22 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

TSmoosset
post Mar 22 2020, 11:04 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(shenhn @ Mar 22 2020, 10:42 PM)
By using BigPay or InstaREM to make deposit for IBKR, which payment option do i select? Is it 'Connect your Bank Account' / 'Bank Wire' , can anyone help with this
if you use bigpay, move your money via bigpay to your SG bank account, then transfer to IBKR.

payment option?? There's no option. Try to google on how to make deposit to IBKR. There should be information there.

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Mar 22 2020, 10:45 PM)
Isn't the Transferwise USD borderless account in your own name? So in that case, USD withdrawal directly from IBKR does not work? (not talking about deposits here)
I think it should technically work but we won't get any answers unless somebody tries it.
TSmoosset
post Mar 23 2020, 12:24 AM

1,917 posts

Depositing via Transferwise in USD didn't work for me, or maybe I entered the wrong details.

Please let us know if anyone succeeded.

For withdrawal, it may work....
TSmoosset
post Mar 25 2020, 12:22 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(madman.com @ Mar 25 2020, 12:07 PM)
Just opened my acc in ibkr, then only found out there is going to be a monthly account activity fee of usd10...sad.gif
actually 10 USD also not bad....

if you buy 2 trades in Malaysia with RM10k each, already RM40 something in commission. In IBKR, you can make many small trades.

edit: RM 40 per month is like, drink less starbucks, less bubble tea, less cinema per month.

This post has been edited by moosset: Mar 25 2020, 12:23 PM
TSmoosset
post Mar 26 2020, 01:38 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Mar 25 2020, 10:50 PM)
Those that are under TS Global, how much commission have they been charging you for US stock trades? I think i always got charged USD1 (rather than the min $1.5 stated in their website)
I wondered the same but never got an answer from IBKR and TSG.

QUOTE(m1rot1c @ Mar 26 2020, 08:07 AM)
i think the crucial information is pretty much scattered, for anyone who is wondering on how to fund your ibkr account, this post here seems to have a proper guide to do so
Is that your personal blog?
TSmoosset
post Mar 26 2020, 02:04 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(totox7 @ Mar 26 2020, 08:18 AM)
Hi, thank for you info. In the link he was using Instarem, i have chat with Instarem customer service, they dont deposit into brokerage account. Can anyone help to verify this?
I have checked, Charles Schwab have account in Singapore too, wonder if possible to skip local account such as CIMB fast saver by using Instarem.
I'm also interested in Charles Schwab. Let me know if you manage to open an account there.

Disregarding what the CS said, it worked for me to deposit EUR, SGD and HKD to IBKR.
Same with banks' and insurance companies' CS, you can only trust them 50% of the time. A lot of them MCC.

TSmoosset
post Mar 26 2020, 08:37 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 26 2020, 06:06 PM)
Need 25k USD to open if I'm not mistaken
not sure if you had clicked on the image and read, Charles Schwab has ceased all operations in Singapore.

yes, need 25k.

by the way, have you looked at TMAmeritrade? They have commission free ETFs incl. IVV, I think.
TSmoosset
post Mar 27 2020, 12:58 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(shenhn @ Mar 27 2020, 11:21 AM)
Earlier when i registered my IBKR and TD Ameritrade account, i had pre-selected USD, am i required to switch it to eg. HKD to make the transfer in HKD via Instarem or Transferwise?
I don't have TMAmeritrade acc.

For IB, your base currency doesn't matter. You can deposit in any currency. You convert it yourself on the platform.
I suspect it's the same for most platforms, incl. TMAmeritrade and Charles Schwab.
It would be really stupid if they only accept deposit in base currency.
TSmoosset
post Mar 27 2020, 02:16 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(totox7 @ Mar 27 2020, 01:53 PM)
Yes it is. For those who are curious, they still retain their bank account in singapore for deposit, below is the detail. Will call them again to reconfirm on this.

but they don't accept new customers anymore?
TSmoosset
post Mar 29 2020, 10:53 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Mar 29 2020, 10:42 PM)
Interactive Brokers wants me to perform initial funding, before approving my trading account, as seen in the first screenshot. Alright, I am ok with that.
In the second screenshot (for creating a bank wire deposit for initial deposit),

a) If I transfer fund from my Maybank Singapore iSavvy Savings account, can I type 'Maybank Singapore Limited' (without quotation marks) in Sending Institution?
b) Can I type any name, in Nickname? It should be similar to the nickname in Favourite Recipient for Instant Transfer in Malaysian internet banking website, right?
c) Can I transfer SGD 1500 as the initial deposit, via FAST transfer to Singapore bank account of Interactive Brokers? If I am not mistaken, only USD 1000 (about SGD 1430) is required.
Thank you for your advice. smile.gif 
[attachmentid=10459620]
[attachmentid=10459621]
a. Don't know why make things so complicated. I don't know if it's berhad or sdn bhd, limited or private UN-limited....
If I use InstaRem, I just type InstaRem.
If I use Transferwise, I just type transferwise.
If I use Maybank, I just type Maybank.
If I use CIMB, I just type CIMB and nothing else. laugh.gif

b. Nickname is for your own reference. You can even type Ali, Abu, Ah Kau ....

c. Yes
TSmoosset
post Mar 30 2020, 03:04 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(madman.com @ Mar 30 2020, 11:08 AM)
If using Maybank, need to fill up recipient's id/company id. But what is interactive brokers company id?  rclxub.gif
I'm not sure... I have never had this issue with CIMB.

why need a company ID and what's a company ID?
TSmoosset
post Apr 1 2020, 01:27 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Apr 1 2020, 01:23 AM)
When i transfer to and from IBKR, I don't use any intermediaries. Basically, its like this:

Maybank -> IBKR account (Citi)
IBKR (Citi) -> Maybank

I honestly do not see what the fuss is about fees and such, and why you all go through the trouble of opening a SG account, AND using instarem. It just adds more variables to screw up.

