11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Any people know how to play mahjong?, 148 tiles or 144 tiles?

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 10 2019, 03:43 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Dec 10 2019, 03:42 PM)
No, the sets I often seen and used are in plain backs.

The backs with logos can give indications what the tiles are when some of them get faded.

Also when you upright some tiles, like the east, south, west and north tiles, the other players can guess that it is not the bamboo or big dots tiles you are holding.
Got.bug??

Manufacturers problem
ScooterBoi
post Dec 10 2019, 04:01 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 10 2019, 03:43 PM)
Got.bug??

Manufacturers problem
They are marketing gimmick, good to see and display only... housewifes like my granma won't use them. Old sets with some tiles chipped at the corners, also they can see and know what the tiles are.

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 10 2019, 04:15 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Dec 10 2019, 04:01 PM)
They are marketing gimmick, good to see and display only... housewifes like my granma won't use them. Old sets with some tiles chipped at the corners, also they can see and know what the tiles are.
Your grandma is expert???
ScooterBoi
post Dec 10 2019, 04:43 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 10 2019, 04:15 PM)
Your grandma is expert???
Play everyday with friends and relatives... there was a time no less than 3 tables playing back in grandma's house in hometown. The host got a small percentage of each full game played... something to cover the fans, tea, and kopi...

You don't know mahjong, they will pity you. You don't know how to enjoy life playing mahjong.

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 10 2019, 05:06 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Dec 10 2019, 04:43 PM)
Play everyday with friends and relatives... there was a time no less than 3 tables playing back in grandma's house in hometown. The host got a small percentage of each full game played... something to cover the fans, tea, and kopi...

You don't know mahjong, they will pity you. You don't know how to enjoy life playing mahjong.
you know how to play???
ScooterBoi
post Dec 10 2019, 10:09 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 10 2019, 05:06 PM)
you know how to play???
I grew up watching them play, know mahjong before knowing my abc; by the time i knew the multiplication tables, i know the game fairly well.

Us children will play when the adults stopped playing... you know la, time to cook dinner before their husbands come home.

But haven't touch mahjong many years already...

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 10 2019, 10:22 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Dec 10 2019, 10:09 PM)
I grew up watching them play, know mahjong before knowing my abc; by the time i knew the multiplication tables, i know the game fairly well.

Us children will play when the adults stopped playing... you know la, time to cook dinner before their husbands come home.

But haven't touch mahjong many years already...
SoSo mahjong malaysia.have 4 animal tiles right?
Total 148 tiles?
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 10 2019, 10:28 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(babylonmonster48 @ Dec 10 2019, 10:25 PM)
Kong ada, eye ada, Pong lei keh lou mou ah
Are you mahjong expert?
y500
post Dec 10 2019, 10:44 PM

336 posts

Play online mahjong,after few round u will understand how it works..(but mostly japanese riichi mahjong)

Nowadays very hard to find 3 more kaki play with u irl.

This post has been edited by y500: Dec 10 2019, 10:47 PM
ScooterBoi
post Dec 10 2019, 10:49 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 10 2019, 10:22 PM)
SoSo mahjong malaysia.have 4 animal tiles  right?
Total 148 tiles?
You mean the centipede, cockeral, rat and cat? Yes, these are 'fun' or 'fan' tiles in addition to the flowers tiles (4 in red and 4 in black.)

The flowers tiles are numbered 1 to 4, and only counted as 'fun' (or doubles) when it tallied with your sitting position.

The total number of tiles is not fixed, sometimes there can be additional tiles like 'fei chee york' (fatty pork) which is a plain white tile, heads, and 'fei'. Both the heads and 'fei' tiles are jokers.

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 10 2019, 10:56 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Dec 10 2019, 10:49 PM)
You mean the centipede, cockeral, rat and cat? Yes, these are 'fun' or 'fan' tiles in addition to the flowers tiles (4 in red and 4 in black.)

The flowers tiles are numbered 1 to 4, and only counted as 'fun' (or doubles) when it tallied with your sitting position.
The total number of tiles is not fixed, sometimes there can be additional tiles like 'fei chee york' (fatty pork) which is a plain white tile, heads, and 'fei'. Both the heads and 'fei' tiles are jokers.
Animal tiles (Chinese: 動物牌/动物牌; pinyin: dòngwùpái; Cantonese Jyutping: dung6mat6paai2) are unnumbered flowers that automatically match the player's seat.

