39 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Ramjade
post Apr 13 2020, 01:47 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 13 2020, 10:26 AM)
got

can set preferences for faster execution, lowest fees, exchange rebate, etc... all depends on what you buy lah
What's the exchange rebate?
Ramjade
post Apr 13 2020, 10:40 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Apr 13 2020, 10:01 PM)
Thank you, moosset, Investor12 and Ramjade. smile.gif

I understand that for TradeStation Global, the commission for trading stock is fixed. For example, for SGX, the commission for SGD-denominated stocks is 0.12% of trade value, or a minimum of SGD 3.75.

My point is that, a beginner like me may have accidentally activate some add-on services, such as market data, which is not free. I may have wrongly assumed that these add-on services may be free.

I just want to make sure that I do not accidentally activate these add-on services.
They are all op in. You can youtube to see how to subscribe to these additional services.
Ramjade
post Apr 16 2020, 04:03 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Apr 16 2020, 02:51 AM)
How do you all withdraw back from IBKR to MYR? Would need to open a SG bank account of a Malaysian foreign currency account?
Yes. You can straight transfer out but it's going to be expensive.
Ramjade
post Apr 16 2020, 10:59 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Apr 16 2020, 10:46 PM)
How much are the bank charges and forex how much above the spot rate?
Go check xe.com. Make a tranafer back and you will know your answer. Minus how much you received vs what's shown on xe.com is how much the bank takes.
Ramjade
post Apr 20 2020, 09:02 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(melvinfoo_ @ Apr 20 2020, 12:36 AM)
IB or TS-global?

i tot IB always have charges unless you have big portoflio.
If you have USD100K worth of cash or stock IB. Even then need to make sure your stock value is say 50-100% more for margin of safety.

If you don't have use TSG. Build up money overtime and once you hit >USD100k, transfer over to IB.
Ramjade
post Apr 21 2020, 12:24 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Investor12 @ Apr 20 2020, 09:59 PM)
Hi all, any TWS user here experiencing frequent market data connection lost in the last 2 days? I used to have this problem in the past but not as frequent as the last 2 days. now is like every 15 minutes the connection will drop... is almost impossible to trade..
Keep in mind there is some submarine cable having problem. Can bypass it y using vpn to Europe countries.
Ramjade
post Apr 22 2020, 11:13 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(esthercpl @ Apr 22 2020, 10:58 AM)
Hi, do you mind telling me TSG account is from which website? I tried TradeStation international website they keep redirecting me to IBKR Australia for registration. I am afraid I open a IBKR acc instead of TSG account.
https://www.tradestation-international.com/global/
From here click the link. It will redirect you to the interactive broker website closest to your IP adddress.
Ramjade
post Apr 22 2020, 09:47 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(madman.com @ Apr 22 2020, 07:23 PM)
When u transfer euro frm msia bank tt into transferwise: u pay the exchange rate 1st time.

When transferwise received your euro, transferwise receiver bank will charge i think eur25 per transaction if not mistaken, b4 they deposit the balance into ur transferwise acc

Then frm transferwise to ibkr, in ibkr u exchange euro to usd: u pay exchange rate 2nd time.

That is what i mean
If you use transferwise or instarem, no hidden cost. What you see in transferwise and instarem is the final amount you will receive. Why go 2 steps
1. IBKR does not allow USD transfer from fintech. They only allow it if you have a bank account in US.
2. When you transferred EUR to USD in IBKR, you are using spot rate. There's no markup rates. You pay only USD2.00
Ramjade
post Apr 23 2020, 12:03 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(madman.com @ Apr 22 2020, 11:01 PM)
so what u saying is open a transferwise account, then use local bank to transfer MYR and keep it in the account. Then do a conversion to USD in account based on transferwise rate, then send it to IBKR?
Read slowly and re read what moosset have to say.
To summarise what he said
MY Bank -> Transferwise/Instarem (valid EUR, SGD, HKD,) -> IBKR EUR, SGD, HKD account. You will get either EUR, SGD, HKD (whichever currency you choose to put into IBKR when you transfer money using transferwise or instarem)

