Stock Market for beginners, Stock Market Courses?

TSUsernameCopied
post Sep 16 2019, 04:54 PM, updated 7y ago

190 posts

Hello sifus,

I want to start learning about stock market. How did you start and what is your advice for beginners?

Tried googling stock market courses and found so many... not sure which is good or if it's a scam or not? What do you guys think?

Already read LYN stock market FAQs & Guide, T+3, Dividends, commissions/fees, etc... to try and understand the basics but eager to learn more... any help is appreciated
ketnave
post Sep 16 2019, 05:00 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(UsernameCopied @ Sep 16 2019, 04:54 PM)
Hello sifus,

I want to start learning about stock market. How did you start and what is your advice for beginners?

Tried googling stock market courses and found so many... not sure which is good or if it's a scam or not? What do you guys think?
Already read LYN stock market FAQs & Guide, T+3, Dividends, commissions/fees, etc... to try and understand the basics but eager to learn more... any help is appreciated
You can check out for events for roadshow here:
https://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/eventcal.jsp

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/
http://www.bursamarketplace.com/

For TA
Companies like Chart Nexus offers free seminar on how to use their tools
Ramjade
post Sep 16 2019, 07:27 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(UsernameCopied @ Sep 16 2019, 04:54 PM)
Hello sifus,

1st have you got your emergency cash stored up? Can you tahan if you are out of job for say 2 years? These are the basic.
2nd determine what kind of investors you are.
Dividend investing, dividend growth investing (buying companies with increasing dividend), value investing (buy something you think oversold and not at real value and wait for price to pick up), growth investor (buy growing companies usually small companies and hope to profit big time), player (treat the stock market like a casino), trader?
Are you a local or international investor?
3rd what will you do if a stock drops 30% in value? What are you going to do?
4th Will you employ leverage (take loan from brokerage and buy using borrowed money)?

After answering those questions yourself (I don't need the answer, is for yourself)
Here are some resources for you or read.
https://dividendmagic.com.my/stock-investment-malaysia/ (dividend investing slow lime tortoise for Malaysian markets)
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.com/?m=1
https://www.mrtakoescapes.com/farmers-hunte...l-independence/
https://www.mrfreeat33.com/my-story/

Recommended books
https://www.sgbudgetbabe.com/2017/07/recomm...inance.html?m=1
https://www.mrtakoescapes.com/the-keys-to-w...hanged-my-life/
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot....and-ta.html?m=1

Avoid stock market courses. Most of the time they do more harm than good (sell you empty stuff/useless). Read financial blogs and books.
TSUsernameCopied
post Sep 16 2019, 09:55 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(ketnave @ Sep 16 2019, 05:00 PM)
You can check out for events for roadshow here:
https://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/eventcal.jsp

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/
http://www.bursamarketplace.com/

For TA
Companies like Chart Nexus offers free seminar on how to use their tools
Thanks for the info. I will try to attend the roadshows and seminars when they are in KL/PJ.
TSUsernameCopied
post Sep 16 2019, 10:05 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 16 2019, 07:27 PM)
1st have you got your emergency cash stored up? Can you tahan if you are out of job for say 2 years?  These are the basic.
2nd determine what kind of investors you are.
Dividend investing,  dividend growth investing (buying companies with increasing dividend),  value investing (buy something you think oversold and not at real value and wait for price to pick up), growth investor (buy growing companies usually small companies and hope to profit big time),  player (treat the stock market like a casino), trader?
Are you a local or international investor?
3rd what will you do if a stock drops 30% in value? What are you going to do?
4th Will you employ leverage (take loan from brokerage and buy using borrowed money)?

After answering those questions yourself (I don't need the answer, is for yourself)
Here are some resources for you or read.
https://dividendmagic.com.my/stock-investment-malaysia/ (dividend investing slow lime tortoise for Malaysian markets)
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.com/?m=1
https://www.mrtakoescapes.com/farmers-hunte...l-independence/
https://www.mrfreeat33.com/my-story/

Recommended books
https://www.sgbudgetbabe.com/2017/07/recomm...inance.html?m=1
https://www.mrtakoescapes.com/the-keys-to-w...hanged-my-life/
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot....and-ta.html?m=1

Avoid stock market courses. Most of the time they do more harm than good (sell you empty stuff/useless). Read financial blogs and books.
Thanks for all those links. Have spent the last 2 hours reading up on all of the resources you've linked, especially those written by Leigh on Dividend Magic.