The fees are so small anyway, might as well avoid so many mafan procedures.
which currency?
TSmoosset
post Apr 1 2020, 01:47 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Apr 1 2020, 01:31 AM)
Transfer to US: Maybank (MYR) -> IBKR (USD)

Transfer back to Malaysia: IBKR (USD) -> Maybank (MYR)

My bank account in Maybank is a normal MYR savings account
done via internet banking?

how much was the charges?
TSmoosset
post Apr 1 2020, 05:34 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Apr 1 2020, 01:55 AM)
Yes. Done via M2U

Transfer Maybank to IBKR US:
    TT Fee                RM10.00
    Other charges      USD23.00

Transfer IBKR US to Maybank:
    Other charges      USD22.00
So, that's about $25 in fees.
Thanks! I'll update the first post.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2020, 09:16 AM)
Your call. But you just let your bank earn about 3% free money from you. Best part is it is recurring every time you transfer.

I do both keep my cost low and make my investment better.
It's ok. Understand that different ppl have different preferences. Some ppl may earn £5 per second like JK Rowling. In that case, their time is better spent on something else.
TSmoosset
post Apr 1 2020, 05:40 PM

1,917 posts

I tried this at the same time, so that the exchange rate fluctuation is minimal.

Maybank: RM 43,751.00 gives $9,975 -----> 4.3860 MYR per USD
InstaRem: RM 43,789.03 gives $10,000 -----> 4.3789 MYR per USD

Note: IBKR doesn't accept USD from InstaRem.

This post has been edited by moosset: Apr 1 2020, 08:08 PM
TSmoosset
post Apr 1 2020, 07:54 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(lamcouz @ Apr 1 2020, 07:52 PM)
Hi all, may I know how you did the Transfer from CIMB SG? I try access my clicks account, linked the SG account. But under trasnfer money [From] I cannot see my SG fast account.
transfer from CIMB clicks .........

This post has been edited by moosset: Apr 1 2020, 07:54 PM
TSmoosset
post Apr 1 2020, 07:56 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(lamcouz @ Apr 1 2020, 07:54 PM)
Huh, it means maybank TT rate is better than Instarem?
sorry, I forgot to subtract $25 as fee for the amount received.

Edited .... so InstaRem is still marginally better. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by moosset: Apr 1 2020, 08:09 PM
TSmoosset
post Apr 1 2020, 11:04 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2020, 08:04 PM)
Yes and no.
sorry, not "yes and no". The answer is no. I forgot to add the fees charged by Maybank.
Maybank's rate is about 0.17% more than InstaRem if including fees.

QUOTE(echoesian @ Apr 1 2020, 09:17 PM)
I wonder if all these additional rates, at the end of the today would it be better to use local brokerage given that the fees difference are almost the same?
it's up to you really. If you have no time for this, just go for local brokers. After all, time is money.
TSmoosset
post Apr 2 2020, 01:18 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Apr 1 2020, 11:37 PM)
Question, if I have usd in my Malaysia usd account, what can I use it for? Also anyone has any idea which bank provides them best exchange rate?

Hopefully the banks wake up their idea. Tons of fintech now to move funds at much more favourable exchange rate. Last I check in Feb 2020 citibank usd to ringgit around 1.5% more than xe rate.
I'm not sure as I don't have a physical USD acc. Their maintenance is quite expensive, right? Like USD4 per transaction or something?

but one user here has USD acc in SG, but he said, can't be used to transfer out USD, nor accepting USD. So basically, useless. laugh.gif

QUOTE(joeblow @ Apr 1 2020, 11:37 PM)
Also anyone has any idea which bank provides them best exchange rate?
I think Maybank ....

Last I tried, it was better than CIMB & HSBC.
TSmoosset
post Apr 2 2020, 05:45 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(melvinfoo_ @ Apr 2 2020, 05:18 PM)
hi,

I "accidentally" apply for IB, which I don't think I will able to "waive" the inactive fee. so best advice is I just apply for Tradestation and cancel the IB?

newbie here
No need to close if you have no money there. It won't be activated if you've no money in it.

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Apr 2 2020, 05:21 PM)
You can move your IBKR to TradeStation Global. Instructions are on TradeStation Global website.
Yes, the info is available on the TSG website. However, it may or may not work, depending on where your IBKR acc is based.

If IBKR UK, then yes. Otherwise, it probably won't work.

I also have an IBKR acc, but not activated. Tried many times to connect to TSG, only to realise it doesn't work.

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Apr 2 2020, 05:21 PM)
I don't subscribe. You can use MarketWatch to view live prices then key in your limit order.
live data?

TSmoosset
post Apr 2 2020, 10:17 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(lamcouz @ Apr 2 2020, 09:37 PM)
I deposited 1k SGD to cimb sg but no trigger on creating clicks account..any clue how long it took?
Send them an email AtYourService@cimb.com

some ppl are automatic. Some ppl like me have to email them.... then they will try to call you.

22 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2420sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:35 PM