39 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Ramjade
post May 19 2020, 08:00 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ May 19 2020, 02:40 AM)
is TSG forex fees higher than vanilla IBKR (i.e. with IdealFx Pro)?
Do not use TSG. Login to IB using the username and password provided. You get access to IB exchange rate.

If you are asking if you login to IB or TSG website which is the cheaper rate. I only login to IB. Never TSG.
Ramjade
post May 19 2020, 08:23 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ May 19 2020, 04:33 PM)
I know this is IBKR thread but what do you guys think of either webull or firstrade?
I will suggest trading212. Cheaper and better.
Ramjade
post May 20 2020, 12:13 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ May 19 2020, 11:24 PM)
Isn't trading212 only for CFDs?
Yes and no. They have stocks and cfd. Just use the stocks section and avoid the CFD.
Ramjade
post May 20 2020, 12:10 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(Lakeambience @ May 20 2020, 10:51 AM)

Tried it with 2 SGD and it works and appears after 2 working days.

There is no reference field to be keyed in during the transaction but somehow it gets deposited. Refer to my transfer receipt below.

You should have tested with sgd100. You basically paid 100% in fees.
Ramjade
post May 21 2020, 11:02 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ May 21 2020, 10:27 PM)

i registered under TSG. but said like this . how ah
Are you by chance Singaporean?
Ramjade
post May 22 2020, 02:24 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ May 21 2020, 11:04 PM)
no lol. malaysian. but they asked where i am working. i putted singapore. because that's right.  blush.gif

did i make a mistake?
There you go. As long as got anything Singapore, automatically gets rejected.

QUOTE(PrincZe @ May 21 2020, 11:07 PM)
but i putted 5 sgd in.

maybe can only wait
TSG funding is USD1k
Ramjade
post May 22 2020, 06:30 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ May 22 2020, 05:57 AM)
if already opened and have the existing acc, next time moved to SG, should be alright to keep using the acc right just to be sure  sweat.gif
OK. Just don't tell them tongue.gif
Ramjade
post May 22 2020, 02:20 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 22 2020, 09:13 AM)
Mind sharing why?

Singapore should be okay, no? I thought it's US persons who are more likely to get rejected due to the FATCA regulation (of course not in this case).

I must be very lucky to open this account in Malaysia.
Because singaporean cannot use IB to buy from SGX. Something about it being govt rules. SO to make their life easier, just blanket everyone with connection to Singapore. biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post May 25 2020, 09:19 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(Doublebond @ May 25 2020, 05:27 PM)
Hi all,
Just created new IB account through TSG, and currently I'm stuck at this step.

Q1: Lets say I'd like to fund USD 1k into the account using Instarem, which options should I go for? (Direct to IB, dont have Sg account)

Q2: "Please select the currency in which you would like to make a deposit"
      Either SGD or EUR or HKD is fine right as long as it is not deposited in USD ?

Any is fine. Just use xe.com and check the currency in foreign currency in terms of USD. Make sure to send extra usd50-100 for insurance.
Ramjade
post May 26 2020, 12:25 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(oks911 @ May 25 2020, 10:03 PM)
hi sifu, I just realized my account is registered under "au" portal.
Is that normal?

https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au
Yes normal. IB will send you to the nearest server from your IP address.
Ramjade
post May 27 2020, 09:52 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ May 27 2020, 07:54 PM)
This Global Transfer is for you to transfer the same currency from HSBC MY account to another HSBC account overseas. Free transfer charge if you are Premier customer.
Not sure if you can transfer USD from HSBC Malaysia direct to IBKR, never try before. I thought someone here posted here before saying quite hard to TT USD to IBKR, but I think should be doable. Good thing about converting your ringgit to USD within HSBC is that you see the exact rate online, so you can decide if worth it. But be careful of TT charges when transferring to IBKR. Also I think HSBC charges incoming TT as well.
Don't look at fees. They can give you zero fees buy you will still received less foreign currency per ringgit. This is because HSBC already mark up the exchange rate. All banks do that. Difference between the spot rate and the rate they quote you = profit for the bank.

One way around it is to use IB account. Once you reached overseas, faster open a local bank account in that country. That way you can convert money at spot rate using IB and withdraw to your local bank account in that country. Cost only USD2.00/transaction.

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 27 2020, 09:08 PM)
my understanding is... you open hsbc@my global account fancy name for multi currency account...

in futures if you go overseas study/work say in U.S.... you open hsbc@us account...and link them together you get immediate access to your hsbc@my funds...

hsbc global transfer for your linked accounts... cheap fees compared to tt using swift...
See above. Do not look at fees. Look at final amount that you will received in foreign currency

QUOTE(moosset @ May 27 2020, 09:38 PM)
Ramjade doesn't want premier banking. He said, it's a waste of money.

I'm sure I read it here in this finance forum somewhere. They said, just give a lame excuse.  laugh.gif

but yes, if you have a valid reason, you can open an HSBC acc overseas without being there physically.
If you are going overseas for study or work, might as well open an account there.

Ramjade
post May 27 2020, 11:39 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 27 2020, 09:57 PM)
just explaining the hsbc thingy to our bro...

hsbc has probably the worst forex rates compare to the banks here...
Ok.
Ramjade
post May 28 2020, 10:44 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(loyalkkk @ May 28 2020, 10:26 AM)
Hi all, I'm new to IBKR. My IBKR account was activated before I found this post. Good news to you all. I didn't transfer fund into IBKR account but only attached all required documents, my account was successfully activated in few hours. Fyi, I pick one product only: stock.

