I lie about my last drawn salary, tempered the payslip, will HR find out? How?
I lie about my salary
Nov 5 2019, 08:45 PM, updated 7y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Probation
38 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
I lie about my last drawn salary, tempered the payslip, will HR find out? How?
Nov 5 2019, 08:52 PM
5,165 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
It's not a lie if you are not caught
Nov 5 2019, 09:03 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,053 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Liar is a liar and irreversible. If get cough your career is over in that company.
Nov 5 2019, 09:04 PM
1,006 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM
880 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
QUOTE(Wackamancer @ Nov 5 2019, 08:45 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary.How? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. This post has been edited by LarryPizzaGuy: Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM |
Nov 5 2019, 10:10 PM
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Nov 6 2019, 07:18 AM
1,133 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Wackamancer @ Nov 5 2019, 08:45 PM) Once I hired a candidate after he gave me a copy of his last drawn salary. I gave him the required addition on top of his old salary.He worked for almost one month. All was fine and dandy until I began to have suspicions and faxed the salary slip to the HR of his former company and asked them to authenticate the payslip. They came back to me and declared the payslip to be false. This employee was called in and to cut the story short promptly fired for fraud without compensation. His employment was annulled. So TS, for the rest of your employment you will work under the shadow of summary dismissal without compensation. |
Nov 6 2019, 07:21 AM
Nov 6 2019, 07:31 AM
3,050 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary. Larry, ts mentioned he lied. U also want to lie? How? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. Will I be able to check ah heng ali and muthu salary if just input their ic? |
Nov 6 2019, 08:13 AM
203 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Nov 6 2019, 08:23 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,963 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary. Not sure about EPF but other agencies like RAM do sell these info, however employer/companies not allowed to do that unless u gave signed permission.How? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. |
Nov 6 2019, 09:09 AM
Probation
Nov 6 2019, 09:11 AM
Probation
QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2019, 07:18 AM) Once I hired a candidate after he gave me a copy of his last drawn salary. I gave him the required addition on top of his old salary. HR abit lazy right...should check everything and make clear before the hiring.He worked for almost one month. All was fine and dandy until I began to have suspicions and faxed the salary slip to the HR of his former company and asked them to authenticate the payslip. They came back to me and declared the payslip to be false. This employee was called in and to cut the story short promptly fired for fraud without compensation. His employment was annulled. So TS, for the rest of your employment you will work under the shadow of summary dismissal without compensation. |
Nov 6 2019, 09:14 AM
251 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
there was once i lied about my past position to get a job in my current company.....i got the job and still working here for few months already...
Nov 6 2019, 09:16 AM
62 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
QUOTE(Wackamancer @ Nov 5 2019, 08:45 PM) While it's true there are ways for HR to find out, I'd also point out that most don't even bother authenticating salary slips unless they look unbelievably fake/tempered. HR tends to be inclined to give benefit of doubt, which should work to your favour.If it's too late to come clean already, eg. you started the job then you might as well do your best work there and be prepared to have plans b or c for the one day you are discovered. Either be insanely good at your job and indispensable to the point that the company won't be able to fire you even if they have the grounds for it (say, you are a big rain-maker). Or work an absolute minimum of 1.5-2 years and then jump. And never ever do this again. |
Nov 6 2019, 09:26 AM
1,205 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
So do HR really wants to authenticate the payslip if another company fax them "hey is this payslip genuine or fake?"
What the normal procedure if you are HR and you received such requests to authenticate. I bet HR could just ignore it as spam? |
Nov 6 2019, 09:34 AM
192 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
dont bother
if they want u in the 1st place the will negotiate regardless of your payslip |
Nov 6 2019, 09:38 AM
Nov 6 2019, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(filage @ Nov 6 2019, 09:26 AM) So do HR really wants to authenticate the payslip if another company fax them "hey is this payslip genuine or fake?" We regularly cooperate with other companies on the job performance and pay of our former employees.What the normal procedure if you are HR and you received such requests to authenticate. I bet HR could just ignore it as spam? No issue at all. |
Nov 6 2019, 09:41 AM
195 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
I lied about my height and weight......
no dare to lie on my previous job salary tho |
Nov 6 2019, 09:42 AM
Nov 6 2019, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(Desmune97 @ Nov 6 2019, 09:41 AM) Height and weight are mostly small matter unless you are applying for the armed forces, aviation, oil and gas and the like.These things are not worth lying. I mean, if you're not what you claim to be, you can be easily found out. Good of you not to lie on your salary though. |
Nov 6 2019, 10:09 AM
Nov 6 2019, 10:35 AM
Nov 6 2019, 11:16 AM
Nov 6 2019, 11:24 AM
8,510 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KayEL |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary. Come on, this is not Kopitiam How? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. Don't bullshit around with such statement You don't have access to such confidentiality information And U're criminal in my view. |
Nov 6 2019, 11:28 AM
Nov 6 2019, 11:32 AM
525 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
Sudahlah... company wont give a f*ck for few hundreds difference
Nov 6 2019, 11:40 AM
43 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
No what the HR guy said is true. Once you sign the form where they could do a background check on you, they can find out anything about you.
