31 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Aug 2 2021, 11:00 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 2 2021, 12:48 AM)
Don't miss the forest for the trees and focus on commission only.  Become penny wise pound foolish. Just use smart routing and let IBKR handle everything. Keep your life simple.
I am just explaining why some ppl see estimated fees with a huge ranges...

myself I've seen from 29-99 euros on estimated fees...

you can set priorities on how ibkr execute your smart order... you can end up paying 70 euros more unnecessarily if not careful... smart routing does not mean cheapest fees
dwRK
post Aug 9 2021, 06:21 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Aug 9 2021, 04:51 PM)
Looks like I need to have foreign account in order to transfer the money. Thanks for the feedback

It’s just a 1 off thingy (quite a big amount). I will research more and see
pls check with the banks properly

last time they do not allow otc foreign currency deposits... they force you to change to myr, deposit myr first, then only xfer myr to fca... lol
dwRK
post Aug 17 2021, 01:56 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Aug 17 2021, 01:15 PM)
Thanks. I suppose we use it often enough, we get used to it.
BTW, I did my first trade in the HK Exchange. Is it advisable to convert to HKD? And, am I correct to assume, if I do not convert, I be using their margin facility at approx 1.60% pa. This question on forex conversion may have been asked numerous times, so I apologize if I did not RTFF. Too many pages.
margin rate is based on borrowed currency... hkd is 2.5% not 1.6%
dwRK
post Aug 17 2021, 03:45 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 17 2021, 03:15 PM)
The margin will never be erased unless you deposit new money in. As long as your account continue to be negative, you will keep incurring interest until one fine day where they will automatic liquidate your shares without notification.
he meant profit pay for the margin finance... wink.gif
dwRK
post Aug 27 2021, 04:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Aug 27 2021, 09:48 AM)
now IBKR seems to be able to buy BTC
u sure?
dwRK
post Aug 27 2021, 07:34 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Aug 27 2021, 05:43 PM)
u can search BTC

i didnt really trade but it is there

ah... thanks...

can't get it to load on mobile... will try later at home...
dwRK
post Aug 28 2021, 12:01 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

BTC - PAXOS

One of the following errors occurred while trying to request trading permissions.

This account is not eligible to trade this product.
No trading permissions can be found for this product.
The contract has either expired or an error has occurred.

ranting.gif

i just wanna check fees...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Aug 28 2021, 12:02 AM
dwRK
post Sep 5 2021, 12:00 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(ultimate93 @ Sep 4 2021, 11:16 PM)
Hello guys, I m using Instarem to do forex (myr to sgd), but recently i wish to convert some sgd back to myr and i notice Instarem is not allow me to do so.... is this because initially i have registerd myself as Malaysian??
ibkr to cimb sg

cimb sg to cimb my... or cimb sg to wise to whateverbank my
dwRK
post Sep 5 2021, 11:10 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 5 2021, 03:57 AM)
See TOS reply.
If you want to bring SGD back to Malaysia you only have 2 option
1) wise (previously known as transferwise)
2) CIMB sg (rates are as good as wise)

If you are working in sg, you have more options.
not sure ibkr can send to wise without global account...
dwRK
post Sep 5 2021, 05:50 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 5 2021, 01:44 PM)
I have checked. Login to wise, select sending SGD, receiving RM. It can go through. I did not complete the process hence unsure of exact steps.
no I meant from ibkr to wise...

you have wise global account, so can just provide that wise virtual bank account number to ibkr for withdrawal

those without global account will be like any normal end-to-end transfer... need to put a note (wise account number) during sending so that wise can track who sent it... I dunno if ibkr withdrawal can include this note to wise for further processing
dwRK
post Sep 5 2021, 06:18 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 5 2021, 05:57 PM)
I thought the OP was asking withdrawal from SGD bank to MYR bank. In that case, with Wise or CIMB SG -> CIMB MY. IB directly to wise never heard before. No idea about that. With global account should be fine.
op just asked about instarem... the rest we just off tangent laugh.gif

ib direct to wise tested by ts long time ago

regret not activating global account...I had wise long before they removed it...
dwRK
post Sep 5 2021, 09:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(ultimate93 @ Sep 5 2021, 09:09 PM)
Just know Sunway is in currency exchange  ohmy.gif
I just did a quick check, MYR -> SGD rate is attractive, Even better than Wise & Instarem with discount applied!  drool.gif
But I cant see the option of SGD -> MYR tho
only wise can "pull" money from overseas to my...

the rest sucks... can only send out one way
dwRK
post Sep 6 2021, 08:50 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 5 2021, 11:08 PM)
Eh Sunway Money looks cheaper than Wise. Didn't realize that, can get additional 20 SGD for a 30k MYR transfer to SG bank, some 0.2% extra. Right now I think promotion for Sunway Money. Not sure when it ends.
intro to you long ago ah...

good sgd rates... not so good eur, usd... RM1 fee cheap cheap for few years d... don't worry use it while it lasts...
dwRK
post Sep 6 2021, 03:18 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 6 2021, 01:25 PM)
You didn't know? I thought you are the one who found them.
he study at sunway but didn't see brt tiang littered with sunway money advertisements .. must be all eyes on chabo

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 6 2021, 02:41 PM)
lol did I? laugh.gif

I tried registering, went to Sunway Carnival to do manual verification but no such "Sunway Kiosk" exists. e-KYC cannot be done on my phone for some reason I don't know.

