Shadow Priest : Spell Hit + Spell Penetration
Jul 12 2007, 09:11 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,846 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
A raid n00b question since I've not raided pre-BC. I just took a look at my Spell stats recently and realised that Spell Penetration was zero and the Spell Hit was about 94 (7.45%). A guildmate recommended to get Spell Hit as high as 16% to be effective for raid bosses. 1) For a shadow priest, what should the Spell Hit and Spell Penetration be? 2) Is it possible to achieve 16% with tailored gear, Kara gear and Heroic gear only? |
Jul 12 2007, 09:18 AM
5,366 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2007, 09:11 AM) A raid n00b question since I've not raided pre-BC. 1) spell hit around 10-15%I just took a look at my Spell stats recently and realised that Spell Penetration was zero and the Spell Hit was about 94 (7.45%). A guildmate recommended to get Spell Hit as high as 16% to be effective for raid bosses. 1) For a shadow priest, what should the Spell Hit and Spell Penetration be? 2) Is it possible to achieve 16% with tailored gear, Kara gear and Heroic gear only? 2) close, but not 16% |
Jul 12 2007, 09:57 AM
hmm....can u give me the name of a shadow priest with those stats that I can armory?
so far, have only compared against Addict's Hansuke since that's probably the only shadow priest that I know in LYN. |
Jul 12 2007, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2007, 09:57 AM) hmm....can u give me the name of a shadow priest with those stats that I can armory? check out maybe juice or insurrection guild on horde side.so far, have only compared against Addict's Hansuke since that's probably the only shadow priest that I know in LYN. asia pacific guild... maybe twisted by design? or dimsum |
Jul 12 2007, 10:31 AM
886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Jul 12 2007, 10:43 AM
hmmm...checking out a few other shadow priests, looks like it's not easy to hit even 10% hit rating. they seem to be targeting 1.2k spell damage first and only then tackling the hit rating.
Jul 12 2007, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2007, 10:43 AM) hmmm...checking out a few other shadow priests, looks like it's not easy to hit even 10% hit rating. they seem to be targeting 1.2k spell damage first and only then tackling the hit rating. spell dmg comes first and foremost no matter what, chances of you actually landing the spell as opposed to resists (spell hit/pene counter) are much much higher. |
Jul 12 2007, 10:59 AM
1 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Yea, try aim for 1k spellpower unbuff before going for +hit and +crit. It will be sufficient enough for SSC and TE.
Jul 12 2007, 11:42 AM
3 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2007, 09:11 AM) A raid n00b question since I've not raided pre-BC. Your guildmate is right about the 16% for raiding. Let me explain why you need the 16%. I just took a look at my Spell stats recently and realised that Spell Penetration was zero and the Spell Hit was about 94 (7.45%). A guildmate recommended to get Spell Hit as high as 16% to be effective for raid bosses. 1) For a shadow priest, what should the Spell Hit and Spell Penetration be? 2) Is it possible to achieve 16% with tailored gear, Kara gear and Heroic gear only? QUOTE Items: +Spell Hit Chance +1% spell hit chance increases the base chance for a spell to land against a target by 1% If your target is the same level as you, a spell has a base chance to hit of 96%. If the target is +1 level compared to you: 95% +2 levels: 94% +3 levels: 83% if the target is a monster, 87% if the target is a player. +4 levels: monster: 72% player: 80% +5 levels: monster: 61% player: 73% Etc... If you wear a +1% spell hit chance item, the above percentages will increase by 1. +2% gives +2. Etc... Source taken from http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/info/basics/spells.html Looking at the quoted text above, all bosses we fight with will have a lvl difference of +3, meaning the percentage for our spells to hit without talents and +spell hit rating items is 83%. Adding in another 16% will give you the 99% hit rating cap. And since 12 spell hit rating = 1%, you will require +192 spell hit rating to achieve the 16% spell hit cap. However, since us shadow priests have this talent called Shadow Focus, my advice to you is to max out this talent for an additional 10% chance on shadow spells to hit or put 4/5 talents in it to achieve 8%. Therefore, with 8-10% chance on spell to hit, you only need an additional 8-6%, or 96-72 spell hit rating on your gear to achieve the spell hit cap. The head and chest piece of your Incarnate Regalia set gives 16 and 17 spell hit rating respectively. Also, there are plenty of pre-raiding dungeons that provide blue drops with +spell hit rating. Don't ask me about my spell hit rating; its still far below the spell hit cap. |
Jul 12 2007, 11:56 AM
4,880 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL/PJ |
Jul 12 2007, 12:33 PM
qua : okie dokie.
