Acer Aspire 4520 Club

ctwolf88
post Aug 12 2007, 10:23 PM

130 posts

Hi all..I just bought an Aspire 4520 as well and i'm having some weird problem. When the screen turns off (set from Power Settings to turn off after 5 mins of idle), and you try to move the mouse/touch pad, the screen will not turn on again! O_O. The only way to restart the whole thing or to close the lid, make it go into stand by and open it again. Sometimes when I hibernate the thing, and then turn it on again...the login screen is not displayed but is just a dark blank...have to standby and turn on again to make it display. Has anybody exprienced this problem as well? Any solutions? Thx
ctwolf88
post Aug 13 2007, 12:18 PM

130 posts

Hi..thx for the link...I reverted back from the Nvidia Forceware drivers to the vga driver that Acer China provided and its ok already. For some reason the problem only occurs with the Forceware Video drivers o_O...so I guess its best to use the default one Acer provided.

p.s: Forgot to mention that I'm using Windows XP.

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 13 2007, 12:18 PM
ctwolf88
post Aug 22 2007, 08:50 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(nckent @ Aug 22 2007, 09:06 AM)
me too! hving prob on playing dota!
i try 2 update my vga driver 2 ForceWare Release 162.18
but tat driver cant detect Geforce 7000m sad.gif
wat version of vga driver should i use?
Hi, try not to use the forceware driver..i had some bad experiences with it and for some reason, the systems seems a lil bit slower with it blink.gif ...use the one provided by Acer China.

Btw, about gaming performance, i've tried to chuck quite some old and new games into it (C&C 3, Doom 3, NFS2, WoW) and most of them work fine...just that in order to play with medium-high graphics with AA for these games, have to lower resolution o (So far i tried all the games are quite smooth @ 640x480 except for Doom 3 (lags in big rooms, didnt turn on AA, just 640x480 with medium quality), but if bump up to 800x600 will lag, unless you tune down the level of graphics to low or something, which is unacceptable for me tongue.gif).

But I must say, it does blow the X3100 away...I feel that the Geforce 7000M should be able to handle games of today at a playable frame rate. Has anybody tested it with other games? Please share share ur results tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 22 2007, 08:57 PM
ctwolf88
post Aug 22 2007, 09:47 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(nckent @ Aug 22 2007, 09:04 PM)
jz tried, tis driver not work...
tis 1 oso not work 4 me..

nw im using Forceware v101.29
http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index....view=getnewpost

Added on August 22, 2007, 9:07 pmwow i feel tat tis laptop's heat is quite high...

any1 of u got use software cooler?
i tried install cpuidle extreme but seem didnt work on tis chipset...
Like i said, try the Acer China one. Yes it might take 1 hour to download but its the best driver among the selection. http://www.acer.com.cn/driver/download.asp...0/WinXP/VGA.zip

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 22 2007, 09:47 PM
ctwolf88
post Aug 23 2007, 04:05 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(jayjay @ Aug 23 2007, 01:10 AM)
CNC3? how playable is it?
wat level of detail are u setting? blink.gif
800x600, AA on, custom in between low-medium graphics around that.

Hmm, but then I just experienced the weirdest problem from the laptop, it cannot charge when you turn it off and can charge while the thing is on blink.gif ...I was like WTF man..it was working few weeks ago but then last night when i charge it for 6 hrs, this morning i turn in the battery was still 20%!! After that I tried charging it while it was off after restarting, shut down also cannot, but if I charge it while the laptop is on, then the meter increases o_O. Maybe i should try to take out and put back the battery and see how...but has anybody exprienced this?? Totally weird.

Update : Omg, I just noticed that I was using ONLY 64mb shared for the video card...after going into the bios to up the video memory to 256mb, the performance of the GPU is now maxed out = a bit more FPS.

