DiGi Postpaid Free Hp Notebook, Hp 520 Notebook plus Unlimited GPRS

sugen
post Jul 28 2007, 11:41 AM

1,357 posts

Noted, by the way what is (Samba).I had sign up the notebook + HP package on 23/7/07. I called to Digi, they said need to wait untill HP & bank call me. Then, i call to HP. They said i will need to receive the SIM card from Digi first,+ bank called me only they can track my order status. Anyway, they had my name in their system. I really want to check & chase for the status.. Different people tell me different thing.. I like a ball being kick by Digi & HP. Digi * HP being such a big Co, but acts like a kid !!!

QUOTE(TuanKing @ Jul 27 2007, 09:47 PM)
Notic3 ( Important ):

Hey guys,when you receive your HP Notebook & Modem (Samba), if the Hp Notebook is under Windows Vista,then better don't install the Samba software to the Notebook. If can please refer to some pro or Hp's technician. By the way,if you still wanna try, then you just insert the Cd,after that copy the file to your Notebook, But please don't install it.

Please remember this.. smile.gif
sugen
post Jul 28 2007, 03:52 PM

1,357 posts

No worries about the warranty. It comes with 1 year warranty. U can buy HP care pack, RM 200 to extend your warranty to another 3 years. This model is a bussiness class notebook, therefore care pack with next business day is available. RAM upgrade, u can find Kingston SODIMM 1GB DDR2 667Mhz at Low Yat at RM 150 ONLY....
I m ready for the HP car pack & 1GB RAM upgrade once receive my notebook.

It comes with Vista home edition, u can buy HP upgrade kit to upgrade it to Vista premium or Vista business any time if u found it necessary...
Can someone pls reply how to chase for my notebook? I call Digi, they ask me to call HP. I call HP they ask me to wait from Digi for the Sim card.

QUOTE(frusciante @ Jul 28 2007, 03:01 PM)
How come nobody care bout the lap top?Lap top warrant,parts support and etc..The Memory given is rather low i think.Any special offer on upgrade?
sugen
post Jul 28 2007, 08:12 PM

1,357 posts

Here is the spec of the notebook from HP, is tated DDR2 SDRAM 667Mhz, two SODIMM slots

For the HP care pack, RM 200 is the reseller price. The notebook reseller price is RM 2500, recommended selling price RM 2699. HP smart phone 512 messenger reseller price is RM 899.

HP 520
SKU Part# TBD [APJ]
(may vary based on local regulatory requirements)
Processor Intel Core Duo Processor T2050 (1.60-GHz, 533-MHz FSB, 2-MB L2 cache)1
Intel Centrino Duo processor technology Enabled
Operating System Red Flag Linux
Chipset Mobile Intel 945GM Express Chipset
System Memory 512-MB 533/667-MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Two SODIMM slots; supported memory 2048 MB2
Hard Drive 80-GB3 5400 rpm SMART SATA
Removable Media DVD+/-RW SuperMulti DL Drive
Display 14.1-inch WXGA BrightView (1280 x 800 resolution)
VGA port supports resolutions up to 2048 x 1536 at 75 Hz, and lower resolutions at up to 100 Hz4
Graphics Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950, up to 224-MB shared system memory
Audio Conexant CX20549
Integrated speaker
Stereo headphone/line out
Microphone in
Communications Intel 82562GT 10/100 Network Connection
Conexant CX20548-11 56K modem5
Integrated Wireless Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection 802.11a/b/g
Pointing Device Touchpad with scroll zone, two soft-touch pick buttons
Battery 4-cell (32 WHr) Lithium-Ion
Power External 65W adapter
Warranty 1/1/0

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Jul 28 2007, 04:34 PM)
http://www.digi.com.my/whatshot/promotions...esta07/index.do
3Y Next Business Day Commercial Notebook Service: Hardware support (U4391E) = RM299

http://h50198.www5.hp.com/Store/default.as...s+for+Notebooks
it is DDR 667 SODIMM RAM..max support up to 2 gb ram

Added on July 28, 2007, 8:19 pmi pay using Credit card..as the promotion require Credit Card. Get the Sim card first? r u sure?
Can someone who had get the notebook & HP from this promotion give me an accurate infor... pls pls...

