Feedback Which one to buy 2009 Or 2012 Kawasaki Er6n, I want advise and feedback
alexei
Nov 6 2019, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(Just a drifter @ Nov 5 2019, 04:20 PM) Hi friends and kekawan. I'm planning to buy an used kawasaki er6n for daily commute to work around kl area and once in a while long rides around Malaysia. But there are two versions. Cbu 2009 version and ckd 2012 version. I have cash for both versions and I'm planning to use the bike for 5years. Which version should I get and why? Good day to you all.. And no budget for versys,mt07,xj6 or tnt600. Are you prepared for unexpected issues for such old bikes? Being able to afford buying one and maintaining it should come together. 2009 CBU has better paint, but the rest is similar for a CKD version. Also the issue with valve (2011-2013) and sometimes burnt stator coil. No other major issues, just fuel and go.
alexei
Jun 22 2020, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(M4Z1L @ Jun 19 2020, 09:06 AM) I'm planning to buy this 2009 model, it is ok? sekolah memandu tell me don't get this model
alexei
Jun 22 2020, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(leon898 @ Jun 22 2020, 11:28 AM) why? any issues with the valve? valve recall is done, that's for early CKD models, 2011-2013 IINM. coil/rectifier issues seems to haunt some owners. Otherwise I heard it's reliable.
alexei
Jun 22 2020, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jun 22 2020, 02:13 PM) True, and not limited on this model. All 3 models same, but there are many parts option now.. Ori 16xx, OEM Mitsubishi 7xx, recoil 2xx-3xx, Lazada/Shopee (China manufactured) 1xx-2xx... So no worries of blowing the pocket...  You're referring to coil and/or rectifier? Kawa famous problem kah? I spoke to OHTOKC, he say mostly coil reach him is oily, so he thought coil is soaked in oil one. I told him no, supposed to be dry. Lol.
alexei
Jun 23 2020, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jun 22 2020, 03:00 PM) Coil yes, rectifier once in a while will got member post, but not as common as coil.. most of us already install voltage meter to do the monitoring... anyway, I thought memang coil is soaked with eo? No? Coz mine already changed.. Need to drain the eo then only take out the coil. And yes, it's covered with eo. So I thought it's memang soaked inside... LoLz...  Do you have experience on the lifespan of a re-coiled unit?
alexei
Jun 26 2020, 08:56 PM
Thanks for the write. Is gen3 referring to Z650? AFAIK, only Japan imports are considered CBU, that's the pre-09 made. Please recommend earphone/plugs that doesn't come off while putting on a full face and long rides? QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 26 2020, 05:57 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1. basically gen2 (2009-2011) and gen3 (2012-2016) are almost different bike in terms of body (frame, swingarm, footrest) and looks. the engine is the same, with a little bit of tweak to the ECU fuel setting and incorporated the vacuum tube mod that was pretty popular among the older gen into gen3 as standard. so called better response and torque at low end. but the diff is hardly noticeable lah. other wear and tear parts like sprocket, chain, wheels, brakes are shared and interchangeable.
2. 2012/2013 came up with valve issues because kawasaki went cost-cutting and made their valve in thailand (basically the whole bike are made in thailand factory anyway) and no longer used japan-made valves. suffice to say it caused some red-face to Kawa msia enough to issue a recall under the guise of "goodwill service" and replaced those Thai valves. however to be fair, even older gens occasionally were reported to kena valve issue too, so i'd say that apart from valve quality, rider''s riding pattern played a role too. pakai inline twin tapi pulas macam inline4 kejar superbike, mana tak hancur?
3. i was told that with aftermarket slip-on/full system exhaust, gen2 punya bass is more solid compared to gen3. i cannot verify anyway because i prefer to have earpone/earplug and no longer cared about sounds. inb4 #loudpipesavelives
4. allow me to clear up this misconception, gen2 bikes are not JAPAN CBU, no need to glorify the word CBU when it is assembled from its Thai factory, the same place where the CKD gen3 came from anyway.
5. both gens are ok in its own regard. personally i am inclined with gen2 because i have a few pretty sick mods in mind. however nowadys i have gone past the stage of tinkering with bikes plus i no longer have the financial capability to splurge on it, so given such circumstances i would pick a gen3 over gen2
6. last but not least, since paying for a used bike, just top up a little bit more and go for a used versys. it is a much comfortable bike in terms of daily runs and touring purpose. plus it has bigger presence compared to er6n and wont look awkward with boxes. but that's just my biased opinion as an ex-owner of a versys lah.

alexei
Jun 29 2020, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 26 2020, 11:09 PM) For earplugs, there are 2 types Foam and silicone Foam type can use a few times and then disposed off. I recommend cone shaped instead of cylindrical shape for ease of insertion. Silicone type can last long term use, from the cheap umbrella shape to the more expensive custom made to your ear shape kind. Whichever type you use, to avoid it being easily dislodged, I propose you wear a balaclava or buff covering your ears. The fit should be snug and not loose. This makes putting on and taking off helmets easier and hence less chance of pulling on the earplugs. Thanks. Will keep in mind. I thought balaclava would help, and glad you confirmed it. QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jun 29 2020, 11:47 AM) Mine the 1st gen.. I think the jerking of mt-09 is due new rider kot? Haha.. AFAIK MT is very smooth bike too.. Tried z1000sx too and yea, feels much much better than my bike... To bad can't afford to get one anytime soon...  MT09 has jerky off throttle response, and is the major issue next to weak suspension for the 1st model. A friend coming from R25 noticed that as well, and finds a Kawa liter bike more manageable in that sense. You can just trade up for a Z1000SX and don't look back. It has traction control, right?
alexei
Jun 29 2020, 03:59 PM
Wanna continue in 'casual bike talk' instead of going further and wider?
alexei
Jun 30 2020, 09:42 AM
Good morning.
Wear gloves during riding is a habit I make it a point to adopt. Saved up for decent gauntlet. At first thought of buying knock off, but saw that despite the fact that they're made with genuine leather, the knuckle protection comes off after used over time, figured it's not worth saving the bucks with them.
For long distance riding, some people get tired quickly even with a comfortable bike, while some can ride a sportsbike for hours straight with little fatigue. Engine wise, 3 cylinders (MT09, Triumph triples) has less vibration than 2 or 4 config, ER6 is considered lower vibration compared to 4 cylinder. Boxer engine even less vibration.
Yeah, Z1000SX end-2013 comes with KTRC. At one time I was considering this Z1000SX, Versys 1000, 2013 ZX6R, all with KTRC options. The V1k is the cheapest option, at 34+k fully touring prepped. Couldn't find Z1000SX around my area, but it was 40+k so didn't venture out. ZX6R has jerky electronic throttle, but becoz of budget tak jadi also lah. The V1k was too heavy for me at the time, but it was a 2014 so more expensive, tak jadi.
Now, at mid 20k there are more choices now. I think my mind is set on a sports 4 cylinder.
alexei
Jun 30 2020, 12:58 PM
alexei
Jul 1 2020, 07:50 AM
It's probably cheap to do in Thai. could that be a Ninja 650 base instead? Then it has newer features that the existing Versys is lacking? And the conventional telescopic forks, vs USD on a Versys. Perhaps switching it to a tourer with a Ninja 650 base is a wise choice, too.
alexei
Jul 1 2020, 11:01 AM
It has the ABS/KTRC ring on the front wheel hub. The bike sure looks cool. Stock ER6 may not be able to handle the weight on the rear, swingarm and shocks, but solo touring should be can la.