22 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

TSmoosset
post Feb 17 2020, 11:07 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Feb 17 2020, 10:57 PM)
Have you tested whether MYR to SGD or HKD give better rates, before you convert it back to USD in IB? Since HKD is pegged to USD..
you mean MYR > HKD > USD vs MYR > SGD > USD??
hard to compare different currency pairs .... I think they are about the same since HKD & SGD are just intermediary.

TSmoosset
post Feb 17 2020, 11:27 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Feb 17 2020, 11:15 PM)
I tried to sign up for Instarem but got stuck at the picture verification page coz it couldn't work! doesnt give much confidence to trust your money with them..

What about Transferwise SGD to IB?
oh... my experience with InstaRem was quite smooth. I also think it's better because it automatically redirects you to the bank, rather than doing a separate bank transfer. Rate wise, InstaRem is often better especially from MYR.

I haven't tried transferwise with SGD since InstaRem has better rates. I think it would work, as long as it's not USD.

Or just open CIMB SG.
CIMB MY > InstaRem / TWise / CIMB transfer > CIMB SG > IBKR.
It could also serve as an acc to receive money back from IBKR (although you could probably receive money back to your TWise borderless account).
TSmoosset
post Feb 21 2020, 12:40 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 21 2020, 12:06 AM)
I selected Bank Wire transfer, it generated a reference number for me. But from my HSBC account, I can't seem to find a way to transfer to my IKBR account
so far, most of us can't transfer USD into IBKR, but I guess it's worth a try.

Did you try telegraphic transfer? If not, ask HSBC.
TSmoosset
post Feb 21 2020, 04:33 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Feb 21 2020, 02:29 PM)
I tried using Instarem to wire SGD directly to IB... it works. Realised i need to enable the currency conversion permission to convert i supposed

And also, how do I check whether this is indeed the Tradestation Global account?
permission?? FOREX is auto enabled.

for different stock markets, options, bonds etc, you'll need to enable it in the settings.
TSmoosset
post Feb 21 2020, 07:08 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Feb 17 2020, 10:57 PM)
Have you tested whether MYR to SGD or HKD give better rates, before you convert it back to USD in IB? Since HKD is pegged to USD..
maybe it's better to convert MYR to HKD first....

I've some savings in SGD and now already depreciated against USD. sad.gif
TSmoosset
post Feb 22 2020, 11:27 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 22 2020, 04:54 PM)
i have USD at my transferwise acc, how to transfer to IB?
so far, none of us has been successful.

Only 1 user did a bank transfer over the counter with Bank Islam.
TSmoosset
post Feb 23 2020, 11:05 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 23 2020, 09:51 AM)
how about the long route?
like from transferwise(usd), from IB say want to deposit EUR?
if you use your balance in Transferwise (USD), change to EUR then deposit to IBKR, then it works.
TSmoosset
post Feb 23 2020, 11:53 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Feb 23 2020, 11:06 PM)
Wait, it means that only USD need convert SGD to Singaporean bank account then convert back to USD in IBKR right?
If convert MYR to EUR from Malaysian bank and transfer directly to IBKR using Instarem without going through Singaporean bank is working?
meaning, IBKR can accept SGD, HKD, EUR, just not USD, from InstraRem, Transferwise.

you actually don't need a S'porean bank acc.
TSmoosset
post Feb 23 2020, 11:54 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Feb 23 2020, 11:06 PM)
If convert MYR to EUR from Malaysian bank and transfer directly to IBKR using Instarem without going through Singaporean bank is working?
this is what I have been doing.

MYR from M'sia banks > InstaRem, convert to EUR/HKD/SGD > receives by IBKR.
TSmoosset
post Feb 24 2020, 12:05 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Feb 23 2020, 11:57 PM)
Ahhh shit. doh.gif  Thanks for the info!  biggrin.gif
but most of us got our SG bank acc ready, in case we need our money back from IBKR.
From IBKR, we can withdraw directly to SG bank acc in SGD.