What I want to know is, how much is the difference ? I lied about few hundreds (add my allowance together with my basic), they don't mind though. At least for now. |
Nov 6 2019, 11:52 AM
217 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
Lying about it verbally or even in an email is probably not the end of the world... but faking a payslip? Man, that’s rough
Nov 6 2019, 12:11 PM
Nov 6 2019, 12:25 PM
1,922 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Constellation Cygnus |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary. Nice syok sendiri story..and how would u retrieve the info from kwsp portal on the spot? Ask the candidate to give user id & password? If u say make a call to the former employer we all believe..but this kawan..rili cerita sejuk la u have thereHow? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. |
Nov 6 2019, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(feekle @ Nov 6 2019, 12:25 PM) Nice syok sendiri story..and how would u retrieve the info from kwsp portal on the spot? Ask the candidate to give user id & password? If u say make a call to the former employer we all believe..but this kawan..rili cerita sejuk la u have there I think this is not true. It's not possible to get any employee's EPF info direct from EPF. But then we don't have to.Employers normally validate claims with a candidate's former or even current employer. |
Nov 6 2019, 01:03 PM
722 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary. Dia punya sembang... How? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. But for TS, actually it's not okay when you lied about your salary/pay slip. Usually, if you re shortlisted, HR will cross check your background, is it the same like you put into your resume/cv, about your work, your relation between the team. They will not ask about your salary. Please dont do it again. Just be honest, and during salary negotiation, just justify why you put the expected amount in the first place. Good luck. |
Nov 6 2019, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(PrincZe @ Nov 6 2019, 07:31 AM) Larry, ts mentioned he lied. U also want to lie? Will I be able to check ah heng ali and muthu salary if just input their ic? QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 6 2019, 08:23 AM) Not sure about EPF but other agencies like RAM do sell these info, however employer/companies not allowed to do that unless u gave signed permission. Hiring companies have the right to request for your EPF statement instead of your Monthly pay slip (which can be manipulated, just like TS).QUOTE(zamans98 @ Nov 6 2019, 11:24 AM) Come on, this is not Kopitiam Are you implying that it is "just" to falsify your payslip to future employer?Don't bullshit around with such statement You don't have access to such confidentiality information And U're criminal in my view. How is it criminal for an employer to conduct background checks on employee to ensure that the candidate is suited for the company? To root out the ill behaved employees who could potentially damage the reputation of the company. Is it criminal? |
Nov 6 2019, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 01:11 PM) Hiring companies have the right to request for your EPF statement instead of your Monthly pay slip (which can be manipulated, just like TS). Are you implying that it is "just" to falsify your payslip to future employer? How is it criminal for an employer to conduct background checks on employee to ensure that the candidate is suited for the company? To root out the ill behaved employees who could potentially damage the reputation of the company. Is it criminal? Why would EPF do that? Isnt it P&C ? |
Nov 6 2019, 01:16 PM
42 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary. They can do this? I thought it's P&C??How? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. |
Nov 6 2019, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 6 2019, 01:13 PM) Both EPF and Pay Slip are P&C.However, employers have the right to request for either both to justify providing the hiring employee their new pay. EPF is more "secure" and less prone to be manipulated. Much like applying for credit card, the bank will request for your EPF/Income Tax Receipt/Pay Slip to verify that you've met the annual income for the credit card. |
Nov 6 2019, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 01:11 PM) Hiring companies have the right to request for your EPF statement instead of your Monthly pay slip (which can be manipulated, just like TS). Now this? Make up your mind. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 6 2019, 01:19 PM |
Nov 6 2019, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 01:11 PM) Hiring companies have the right to request for your EPF statement instead of your Monthly pay slip (which can be manipulated, just like TS). The candidate can volunteer such information and be a step closer to getting the job, or he can decline the request, and he will run the risk of his application being declined. |
Nov 6 2019, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 01:18 PM) Both EPF and Pay Slip are P&C. kekekeke request from candidate is it?? say properly lah.However, employers have the right to request for either both to justify providing the hiring employee their new pay. EPF is more "secure" and less prone to be manipulated. Much like applying for credit card, the bank will request for your EPF/Income Tax Receipt/Pay Slip to verify that you've met the annual income for the credit card. Anyway wtf would i need to justify my previous salary? If the company thinks im not fit for my requested salary then by all means dont farking hire me. |
Nov 6 2019, 01:23 PM
Nov 6 2019, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 6 2019, 01:22 PM) kekekeke request from candidate is it?? say properly lah. Push and Pull.Anyway wtf would i need to justify my previous salary? If the company thinks im not fit for my requested salary then by all means dont farking hire me. ---- Why demand RM10,000 if the company thinks you're only worth RM6,000? Would you wanna work for them? Do you think your demanded salary of RM10,000 is "justified"? ---- Its all about how you negotiate your salary; everything must have base and fact; not numbers being plucked out from the sky. |
Nov 6 2019, 01:39 PM
all ppl here just guessing HR will check epf....any real HR here can tell us what is the real deal? and how exactly they do that?
