4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 4 2020, 11:56 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(blackbox @ Jul 3 2020, 05:01 PM)
I've checked the Unifi mesh page, it only gives 2x M4 which cost RM360.
got ppl got it free so try leave number and wait for the sales to call and bargain?
Its TM, their policy isnt so clear most of the time
last time i apply 30mbps in AUG and pressure them to turbo me and eventually done on NOV.

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Jul 4 2020, 11:56 AM
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 9 2020, 12:25 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 9 2020, 07:17 AM)
does anyone using tp link ax20? my wifi speed was only hitting 100-300 mbps on unifi 800, which pretty much the same as the stock ac1200. please help
because you should not buy WIFI 6 router now unless all your device are wifi 6 capable

see spec page bottom

2. Claims about 802.11ax Wi-Fi technology are based on comparisons of the expected maximum theoretical data rates for one spatial stream using 802.11ax at 160 MHz (1201 Mbps) as opposed to one spatial stream using 802.11ac at 80 MHz (433 Mbps) as documented in IEEE 802.11ax draft 3.0 spec and IEEE 802.11-2016 wireless standard specifications, and require the use of similarly configured 802.11ax wireless network routers.

your router ONLY support max AC speed of 433 Mbps, and your unifi is 800Mbps
unless your devices are wifi 6 capable, half of ur 800Mbps is wasted
seriously anyone suggest for AX router please come with all disclaimer on the performance.

see my explanation on wifi 6 albeit is for different router.

wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 9 2020, 05:34 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 9 2020, 01:09 PM)
samsung galaxy s10+ wifi 6, iphone 7 plus, dell inspiron 13 7373 2-in-1 laptop, samsung galaxy a5 2017, samsung galaxy a8 2018, iphone 6 plus
yes, but strange thing is my samsung galaxy s10+ is wifi 6 ready, but i only can hit 500mbps, it's weird.
Then double check your configuration. there must be something wrong with the config then since both device are wifi 6

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jul 9 2020, 01:27 PM)

Who knows in the future he will upgrade to AX devices.

Why would anyone buy an AC if u can get AX around same price with better specs and features.
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jul 9 2020, 04:23 PM)
No matter what router u using, ur end device still has limitation. 

If u want full speed, u need an AX router + AX end devices

The wifi speed written on paper is just theoretical, actual speed depends on your devices

Still, to me AX is a good buy than AC now. Most smartphones + laptops still using 1x1 or 2x2 antenna which u wont get any benefit from 3x3 or 4x4 router.
It isnt wise to spend money on AX router but cannot utilize because need to wait for update devices "in the future", i do not think it is solving any person problem. btw, we are paying everyday to utilize unifi best effort speed, every single day. but if only get half of the possible speed because AX device choke, thats wasting money on unifi everyday.

look at now as you mention, and changing router is a lot more cheaper and changing all devices at home at once.
by the time we change device, wifi 6 already in draft 4/5/6 and you think previous purchase wifi 6 router can reap all the benefits still?
only think about upgrade router when we actually need it.

wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 9 2020, 09:48 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(ArrowHater @ Jul 9 2020, 08:52 PM)
Mainly streaming Netflix and Youtube. For gaming, right now pubg mobile and ps4 fifa and etc. But once Unifi get in, i will move to pc gaming more. Which mesh router good to buy?
spikes do happen, a lot lol
other than good router, you would need some trial and error on config if wishes to gaming spike free
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 10 2020, 12:44 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 9 2020, 10:27 PM)
Anyone else having issue with Battle.net / UPlay right now?
Can login, but cannot start game / cannot synchronize save to cloud

Changed IP: Now UPlay & Epic both cannot login doh.gif
QUOTE(shaktiv8 @ Jul 9 2020, 11:12 PM)
Epic is not working for me too.