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 28 2007, 04:11 PM)
u r sure it DDR II?....

btw, i'll buy it if the price RM150  flex.gif ...hopefully it compatible to this notebook...

get simcard 1st...try ask Digi...

p/s: u pay it lum sum or easy payment?  sweat.gif
This post has been edited by sugen: Jul 28 2007, 08:19 PM
sugen
post Jul 29 2007, 03:34 PM

1,357 posts

So Samba is the 56Kmodem that comes together (build-in) in the notebook??Y can't install? Had u received your notebook & HP? Pls tell me in details from steps 1 to final steps. It is because, i call HP. They said, my name is in the system. But i need to get the Sim card first before they can proceed. Then i call Digi, they said SIM will ONLY issued after i got the goods from HP. So, who are correct?? Pls help me......It is already 7 days passed. I sign up on 23/7/2007.

QUOTE(TuanKing @ Jul 29 2007, 01:05 PM)
Samba is a modem that you need to use it to access internet one  smile.gif . So please remember what i say about the modem (samba) with Hp Notebook nod.gif . Regarding your case i think you better chase HP,cause everything will deliver from Hp Not Digi... But at first you have to make sure that Hp had get approver from your bank. That is the first thing. smile.gif

Added on July 29, 2007, 1:06 pm
This offer not bad... so what you think? Will you take this offer blush.gif ?

Added on July 29, 2007, 3:38 pmBut the Digi guy at Digi Special store said the Sim card only issues after i got the goods from HP... Why can't HP provide me my order #?Is it my bank haven approve this purchase yet? How to chase bank for the approval?I am using HSBC Credit card

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 28 2007, 11:52 PM)
when u sign up the digi promotion,u should get the simcard on da spot...        most imprtnt part is that ur purchasing trnsaction had done n then u will have a nice long waiting the items to be delivered...lol...i get simcard the day i sign ths promtn...keep it in da box like one month b4 i use it :-) ...
This post has been edited by sugen: Jul 29 2007, 03:38 PM
sugen
post Jul 29 2007, 09:44 PM

1,357 posts

Wat ?!!! A USB external modem for the notebook?!!. The notebook spec do stated it is integrated 56K Modem. I am not sure is this the modem you r talking about.

Microphone in
Communications Intel 82562GT 10/100 Network Connection
Conexant CX20548-11 56K modem5
Integrated Wireless Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection 802.11a/b/g
Pointing Device Touchpad with scroll zone, two soft-touch pick buttons
Battery 4-cell (32 WHr) Lithium-Ion
Power External 65W adapter
Warranty 1/1/0

QUOTE(TuanKing @ Jul 29 2007, 04:07 PM)
Normally it will take 7-14 days for approver and another 7-14 days Hp deliver the notebook to you. So 14 + 14 = 28 days.almost one month you just will receive all the things (Sorry to tell that. P/s:My Opinion). Besides that, Modem ( Samba ) will be separate with your Hp notebook.. Not a build in one, is external one ( Usb ). For the installation, i think you better ask someone pro or Hp customer service set for you better. As i know, if under Windows Vista, Modem ( Samba ) can't be support it or will spoil your notebook too. nod.gif

Added on July 29, 2007, 9:56 pmAfter some survey, now i know what is Samba. It is a GPRS modem. But i have question here, don't our Free HP is an EDGE/GPRS phone. And i believe we can use the phone as a GPRS/EDGE modem and connected via USB cable or via bluetooth to the notebook(using bluetooth dongle). That is all ! Why we need to use the USB Samba modem?? And is the USB Samba given free?