epf statement can also easily tempered because u can save it in PDF then use PDF editor to change the value... |
Nov 6 2019, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(jd4eva @ Nov 6 2019, 01:39 PM) all ppl here just guessing HR will check epf....any real HR here can tell us what is the real deal? and how exactly they do that? The real deal is when applicant's info creates doubts.epf statement can also easily tempered because u can save it in PDF then use PDF editor to change the value... |
Nov 6 2019, 01:54 PM
Nov 6 2019, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 01:18 PM) Both EPF and Pay Slip are P&C. So u obtained these things 'on the spot' just like your cool story?However, employers have the right to request for either both to justify providing the hiring employee their new pay. EPF is more "secure" and less prone to be manipulated. Much like applying for credit card, the bank will request for your EPF/Income Tax Receipt/Pay Slip to verify that you've met the annual income for the credit card. |
Nov 6 2019, 02:56 PM
5,806 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: PJ | Tokyo |
QUOTE(PrincZe @ Nov 6 2019, 07:31 AM) Larry, ts mentioned he lied. U also want to lie? Will I be able to check ah heng ali and muthu salary if just input their ic? QUOTE(Wackamancer @ Nov 6 2019, 09:09 AM) The signing of PDPA form during interview session means you already gave the rights for the potential hiring company to check on all the details you provided. They are "forcing" you to show your cards while they keep theirs, a.k.a hold the rights to investigate if they deemed the documents you provided are falsified. then I suppose only Larry's story kick in, to request from KWSP/EPF for your slips or elsewhere I have no idea. |
Nov 6 2019, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(Belphegor @ Nov 6 2019, 02:56 PM) The signing of PDPA form during interview session means you already gave the rights for the potential hiring company to check on all the details you provided. They are "forcing" you to show your cards while they keep theirs, a.k.a hold the rights to investigate if they deemed the documents you provided are falsified. +1then I suppose only Larry's story kick in, to request from KWSP/EPF for your slips or elsewhere I have no idea. |
Nov 6 2019, 03:08 PM
Nov 6 2019, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 01:11 PM) Hiring companies have the right to request for your EPF statement instead of your Monthly pay slip (which can be manipulated, just like TS). Are you implying that it is "just" to falsify your payslip to future employer? How is it criminal for an employer to conduct background checks on employee to ensure that the candidate is suited for the company? To root out the ill behaved employees who could potentially damage the reputation of the company. Is it criminal? EPF will not release your account details without your approva You just caught red handed "kantoi" BS story. No, I don't need to lie, I just don't give my number. Which part I said I lie? Im referring to your BS criminal offence of trying to create a fake story. |
Nov 6 2019, 04:09 PM
Nov 6 2019, 04:11 PM
675 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
not only you
Nov 6 2019, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Nov 6 2019, 04:08 PM) Bullshit, stop lying I strongly suggest you read back what I wrote properly.EPF will not release your account details without your approva You just caught red handed "kantoi" BS story. No, I don't need to lie, I just don't give my number. Which part I said I lie? Im referring to your BS criminal offence of trying to create a fake story. This shows that you have never read through my post properly, but decided take things out of context to reply accordingly; a short sighted minded person. Sounds like you're the type of person who fakes his pay slip; thus trying to justify yourself that employers cannot kanoi cheaters. EDIT: Grammar and context. This post has been edited by LarryPizzaGuy: Nov 6 2019, 05:01 PM |
Nov 6 2019, 05:01 PM
Probation
pretty sure someone did falsified and get away with it..
Nov 6 2019, 05:12 PM
2,013 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: abyss |
d*mn, u guys sound like yall frm big big company where there is a dedicated HR dept for it.. d*mn, me small fly company have like no have, just a name only.
