[2019] Apple Watch Series 5 Discussion Thread | V1, You’ve never seen a watch like this.

louis198920
post Jan 13 2020, 12:35 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Melon @ Jan 13 2020, 08:46 AM)

Hi, went to Sg to get my SS apple watch 5 on Saturday to get the ECG.

But i haven't updated my watch to OS6.1.1 in Sg as it takes too much time (day trip only).

Will i lose my ECG if i update it in Msia? 

Sifu, pls enlighten me notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
as long as you have open the ECG app (activate and can use ECG functionality) while in Singapore, the activation flag will remain activated and sync together with your health data in icloud. Even if you reset the watch in Malaysia and re-pair it with your iphone also no problem.
louis198920
post Jan 13 2020, 02:59 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Melon @ Jan 13 2020, 02:15 PM)
ok, i trust you  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
haha, if for some reason ECG not working, can use the method used by other forumers to edit the activation flag also =p
louis198920
post Jan 13 2020, 04:06 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Melon @ Jan 13 2020, 03:40 PM)
shocking.gif

where is the method? In this thread?
Link, here you go
louis198920
post Jan 31 2020, 08:01 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(chriswo @ Jan 31 2020, 01:17 AM)
So it's a Singapore set? Unboxed and activated in Malaysia works? That's great.
First time ECG must be activated while in ECG-enabled country..
louis198920
post Feb 7 2020, 09:31 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(bleeper @ Feb 7 2020, 12:01 AM)
Too many pages to go through. Would like to know if I buy AW in MY and use it then when I go to SG next year for holiday for example, can I activate ecg then? Assuming MY still no ecg by then
MY serial number - in AW you wont be able to find ECG app, so you wont be able to "activate" it, simple as that.
louis198920
post Feb 7 2020, 09:32 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(hansomyy25 @ Feb 7 2020, 12:57 AM)
Anybody tried the cellular enable apple watch with u mobile? Can use with u mobile?
Currently supported carrier in Malaysia: Digi, Celcom, Maxis
louis198920
post Apr 12 2020, 03:02 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Apr 11 2020, 10:02 AM)
So this ecg feature can be activated in countries without ECG like Malaysia, Japan, Australia etc.

In addition my Apple Watch 5 was bought from Australia so no ECG function as it is not supported in Australia.

Will the ECG function only work in WatchOS 6.2? Will it be deactivated once I update later?
Read this to understand why it is able to work: Link

tldr; Apple can flip the switch anytime they want and this "exploit" will stop working. As long as you stay on the current proven working firmware, then the ECG will continue to work for you. As of now, iOS 13.4.1 and WatchOS 6.2.1 is still working (I had mine upgraded).
louis198920
post May 6 2020, 01:56 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ May 6 2020, 01:05 PM)
If using an account can unlock ECG, then what is the difference on activate using SG apple account to activate when at SG?

Did anyone try this method before? mind to share? After activate with given ID, can I switch back on my own ID for apps download?
The account sold online already have the activation flag saved in icloud, so when it syncs with your Health app, it enables ECG functionality on your watch due to some changes by Apple.

lets say you use SG apple account and is at SG, how are you gonna "Activate" ? your MY firmware watch will not have ECG app, so there is no way to "activate" it.

You need to understand that the recent change by Apple is that: if your health data already contains the activation flag -> enable ECG on your watch no matter the region it is bought from.
louis198920
post May 6 2020, 03:37 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ May 6 2020, 02:17 PM)
So this only one-off account activation for ECG function enable and after that can use back own account for health data sync and apps download to watch?
when you sign in the "supplied" account, you will sync their health data to your iphone, when the "activation flag" is in your health data, the watch app will automatically show you the ECG app. then you are supposed to log out that account and sign back to your own account, so that the "activation flag" that is now on your iphone, will be synced to your icloud health data. Just be warned that Apple can anytime choose to revert back to previous implementation and the ECG app will be gone, I am not saying they will, but they could if they want to.
louis198920
post Jun 24 2020, 01:25 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jun 24 2020, 12:46 PM)
By the way, as far as my understanding and experience go, i reckon that once the Apple ID is activated, there’s no way on patching this up. Once it’s activated, it will be permanent. Put it this way, if you got it activated in a region which supports the ECG function, will it get patched when you’re back to a region where ECG is not supported?
Hi, just want to share the misinformation regarding ECG activation on unsupported region's Apple Watch.