QUOTE(TuanKing @ Jul 29 2007, 04:07 PM)
Normally it will take 7-14 days for approver and another 7-14 days Hp deliver the notebook to you. So 14 + 14 = 28 days.almost one month you just will receive all the things (Sorry to tell that. P/s:My Opinion). Besides that, Modem ( Samba ) will be separate with your Hp notebook.. Not a build in one, is external one ( Usb ). For the installation, i think you better ask someone pro or Hp customer service set for you better. As i know, if under Windows Vista, Modem ( Samba ) can't be support it or will spoil your notebook too. nod.gif
This post has been edited by sugen: Jul 29 2007, 09:56 PM
sugen
post Jul 30 2007, 10:22 PM

1,357 posts

Congratulation, that i really super fast! I also sign up this package RM161.50 on 23/7/2007. Pls tell me, do u really received HP or Digi or Bank called you beside the delivery confirmation. Because, i was told by Digi that i will receive a call from Bank & HP. But till now 30/7/2007. I still received no calls... pls share you experience.tq

QUOTE(ape @ Jul 30 2007, 12:22 PM)
I subscript this digi promotion on 20/7/07 and recif call from tiongnam (HP transporter) by today and they will deliver the notebook and hp b4 5pm today.

I think it is super fast.. yahoo....
sugen
post Jul 31 2007, 12:28 PM

1,357 posts

Why till now i still did not receive any calls.. What Bank CC you used? Did u chase for them?If yes who u chase to? How long after your received call from HP & Bank then only they shipped the good to you.

QUOTE(ape @ Jul 30 2007, 10:39 PM)
I paid by cc.

Added on July 30, 2007, 10:41 pm

Yup, i recif call from hp to confirm the order then bank to verify my cc.
sugen
post Jul 31 2007, 01:07 PM

1,357 posts

Updates.. I called hp 1800-88-2766 and get the confirmation from them that they had place an order for the goods.The even provide me my order #.They had submitted the order amount to Bank on 27/7/2007. Now pending for bank approval. According to them, once approve they will arrange for the delivery..
Hopefully can get the goods by this weekend.

QUOTE(sugen @ Jul 31 2007, 12:28 PM)
Why till now i still did not receive any calls.. What Bank CC you used? Did u chase for them?If yes who u chase to? How long after your received call from HP & Bank then only they shipped the good to you.
sugen
post Jul 31 2007, 04:44 PM

1,357 posts

Ic.. i had just received call from HSBC for verification and the transaction was approved. I think i can expect to get the good by this week. YAhoo !!!

QUOTE(ape @ Jul 31 2007, 02:17 PM)
Hi, sorry for the late reply.

Do u recif an email from hp? inside got a trace no. and u can always trace yr order status by using this no.

I use HSBC anyway.

Added on July 31, 2007, 4:56 pmI got a question here, EDGE is use for internet access (data call) ONLY rite? It can't use for video call right? Video call is call 3G (3rd generation). Am i correct?

This post has been edited by sugen: Jul 31 2007, 04:56 PM
sugen
post Aug 1 2007, 09:20 AM

1,357 posts

So mean with Digi EDGE we are unable to make video call rite? 3G is a video call, so only Celcom & Maxis are 3G...EDGE is only mean for surf net...

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 1 2007, 01:25 AM)
digi where got 3G but EDGE is good enough to browse the net tongue.gif
sugen
post Aug 2 2007, 04:00 PM

1,357 posts

My update again. HP said they received my Bank payment already. But, have to wait for 14 WORKING DAYS in order to receive my goods. The system shown that notebook is out of stock & notebook is normally ship from CHINA. Mean, Made in China ! The i-paq too have no stock.

So i think those who order now have to wait... because NO STOCK !!

Added on August 2, 2007, 4:09 pmMy update again. HP said they received my Bank payment already. But, have to wait for 14 WORKING DAYS in order to receive my goods. The system shown that notebook is out of stock & notebook is normally ship from CHINA. Mean, Made in China ! The i-paq too have no stock.

So i think those who order now have to wait... because NO STOCK !!

This post has been edited by sugen: Aug 2 2007, 04:09 PM
sugen
post Aug 2 2007, 05:38 PM

1,357 posts

Where got.. i also hope so.. but i did get mine.

QUOTE(TuanKing @ Aug 2 2007, 04:49 PM)
They having a Promotion now, so won't wait for so long time one..they will get the stock and deliver to all the customer as soon as impossible. blush.gif
sugen
post Aug 2 2007, 09:49 PM

1,357 posts

i was in Singapore last week, saw the HP 520 notebook. They are selling $1299. I personally like the design and its weight (2.3kg with batt if not mistaken).. Dell notebook are really bulky with this price range..