Nov 6 2019, 06:38 PM
Nov 6 2019, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 03:08 PM) How do u obtain those info on the spot then? U have the EPF account id & password of the user? Or even the company? We're all interested to know cos its a confidential info. Til then we call ur story a certified BS one.This post has been edited by feekle: Nov 6 2019, 07:09 PM Lozy liked this post
Nov 6 2019, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(feekle @ Nov 6 2019, 07:07 PM) How do u obtain those info on the spot then? U have the EPF account id & password of the user? Or even the company? We're all interested to know cos its a confidential info. Til then we call ur story a certified BS one. Instead of me spoon feeding you with the answer.Why don't you (be rajin sikit, doesn't cost you a few clicks) read back at my previous post? I did explain there no? You can speculate all you want, I will you tell you the same answer that I've wrote in my previous post. All I can see is that there are users here who are (sort-of) buta huruf. Only see things they want to see. |
Nov 6 2019, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(ben_ang @ Nov 6 2019, 05:12 PM) d*mn, u guys sound like yall frm big big company where there is a dedicated HR dept for it.. d*mn, me small fly company have like no have, just a name only. Due diligence and discipline is the key.Whether you're running your own company (SME or MNC), it pays to learn and adapt procedures from larger and more successful MNC. HR is a fine balance between taking care of the welfare of the staff and the cost/performance to the company. |
Nov 6 2019, 08:55 PM
1,190 posts Joined: May 2018 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(Wackamancer @ Nov 6 2019, 09:09 AM) It isnt. You won't believe how many HR dept I managed to call to verify salary slips as part of a loan application process. Its surprisingly easy to check.If you are government, even wose. There is a simple hack you can do on the ANM website with just the applicant's IC to log into their akaun to see their salary slip. My former company did this so openly. |
Nov 6 2019, 10:07 PM
1,096 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: 3.1339° N, 101.7517° E |
I think its better to tell the truth . HR can find out easily if you are lying .
Nov 7 2019, 07:26 AM
Nov 7 2019, 07:30 AM
592 posts Joined: Dec 2016 From: johor |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 5 2019, 09:05 PM) They will find out you lied about your previous salary. lol, I edit my last drawn payslip & the epf statement too How? Your IC. --- All employers is required to contribute to the employee's EPF, about 11-12% (or more) from your basic salary. Thus, with your IC number, they are able to retrieve your monthly/yearly EPF statement from the KWSP Portal, and calculate your monthly basic. --- How I know? Because I kantoi the candidates I've interviewed; right on the spot. --- You. Are. Screwed. If you're hired, the company have the grounds to dismiss you and potentially sue you for fraud. If you're an interviewee, consider yourself lucky that they won't contact you for future opportunity, if found guilty. |
Nov 8 2019, 07:42 AM
365 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
Nov 8 2019, 08:59 AM
4,297 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Companies are able to get your past info if so want so.
Most application form would include a tnc saying "employment subject to passing background check" When they mean background check is There are 3rd party agencies that can get these information regarding your past, your criminal record, your last drawn pay, or epf. Etc. When I was applying for Intel , I waited 2 weeks for them to clear my background check status. |
Nov 8 2019, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Nov 8 2019, 08:59 AM) Companies are able to get your past info if so want so. I also want to know which 3rd party agencies.Most application form would include a tnc saying "employment subject to passing background check" When they mean background check is There are 3rd party agencies that can get these information regarding your past, your criminal record, your last drawn pay, or epf. Etc. When I was applying for Intel , I waited 2 weeks for them to clear my background check status. |
Nov 8 2019, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 8 2019, 09:05 AM) I never had to use 3rd party checks. Our HR is competent enough to conduct our own background checks.From this we find out that a large majority of resumes we receive are embellished or contain false claims or material omissions. All these are considered fraud. In a few cases, we summarily dismiss staff after discovering the fraud. |
Nov 8 2019, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 8 2019, 09:25 AM) I never had to use 3rd party checks. Our HR is competent enough to conduct our own background checks. Waiting for 1 PRO EXPERT to reply.From this we find out that a large majority of resumes we receive are embellished or contain false claims or material omissions. All these are considered fraud. In a few cases, we summarily dismiss staff after discovering the fraud. |
Nov 8 2019, 10:40 AM
96 posts Joined: Jul 2013 From: KL |
QUOTE(LarryPizzaGuy @ Nov 6 2019, 07:38 PM) Due diligence and discipline is the key. Lol.Whether you're running your own company (SME or MNC), it pays to learn and adapt procedures from larger and more successful MNC. HR is a fine balance between taking care of the welfare of the staff and the cost/performance to the company. HR is just a cost centre. Nothing more, nothing less. |
Nov 8 2019, 10:43 AM
1,081 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
Nov 8 2019, 10:44 AM
1,081 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 8 2019, 09:25 AM) I never had to use 3rd party checks. Our HR is competent enough to conduct our own background checks. A fraud yes it is. If someone lie, then its good for next candidate in line.From this we find out that a large majority of resumes we receive are embellished or contain false claims or material omissions. All these are considered fraud. In a few cases, we summarily dismiss staff after discovering the fraud. |
Nov 8 2019, 10:54 AM
Nov 8 2019, 11:28 AM
Nov 8 2019, 11:36 AM
96 posts Joined: Jul 2013 From: KL |
Nov 8 2019, 11:40 AM
346 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Nov 8 2019, 11:41 AM
Nov 8 2019, 12:14 PM
133 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
My current and past company used ADP and HireRight for background check. Passed the check d only will get offer letter.