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 23 2007, 05:06 PM
ctwolf88
post Aug 25 2007, 01:35 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(cyh03176 @ Aug 25 2007, 01:28 AM)
i would like to know how much can it reach? can it reach beyond 256?
No, 256mb is the limit..and so far i did get marginal improvements in some games..not much though..So i'd just put it on 128. 256mb is the maximum you can set. Just go into Bios by pressing F2 while the thing boots up and change the memory allocated for the graphics from 64 to 128 or 256.

nckent: Thanks for the link...the problem's fix already rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 25 2007, 01:54 AM
ctwolf88
post Aug 26 2007, 01:11 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(cyh03176 @ Aug 25 2007, 03:20 PM)
i know that.. i am using acer 5540 but this lappy can only set to 128..  cry.gif

that's why i wanna change lappy.. for better online gaming.. online gaming doesn't need much graphic though.. btw, do I have to add RAM to support the GPU?
o, i see...well, its integrated so its shared with the system memory. So, as usual la..if u have 512mb ram with 256mb set for the gpu, then you'd only have 256mb of ram left for the system. Its not a must for you to add ram if you dont mind it being a lil sluggish (unless you set the gpu to use a minimal 64mb of ram). But, I strongly suggest adding up to 1gb or perhaps 2gb of ram.

Then again, the increased amount of memory allocated only increases the performance slightly...its still down to the processing power of the gpu.

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 26 2007, 01:18 PM
ctwolf88
post Aug 29 2007, 09:31 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Delta_gate @ Aug 29 2007, 01:26 PM)
Ok thanks for the update~!

Yeah, you're right it might worth keeping 6100 if it works for some games and 7000M does not. Let me compile the list so far;

1) C&C Kane --> noticable performance improvement when using 6100 driver.
2) GTA SA --> can't run with 7000M, use 6100 instead.
3) NBA Live 2007 ---> no noticable improvement when using 6100 driver, but runs just the same.

Any gamers out there using this lappy, kindly update this list for convenience of others.
Cheers~!

Bobby
Nice, interesting discovery there biggrin.gif ...I guess the 7000m is basically the same chipset as the 6100 series then...i'm gonna go try and test on more games to see if there's improvement or not.

BTW, after using the 6100 drivers, has it affected the startup time/shutdown time of the laptop? Because have tried using the latest forceware drivers on it but the performance for startup and shutdown was slower by a few seconds (I mean, it was noticably slower than before).

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 29 2007, 09:34 PM
ctwolf88
post Aug 30 2007, 08:48 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Delta_gate @ Aug 29 2007, 10:40 PM)
I notice it too, but I found the reason wasn't because of the display driver (6100 or 7000M) but it was because I didn't uninstall the previous versions of the CIR drivers as well as the atheros wireless driver. Check your add & remove programs make sure that you don't have 2 installed versions of CIR or the atheros wireless application drivers.

Hope it helps. After removing those redundant drivers, my pc startup as fast as it used to.
Cheers~!
Oh, but anyway I checked the lappy and the old drivers were already removed.

Anyway which 6100 driver did you use for it because there's a list of 6100 drivers in the inf file:-
Geforce 6100
Geforce 6100 nForce 400
Geforce 6100 nForce 405
Geforce 6100 nForce 420

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Aug 30 2007, 08:53 PM
ctwolf88
post Nov 28 2007, 04:14 PM

130 posts

Sup guys..sry havent post for so long liao..too busy with exams and work tongue.gif ...anyway to those who still have not found a solution for the keyboard lag problem, here's something i just discovered.

It seems that for some reason, there is a conflict with the touchpad or something liddat..i have no idea why..but just try this. Turn off your touchpad by pressing FN + the F key with the touchpad icon (I think its FN+F7)..then the typing lag is gone!!

http://www.havelaptopwilltravel.com/a-work...rd-lag-problem/

Of course, you need a mouse to use the pointer o..but at least it bloody fixes the stupid lag..cuz its so annoying when I was typing my reports.

Btw, is there any patch to fix this problem forever? If not i guess the method above would be the best solution for now =/

p.s: I've also tried Bioshock on the 4520..lol..it runs at low settings and all, but a bit the jerky =/...if you manually tweak the ini file and set the resolution to a pathetic 400x300 it runs quite well biggrin.gif ...but looks like Quake graphics liao tongue.gif On the other hand, Half Life 2 on the 4520 looks and plays great at 720x480 with max settings and x2 AA (good framerate).