QUOTE(ankw @ Aug 2 2007, 05:47 PM)
is it well verse to get the package?

But i see the hp notebook specs quite low at Rm2550 for dual core processor 1.6ghz. but with that kind of money u can get a dual core2 processor/santa rosa processor why go for outdated processor or even higher specs. Dell have come out with new model around Rm2000++ with highend processor /ram. Alot of hidden cost to upgrade to hp notebook like Ram,waranty etc

the savings is only on the data card edge rm99 every month for 2 years but celcom just launch the gprs/3g unlimited package at only Rm68 per month or daily activate data usage at rm8 perday 24hrs.

Even cheaper if ask those people who have register Digi postpaid and is using the data card can also sub data card at only rm33 unlimited usage permonth.

Using data 3g/gprs/edge card is only for people on the move. if u intend to use it on yr notebook to download for 24hrs/365days not recommended bcos notebook will get over heated very fast and the speed is quite slow. The life span of the notebook is low compare the pc.

Better go for streamyx. that u can on 24hrs/365days download day and night. thats is worth while.

it depends on yr how u use it.
sugen
post Aug 3 2007, 04:44 PM

1,357 posts

T2050 1.6Ghz Duo Core is absolute meh? But really can't see they fit this processor in others brand. Mostly is 1.7Ghz & 2.0Ghz...But how come i check with HP reseller, they said this is July's spec and is new model HP 520 Notebook PC (GH630AA). Even in Singapore they also told me this is new Model...Is it new model with lower spec.. can we said tat..

QUOTE(mlpk @ Aug 3 2007, 04:01 PM)
Processor/speed of the notebook is priority. New technology. No point buying outdated technology. Some guy selling in low yat brand new notebook very cheap without delivery charge.

Promotion in dell some without delivery charge.

Think tm/celcom is better coverage and cheaper with the new promotion.

Added on August 3, 2007, 4:05 pm

Speed/processor technology is important. Weight is secondary. Better buy new technology than old if price is almost the same.

Added on August 3, 2007, 4:47 pmGive u sim card ma consider good liao lo.. I receive nothing.. not even a sim card by Digi. They said once i received goods only i will get the Sim card. For your infor, HP is running out of stock for this notebook & hp as well sad.gif wait... lo..

QUOTE(mhui @ Aug 3 2007, 03:09 PM)
Thry dint give me any receipt, they jus give me a sim card and said wait for the bank to call u..that's all
This post has been edited by sugen: Aug 3 2007, 04:47 PM
sugen
post Aug 3 2007, 09:27 PM

1,357 posts

That is serious!! if that is the case, u still have long list to go...

QUOTE(mhui @ Aug 3 2007, 11:09 AM)
Anyone of u have the digi center number in low yat ??I have subcribe the B plan in low yat since 21th july but dint receive any call from digi, hp or bank. I try to  call HP and DIGI this morning they said they cant retrieve my application, most likely the dealer havent submit my application
sugen
post Aug 4 2007, 11:25 AM

1,357 posts

Does any one really try to run/edit/compile a home video editing using ULEAD video Stuio on notebook core duo ? How is the performance? How long it take to convert the video edited into DVD format?

My desktop running with AMD Barton 2500+, 512 DDR 400 RAM, IDE HDD 40GB. It takes about 6 to 7 hours for the conversion..

My question here is can a laptop Core Duo capable of doing it especially HP 520 with Core Duo 1.6Ghz (533Mhz FSB), 80GB SATA, 1.5GB DDR2 667Mhz SODIMM RAM(after updrade)?

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Aug 4 2007, 02:31 AM)
HP 520 is business notebook so the spec u cant compare with compaq presario or hp pavilion.HP 520 can consider a new model for business class model for HP notebook
sugen
post Aug 5 2007, 11:14 PM

1,357 posts

I don't think they can answer this question sad.gif Really no 1 using notebook Duo core to do video editing meh? Really under utilise the Duo core if use to for MS office or surft net..