Nov 8 2019, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 8 2019, 09:05 AM) i had experience with first advantage. but depending on position that u are taking on.if normal exec , just checking if you have criminical records, checking any database available. nothing fancy. if nothing trigger they just let u pass |
Nov 8 2019, 05:32 PM
Nov 9 2019, 09:15 PM
330 posts Joined: Apr 2014 From: Klang, Selangor |
QUOTE(Wackamancer @ Nov 5 2019, 08:45 PM) I have 1 ex colleague that lied about his salary.He worked for 4 months and then resign. But he tempered the payslip and extend until 1 year working. So far he's not caught or get fired of doing this, and yeah, he's working in a small company. |
Nov 9 2019, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(cringe @ Nov 9 2019, 09:15 PM) I have 1 ex colleague that lied about his salary. Will you go around 'shouting' that you tempered with your payslip when you applied for a job?He worked for 4 months and then resign. But he tempered the payslip and extend until 1 year working. So far he's not caught or get fired of doing this, and yeah, he's working in a small company. In lowyat forum, yes, because we are all masked. |
Nov 9 2019, 09:21 PM
882 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Nov 9 2019, 09:30 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
That is why requiring payslip may not be a meaningful requirement.
Someone with a high payslip, you may not want to pay that much because the job does not require those skills. Someone with a low payslip, you should go by the requirements for the job and the appropriate market rates - not what he was paid previously. |
Nov 9 2019, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(howszat @ Nov 9 2019, 09:30 PM) That is why requiring payslip may not be a meaningful requirement. It has to start from there to gauge where to fit him.Someone with a high payslip, you may not want to pay that much because the job does not require those skills. Someone with a low payslip, you should go by the requirements for the job and the appropriate market rates - not what he was paid previously. |
Nov 9 2019, 10:39 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 9 2019, 10:23 PM) And my point is this - it is not a meaningful or useful guage.The quage should be what the person is doing and what the market rates are paying. What the person got in the previous payslip has no relevance to how he should be paid --- which is market rates. Because the previous company could be under-paying. The common problem is when someone resigns and the company attempts to match the new offer. That's a lousy way of doing things. |
Nov 9 2019, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(cringe @ Nov 9 2019, 09:15 PM) I have 1 ex colleague that lied about his salary. Tampered, not tempered.He worked for 4 months and then resign. But he tempered the payslip and extend until 1 year working. So far he's not caught or get fired of doing this, and yeah, he's working in a small company. Yes we caught these characters too when we did background check extending to 7 years back. Fake salary, fake position, fake achievements, fake degree. We found candidates who got convicted in court, went to prison but didn't declare. It's quite easy to check. |
Nov 10 2019, 09:38 AM
Nov 10 2019, 04:07 PM
Nov 10 2019, 05:46 PM
699 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Nov 9 2019, 09:21 PM) If a phone call is all they need to reveal your salary why the hassle of asking u to provide your pay slip? It is their standard procedure to ask the candidate what’s their current salary and expected salary during the interview anyway. Also there is always the need to provide reference related to current work of which some may used to gauge your performance in the past but not your past salary. Don’t forget all the payslips are stamped with “strictly P&C” of which only the candidates have the right to reveal what’s on the payslip.Each and every HR have their own different cost and target system in place. Pretty sure none would want to reveal what they offered and how they offered a candidate to other companies. Which is why they would start with lowballing each and every candidate they encountered. Isn’t it ironic if a phone call is what it takes to find out what’s your past salary, why in the world do they still need to lowball in the very 1st place? So yea, as a candidate each have their very right to demand what’s their worth and select the right company to work with. Just walk away if u aren’t happy with what’s being offered. This post has been edited by kirakun: Nov 10 2019, 05:47 PM |
Nov 12 2019, 11:56 PM
17 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
small company the hr maybe not bother to confirm with prev company hr. but big companies usually will call previous hr to confirm salary.
