55 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Helmet Discussion, Everything about helmet..

TSbasilisk
post Mar 19 2020, 05:59 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(blackstar88 @ Mar 19 2020, 05:50 PM)
Tested Givi, LS2, HJC, Arai, etc... there are some other brand, but cant remember
Nolan can fit too, but heard that the coloring easily discoloured in our weather.
Shoei is out of my budget.
im surprised nolan can fit.
cos nolan is long oval helmet,
kyt spec always states asian fit for rounder head.
Zephyral
post Mar 19 2020, 06:03 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 19 2020, 01:40 PM)
It should be ok, with ECE certification. See if there's indication where it's made?
ECE is not that great of a standard to adhere to, particularly in modular helmet due to the way the testing is conducted. for a full face it might be ok since there is less point of failure, but there are many cases of ECE approved modular that has the chinbar come undone on more rigourous testing.

personally i only use helmet that are at least SHARP tested. and more so for a modular. basically i am willing to use a ECE approved full face, but will only use a sharp approved modular...
alexei
post Mar 19 2020, 07:22 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 19 2020, 06:03 PM)
ECE is not that great of a standard to adhere to, particularly in modular helmet due to the way the testing is conducted. for a full face it might be ok since there is less point of failure, but there are many cases of ECE approved modular that has the chinbar come undone on more rigourous testing.

personally i only use helmet that are at least SHARP tested. and more so for a modular. basically i am willing to use a ECE approved full face, but will only use a sharp approved modular...
Yes, SHARP approves ECE method of testing chin bar of flip-up helmets, and adds the Latch % during testing as a guide. SHARP complements ECE, by adding on higher impact velocity than ECE. (https://sharp.dft.gov.uk/sharp-testing/)

Snell is a different story. (Source: https://www.webbikeworld.com/why-most-modul...t-snell-rated/)
So far, just 2 are certified, LS2 FF394 and Zeus 3000. (https://www.smf.org/cert search keyword "modular")
Zephyral
post Mar 19 2020, 09:00 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(blackstar88 @ Mar 19 2020, 05:50 PM)
Tested Givi, LS2, HJC, Arai, etc... there are some other brand, but cant remember
Nolan can fit too, but heard that the coloring easily discoloured in our weather.
Shoei is out of my budget.
interested you tested Arai but Shoei is out of your budget...

anyways, AGV has asian fit that might suit your needs too
blackstar88
post Mar 20 2020, 09:34 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 19 2020, 09:00 PM)
interested you tested Arai but Shoei is out of your budget...

anyways, AGV has asian fit that might suit your needs too
Arai tested for fun, just want to try
alexei
post Mar 24 2020, 05:11 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 19 2020, 06:03 PM)

looks like good news for modular helmet testing: ECE 22.06 update
Zephyral
post Mar 24 2020, 06:58 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 24 2020, 05:11 PM)
looks like good news for modular helmet testing: ECE 22.06 update
nice. about time. perhaps i will need to edit my post to reflect ECE 22.05. lol
alexei
post Mar 25 2020, 05:54 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Zephyral @ Mar 24 2020, 06:58 PM)
nice. about time. perhaps i will need to edit my post to reflect ECE  22.05. lol
what's your thoughts on SNELL? this is the one that gets refreshed more often, compared to ECE and DOT.
Zephyral
post Mar 25 2020, 06:10 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 25 2020, 05:54 PM)
what's your thoughts on SNELL? this is the one that gets refreshed more often, compared to ECE and DOT.
SNELL is the gold standard, so really nothing much to say other than its the SAFEST money can buy.... but with one big caveat, there are some helmets that will never pass SNELL even if they are as safe as other SNELL approved coz of the features that immediately disqualify them (ie. internal visor and modular).

SNELL is focused on racing and the testers deliberately test the helmet at what they feel are the weak spots so they are more comprehensive. however, SNELL rated helmet might be noisy, lacks feature, uncomfortable, etc. so while it is the gold standard for racing, it is not necessarily the best for everyday use.

call me a sucker for buying into SHOEI's marketing talk, but i agree with its philosophy of "Active Safety" even at the cost of SNELL certification.

in conclusion, i still use SHARP as my preferred standard (until the ECE 22.06 comes into play).

This post has been edited by Zephyral: Mar 25 2020, 06:11 PM
alexei
post Mar 25 2020, 08:36 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

yeah, comfortable helmet (and gear) reduces fatigue, and indirectly reduces the chances of it from happening. SNELL has few modular helmets, but that's not my thing. let's see how ECE22.06 goes, and pray it doesn't raise helmet pricing.

on another note, here's something to kill time with.

This post has been edited by alexei: Mar 26 2020, 01:09 AM
TSbasilisk
post Sep 22 2020, 09:18 PM

30 posts

alexei
post Sep 23 2020, 03:39 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

heard HJC want to have personal fitting service also
TSbasilisk
post Sep 26 2020, 02:20 PM

30 posts

mADmAN
post Sep 26 2020, 10:24 PM

10,530 posts

anyone know where i can view the HJC RPHA 90 in klang valley? went takong and bikempire both oso dun have

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 26 2020, 10:24 PM
TSbasilisk
post Sep 27 2020, 12:40 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 26 2020, 10:24 PM)
anyone know where i can view the HJC RPHA 90 in klang valley? went takong and bikempire both oso dun have
i got ask hjc msia fb (run by nks) they say welly batu caves.. alot hjc...

takong memang is shoei..

This post has been edited by basilisk: Sep 27 2020, 12:41 AM
mADmAN
post Sep 27 2020, 12:37 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 27 2020, 12:40 AM)
i got ask hjc msia fb (run by nks) they say welly batu caves.. alot hjc...

takong memang is shoei..
ah perfect... i have to service my bike anyway laugh.gif
alexei
post Sep 27 2020, 09:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Why ppl choose HJC?
TSbasilisk
post Sep 27 2020, 09:32 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 27 2020, 09:31 PM)
Why ppl choose HJC?
marvel fan ?? biggrin.gif
alexei
post Sep 28 2020, 09:28 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

mADmANmodular woh... not aerodynamic leh

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 27 2020, 09:32 PM)
marvel fan ?? biggrin.gif
Not cheap tho.

mADmAN
post Sep 28 2020, 11:09 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 28 2020, 09:28 AM)
mADmANmodular woh... not aerodynamic leh
Not cheap tho.
Yeah i know modular...im sure it has better aero than my current mt helmet modular

I see on utub the shell design n look ais abt the same as rpha 11..but need to see in real life first

55 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:17 AM