I'm interested in trading US & HK stocks. Which money transfer is the best for me in term of the lowest exchange fees and hassel-free?

fyi, Maybank is offering free service fee during the Campaign Period: 18 March 2020 - 9 June 2020. See here>> https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...c_transfer.page

Appreciate your good advice  biggrin.gif
Do not get caught with free fees marketing. See above.
Just use instarem or bigpay. You cannot send USD.
Ramjade
post May 30 2020, 08:50 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(loyalkkk @ May 30 2020, 08:32 AM)
Is IBKR approved by BNM? Do you guys worry about the IBKR out-of-sudden blacklisted by the BNM? What can we do if IBKR being blacklisted by BNM? :confused:
Of course not. They don't have office in malaysia and have no license to operate on Malaysia soil. The reason they have no license is something to do with BNM with forex. Is old legacy from mahathir. He lost to George Soros in Forex hence he banned Forex.

So what if BNM blacklist IBKR? I don't care what BNM thinks. It will be business as usual for me (BAU). IBKR is regulated by few countries worldwide. Other global central monetary authority have already granted them license and that's good enough for me. Because it is not easy to get one license but getting multiple of it is something

There's nothing you can do. Maybe cannot direct deposit money or received money from IBKR. That's all. Which won't affect me.

They are perfectly legal. They are just a brokerage. Not some MLM or some shadowy company.

If you are uncomfortable using IBKR just because it's not approved by BNM, then don't. Use Malaysian based brokerage and pay higher commission fee, higher exchange rate, platform fees, dividend fees. biggrin.gif I am sticking with IBKR tongue.gif

End of the day is your own money. For me I am not going to give free money to Malaysian brokerage by paying more.
Ramjade
post May 30 2020, 05:17 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ May 30 2020, 04:27 PM)

i need email them to change it to cash account?
Just change in settings. No need email them.
Ramjade
post May 31 2020, 06:29 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ May 31 2020, 03:44 PM)
I found the below website that details how to bank in money into IBKR via InstaREM. I think it's great coz I do wanna try avoiding opening a bank account in SG. Is anyone here funding your IBKR via this method? i.e. MY Bank -> InstaREM (SGD/EUR) -> IBKR?

If so, I'd like to ask you guys, how do you guys withdraw the money? Is it as simple as IBKR -> InstaREM (SGD/EUR) -> MY Bank?

I did try to look for the answer in this forum but to no success. I see most of the answer is to withdraw into SG bank account then InstaREM back to MY.
Link to website: https://medium.com/@ngshiheng/investing-in-...sd-9f78c61f26cf
You cannot use Instsrem to withdraw money. Instarem function is only to send money iverses.s. The only way is
IBKR -> Malaysian bank account
- using this method is expensive. You will be charged TT fees, markup exchange rate by Malaysian banks

Having a sg bank account is not only for keeping money. But for receiving direct SGD from IBKR. Then use a sg fintech or CIMB sg to bring back money at moneychanger rate.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 31 2020, 09:44 PM
Ramjade
post May 31 2020, 09:49 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 31 2020, 08:40 PM)
Hah! Now I know why you suggested to open an SG bank account earlier. Which SG fintech to use if transfer money back from Maybank SG isavvy account to Maybank Malaysia account?

(A bit off-topic, but just 1 question.)
For me bank account is very important. If I go overseas say Europe or UK, I will want to opena free account upon landing. After using sg bank account I come to appreciate how important overseas bank account is.

TransferWise is the only one which allow you to open account. If you have Singapore sunglass, can try singx, instarem sg, world first. I know they have some of the company best rate. Cheaper than ttansferwise.

CIMB sg and TW is more or less on par with CIMB sg sometimes being cheaper (the cheap rates is a promo not a permanent feature but they keep extending the promo)
Ramjade
post Jun 1 2020, 08:02 AM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(loyalkkk @ Jun 1 2020, 05:07 AM)
Well said! Thanks  notworthy.gif
Thanks for the good info! notworthy.gif
I have no experience to use IBKR yet. When the SGD currency reach IBKR, how do I trade US & HK stocks concurrently? Any additional step to convert SGD to USD or HKD prior trading?   rclxub.gif
Read this
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=findpost&pid=92207301

Go watch YouTube. They have few tutorial on how to use IB on YouTube.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 1 2020, 08:09 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 1 2020, 07:15 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Jun 1 2020, 10:21 AM)
Thank you ramjade! Looks like with a heavy heart, I might just have to open the CIMB SG Account.

I did see moosset is experimenting on withdrawing straight from IBKR to MY bank via TransferWise. maybe i'll wait and see, haha.
No need open SG bank account. Don't waste your money. Just donate free money to banks. Of course banks will be telling you thank you but without any show of appreciation biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway my money overseas is one way ticket. I won't bring money back to malaysia.
Ramjade
post Jun 1 2020, 09:25 PM

24,391 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Jun 1 2020, 09:20 PM)
Hmm... eventually if you retire you also don't bring the money back to Malaysia? ie unless you plan to retire in other countries.

On a side note, anyone knows what to do with spare cash in IB to maximize the value? Yet flexible enough to withdraw and buy shares. Currently I am all pure cash sitting in my IB account...
Nope because if I bring back RM it will depreciate. Just use my EPF.

Forget about using IB to get a extra money. The most you can do is buy a money market fund.

For me I keep in CIMB fastsaver.

39 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2534sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:32 PM