Nov 13 2019, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(genecode @ Nov 12 2019, 11:56 PM) small company the hr maybe not bother to confirm with prev company hr. but big companies usually will call previous hr to confirm salary. If asking salary of applicant is within budgeted amount, I think HR will not be too concern with verifying.This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 13 2019, 12:16 AM |
Nov 13 2019, 02:03 AM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Nov 2019 |
Nov 13 2019, 08:35 AM
If you join bigger companies and regulated industries like banks and financially institutions, you will find that HR is mandated either by global/regional policies or regulatory requirements to screen and verify each candidates.
If you are found out you will either be: 1. Blacklisted by Group HR and from my experience, large cap companies' HRs all mingle with each other and they regularly share information so as to maintain certain standards in the industry (its inevitable that people in one banks moves to another), and this is likewise for professional firms like your Big 4. So its tough to even break it to any firms of the industry. 2. You may be reported for fraud and legal actions will be taken especially if they found out after you sign papers (these contracts that you sign on your first day covers these companies and gives them rights to do many things to you especially when you lie) Not only will you be blacklisted and face difficulties in joining any of these firms, you will also face monetary, reputational, legal and time impact, further decreasing your chances in the future, all because of resume embellishments. You may get away with smaller companies but for your sake I hope you rethink this in the future, especially when companies has the capability to verify your accomplishments and past working experiences. One of my friend, a smart lad was someone who believes that he deserves better as he is capable and was not given the opportunity. So he decided to tamper his resume and gave several boosts in working experiences and even get his friends to pretend as HR contacts and references in a small company. After his assessment centre, the bank's HR came to him and wanna get him to verify some differences and gaps in his story and the fake HR story. So to retain the lies, he created more lies. At the end, HR told him which he also shared with me: "We would have offered the job to you, you tick most of the boxes and it was such a shame that you decided to lie on your resume and integrity to us is non-negotiable. You also do realise that we regularly meet fellow HRs from other banks right?" The poor guy has the substance but a poor decision shaped his entire future and he can't get any jobs from any banks (foreign, local or otherwise). He's now freelancing and make do on odd jobs with varying pay on some freelancing platforms. This post has been edited by UrbanGraduate: Nov 13 2019, 08:36 AM |
Nov 13 2019, 10:50 AM
1,114 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Hemm thats a hard lessons learnt , and the word mingle is just so normal these days .
As the saying goes , "You can lie to one person at one time but you cannot lie to everyone every time" . |
Nov 13 2019, 11:06 AM
7,343 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 6 2019, 07:18 AM) Once I hired a candidate after he gave me a copy of his last drawn salary. I gave him the required addition on top of his old salary. Just curious what sort of suspicions you had that triggers you to validate the payslip, since the candidate successfully bypass you with it in the first place.He worked for almost one month. All was fine and dandy until I began to have suspicions and faxed the salary slip to the HR of his former company and asked them to authenticate the payslip. They came back to me and declared the payslip to be false. This employee was called in and to cut the story short promptly fired for fraud without compensation. His employment was annulled. So TS, for the rest of your employment you will work under the shadow of summary dismissal without compensation. |
Nov 13 2019, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(UrbanGraduate @ Nov 13 2019, 08:35 AM) If you join bigger companies and regulated industries like banks and financially institutions, you will find that HR is mandated either by global/regional policies or regulatory requirements to screen and verify each candidates. Yes, UrbanGraduate says it all.If you are found out you will either be: 1. Blacklisted by Group HR and from my experience, large cap companies' HRs all mingle with each other and they regularly share information so as to maintain certain standards in the industry (its inevitable that people in one banks moves to another), and this is likewise for professional firms like your Big 4. So its tough to even break it to any firms of the industry. 2. You may be reported for fraud and legal actions will be taken especially if they found out after you sign papers (these contracts that you sign on your first day covers these companies and gives them rights to do many things to you especially when you lie) Not only will you be blacklisted and face difficulties in joining any of these firms, you will also face monetary, reputational, legal and time impact, further decreasing your chances in the future, all because of resume embellishments. You may get away with smaller companies but for your sake I hope you rethink this in the future, especially when companies has the capability to verify your accomplishments and past working experiences. One of my friend, a smart lad was someone who believes that he deserves better as he is capable and was not given the opportunity. So he decided to tamper his resume and gave several boosts in working experiences and even get his friends to pretend as HR contacts and references in a small company. After his assessment centre, the bank's HR came to him and wanna get him to verify some differences and gaps in his story and the fake HR story. So to retain the lies, he created more lies. At the end, HR told him which he also shared with me: "We would have offered the job to you, you tick most of the boxes and it was such a shame that you decided to lie on your resume and integrity to us is non-negotiable. You also do realise that we regularly meet fellow HRs from other banks right?" The poor guy has the substance but a poor decision shaped his entire future and he can't get any jobs from any banks (foreign, local or otherwise). He's now freelancing and make do on odd jobs with varying pay on some freelancing platforms. To those who still want to embellish their resumes and make false declarations and material omissions, think again. |
Nov 13 2019, 11:28 AM
Double
This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Nov 13 2019, 11:29 AM |
Nov 13 2019, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(selinix @ Nov 13 2019, 11:06 AM) Just curious what sort of suspicions you had that triggers you to validate the payslip, since the candidate successfully bypass you with it in the first place. Many things can set off suspicions.Sometimes it's just a hunch. That was many many years ago before we mandated verification of salaries and other facts/ claims. Since then we've caught many who embellished their resumes. I dare say 60 to 70% of the candidates we interviewed done that. All the letters or emails of rejection we cc to Labour Dept and Board of Engineers (for engineering applicants) and previous employer just for record keeping. |
Nov 13 2019, 12:22 PM
..... And also just in case the former employee brings us to court.