postboy : ta. time to find better gems. as well as better gear. planning to aim for spellstrike set after i get my chest piece done. will probably take awhile urgh. flush : hee hee...i can understand that. my spell hit is nothing to brag about either but my spell damage needs quite a bit of boosting. need to slot my red gems in. getting broke a bit as lazy to do quests now. nVidiaFX : cheers. Added on July 12, 2007, 12:46 pm http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=rxMhzhZZEGgzMtRotVo flush, how's this build with Shadow Focus max out? The last point, i just put into Focused Mind as no idea where to put it. I also took blackout for PvP a bit but left out the crits for Shadow Power. This post has been edited by myremi: Jul 12 2007, 12:51 PM |
Jul 12 2007, 01:13 PM
6,056 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Suldanessellar |
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2007, 09:11 AM) A raid n00b question since I've not raided pre-BC. Yeap you'll need 16% for bosses in raids because they're all lvl73 mobs and by default you only ahve 83% chance to land a hit on them. The max you can go is 99% which is why you'll be needing 16%.I just took a look at my Spell stats recently and realised that Spell Penetration was zero and the Spell Hit was about 94 (7.45%). A guildmate recommended to get Spell Hit as high as 16% to be effective for raid bosses. 1) For a shadow priest, what should the Spell Hit and Spell Penetration be? 2) Is it possible to achieve 16% with tailored gear, Kara gear and Heroic gear only? Spell hit rating is always more valuable than spell damage in raid bosses fights if you haven't reach the cap yet. Once you're at 99% then invest on Spell Dmg. It is possible to reach 16%. Get Spellstrike Hood and Pants. And fill them with +hit gems or those +hit and +dmg gems. |
Jul 12 2007, 02:51 PM
Thanks khelben. Going to try and test it out a bit then. Currently, the pants I'm wearing are the Trial-Fire ones that drop from Opera Event. Haven't started on Spellstrike set yet but will do soonest.
Hmm..is there any interactive website that allows one to test the build of a cloth + talent + gemslots? |
Jul 12 2007, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2007, 12:33 PM) qua : okie dokie. I would prefer Focused Mind maxed out since Mind Blast and Mind Flay, esp Mind Flay, will be your primarypostboy : ta. time to find better gems. as well as better gear. planning to aim for spellstrike set after i get my chest piece done. will probably take awhile urgh. flush : hee hee...i can understand that. my spell hit is nothing to brag about either but my spell damage needs quite a bit of boosting. need to slot my red gems in. getting broke a bit as lazy to do quests now. nVidiaFX : cheers. Added on July 12, 2007, 12:46 pm http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=rxMhzhZZEGgzMtRotVo flush, how's this build with Shadow Focus max out? The last point, i just put into Focused Mind as no idea where to put it. I also took blackout for PvP a bit but left out the crits for Shadow Power. spells besides SWP and VT and 10% cheaper mana = alot in the long run. You can move the 2 points you put in VE into Focused Mind. This is because in raids, esp. 25 mans, I hardly put VE on unless I'm in the main tank's grp. You might want to shave off the talent points in Spirit Tap and put 2 points in Improved Mind Blast, 1 in Absolution (Disc) and 2 in Mental Agility (Disc). But then, if you are planning on using ur priest to farm for the mats for the Shadow's Embrace set, then keep Spirit Tap first until you have farmed your mats. While it may be easy to time the last hit for 5 man dungeons with MB or SW:D, you will rarely get the killing blow off of 25 man dungeons with another 12 or so dps classes competing. Oh btw, Improved PW:S doesn't scale that well with spell dmg + healing gear, since only 10% of your +heal bonus adds to your shield. But for holy spec with tonnes of +heal, it does. So it is a choice of just putting 1 talent in Imp PW:S and moving 2 talents into Martyrdom, or leaving it as it is. But Martyrdom will really save ur ass both in PVE and PVP. And like what Khelben said, focus on your spell hit gear first. Veiled Noble Topaz is a really good friend of Shadow Priests. |
Jul 12 2007, 04:38 PM
http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=rxRMkhbZZihgdMtohtVo
how's thing now? although there's one point into Silent Resolve. phew. learning ain't easy. |
Jul 12 2007, 04:58 PM
U really should keep ur talents in Imp SW:P cos with talents, it is the most mana efficient dmg spell available to a shadow priest.
