Jul 13 2007, 01:34 PM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
avoidance & mitigation increases tremendously with higher tier gear. Hit just affects ur tps. I personally favour some hit over no hit at all. I've myself am sporting stats like 20% dodge, 17% parry and 38% block. With all that steady rage inc, u would like to land more attacks than less. And +hit is the best stats to increase ur TPS which in turn allows the raid to dps harder. Having too much avoidance generally is nvr reali a good thing. U may find urself lasting reali long but what u wan to achieve is constant dmg inc cos that supplies u with the rage and healers being more focused on u.
Jul 13 2007, 11:23 PM
yes what u mention has a valid point. But as tank, aside from focusing on the defensive aspect of it, ur tps is something u can look to improve. From my experience in ssc n tk, most bosses in the end requires heavy dps and to allow the raid to do that falls soley on the tank. And what are the ways for the tank to self increase his tps? +hit & +block value being the best 2. Shield slams crits for 2k (look at my armory n the amount of block value i have) and just that additional hit ( i generally use icon of unyielding courage +30hit trinket) really does wonders. That will take us to the point of my mitigation n avoidance. Is it sufficient? At this point of time in my progression lvl ( 6/6 ssc, 1/4 tk) i would most definitely say yes. The stats may seem low but 3 healers is all that is enuf to heal me while the rest can focus on the raid / OTs. There is no need for them to help heal but focus on me. (Dun forget being a tank, u have Last stand, Shield wall, Pots & healthstones all available to you to clutch save yourself ) And on the other hand, the raid benefits from the high TPS that i generate allowing them to dps alot harder, which gives u a faster dead boss.
This setup might most probably need to change comin into Hyjal / BT but as of now this is more than sufficient and in fact even more ideal. Surely being all defensive is what the tank should be doin but once u face and evaluate an encounter, u can find a happy medium as to what is enuf for mitigation & avoidance and actually push on for offensive stats. The only bosses i would say right now thats makes me wear my full tanking set is vashj n tidewalker. Others i will normally change my neck and trinket slots. This post has been edited by Kurei: Jul 13 2007, 11:32 PM |
Jul 14 2007, 03:51 PM
sigh been waiting for that neck....
Jul 18 2007, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(Postboy @ Jul 14 2007, 10:19 PM) Ya, quite a nice necklace. But i would change using the maiden's neck when tanking Tidewalker, if a tank can survive tanking tidewalker for that 10min, he basically able to tank any bosses. Ya agreed. Went into tk last week, got alar down n solarian seems easy enuf barring raid make-up. Damn now reali need to try to get my stm up for kael. |
| Change to: | 0.0183sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:42 AM |