm100... servicing also somewhere between rm150-200...
guess that'll cost more than the watch...

btw what's the blue dial? rado? nice vintage style bracelet...
same for the citizen datejust copy..

The blue dial is the Seiko. I can see a lot of potential of it if given some polishing and changing of strap.

QUOTE(haturaya @ Jun 21 2022, 06:34 PM)
Nice golden Rado. I have one. Given by my dad.  :thumbsup:
Thanks, I guess I'll find how to appreciate the Rado.

This post has been edited by jolipoli81: Jun 22 2022, 08:36 AM
trex9999
post Jun 21 2022, 11:32 PM

74 posts

If you’re around klang valley look for Steven aka wah foong. He’s 1 of the best ard. My watches only goes to him for service whenever they’re out of warranty.
steevan1000
post Jun 22 2022, 09:00 AM

4,539 posts

i would suggest do not change the strap for that seiko
just polish the whole watch including the bracelet
also some service for the internals
keep the bracelet on
it's a really beautiful vintage

This post has been edited by steevan1000: Jun 22 2022, 09:01 AM
jolipoli81
post Jun 22 2022, 10:42 AM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jun 22 2022, 09:00 AM)
i would suggest do not change the strap for that seiko
just polish the whole watch including the bracelet
also some service for the internals
keep the bracelet on
it's a really beautiful vintage
Yeah, indeed it was some unique strap, it is a Rado strap. Unfortunately it is too small to fit my wrist and there seem to be no adjustment that can be made to resize it. I'll be looking for some other strap while I keep this strap.

This post has been edited by jolipoli81: Jun 22 2022, 10:43 AM
steevan1000
post Jun 22 2022, 10:56 AM

4,539 posts

blink.gif oops, i thought it was a seiko bracelet
my bad biggrin.gif
vankodoq
post Jun 22 2022, 11:09 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(trex9999 @ Jun 21 2022, 11:32 PM)
If you’re around klang valley look for Steven aka wah foong. He’s 1 of the best ard. My watches only goes to him for service whenever they’re out of warranty.
oohh, might want to have his service later..
just googled "wah foong" and a shop in Jalan Raja Laut came up, I assume that's what you're talking about? hmm.gif
trex9999
post Jun 23 2022, 12:21 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Jun 22 2022, 11:09 AM)
oohh, might want to have his service later..
just googled "wah foong" and a shop in Jalan Raja Laut came up, I assume that's what you're talking about? hmm.gif
Ya, that’s the 1.
vankodoq
post Jul 1 2022, 03:16 PM

377 posts

the upcoming Seiko 5 GMT seems to be interesting..
if I ever get one of them, I think I'll take the blue-black version of it (i.e. SSK003).. hmm.gif
source -> https://www.seikowatches.com/uk-en/news/20220608
gnuix
post Jul 2 2022, 09:21 PM

161 posts

Went to midvalley Seiko boutique to have a look at the new releases..

Everdying
post Jul 2 2022, 11:11 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,731 posts

QUOTE(gnuix @ Jul 2 2022, 09:21 PM)

did they have the orange gmt?
AuRevoir
post Jul 2 2022, 11:19 PM

19 posts

What's the price of the Sea of Cloud Shinshu limited edition ?
vankodoq
post Jul 3 2022, 02:14 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(gnuix @ Jul 2 2022, 09:21 PM)

the Grand Seiko is fiiineeee.. might not be a huge visual improvement, but fine piece nonetheless..
on the other hand, the new SSK003 doesn't look as nice as I expected.. probably need to try them on my own wrist.. hmm.gif
gnuix
post Jul 3 2022, 06:28 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 2 2022, 11:11 PM)
did they have the orange gmt?
yea, they do have the orange. its just too much for me.
the black and orange is easier to get, else the blue black need to q.

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Jul 3 2022, 02:14 AM)
the Grand Seiko is fiiineeee.. might not be a huge visual improvement, but fine piece nonetheless..
on the other hand, the new SSK003 doesn't look as nice as I expected.. probably need to try them on my own wrist.. hmm.gif
the GS looks nice, the price the LE puts me off (RM18K)

The GMT really need to try hands on, the bezel looks like there is another layer of hardlex on it, it looks surprising nice.
the bezel a smooth non clicking type of feel, not like those diver clicking.

60 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:55 PM