Just imagine, SW:P without talent is 18 sec DoT. Your base dmg from the highest rank SW:P is 1800 dmg. Without +spell dmg gear, that gives you 100 per sec. So with 2 talent points, you get an additional 300 dmg. How SW:P scales with +dmg gear is that, since it is a damage over time spell component, you get 99% benefit out of your + spell dmg bonus. And the + spell dmg bonus is calculated (spell dmg)/18 secs. Not spell dmg/24 secs. Let's say for example, you have 900 spell dmg bonus. You gain an additional of 50dmg per sec (900/18). Multiply that buy 24 secs u gain (50dmg X 24sec) = 1200. When you take into account shadow weaving, darkness and misery, u gonna melt faces with that 2 talent points. CAn't really explain much more for now, im alt tabbing in gruul's lair atm. Added on July 12, 2007, 5:00 pmbtw silent resolve not really necessary. ur not holy spec n ur not pvping hard. 1 talent point doesnt do much. and 2 points in spirit tap isn't very good either This post has been edited by flush: Jul 12 2007, 05:01 PM |
Jul 12 2007, 05:17 PM
bleargh, i need your armory link. playing with limited talent points per tier is excrutiating. the final i could play around with was this one :
http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=rxRMkhbZZihgdMtohtVo but it involved deducting points from Blackout and maxing out Darkness. so, after your gruul, post up a good build please. my head is already aching. |
Jul 12 2007, 05:39 PM
263 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Are u going for PVP or PVE? or you mixing both? you can't get best talent if you're going for both.
If you focusing more on PVE, check my new talent, but i took silence...most of the fully PVE spec they dont get improve fear and silence. I took it just for some out door pvp LOL. others are into PVE. |
Jul 12 2007, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 12 2007, 05:17 PM) bleargh, i need your armory link. playing with limited talent points per tier is excrutiating. the final i could play around with was this one : Hehe finished d. Got the collar of chogall!! http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=rxRMkhbZZihgdMtohtVo but it involved deducting points from Blackout and maxing out Darkness. so, after your gruul, post up a good build please. my head is already aching. here's a link to my ideal build, not my current one yet as i am still using farming spec GG http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=dxMRkhhZZVGTuMpohtVo Ok, I put 3 points in Shadow Affinity, but what you should do is just put 2 points there first. You can choose to either move that talent point into Shadow Focus, or Shadow Weaving. The reason behind it is because your spell dmg gear might not be that high at the moment and you shouldn't have to worry about threat that much. Plus, u can ask a pally to salv u I put 3 points in MB because by the time you cast SW:P, VT, mind flay X 2, ur MB cd should be ready. But you can also choose to move that talent into other points like Mental Agility, Shadow Weaving if its not maxed, or Shadow Focus. Try it out with only 42 or 41 talent points in Shadow, Shadow Affinity with only 2 talents and Imp Mb with only 2 talent points. If in raids, u find that your aggro is too near the threshold, you can put the additional talent point in Shadow Affinity and choose either Shadow Weaving or Imp MB. Good luck with your experimenting. |
Jul 12 2007, 06:17 PM
913 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
<-----
always going to spell dmg for farming, and +spell hit for raiding. and my max hit rating only 8% T_T |
Jul 12 2007, 06:41 PM
2 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
questions: does that means hit rating important for a prot warrior too when going to raid?