Which some did threaten but never had the balls to carry it out. |
Nov 13 2019, 12:30 PM
429 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(UrbanGraduate @ Nov 13 2019, 08:35 AM) If you join bigger companies and regulated industries like banks and financially institutions, you will find that HR is mandated either by global/regional policies or regulatory requirements to screen and verify each candidates. LOL at the bolded part. Tell that to those who hold high position.If you are found out you will either be: 1. Blacklisted by Group HR and from my experience, large cap companies' HRs all mingle with each other and they regularly share information so as to maintain certain standards in the industry (its inevitable that people in one banks moves to another), and this is likewise for professional firms like your Big 4. So its tough to even break it to any firms of the industry. 2. You may be reported for fraud and legal actions will be taken especially if they found out after you sign papers (these contracts that you sign on your first day covers these companies and gives them rights to do many things to you especially when you lie) Not only will you be blacklisted and face difficulties in joining any of these firms, you will also face monetary, reputational, legal and time impact, further decreasing your chances in the future, all because of resume embellishments. You may get away with smaller companies but for your sake I hope you rethink this in the future, especially when companies has the capability to verify your accomplishments and past working experiences. One of my friend, a smart lad was someone who believes that he deserves better as he is capable and was not given the opportunity. So he decided to tamper his resume and gave several boosts in working experiences and even get his friends to pretend as HR contacts and references in a small company. After his assessment centre, the bank's HR came to him and wanna get him to verify some differences and gaps in his story and the fake HR story. So to retain the lies, he created more lies. At the end, HR told him which he also shared with me: "We would have offered the job to you, you tick most of the boxes and it was such a shame that you decided to lie on your resume and integrity to us is non-negotiable. You also do realise that we regularly meet fellow HRs from other banks right?" The poor guy has the substance but a poor decision shaped his entire future and he can't get any jobs from any banks (foreign, local or otherwise). He's now freelancing and make do on odd jobs with varying pay on some freelancing platforms. The world is just unfair by the way.. |
Nov 13 2019, 03:22 PM
Just an advice, don’t be naive. The more naive u are the happier and the more money the employer is and making(by lowballing). What u are worth are based on your qualification, skills learned, trainings attended, experience and knowledge not based your past salary or so called ‘market value’ as claimed by HR.