I think TWise Borderless account can also receive EUR/USD/GBP, but I haven't tried.
TSmoosset
post Feb 24 2020, 01:20 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 24 2020, 08:11 AM)
u mean at at transferwise covert USD balance from USD to EUR.
The at IBKR deposit portal, setup a deposit instruction in EUR?
unfortunately, yes.

unless you successfully deposit USD to TWise, in which case, please let us know.
TSmoosset
post Feb 25 2020, 11:38 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 25 2020, 08:33 AM)
my IB account currency is in USD.
If from tranferwise, i transfer EUR to my IB account, will IB accepted?
USD is only your base currency. You can receive money in any of the international currencies.
Just make a deposit notification and choose your currency.
TSmoosset
post Mar 2 2020, 12:19 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 2 2020, 12:15 AM)
Question; if i want to DCA LSE etfs, for next 5 years, 1k usd each month. Is it advisable yo go pure IBKR instead of whitelabel/saxo/scb?

How trustworthy is TSG?
whitelabel, TSG, Captrader etc are just resale agent, so it's not much difference, just that if directly via IBKR, it has a min transaction fee per month.

what LSE ETFs are you looking at?
TSmoosset
post Mar 2 2020, 01:50 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 2 2020, 10:27 AM)
IBKR margin is the lowest in the market.
Btw, TradeStation and TradeStation international are different entities.
However, I'm not sure if TradeStation International offers the same rates as IBKR or not. I do believe they follow IBKR.
actually, until now, I'm not familiar with the fee structure. If you figure it out, please share.
TSmoosset
post Mar 3 2020, 12:06 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 2 2020, 10:58 PM)
Err.. How do I transfer SGD directly to IBKR via Instarem?
Do I need to inform IBKR of the transfer?
you always have to inform them!!

just like normal... fill out all the details.
TSmoosset
post Mar 3 2020, 10:52 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Brinkman @ Mar 3 2020, 10:43 AM)
Thanks for the reply.

I think I might missed out some steps in between.
What I have:
1. I have filled up the manual form before this and got a Cimb fast saver account number.
2. I linked this account number to my Malaysia Cimb clicks and transferred SGD 1k to the Sg fast saver account from my Malaysia Cimb account via Malaysia Cimb clicks.
3. The Sg fast saver account got approved. But I did not receive any SMS for Singapore Cimb clicks registration.

Guess I will need to call the customer service to get the tag for Singapore Cimb clicks registration.
send them an email. That's what I did.
TSmoosset
post Mar 4 2020, 06:24 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 4 2020, 02:42 PM)
Question on TSG account opening; the base currency is USD or SGD? If i want to buy LSE's ETF.

And is it possible to transfer money directly from a sg account to TSG account?
it's up to you. You choose when you open the account. You can also change it anytime.

SG acc definitely no problem lah... internationally traded currency.
TSmoosset
post Mar 4 2020, 06:56 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 4 2020, 06:39 PM)
USD, then is it better i set it as base USD but if i transfer money in, is it better to use SGD for spot rates xfer or USD using multi currency account? Or no difference?
deposit in SGD, then exchange to USD on the platform. Huge difference, huge savings! Don't let your bank do the conversion.

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 4 2020, 06:39 PM)
Sorry, how do i transfer money to my TSG account? Do i choose their option of bank wire (is it more expensive) or any other methods? As i chose SGD as base, they gave me only two choices while if i put USD as base, theres more choices.
there's nothing to choose! (I think you need to try logging in and play around and see what is available)
You need to go to the web platform, log in and initiate a transfer. This is just to tell them that you WILL do a bank transfer, but you haven't started yet. All the transfer details will be provided.

using these details, log in to your SG internet banking and perform a local FAST transfer.

As for the currency, you can transfer whatever currency available there, regardless of your base currency.
If your base is USD, you can transfer in GBP, SGD, or whatever. It will store in your account until the day you decide to convert.

This post has been edited by moosset: Mar 4 2020, 06:57 PM
TSmoosset
post Mar 4 2020, 08:28 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 4 2020, 08:25 PM)
Thanks both! Coz it gave me options to transfer in money when i click on deposit money link in the platform.
the options are just (a) what currency you want to deposit, (b) ways you could use to transfer (for some currencies, only 1 way).
IBKR doesn't take money automatically from you; they are just letting you know.

This post has been edited by moosset: Mar 4 2020, 08:28 PM
TSmoosset
post Mar 5 2020, 04:05 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Mar 5 2020, 10:22 AM)
I'm trying to send directly to IBKR but the detail here already exceed word limit. What do I do?

Just include as many characters as possible.

I always remove the "/" to save 2 spaces... so for me, just my Uxxxxxxx and characters from my name. Like an airline ticket, the name is not complete.

22 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.2710sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:00 AM