Jul 13 2007, 01:25 AM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Jul 13 2007, 02:47 AM
74 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 13 2007, 09:46 AM
Jul 13 2007, 10:31 AM
515 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
check out drlovetalk on khazgorath
He is my guild priest leader, and about 3rd best geard on my server currently (just kara,tailored and gruuls gear) Added on July 13, 2007, 10:33 am QUOTE(colincsf @ Jul 13 2007, 02:47 AM) Huh? its not as important as +sta, def and dodge....no point being able to hit the boss 100% of the time if u get squished all the time.This post has been edited by jwrx: Jul 13 2007, 10:33 AM |
Jul 13 2007, 12:14 PM
74 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(jwrx @ Jul 13 2007, 10:31 AM) check out drlovetalk on khazgorath alot of epic eq includes + hit,sta,def,dodge all in oneHe is my guild priest leader, and about 3rd best geard on my server currently (just kara,tailored and gruuls gear) Added on July 13, 2007, 10:33 am Huh? its not as important as +sta, def and dodge....no point being able to hit the boss 100% of the time if u get squished all the time. |
Jul 13 2007, 01:34 PM
avoidance & mitigation increases tremendously with higher tier gear. Hit just affects ur tps. I personally favour some hit over no hit at all. I've myself am sporting stats like 20% dodge, 17% parry and 38% block. With all that steady rage inc, u would like to land more attacks than less. And +hit is the best stats to increase ur TPS which in turn allows the raid to dps harder. Having too much avoidance generally is nvr reali a good thing. U may find urself lasting reali long but what u wan to achieve is constant dmg inc cos that supplies u with the rage and healers being more focused on u.
Jul 13 2007, 01:48 PM
Having too much avoidance generally means allow healers to breath and heal others. With only 15 hit rating which come from a shield, i have no problem in TPS. My unbuff dodge , parry and block is 25.7%, 16.96%, 36.49%. Avoidance also helps alot when you receive too much spike damage that could probably 1 shot you.
Jul 13 2007, 11:23 PM
yes what u mention has a valid point. But as tank, aside from focusing on the defensive aspect of it, ur tps is something u can look to improve. From my experience in ssc n tk, most bosses in the end requires heavy dps and to allow the raid to do that falls soley on the tank. And what are the ways for the tank to self increase his tps? +hit & +block value being the best 2. Shield slams crits for 2k (look at my armory n the amount of block value i have) and just that additional hit ( i generally use icon of unyielding courage +30hit trinket) really does wonders. That will take us to the point of my mitigation n avoidance. Is it sufficient? At this point of time in my progression lvl ( 6/6 ssc, 1/4 tk) i would most definitely say yes. The stats may seem low but 3 healers is all that is enuf to heal me while the rest can focus on the raid / OTs. There is no need for them to help heal but focus on me. (Dun forget being a tank, u have Last stand, Shield wall, Pots & healthstones all available to you to clutch save yourself ) And on the other hand, the raid benefits from the high TPS that i generate allowing them to dps alot harder, which gives u a faster dead boss.
This setup might most probably need to change comin into Hyjal / BT but as of now this is more than sufficient and in fact even more ideal. Surely being all defensive is what the tank should be doin but once u face and evaluate an encounter, u can find a happy medium as to what is enuf for mitigation & avoidance and actually push on for offensive stats. The only bosses i would say right now thats makes me wear my full tanking set is vashj n tidewalker. Others i will normally change my neck and trinket slots. This post has been edited by Kurei: Jul 13 2007, 11:32 PM |
Jul 14 2007, 03:15 PM
With 1% hit. My average TPS is around 900-1000 for boss since they parry and dodge alot. And my progression, SSC 6/6, TE 2/4. Oh ya, i played taiwan server
http://armory.wowtaiwan.com.tw/character-s...9F%B3&n=Postboy |
Jul 14 2007, 03:51 PM
sigh been waiting for that neck....
