4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Open Pod Filter VS Drop-In Filter, What are the differences?

sleepwalker
post Jul 6 2007, 09:09 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jul 6 2007, 01:29 AM)
Usually I prefer Open Pod, but it gives higher FC....how high? Do u know?
http://www.mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/
c this....

Yeah i know this...how much does it cost for heat shield n cold air intake?
K&N can work like Open Pod? sure or not? I wanna try leh...
I know, so open pod then must change the whole extractor, exshaut etc mah..
Mmmm...icic, I guess i take drop in then....coz dun REV, just want low end power more...
Wat r u trying to tell?
David,
The gains are based on a percentage and usually around 5% for turbos as the original factory filter is too restrictive for the engine. The impact is less on an NA engine, which is around 1-3% improvement.

The link that you provided on the above test is done on a Supra, with a base HP of 280HP. A gain of 5% is around 14hp, which is about correct. If you put the same filter into a 110HP 1.6 engine, you will only see a gain of 1-3HPs.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jul 6 2007, 09:10 AM
romen
post Jul 6 2007, 01:32 PM

1,278 posts

shinjite
post Jul 6 2007, 03:12 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Cahill
post Jul 6 2007, 03:36 PM

-- Type (R) --
2,754 posts

fillet
post Jul 6 2007, 03:38 PM

1,925 posts

the_catacombs
post Jul 6 2007, 09:23 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 5 2007, 11:51 PM)
ok boss

what about cleaning the filters? some are reusable. but how many cycle can they last?
basically washable ones such as K&Ns last for a lifetime, as long as it doesnt tear or physically damaged....
as for HKS ones, they are not rewashable... u need to change the sponge once it gets dirty...

so, i would also recommend u to get washable ones such as K&N or Apexi....

QUOTE(eng98 @ Jul 6 2007, 02:14 AM)
How much u willing to spend.... u can do the whole open port with heat shield cheap or expensive.. as cheap as 500 bucks also enough.... as much as RM1k and above also got.. speedworks charging around 700 for knn open pod and they heatshield...
i would suggest u to get branded testified air filters such as K&N, Apexi, HKS, Blitz and so on.... dun waste ur money on Monza, TypeR and so on...
as for heatshield and cold air intake... those u can diy install them as they doesnt require great engineering calculations and workmanship to achieve... understand how the air circulates around ur engine bay and how air flow works, u can do wonders with ur own hands...
TSDaViDcHiN
post Jul 7 2007, 01:14 AM

2,720 posts

QUOTE(Cahill @ Jul 6 2007, 03:36 PM)
with unmod engine, open port filter also wont give u extra power till can feel the difference, just some extra sound. during hot day, ur car may become more sluggish. open port also wont make ur car consume lots extra petrol.if u wish to go for open port, make sure it to get it done with proper heat shield and CAI.

the pros of after market drop in filter is washable & the element look nicer than oem  tongue.gif
U sure or not? FC won't be higher?
the_catacombs
post Jul 7 2007, 08:20 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jul 7 2007, 01:14 AM)
yes... FC wont be higher if u retune back ur AFR mixture....
jimmylim85
post Jul 7 2007, 09:08 AM

iPhone world....
7,832 posts

if use drop in filter on kancil carb, there is a problem where the engine oil always leak up into the stock air box. Damaging the air filter most of the time. Anyway to prevent engine oil from flowing up to my kancil stock air box?
matthewctj
post Jul 7 2007, 09:28 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 7 2007, 08:20 AM)
yes... FC wont be higher if u retune back ur AFR mixture....
Actually it will, just that it is not dratic that you suddenly lose 50km on a full tank. If you do not have a piggyback to tune, it may not increase but the powerband is erratic. But with a piggyback, more air requires more fuel. Look at your piggyback settings and you will note they will more than always +1 or more in fuel. But like I said, it is not drastic.

My piggyback + all others that I've seen +fuel, rarely -fuel.