I think my plan is to be 1/3 Hunter and 2/3 Farmer. Will only invest with cash instead of borrowing, especially since I'm still new to all of this.
jiant
post Sep 16 2019, 10:54 PM

1,785 posts

Sorry... I want to ask how to sell the loose shares? Eg 2030 shares how to sell the balance 30 shares? Currently using hlrbroking
Boon3
post Sep 17 2019, 05:44 PM

15,942 posts

Dividend magic??

I find it unreal that some folks hold dividends so highly.

As highlighted in the MReits thread, one can actually lose money investing in reits.

So please do own research and case studies and not simply accept what you read on the Web.

Yes, tons of good info but there are just as half truths and utter bs out there.

Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 05:57 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 17 2019, 05:44 PM)
Dividend magic??

I find it unreal that some folks hold dividends so highly.

As highlighted in the MReits thread, one can actually lose money investing in reits.

So please do own research and case studies and not simply accept what you read on the Web.

Yes, tons of good info but there are just as half truths and utter bs out there.
Know the company you want to buy in. Don't simply buy.
Boon3
post Sep 17 2019, 06:04 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 17 2019, 05:57 PM)
Know the company you want to buy in. Don't simply buy.
Yup. But that's besides the point.

There is risk in buying a stick just for its dividends.

Buying a cow just for the milk alone runs the risk if the cow cannot sustain its ability to give sustained milk.
Boon3
post Sep 17 2019, 06:06 PM

15,942 posts

I've no problem in preaching dividend investing but the preacher has got to show some integrity and decency to explain that there are risk involved in such investing.
Cubalagi
post Sep 17 2019, 07:58 PM

4,500 posts

My 2 cents advice for beginners:

1. The real training only start when u start trading with ur own real money. This is where the learning curve is highest. The possibility of losing a few thousand focuses the mind.

2. The best way to be successful in something is to be passionate about it. People put a lot of effort in things they are passionate about. Successful stock market trading requires a lot of effort.

3. There are many ways to go about stock trading. But as a beginner, don't spread your bets. Find 1 or 2 stocks that you like and hentam to the max.. (this is perhaps more controversial advice ).

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 17 2019, 07:59 PM
Boon3
post Sep 17 2019, 09:19 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 17 2019, 07:58 PM)

1. The real training only start when u start trading with ur own real money. This is where the learning curve is highest. The possibility of losing a few thousand focuses the mind.

2. The best way to be successful in something is to be passionate about it. People put a lot of effort in things they are passionate about. Successful stock market trading requires a lot of effort.

3. There are many ways to go about stock trading. But as a beginner, don't spread your bets. Find 1 or 2 stocks that you like and hentam to the max.. (this is perhaps more controversial advice ).
1. Don't like your point 1 at all. Really disagree. tongue.gif ( lol. Please don't get me started. Repeated on this far too many times b4. So let's agree to disagree. Lol)

2. Fully agree.

3. Like the idea but basically what one should know is position sizing.

Cheers
wanwaning
post Sep 17 2019, 09:32 PM

15 posts

Human live with guilt and ignorance, there is why every new comers will keep holding losses rather than cut their losses. Human preferred to live with delusion rather than to face the reality. They want security and never freedom.

They will ask a lot of questions and guess what? The questions will eventually come back to this: "Which stocks do you buy?". They are not interested in stocks but money. They follow the news all the time and believed it to be real.

When they lose money, it is NOT their fault but the market is unpredictable. When they do business and failed, there is nothing wrong with their products but people just dont appreciate them. They are not going to admit that they are the problem.

There is nothing you can do but ignore it. It happened over the ages. They are disciple looking for mentor and most disciple remain so and as such are inferior and certainly not teachable. The teachable ones never remain as disciple.