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jul 9 2020, 11:14 PM)
Same boat here, god dmn connection is so bad it takes ages stuck at validating the game then say server not connected. Wtf is going on with TMnet?
epic, uplay, origin, battle net
all of these are vpn friendly
when i face issue most recently with epic last night, simply use vpn and instantly logged in
i even face issue with HP omen command center
dunno why the routing is so gaga these days

QUOTE(ArrowHater @ Jul 10 2020, 12:12 AM)
Can suggest me any good router for Asus? Budget below 1k would be nice.
Frankly speaking I'm not really expert enough about connection or config everything huhu
Main concern is I have to make a new LAN connection since the current too far from my PC which messy across my bedroom.
good budget, get ac86u
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/asus-rt-...1967938579.html?
get twin pack even for mesh
or single pack with ac66u as node
mid end asus router can easily turn into mesh like nasi campur
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 10 2020, 12:13 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 10 2020, 11:29 AM)
Hi senior, will the problem will be solved if swap it with AX50 since its higher range model?
ur device is wifi 6, i think you should get full 800 Mbps tho
AX50 of course faster as it is 2x2
but if using AC it supports up to 867Mbps only.
ur AX20, did you set your channel band to at least 80mhz?
where is ur old tplink ac1200?
clean the dust and test with ac1200 and see your speed.

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Jul 10 2020, 12:16 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 10 2020, 04:21 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 10 2020, 01:48 PM)
My 2.4GHz settings
[attachmentid=10534116]

My 5GHz settings
[attachmentid=10534117]
I've changed the channel band from Auto to 80Mhz, as you recommended, and the speed is still the same.

TP-Link AC1200 is still with me, but I'm hoping to try to solve this AX20, if not I will just go exchange and top up RM20 for AX50.
try with ur AC1200 and see speed result
let confirm there is no problem with ur line 1st
and the 5 ghz mode select ax only?

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Jul 10 2020, 04:24 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 12 2020, 11:51 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 12 2020, 10:12 AM)
hi fellow seniors, it's me again. so Harvey Norman did give me options to exchange my TP-Link AX20 with any higher end router of my preference by paying the top-up.

My Unifi Line : 800Mbps.
My goal : to hit maximize download/stream speed on my WiFi Devices (Laptop / Smartphone in my bedroom) same floor with Router.

Herewith is the few Options that I shortlisted as below:-
A) TP Link AX50 - future proof, and wifi 6 and I own a Galaxy S10+ which WiFi 6
B) Asus RT-AC86U AC2900 Gaming Router
C) TP-Link Deco M9 Plus AC2200 2 Pack

On the same time, I need HyppTV as well.

Can you advise which options suits me the most?

Many thanks.
A: read blacktubi review https://www.blacktubi.com/review/tp-link-ar...han_Wireless_AC
take note on no one mesh feature
B: i have talk enough about ac86u
C: you probably cant get max 800Mbps on m9 while the other 2 can, but out of 3, this gives you the best wifi coverage

all three local set should have no problem for hypptv
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 14 2020, 05:26 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 13 2020, 03:04 PM)
Ok I've picked M9 and yes you're right, the speed is lower in comparison with the two. even with AX20. so lesson learnt. but now the issue I'm currently facing is on M9 I've used all my lan port, but my desktop which is just beside the router dont have lan port to connect to, any advise?
sell ur m9 plus and get others maybe...
or get a single deco x60, if there is anyone selling 1 that is...
however, x60 also only have 2 lan ports tho...

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Jul 14 2020, 05:29 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 16 2020, 01:45 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(red4900 @ Jul 14 2020, 12:44 PM)
I'm using stock router from Unifi, I'm on 300Mbps subscription. I live in 1000sqft unit and there is no wifi signal on my corner room. 1 bar signal on 2.4Ghz Wifi, if I open the door, and even then it will lose connection if I walk to the end of the room away from the door.

I want to improve this, but have no idea how.
1. Is a good router sufficient?
2. Or is a mesh wifi better? Would 2 mesh works just fine, or die2 also must use 3?

A good router or mesh is expensive, I want to make sure that if I buy one, it would solve my problem.
single storey? no upstairs yes?
then a good router is enough

QUOTE(trifty @ Jul 15 2020, 03:35 PM)
Hey guys!

So I've just subscribed 800mbps UNIFI for my office. However, the range of the provided router is pretty shit and am planning to get the Asus ZEN ct8 router. Just wondering if its replaceable with the one they provided?