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Nov 29 2007, 10:17 AM
ctwolf88
post Nov 29 2007, 10:20 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(rcef88 @ Nov 29 2007, 12:48 AM)
Hi, I've stumbled upon this keyboard lag thing possible solutions at http://www.havelaptopwilltravel.com/acer-4...a-bios-problem/ while searching for the old Bios 3618 for Aspire 4520. I need to flash it back to the old bios as the latest Bios 3619 which is meant for MS Windows Vista had caused some glitches and few BSODs to my Xp pro system. Will stick to the old settings until, should there be any, Bios update for Xp is available.
Yeah i came across this article as well...but has anybody found a proven fix to the problem? =/

Edit: Some people mentioned that it could be due to the touchpad drivers and not the bios. This is what some guy tried and he claims that its working as it fixed the keyboard lag..I haven't try it myself though:-

I tweaked the settings on my Synaptics Application. Here is what I did:
1. Open Synaptic Appz and go to Device Settings Tab.
2. Select Synaptic and Click on Settings.
3. Go to Tap Zones and Uncheck Enable Tap Zone.
4. Select Pointer Motion, Go to Edge Motion, and Select No Edge Motion.
5. Now the last thing I did was, Select Pointer Refresh Rate, and Check Slow Refresh Rate.

All these steps fixed my Keyboard Lagging on my Acer Aspire 4520. Keyboard responded normal now and its really nice to work with.

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Nov 29 2007, 10:24 AM
ctwolf88
post Jan 6 2008, 04:05 PM

130 posts

I just tried Unreal Tournament 3 on the 4520 and it can actually play it @ 15-20fps with screen percentage set to 75, texture details to 1 and world details to 1. It wont look pretty but at least it runs the game at a playable speed tongue.gif

p.s: Requires latest version of Nvidia Drivers, 169.21 onwards (force install the Geforce 6100 driver as mentioned in previous posts).

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Jan 6 2008, 04:07 PM
ctwolf88
post Jan 9 2008, 12:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(genesic @ Jan 9 2008, 07:40 AM)
how do u fix the bios for the keyboard lag problem,
my friend laptop have this problem...
Hi, we were discussing about this problem back then. You can try updating the bios to the newest version or try this solution sourced from another site on a possible way to reduce the keyboard lag.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=14423072

Another way would be to disable the touch pad by pressing FN+F7, then the lag would be gone.

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Jan 9 2008, 12:21 PM
ctwolf88
post Mar 4 2008, 10:46 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Oakha @ Mar 2 2008, 04:24 PM)
Hey everybody

i planning to buy acer aspire 4520
with
AMD Turion 64 X2 TL 60 (2GHz)
Nvidia Geforce 7000M
2g ram
this spec enough for me to play heavy game or doing 3D design??
heavy game like CoH, tiberium war (not crysis laaaa)
Hi there, I'm one of the users who has been testing quite some games on it o...my model is the one with the 1.9ghz processor but 2.0 and 1.9 wont be much of a difference i guess. Ram-wise its the same.

The games i've tried on it are WoW, Doom 3, CoH, tiberium wars, Bioshock demo, America's Army, Unreal Tournament 3, Guitar Hero 3, Warcraft III FT, Half Life Orange Box, and Call of Duty 4. In short, I could say that most of these games are playable with low resolution settings (640x480 or 800x600) with medium-low settings. Please refer to my list below:

WoW - playable at 960x600 with medium settings
Doom 3 - playable at 640x480 with medium or low settings (however in some of the boss battles, it might get rather laggy)
Company of Heroes - playable at 800x600 with all low settings (can bump up a bit but too laggy for my tastes)
America's Army - playable at 800x600 medium settings
Tiberium Wars - playable at 800x600 with medium-low/low settings
Bioshock demo - quite laggy, but it is still sort of playable at 640x480, all low (you could also tweak the config file to get more fps from it, but the graphics would look quite bad o)
Unreal Tournament 3 - its playable with graphics at 640x480, scaling at 75%, and all low settings (15-20fps+-)
Guitar Hero 3 - IMO, not really playable even with lowest settings..laggy and the notes dont really reach in time. If there's a tweak to reduce the resolution to 640x480, i'd say maybe it could be playable.
Warcraft III FT - well, obviously this one is playable =P
Orange box - playable at either 720x480 with medium-high settings (for me i prefer to turn on AA and reduce resolution) or 800x600 with medium-low settings.
Call of duty 4 - quite playable at the optimized settings.

p.s: Driver used: forceware 196.21 Geforce 6100, graphics memory set to 256mb

Basically, the performance of the 7000m is rather equivalent to an entry level Geforce 6.
Hope this has helped you to have a better understanding of the graphics performance for the 4520 =)

This post has been edited by ctwolf88: Mar 5 2008, 10:37 AM

0.0210sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:19 AM