QUOTE(TuanKing @ Aug 5 2007, 10:53 PM)
Maybe you can try to call Hp service center.. tongue.gif  check with them...
sugen
post Aug 6 2007, 09:34 AM

1,357 posts

sad.gif , seems like i have to test it myself... HP.. HP.. when r u going to delivery my goods??
sad.gif cry.gif
QUOTE(williamngwl @ Aug 6 2007, 01:32 AM)
actually core duo can use for video editing,but i havent test b4 with any software regerading video editing
sugen
post Aug 7 2007, 10:01 AM

1,357 posts

Updates again. Called HP again, they said my delivery will not later then 20/8/2007 as they receive my bank payment/approval on 1/8/2007 . It is a 14 working days for the delivery.According to them,my notebook is still in the CHINA production line. It will ships to Singapore then will be forwarded by Thiong Nam to my house..
sad.gif One word to summaries all. SLOW SLOW SLOW!!! HP really need to learn from Dell how to handle this..
sugen
post Aug 7 2007, 03:49 PM

1,357 posts

Can't blame HP, then blame the consumer ah? HP had to make sure that they have ex-stock on their product. The stock management on HP really have problem. If e v thing u buy from HP also in their production line and need 14 WORKING days to ship down to you. Then HP will close SHOP. My friend buy a Dell notebook b4. It is a 5 days delivery time + a good tracking system. HP just ask you to wait... suck !!

QUOTE(alextee1881 @ Aug 7 2007, 10:10 AM)
Logistic issue can't totally blame HP alone. As you know this promo is bundle with DiGi. Perhaps end-to-end process flow not well coordinated.

Added on August 7, 2007, 3:51 pmIf u did not fill it up. Then it may cause u a delay in the process.. think twice...

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 7 2007, 11:26 AM)
About the Order Form from Digi,, it does ask the Credit Card CVC Code...  hmm.gif wouldn't it danger if i fill it up?  sweat.gif

Added on August 7, 2007, 4:05 pmWhat make me decide on the RM 161.50 package was

RM 161.50x24 months=RM 3876
market price for the notebook + hp= RM 2500+850=RM 3350
Means i pay the extra of RM 526 for the notebook +hp

BUT, there is RM 300 FREE air time for you where each month RM 50 x6 months on your mobile phone. AND unlimited EDGE/broadband access FREE for 2 YEARS. PLUS a 24 months 0% interest rate installment.

In conclusion, the RM 526 EXTRA is really worth for it !!! Is important to check is your place have EDGE coverage or not. Else, this package is not worth anymore.

QUOTE(Alvin M @ Aug 7 2007, 03:35 PM)
Hello everybody,

Been reading all the posting from you guys .. and I must said .. I had gotten a lot of useful information from this forum. Good work guys!!  smile.gif

Actually, I am interested in the RM149 package. I have to be very honest, I am more attracted by the HP 520 laptop then the EDGE unlimited.

However, after reading through all the posting, I really wonder whether I should get this package just for the HP laptop, and stuck with the low bandwidth for 2 years ....

Thus, I sincerely hope that you good people out there can help to enlighten me to make a wise decision.  wink.gif

Here are my questions:

1) Has anyone connected to the internet using the EDGE (samba) modem provided (from the RM149 plan)? What is the speed like? I am asking this because most guys are using their mobile phone to connect. It seems no one had commented on this modem ....

2) How is the HP 520 laptop performance? Is it slow without any memory (RAM) upgrade? What would be the ideal addition RAM to add? Another 512MB, 1GB or 1.5GB?

3) How is the Vista home edition like? Is it workable? Or, we will need to reinstall the full version or Windows XP Pro in order to do other stuffs beside just home use and net-surfing?

4) Is there anybody using EDGE to do BT downloading? What kind of download speed can you achieve through EDGE? Does it take forever to download a movie?

5) Is there anyone in Kepong area who is using EDGE? I am at Desa Aman Puri, Kepong. If someone can tell me how is the speed like around Kepong area would be great!!  smile.gif

Thanking everybody in advance.

Best regards,

Alvin
This post has been edited by sugen: Aug 7 2007, 04:05 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0427sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:31 PM