From the EUR, SGD, HKD you deposited into IBKR, you convert into USD on IBKR platform for USD. Reason is IBKR does not accept USD from 3rd party (fintech). They only accept USD from US banks in your name (if you Want to have USD)

IBKR exchange rate = real time = cheaper than any fintech. No hidden charges. Pay USD2.00 to exchange how much money you want.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 23 2020, 12:36 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 23 2020, 09:13 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 23 2020, 08:57 AM)
Thanks everyone. Got it!

Now the questions is, which one is better? Instarem vs transferwise Or there are other better alternatives?

Hope to learn more from the gurus here.
There's no better ones. I use all 4.
Bigpay - the slowest takes 1-2 days
Moneymatch
Instsrem
Transferwise

Depending which one is the cheapest at that time. I used it to transfer money to my SG bank account. Not IBKR.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 23 2020, 11:18 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 23 2020, 11:18 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 23 2020, 10:16 AM)
bigpay n moneymatch for sending myr to own sg bank account right? not to ibkr... you best clarify...
Yup to my bank account. Not IBKR.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2020, 08:05 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(homies1987 @ Apr 23 2020, 11:21 PM)
Hi all sifu, I registered IB via au side, I could not log in via UK IB. Any idea how to overcome this as it seems account from au could link with Tradestation global
No difference.

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Apr 24 2020, 03:38 AM)
Click Sell. And you can select a Stop or Stop Limit Order
Is there any difference, say:
MYR->EUR->USD
MYR->SGD->USD
MYR->GBP->USD etc, assuming all conducted at the same time?
I assume they should all give the same amount of USD?

Anyone ever transferred bank from IBKR? Not possible to use Instarem/TW right. Direct wire to your name, so easiest would be a SG bank account, or a Malaysian foreign currency account? What are the bank charges involved & the forex spread?
Not really. Depending on the middle currency.

Yes been there done that. IBKR-> SG bank account. Free of charge as it's considered local transaction. SGD->SGD
IBKR give you one free withdrawal a month. If you exceed that you pay I think USD25/withdrawal.

I don't transfer back to RM. For what? My RM once transferred out is considered one way ticket. It's never coming back to Malaysia (I don't intend to bring money back to mslaysia)
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2020, 08:57 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(VincentCS @ Apr 24 2020, 08:51 PM)
This might sounds dumb, but does anyone here know IB can withdraw money to Instarem, and then transfer to Malaysia banks?
You cannot use instarem to bring back money. Theoretically you can. You need to have bank account in that country. Then you need to open instarem in that country. That is if instarem service exist in that country. There are better rates products then instarem but for malaysia they are more or less what we got.

Summary eg (USD)
IB (USD) -> US local bank account (USD) -> Instarem (US) -> Malaysian banks

Yes possible. If you don't have overseas bank account, and don't have overseas instarem account, forgot about it.
Ramjade
post Apr 25 2020, 12:37 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(keropok88 @ Apr 25 2020, 11:30 AM)
Hi, I have succeeded in transferring funds via Instarem using the SGD method.

But how do I withdraw the USD in my IB account to my maybank (RM) bank account?
Select Malaysia as your receiving country. Just prepare to pay more and received less than what's stated.
Reason
1. Intermediate bank will take a cut
2. Maybank will take a cut.
3. Fees.

So example if you are expecting RM10k, you might received only rm9700. Which is normal. The only way to receive the full RM10k is withdraw to overseas local bank account. Then use fintech to bring money back.

With fintech you lose only like RM50. Instead of rm300. This is just an example an day not be accurate. But from experience that's what happened.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 25 2020, 12:38 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 25 2020, 02:54 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(keropok88 @ Apr 25 2020, 02:48 PM)
Thanks for the reply. By that do you mean I select transfer funds -> make a withdrawal -> select bank wire -> choose Malaysia as bank country  - > fill in bank details?