Such guilt and ignorance, their excess energy is channeled into distorted outburst and mass delusion.

This post has been edited by wanwaning: Sep 17 2019, 09:32 PM
Boon3
post Sep 17 2019, 09:36 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wanwaning @ Sep 17 2019, 09:32 PM)
Human live with guilt and ignorance, there is why every new comers will keep holding losses rather than cut their losses. Human preferred to live with delusion rather than to face the reality. They want security and never freedom.

They will ask a lot of questions and guess what? The questions will eventually come back to this: "Which stocks do you buy?". They are not interested in stocks but money. They follow the news all the time and believed it to be real.

When they lose money, it is NOT their fault but the market is unpredictable. When they do business and failed, there is nothing wrong with their products but people just dont appreciate them. They are not going to admit that they are the problem.

There is nothing you can do but ignore it. It happened over the ages. They are disciple looking for mentor and most disciple remain so and as such are inferior and certainly not teachable. The teachable ones never remain as disciple.

Such guilt and ignorance, their excess energy is channeled into distorted outburst and mass delusion.
Of course.

Every new year, their resolution? Get a better sifu!!

But hey... do give chance sikit lor to newbies... smile.gif
TSUsernameCopied
post Sep 17 2019, 10:59 PM

190 posts

I don't really care too much about dividends. I'd rather not get dividends if I know the company will put the profits back into expanding the company similar to what Amazon did.
Cubalagi
post Sep 18 2019, 01:25 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 17 2019, 09:19 PM)
1. Don't like your point 1 at all. Really disagree. tongue.gif ( lol. Please don't get me started. Repeated on this far too many times b4. So let's agree to disagree. Lol)

2. Fully agree.

3. Like the idea but basically what one should know is position sizing.

Cheers
On no 1. I won't get u started.. So I will hold my peace.. 😆

On no 3. This is because most newbies will start with small capital, 5k-10k perhaps.With that capital, better find one good stock and go for it. Maybe two. But don't position size to Rm500 n buy 5-10 stocks. There is one member here claim that he has like 10 counters with that amount of capital.

Boon3
post Sep 18 2019, 02:00 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 18 2019, 01:25 PM)
On no 1. I won't get u started.. So I will hold my peace.. 😆

On no 3. This is because most newbies will start with small capital, 5k-10k perhaps.With that capital,  better find one good stock and go for it. Maybe two. But don't position size to Rm500 n buy 5-10 stocks. There is one member here claim that he has like 10 counters with that amount of capital.
No. 3. Lol. Bad bad me. So sorry. Gave you a no head no tail reply. If you are interested do read up, win rate, profit expectancy and position sizing. Else you can search on the traders thread.

No. 1. WakakAwakawaka..... Sia Sia ni.
Boon3
post Sep 18 2019, 02:09 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(UsernameCopied @ Sep 17 2019, 10:59 PM)
I don't really care too much about dividends. I'd rather not get dividends if I know the company will put the profits back into expanding the company similar to what Amazon did.
You no understanding me lah.

Dividends is like bonus. The problem is some people pushing and pusging and make it The thing to go for.

This is risky.

Imagine the poor cow again. A good cow, as a bonus, can give milk beside itself. (does that sound crude?)

Now imagine an investor buying the cow just for the milk. What could go wrong? (this is your risk assessment). Well the cow can grow old. Or the milk it gives out, not as good. Or it gives out lesser milk. Etc etc etc. This naturally will cause the cow value to diminish and the poor investor could lose money since the milk (or bonus) it got from the cow, does not cover the cost of investment....

And this problem is reflected in the corporate world. As dividends decline, one will lose money despite getting the dividends....

This post has been edited by Boon3: Sep 18 2019, 02:10 PM
foofoosasa
post Sep 18 2019, 10:22 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 17 2019, 07:58 PM)

Good advice thumbup.gif
Smurfs
post Sep 19 2019, 07:48 AM

1,061 posts

My advice is, dont follow other's advice (mine especially) buta-buta as everyone's journey / experiences is different.

Have a cut loss strategy, strictly adhere to it and you will be fine biggrin.gif

0.0219sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:13 PM