Half truth is as good as any truth if it works. That’s the reality and also always take what the HR/employer’s words with a pinch of salt(as if they are being truthful all along). Speaking of integrity somemore lol. |
Nov 13 2019, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(UrbanGraduate @ Nov 13 2019, 08:35 AM) If you join bigger companies and regulated industries like banks and financially institutions, you will find that HR is mandated either by global/regional policies or regulatory requirements to screen and verify each candidates. I had one applicant who put his colleague as his referee.If you are found out you will either be: 1. Blacklisted by Group HR and from my experience, large cap companies' HRs all mingle with each other and they regularly share information so as to maintain certain standards in the industry (its inevitable that people in one banks moves to another), and this is likewise for professional firms like your Big 4. So its tough to even break it to any firms of the industry. 2. You may be reported for fraud and legal actions will be taken especially if they found out after you sign papers (these contracts that you sign on your first day covers these companies and gives them rights to do many things to you especially when you lie) Not only will you be blacklisted and face difficulties in joining any of these firms, you will also face monetary, reputational, legal and time impact, further decreasing your chances in the future, all because of resume embellishments. You may get away with smaller companies but for your sake I hope you rethink this in the future, especially when companies has the capability to verify your accomplishments and past working experiences. One of my friend, a smart lad was someone who believes that he deserves better as he is capable and was not given the opportunity. So he decided to tamper his resume and gave several boosts in working experiences and even get his friends to pretend as HR contacts and references in a small company. After his assessment centre, the bank's HR came to him and wanna get him to verify some differences and gaps in his story and the fake HR story. So to retain the lies, he created more lies. At the end, HR told him which he also shared with me: "We would have offered the job to you, you tick most of the boxes and it was such a shame that you decided to lie on your resume and integrity to us is non-negotiable. You also do realise that we regularly meet fellow HRs from other banks right?" The poor guy has the substance but a poor decision shaped his entire future and he can't get any jobs from any banks (foreign, local or otherwise). He's now freelancing and make do on odd jobs with varying pay on some freelancing platforms. Straightaway that was a red flag. No sane self respecting job applicant would put a colleague as referee. You must put your peer, for example, your dept manager and HR manager as referee. Your colleague just doesn't cut it. And that includes your parents and relatives. |
Nov 13 2019, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(kirakun @ Nov 13 2019, 03:22 PM) Just an advice, don’t be naive. The more naive u are the happier and the more money the employer is and making(by lowballing). What u are worth are based on your qualification, skills learned, trainings attended, experience and knowledge not based your past salary or so called ‘market value’ as claimed by HR. Half truth is as good as any truth if it works. That’s the reality and also always take what the HR/employer’s words with a pinch of salt(as if they are being truthful all along). Speaking of integrity somemore lol. |
Nov 13 2019, 04:56 PM
Nov 13 2019, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(kirakun @ Nov 13 2019, 03:22 PM) Just an advice, don’t be naive. The more naive u are the happier and the more money the employer is and making(by lowballing). What u are worth are based on your qualification, skills learned, trainings attended, experience and knowledge not based your past salary or so called ‘market value’ as claimed by HR. bro we are just kacang putih only, peanuts in the grand scheme of things. The moment we see ourselves as bigger than everything else is the day we will kena, and it won't be pretty no matter how right you think you are. Half truth is as good as any truth if it works. That’s the reality and also always take what the HR/employer’s words with a pinch of salt(as if they are being truthful all along). Speaking of integrity somemore lol. Im not saying you should take HR words as the whole truth, but just as you are expecting and investigating whether i kena lowball or not, the same to them. If you see a lying HR why even consider that company? Tak boleh harap pun. Im talking about the principles we hold, because if we become someone else through lies, we will eventually be found out. Not only its kewajipan agama but it reflects whether we are at peace and accept who we are and therefore use that opportunity to change for the better. Its not worth it to claim half truth, the damage is not worth the risk. You are basing an assumption that they won't check and you will get away. But the probability of things go wrong in your pursuit of half truth is just enormous, why bother with risks like this? Making things worse, even if you get away now, you will always be at risk. Do you wanna live that life? |
Nov 13 2019, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(kirakun @ Nov 13 2019, 04:56 PM) Been working for more than 15 years, multiple companies including international ones, not once i provided pay slip of past so Yes, consider you're lucky.Me, I've been employed with salary for total of 12 years, also not once I was asked for payslip of previous company. Maybe that's because I declared everything truthfully and my employer has nothing much to suspect. But these days, 60 to 70% of the applications I receive I sure suspect have something wrong. Last few years was the worst. |
Nov 13 2019, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(UrbanGraduate @ Nov 13 2019, 05:00 PM) bro we are just kacang putih only, peanuts in the grand scheme of things. The moment we see ourselves as bigger than everything else is the day we will kena, and it won't be pretty no matter how right you think you are. I'm just an average joe here trying to make a living but i do learn to get even with companies especially the HR. That's how i live my life, doing not too shabby i'll say. Im not saying you should take HR words as the whole truth, but just as you are expecting and investigating whether i kena lowball or not, the same to them. If you see a lying HR why even consider that company? Tak boleh harap pun. Im talking about the principles we hold, because if we become someone else through lies, we will eventually be found out. Not only its kewajipan agama but it reflects whether we are at peace and accept who we are and therefore use that opportunity to change for the better. Its not worth it to claim half truth, the damage is not worth the risk. You are basing an assumption that they won't check and you will get away. But the probability of things go wrong in your pursuit of half truth is just enormous, why bother with risks like this? Making things worse, even if you get away now, you will always be at risk. Do you wanna live that life? And i believe many others employees like me need to be aware of such reality so they too will be better equipped when dealing with companies especially the HRs. No offence made and just my 2 cents. The key is don't be naive that's all. Integrity and half truth? Those are in an open book to me and to others as well i believe. Oh please you are most welcomed to live your life the way u wanted/intended to but keep it to yourself ya. |
| Change to: | 0.0323sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:08 PM |