Jul 14 2007, 09:19 PM
Ya, quite a nice necklace. But i would change using the maiden's neck when tanking Tidewalker, if a tank can survive tanking tidewalker for that 10min, he basically able to tank any bosses.
Jul 18 2007, 04:59 AM
9 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
myremi : Check out http://www.shadowpriest.com .
Jul 18 2007, 11:24 AM
ta cityman. night shift again? hee hee....
and thanks for the website link. forgot about that site. although they mention a lower hit rating than 16%. i'm not sure but i get the feeling that they're now using 8% with the spell hit rating to be 76 with Shadow Focus 5/5 talent. http://www.shadowpriest.com/viewtopic.php?t=3384 one of the postings in that forum is also on the curator fight. differnet school's of thought. some go full out on astral flares. others are just focusing on curator. atm, aside from the initial SW:P, VE and VT on curator, i then help out on the flares coz it's hard for the melee to bring everyone of them down. however, becoz of the short range of MF, i'm standing always in front of the flare and always next to melee that i usually get blasted quick badly during the fight. what do the other shadowpriest do during Curator's fight? On Curator or flares? |
Jul 18 2007, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 18 2007, 11:24 AM) although they mention a lower hit rating than 16%. i'm not sure but i get the feeling that they're now using 8% with the spell hit rating to be 76 with Shadow Focus 5/5 talent. http://www.shadowpriest.com/viewtopic.php?t=3384 They didn't mention a lower hit rating than 16%...QUOTE Always aim to get near (in other words never be lower than) the spellhit cap, which is at 76 spell hit rating with 5/5 Shadow Focus. |
Jul 18 2007, 12:39 PM
hmm...are the numbers derived based on calculation though? or does the character sheet values do not take into account talent bonus? because i have full shadow focus now and on character sheet is 101 hit rating showing 8%?
Jul 18 2007, 02:44 PM
char sheet does not show ur talent bonus.
1% chance on spell hit = 12.5 spell hit rating which means u need 200 hit rating to reach the 16% cap. with 10% from talent u have more than enough spell hit currently. i only put 4 points into shadow focus so that i can play around with 1 more talent point. ps. WAH! u got more spell hit from items than me! |
Jul 18 2007, 03:07 PM
errr, believe me, it was unintentional. lol! it's like the gear on the left hand side of the character sheet are blues whereas the right hand side of the character sheet is full epics. i was gearing up on spell damage and coincidently, spell hit was also on those items.
now just need to motivate myself to farm the spellstrike set and get 2 primal nethers. Added on July 18, 2007, 3:08 pmps. what is your armory link? >.> This post has been edited by myremi: Jul 18 2007, 03:08 PM |
Jul 18 2007, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(Postboy @ Jul 14 2007, 10:19 PM) Ya, quite a nice necklace. But i would change using the maiden's neck when tanking Tidewalker, if a tank can survive tanking tidewalker for that 10min, he basically able to tank any bosses. Ya agreed. Went into tk last week, got alar down n solarian seems easy enuf barring raid make-up. Damn now reali need to try to get my stm up for kael. |
Jul 19 2007, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(myremi @ Jul 18 2007, 03:07 PM) errr, believe me, it was unintentional. lol! it's like the gear on the left hand side of the character sheet are blues whereas the right hand side of the character sheet is full epics. i was gearing up on spell damage and coincidently, spell hit was also on those items. my armory link?now just need to motivate myself to farm the spellstrike set and get 2 primal nethers. Added on July 18, 2007, 3:08 pmps. what is your armory link? >.> Added on July 19, 2007, 11:11 amwhy are u warriors hogging our thread! /shakes fist /cast mind flay This post has been edited by flush: Jul 19 2007, 11:11 AM |
Jul 19 2007, 02:20 PM
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:06 AM |