These tiles are found in pairs with their subjects usually based on popular Chinese fables. Immediate payment occurs if both tiles in a pair or all the animals are collected.

Singaporean sets contain
two pairs of animal tiles

while Thai and

four-player Malaysian sets

have four pairs.

True??
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 10 2019, 11:04 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Nov 3 2019, 05:11 PM)
now got auto mahjong table  thumbup.gif

ScooterBoi
post Dec 11 2019, 12:20 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 10 2019, 10:56 PM)
Animal tiles (Chinese: 動物牌/动物牌; pinyin: dòngwùpái; Cantonese Jyutping: dung6mat6paai2) are unnumbered flowers that automatically match the player's seat.
These tiles are found in pairs with their subjects usually based on popular Chinese fables. Immediate payment occurs if both tiles in a pair or all the animals are collected.
Singaporean sets contain
two pairs of animal tiles
while Thai and
four-player Malaysian sets
have four pairs.
True??
Not true... something is lost in translation.

2 pairs of animal tiles?? As said there is only one centipede, one cockeral/rooster tile, one rat tile and one cat tile. You can say they are 2 pairs.

Flower tiles are flower tiles.... they are flowers - 4 different types of flowers, and they are numbered 1 to 4. 2 sets, one in red, and one in black. Making a total of 8 tiles.

The creatures (centipede, rooster, rat and cat) are 'fun' or doubles tiles. In a winning hand, they double the points. (Refer to previous post on how the points are counted.)

The flower tile is only counted as a doubles tile if it is same as your sitting position.

If you hold all the 4 flowers in the same colour, it is counted as 3 doubles.

There can also be side bets between the players, like for example $1 for a head or 'fei' tile, $1 if holding both cat and rat tiles or both centipede and rooster tiles.

All these side bets... up to you and your mahjong kakis.... no fix rules.

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 11 2019, 12:39 AM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Dec 11 2019, 12:20 AM)
Not true... something is lost in translation.

2 pairs of animal tiles?? As said there is only one centipede, one cockeral/rooster tile, one rat tile and one cat tile. You can say they are 2 pairs.

Flower tiles are flower tiles.... they are flowers - 4 different types of flowers, and they are numbered 1 to 4. 2 sets, one in red, and one in black. Making a total of 8 tiles.

The creatures (centipede, rooster, rat and cat) are 'fun' or doubles tiles. In a winning hand, they double the points. (Refer to previous post on how the points are counted.)

The flower tile is only counted as a doubles tile if it is same as your sitting position.

If you hold all the 4 flowers in the same colour, it is counted as 3 doubles.

There can also be side bets between the players, like for example $1 for a head or 'fei' tile, $1 if holding both cat and rat tiles or both centipede and rooster tiles.

All these side bets... up to you and your mahjong kakis.... no fix rules.

do you know where can buy this type of poker card?
dante1989
post Dec 11 2019, 12:43 AM

288 posts

3 kaki is how many tiles? i assume the lower one la since dont have the bambo and the worded number thingy dont know whats it called.
TSplouffle0789
post Jan 18 2020, 03:35 PM

1,818 posts

anyone?
TSplouffle0789
post Jan 24 2020, 09:59 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Nov 3 2019, 04:36 PM)
i remember my house had a very old set with 160 tiles
How to play with 1 person??
moosset
post Jan 24 2020, 10:11 PM

1,917 posts

got online game? we can all play together?

what about big2?
julian967
post Mar 13 2020, 12:18 PM

Hi

I only play 4P mahjong

anyone who enjoys the traditional 4P mahjong (No Fei) 2 Sets of Flowers with 1 Set of animal (using 148 tiles). Anyone interested to arrange for game can PM
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 19 2020, 02:40 PM

1,818 posts

QUOTE(julian967 @ Mar 13 2020, 12:18 PM)
Hi

I only play 4P mahjong

anyone who enjoys the traditional 4P mahjong (No Fei) 2 Sets of Flowers with 1 Set of animal (using 148 tiles). Anyone interested to arrange for game can PM
no blank tiles also???

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:39 PM