They provided me with a NETIS DL4480v1 router. I'm quite versed with the main brands of router but never heard of this one before. Any particular reason they used this one? Or can I just ignore it and replace it with a mesh setup? thanks sifus
damn being in ur office is noice
ct8 should serve you tons better than netis
and for reason, i think netis present TM with un-resistible deal maybe lol

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Jul 16 2020, 12:43 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 16 2020, 12:42 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(trifty @ Jul 16 2020, 09:58 AM)
its insane man, just a few steps away from the router and one partition closed door, speed drop from 250 -> 60. and i can still see the router from the room! one person goes on a zoom call, GG already everyone uber slow and some cant connect also. never had that kind of issue on my 500mbps at home with my tplink ac2300! I'd prefer their 'home' routers anyday zzz. at least one shot change to something good then no more complains and can last a long time lo
a long time is very much depends on TM lol
i mean if TM next year upgrade infrastructure to provide us with what, 2Gbps?
then we need upgrade our devices and router also
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 18 2020, 01:23 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(y500 @ Jul 18 2020, 01:11 AM)
Unifi jb down?
skudai no problem
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 18 2020, 01:50 AM

1,693 posts

alright, there are massive report now in various areas of johor bahru having connection issues
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 18 2020, 05:09 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(cyngu5767 @ Jul 18 2020, 08:21 AM)
Hi all sifu, here have tplink ax20 user?How about for this router suitable for unifi 500 Mbps?
check review of a couple of pages back
AX20 isnt good enough for high speed fiber
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 21 2020, 02:43 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Jul 20 2020, 09:21 PM)
Had a look at Singapore's Singtel...their slowest plan is 1gbps...cheaper than ours too...Cmon TM
good but, you know they are part of extended 5 eyes right?

if anyhow download their police really will show up at door step one

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Jul 21 2020, 02:44 AM
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 22 2020, 09:55 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Jul 21 2020, 08:48 AM)
Not really, my Singaporean friends are torrenting all the time.
Their police would only knock your door when you've committed cybercrimes or makes racist comments. 
Basically same as ours, most of the time be turning a blind eye.
QUOTE(go626201 @ Jul 21 2020, 10:27 AM)
I think they normally action if any company file copyright strike on specific downloaded file.
https://vulcanpost.com/212171/singaporeans-...as-buyers-club/

Torrent is legal if using to download file that legal to public release,such as Linux ISO or something else.
Only illegal while download thing like crack or movie.(but normally home user should not be a issue since most authority also turning a blind eye.)
ok la, some law thing about copyright or restricted media
in malaysia, i dunno singapore but i think similar law applied
user/viewer cannot not be charged when viewing anything from STREAMING platform
yes, if streaming watch apa pun boleh
but laws applied to ppl who DISTRIBUTE or DOWNLOAD
now the tricky part, streaming platform which keep a cache that cannot be read by player is safe
if it keep a cache that in mp4 form or in file form that can be play by player...hohoho
similarly, our wechat ya, telegram ya(yes telegram), whatsapp ya, line ya, SNAPCHAT ya(yes snapchat too) all download media to our phone
so, dont get caught
of course, laws isnt enforce so strictly and we are not all pedophile or terrorist, so just keep this in mind and remember to always clean our PC and HP

ya i recall some cases where lewd images or videos was found in phone and gotten slapped thousands of fines last year.
so do have cases being charged

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Jul 22 2020, 09:57 PM
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 26 2020, 12:52 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(Kelvynlim @ Jul 25 2020, 11:15 PM)
I am using ASUS app but couldn’t find the channel.. any idea where is it?
turn off "smart connect" first
see ur laptop can detect at least 2.4 ghz
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 26 2020, 02:18 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(Kelvynlim @ Jul 26 2020, 08:46 AM)
It wasn’t enabled
smart connect wasnt enable and ur laptop cannot detect any signal while other device can see both 2.4 ghz and 5 ghz wifi?
wanttobuylaptop
post Jul 29 2020, 01:07 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(leowjc @ Jul 29 2020, 11:20 AM)
Does Computer CPU affect download speed?

I can only get 430mbps with my i5 gen7, i got tm to come and check, his i5 gen 8 can reach 530mbps, even on wifi.
well cpu does not matter unless we are taking like 5 or 6 generation
and urs is gen 7, fiber doesnt involve tat fast
see ur resources graph and see if cpu is at high load during download
in fact, see also ur hdd if it is at high load during download
wanttobuylaptop
post Sep 9 2020, 03:05 PM

1,693 posts

anyone has experience with asus AC59U mesh capability?
super cheap during sales just 23x, thinking getting 2 for unifi 100m and mesh

This post has been edited by wanttobuylaptop: Sep 9 2020, 03:06 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0307sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:05 PM