Added on July 7, 2007, 9:30 am
QUOTE(Cahill @ Jul 6 2007, 03:36 PM)
with unmod engine, open port filter also wont give u extra power till can feel the difference, just some extra sound. during hot day, ur car may become more sluggish. open port also wont make ur car consume lots extra petrol.
if u wish to go for open port, make sure it to get it done with proper heat shield and CAI.

the pros of after market drop in filter is washable & the element look nicer than oem  tongue.gif
hmm.gif OEM filter inside airbox, cannot be seen, so no point looking nicer whistling.gif

This post has been edited by matthewctj: Jul 7 2007, 09:30 AM
Cahill
post Jul 7 2007, 12:20 PM

-- Type (R) --
2,754 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jul 7 2007, 01:14 AM)
of cos i am very sure. before i went into car modding, i heard all these stuffs, open port high FC, auto gear not suitable for straight flow exhaust, VS & grounding can increase power blah blah....the lesson i learnt, actually until u tried out all those mods urself dont draw conclusion as others told u. Now i understand all these stuffs only after i tried out myself.
Frankly speaking, u will only noticed higher FC after u bump up ur compression, change high cam, port polish & retune the ecu. Now my 1.8L RM70 only can go 250km. tongue.gif

shinjite
post Jul 7 2007, 02:17 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

but if automatic transmission, its better not to use open pod~~
My friend 1.5 Auto stock comes with it, former owner install, no pickup and drink a lot of fuel, power comes late.
TSDaViDcHiN
post Jul 7 2007, 03:52 PM

2,720 posts

Anyone install Drop-in??? Wat I wan is normal dirving...not high rev....now the low end power is really died.....2002 gti mah...ecu is siemen 1....the air filter...wira 1...wtf...
egiewan
post Jul 7 2007, 05:21 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

Open pod will cause high FC? I use my FC improved wor...no bullshit tongue.gif
sonic_cd
post Jul 7 2007, 06:05 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Jul 7 2007, 05:21 PM)
mine dropped a lil bit during rainy days .... haha ... but then someone explained it back in one thread sometime back .lol
TSDaViDcHiN
post Jul 7 2007, 06:08 PM

2,720 posts

For those whose FC get higher with Open pod, how much difference wud it be? how much lost per full tank?
the_catacombs
post Jul 7 2007, 06:46 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 7 2007, 09:08 AM)
if use drop in filter on kancil carb, there is a problem where the engine oil always leak up into the stock air box. Damaging the air filter most of the time. Anyway to prevent engine oil from flowing up to my kancil stock air box?
its engine oil or fuel that leaked to the airbox??... did ur engine jerk whenever u switch off ur engine??.... if yes, ur ignition timing too advance adi....
what happened is the ignition switched off and ur engine is still pumping in fuel... the fuel floods the combustion chamber (coz no spark to ignite it)... it overflows and pushes back upwards towards ur TB, thus leaking into ur airbox and damaging ur air filter....
get ur engine tuned... there shouldnt be any problem....

QUOTE(egiewan @ Jul 7 2007, 05:21 PM)
haha... agree agree nod.gif nod.gif
my car fc improves after changing to open-pod air filter.....
tcting
post Jul 7 2007, 08:50 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

With both from k&n, same manufacturer but drop in not so efficient...I noticed reaching higher speed in shorter time and better response with open-pod.
shinjite
post Jul 7 2007, 09:41 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

maybe not recommended for underpowered auto cars....
travis_ckf
post Jul 7 2007, 10:15 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jul 7 2007, 03:52 PM)
Anyone install Drop-in??? Wat I wan is normal dirving...not high rev....now the low end power is really died.....2002 gti mah...ecu is siemen 1....the air filter...wira 1...wtf...
On my experience on installing the drop in into my myvi (blitz sus air filter) does makes an improvement to my car, with better throttle response at lower rpm due to improvement (although minor) to the torque.

Unless if u really want to improve low end power, i suggest u go for an extractor change rather than air filter. 4-2-1 extractor will definery improve the low-mid range power.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0212sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:30 PM