Just out of curiosity, I cant transfer from maybank to IB directly but I can transfer from IB to my Maybank directly?
Yes. That's right. There will be overseas wiring charges from IB, incoming charges from Maybank + banks will increase the exchange rate slightly (hidden, not shown to you). So you received less then that what you expect.

Theoretically you can. Maybe because last time done via counter bank straight reject. But now can be done online (cannot nego for discount) so it can pass through.
It up to bank to approve the transaction.
IBKR -> maybank usually no issue.

Again if you use banks just prepare to give banks more money and you have less money for yourself. Outgoing wiring fees, intermediate bank fees, Maybank incoming fees, markup exchange rate by maybank.

That's why I never use the bank way. More convenient but more charges. Long term it eats into my money. Cost is something I can control myself.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 25 2020, 03:00 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 26 2020, 09:47 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 26 2020, 09:07 PM)
you like to strike fear into noobs...lol

actually bank fees are low but rugi much from their high forex spread...
Is not fear. Is facts. Yup fees is OK but it's the rate bank gives which is the main killer. How much they markup.
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2020, 01:40 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Apr 30 2020, 01:34 AM)
Just wondering which IBKR platform do you all mostly use? TWS, Webtrader or Mobile? I think most serious investors use TWS? But to me it seems so complicated and the UI looks like its was created in the DOS age. I mostly use Webtrader / Mobile only. I think TWS is more powerful and gives you more options as well, but every time I try to use it I'm at a total loss.
Use what you are comfortable with.
I use tws only for converting currency (fxconv)
Then I put in my buy order.

If my money already converted before I use webtrader, client portal.
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2020, 04:47 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(francistcc @ Apr 30 2020, 04:29 PM)
I'm in the mid of account opening with TSG. it directed me to Interactive Broker page for application. what kind of account type and base currency should I choose? Cash, margin, or portfolio margin?
Cash if you want to sleep well at night. Pros is you need to add money before you can buy
Margin if you want to borrow money from interactive broker. You don't need to topup before you buy. Buy there are charges. Get ready for margin call and forced sell if the price of stock fall below the needed value. More stressful.
Don't know what portfolio margin. Don't care for me.
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2020, 05:46 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(francistcc @ Apr 30 2020, 04:51 PM)
can i setup as cash account first then later change to margin?
or if i setup as margin account but i add money first to my account then the trade wont be consider as margin trade right?
Can. There is option to change later on inside interactive broker.
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2020, 08:29 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Sparroking @ Apr 30 2020, 08:02 PM)
Hi all,
I am new here. Appreciate if someone can advise whether can remit funds online by Maybank to Interacctive brokers.

How do we know the funds would be credited to our account. TQvm
Can. Just that you use more RM/foreign currency that you wish to remit = paying extra money/unnecessary money to maybank.
Login into interactive broker client portal to transfer money. Select the sending bank, foreign currency you want, amount you want. Create this transaction under transfer funds. Login maybank and initiate the transfer as you input into interactive broker when you create the transaction

Log back into interactive broker 2-3 days later. Yes 2-3 days later. See your money under your portfolio should increase. If you see lesser, don't panic. It's correct. It just means maybank eat up some money biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Why so slow? Because you are not doing a local transfer. A local transfer takes like 1-2h to be completed. (same currency interbank transfer. Eg My bank account -> MY bank account).
This is because interactive broker does not support local transfer from Malaysia bank.
You can only wire your money to interactive broker and it takes time for wiring.

Can you do a local transfer?
Yes if you have foreign currency in another country like SG, HK, AU, US, EU.
Alternatively can use instarem to transfer all currency except USD. Instarem is cheaper and faster than Maybank.

39 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.3930sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:56 AM