Feedback Which one to buy 2009 Or 2012 Kawasaki Er6n, I want advise and feedback

jacktay94
post Jun 30 2020, 10:37 AM

6 stars only? :(
1,334 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 30 2020, 09:03 AM)
what is your height and your leg in-seam length? Making mods to suit yourself may be counterproductive as you might have to sacrifice something else. Lower footpegs will mean reduced peg-to-ground clearance especially when handling a corner. Raised handlebar may give you comfort, but at the expense of reduced aerodynamic when you sit straighter facing the wind. Even more so on a naked bike without windshield protection.

If can fork out the extra, versys is the better bang for every RM you pay compared to er6n, that's what I think la.

By the way, this photo is taken exactly 5 years ago, that's me in the lead.

Nice. I'm 180, forgot my in-seam, lazy to measure now. Should be around 70+ haha! Looks like a 2016 or later model?

Did not realise side boxes are quite expensive, with the top up actually it might be reasonable tbh.

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 30 2020, 09:42 AM)
Good morning.

Wear gloves during riding is a habit I make it a point to adopt. Saved up for decent gauntlet. At first thought of buying knock off, but saw that despite the fact that they're made with genuine leather, the knuckle protection comes off after used over time, figured it's not worth saving the bucks with them.

For long distance riding, some people get tired quickly even with a comfortable bike, while some can ride a sportsbike for hours straight with little fatigue. Engine wise, 3 cylinders (MT09, Triumph triples) has less vibration than 2 or 4 config, ER6 is considered lower vibration compared to 4 cylinder. Boxer engine even less vibration.

Yeah, Z1000SX end-2013 comes with KTRC. At one time I was considering this Z1000SX, Versys 1000, 2013 ZX6R, all with KTRC options. The V1k is the cheapest option, at 34+k fully touring prepped. Couldn't find Z1000SX around my area, but it was 40+k so didn't venture out. ZX6R has jerky electronic throttle, but becoz of budget tak jadi also lah. The V1k was too heavy for me at the time, but it was a 2014 so more expensive, tak jadi.

Now, at mid 20k there are more choices now. I think my mind is set on a sports 4 cylinder.
Already got a pair of oxford airs. Sports 4 around 20k right now is probably cb650 as andrew said. Rode the naked version and its not too bad.

andrewhtf
post Jun 30 2020, 11:05 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Jun 30 2020, 10:37 AM)
Nice. I'm 180, forgot my in-seam, lazy to measure now. Should be around 70+ haha! Looks like a 2016 or later model?

Did not realise side boxes are quite expensive, with the top up actually it might be reasonable tbh.
With your height, Versys it is then, forget about ER6.

2nd generation (2011-2014) can be had from between RM15k-RM20k, just scout around and dont rush.

A large top box is very convenient, you might not even need the side box if you know how to arrange your stuffs. but then again different strokes for different people.

Should you need to add side boxes it can be done later on after you saved up enough. there are cheaper choice with smaller capacity in givi E21 or E22 side boxes.

the 2015 up model (gen 3) is the best version of versys thus far. however it is already long overdue for an update but Kawasaki Japan has not come up with anything, despite updating the er6/z650/ninja650 TWICE already. Dont know why.
alexei
post Jun 30 2020, 12:58 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Jun 30 2020, 10:37 AM)

This post has been edited by alexei: Jun 30 2020, 01:00 PM
jacktay94
post Jun 30 2020, 04:24 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 30 2020, 11:05 AM)
With your height, Versys it is then, forget about ER6.

2nd generation (2011-2014) can be had from between RM15k-RM20k, just scout around and dont rush.

A large top box is very convenient, you might not even need the side box if you know how to arrange your stuffs. but then again different strokes for different people.

Should you need to add side boxes it can be done later on after you saved up enough. there are cheaper choice with smaller capacity in givi E21 or E22 side boxes.

the 2015 up model (gen 3) is the best version of versys thus far. however it is already long overdue for an update but Kawasaki Japan has not come up with anything, despite updating the er6/z650/ninja650 TWICE already. Dont know why.
Yea, looking for the 2nd gen. 3rd gen looks good, but way too pricy for a parallel twin. And if it is a loan buy, i rather go for a new bike.

True that, side boxes will be an issue in traffic too. Touring is not highway all the way. I was looking at it and realised the mount cost a few k, the boxes a few k. its not cheap man. mega_shok.gif

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 30 2020, 12:58 PM)

Thanks for the pics, very clear picture on flat footing and knee angle. Z1000 looks like it has a bigger tank though compared to the 650.
I played with the tool too, but i adjust the offset for the ER6n and realised with 1-2 cm handlebar rise and 1-2 cm lowering of pegs will be about 1 degree difference between versys and er6. realistically dunno if it is doable or not la. hahaha
ThE DaReDeViL
post Jun 30 2020, 05:52 PM

Photo of Thai ER6f modify tourer... Everything can be done, just that whether it is worth the time and money to modify something that can be bought... Probably the modifications price alone can get a 2nd hand versys already... sweat.gif
jacktay94
post Jun 30 2020, 09:44 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jun 30 2020, 05:52 PM)

Photo of Thai ER6f modify tourer... Everything can be done, just that whether it is worth the time and money to modify something that can be bought... Probably the modifications price alone can get a 2nd hand versys already... sweat.gif
dont understand what is the point of this. even if you want slightly better performance, tuning or engine swap is sufficient. laugh.gif

andrewhtf any issues with valve clearance? the same one that plagued the 12/13 er6-n?

This post has been edited by jacktay94: Jun 30 2020, 09:47 PM
alexei
post Jul 1 2020, 07:50 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

It's probably cheap to do in Thai. could that be a Ninja 650 base instead? Then it has newer features that the existing Versys is lacking?
And the conventional telescopic forks, vs USD on a Versys. Perhaps switching it to a tourer with a Ninja 650 base is a wise choice, too.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Jul 1 2020, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 1 2020, 07:50 AM)
It's probably cheap to do in Thai. could that be a Ninja 650 base instead? Then it has newer features that the existing Versys is lacking?
And the conventional telescopic forks, vs USD on a Versys. Perhaps switching it to a tourer with a Ninja 650 base is a wise choice, too.
Base on the frame I guess it's probably ER6f which have no feature advancement over Versys... sweat.gif About the fork I have no comment coz zero knowledge in it... But that is not ER6f fork I think, coz it's way longer... tongue.gif Anyway, not sure about Thai, but definitely won't be cheap to mod here.. That's why I wanna tell coz previously someone said wanna mod er6n for touring purpose... The outcome might looks cool (subjective) but price wise definitely not a good choice to do so...
alexei
post Jul 1 2020, 11:01 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

It has the ABS/KTRC ring on the front wheel hub. The bike sure looks cool.
Stock ER6 may not be able to handle the weight on the rear, swingarm and shocks, but solo touring should be can la.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0187sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:16 PM