I guess I will just stick to Wise and Instarem for now.
tongue.gif
dwRK
post Sep 6 2021, 03:58 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 6 2021, 03:27 PM)
laugh.gif No lah, back then no such advertisement mah. All tiang just show Setara 5 star rating from Sunway U and Sunway College.
can't say when they were up...

but our brain won't register even if we see it... not something important or threat...
dwRK
post Sep 6 2021, 06:40 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 6 2021, 04:42 PM)
chabo aside. Got something serious to ask you.

From your experience in buying US shares, any configuration you think need to change on SMART or you just use the default SMART setting? Or you think certain exchanges are better?
not really for US... nyse & nasdaq stocks are mutually exclusive

for EU is different story because stock A can be traded in 10 or more countries with different taxes & fees, smart will route it according to your configurations, can split your orders up to different exchanges, etc... in my case I don't want to use smart but instead choose the exchange directly, e.g.. euronext Amsterdam because it has highest volume, lowest fee, etc etc
dwRK
post Sep 18 2021, 09:30 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 18 2021, 08:31 AM)
Does anyone know about WHT treatment on sponsored ADS/ADRs? TSMC dividend is subject to a 21% WHT by Taiwan, is it still subject to a further 30% WHT by US IRS?

https://investor.tsmc.com/english/faq

I Googled around and confirm that US and Taiwan has no tax treaty, but no information is found for the 30% US WHT for foreign (non-resident) investors. 

Thanks for info.
i think no 30%... my logic...

adr represents foreign share for local US trading... not US company shares
dwRK
post Sep 19 2021, 09:07 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 19 2021, 07:12 PM)
Btw, dividend witholding tax doesn't matter to me so I don't care how much dividend they want to cut.
1. You can bypass dividend with hodling tax by selling covered call on your stock (once you reach 100 shares)
2. Options are not tax as it's counted as capital gain under US. We as non us citizen doesn't get taxed on capital gains.

That's the beauty of options.
1. Let you bypass dividend with holding tax.
2. Let you bypass companies which either pay peanut dividend or nil and basically free to invest in any companies.
3. Generate more money than dividends alone.

That's why nowadays I don't bother if company pay dividend or not. Or How much is the dividend tax rate. Least one thing to look up. More time for myself.

No money to do covered call? Slowly buy shares every month or whenever you have cash until reach 100. Focus on one company at a time. I couldn't do covered call initially but I workup slow and steady. Sell those low paying dividend stock and dump the money into the stocks I want to do covered call.
aiyoh... trading in options is not a method to bypass/offset wht for dividend lah... hahaha... just extra ways to make money

wallstreatbets ppl mostly yolo naked on robinhood... hero or zero... hahaha
dwRK
post Sep 19 2021, 10:53 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 19 2021, 10:09 PM)
I don't trade options. I use options as a way to bypass dividend witholding tax and generate my own DIY dividends.

I am buy and hold guy since I started. Still am.
well... trade doesn't have to mean must buy & sell... or sell & buy...

you sell calls in hope it expires worthless to the buyer and so you continue to collect the premium... rinse and repeat... but if hit strike price you will have to sell to cover

also you still have to "pay" the full wht... you're not bypassing anything per se

you just have an extra stream of income selling covered calls... in addition to collecting 70% of the dividend... smile.gif

anyways... its just semantics
dwRK
post Sep 20 2021, 12:20 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 19 2021, 11:34 PM)
Well trade here for me means buy and sell. If I am not selling and just holding then it's just buy and hold.

Yup. Which majority of it expires worthless like 90%+ for me.

Yes I still pay the dividend tax. But difference here is
1. I can get back more or equal of the tax I paid which cancel each other out and most of the time surplus of the tax I paid which indirectly means I get refund on my dividend tax + more. Lol.

Anyway is just how you look at it that way. I choose to look at it as
1. Way to bypass dividend tax/get refund for more fun way to invest. Makes it feel nicer for me anyway that my money is being returned. Haha..

Anyway it's my own view and not official way.
yeah... its just your way of thinking... but hey, whatever makes you happy man wink.gif

31 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0330sec    1.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:37 PM