Read this link if you truly wants to understand the reason why we are able to activate ECG on unsupported region Apple Watch
Source: https://hiraku.tw/2020/02/6044/

TLDR:
During iOS 13.4 + WatchOS 6.2 development, Apple made a change to ignore Region checking if the Apple ID have already activated ECG before.

I highlighted the comments above because I want to point out that, even if you bought an AW from Malaysia and go to Singapore, there is no way for you to activate ECG because the ECG app is not even in your AW.

Edit: Forgot to point out that, Apple could just re-enable region checking in a future update on all Apple ID and Malaysia Region AW will lose the ECG functionality (I am saying it's possible, just not sure whether Apple will do it or not in the future). This is the reason why you will see sellers asking you not to update your iOS/WatchOS version because there is no guarantee what Apple will do in future software release.

I am currently on iOS 14 beta + WatchOS 7 beta and ECG functionality is still available on my Malaysia AW S5. But if I go into Health App, there is a new Health Checklist, it will list down ECG is not supported in my region, just saying that it's entire possible for Apple to do some simple checking and every Malaysia Apple Watch will lose ECG functionality even if your Apple ID contains the activation flag.

This post has been edited by louis198920: Jun 24 2020, 01:29 PM
louis198920
post Jun 24 2020, 01:59 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jun 24 2020, 01:33 PM)
That’s great to know. Thanks for sharing! But just Fyi, I got my main AW My version activated in SG. The reason behind could be what you have just shared.

By the way, if you could provide some screenshots on what you have mentioned on the latest beta will definitely help us on alerting the others! Thanks!
Wow, that's good to know actually. So you mean that you are able to see the ECG app in your MY AW when you are in SG? Because the "activation" of the ECG functionality actually happens when you open the app. It was previously not possible for Malaysia AW simply because we cannot find the app anywhere on our watch.

Here's some screenshot from iOS 14 beta:
In Health App, open your profile, select Health checklist:

This will list down all the features available to you:

EDIT: ECG functionality is still there on my AW though, not sure how Apple will handle this as we move nearer to iOS 14 release (somewhere Sept)

This post has been edited by louis198920: Jun 24 2020, 02:00 PM
louis198920
post Jun 25 2020, 10:11 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jun 25 2020, 09:46 AM)
The GUI looks really clean and amazing in iOS 14, my gosh! Good to know that the ECG functionality still works, but does the readings get recorded in the "Health app"?
yeap, I just tried it and it works just like how it was previously. Take ECG reading on watch, after end, notification on iPhone
louis198920
post Aug 3 2020, 08:34 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jul 29 2020, 03:25 PM)
Hmm my stated ECG is active - no mentioned of unavailable for region. I’m on iOS14 Beta + WatchOS 7 Beta as well.
yeap, that was from beta 1 =) it no longer appears as unavailable after beta 2

EDIT: also, it was probably just a bug on the health app, I was still able to use my ECG while on beta 1 previously, so no biggie

This post has been edited by louis198920: Aug 3 2020, 08:35 AM
louis198920
post Aug 28 2020, 08:12 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 27 2020, 08:56 PM)
My watch bought from SG.

Power button now working normal. If claims warranty at Malaysia. My ECG will not available on replacement unit?

Or now the MY unit is work with ECG now?
hi, hardware wise all Series 4 and Series 5 supports ECG functionality. The app itself is hidden by region. However, since watchOS 6.2 (I think), as long as your iCloud Health contains the ECG activation flag, then the ECG app will appear on your watch regardless of region. Hope this answers your doubt.
louis198920
post Sep 17 2020, 08:03 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 16 2020, 11:47 AM)
Okay so WatchOS7 is now live - a couple of new watch faces added from the Beta OS7.

Not much of a difference for me because I came from Beta 1 until the final Beta. For those who are new to Sleep Tracking and how to maximize your watch’s battery to utilize the sleep function is to charge it before sleep.

My watch takes about 1.5 - 2 hours to be fully charged and always 100% by the time I go to bed. By morning, my battery will be around 92-93% to start the day. This is usually sufficient for me to last the whole day since I only use the Workout App for my workouts and the rest is just standard notifications and looking at time / schedule.

I switched off the handwash feature, personally find it irritating.
I was using Autosleep app before sleep tracking was introduced and after trying out during AW beta time, I feel the Autosleep app is better at detecting sleep and less hassle (currently Apple Watch not able to automatically track your sleep, you need to toggle the Sleep button in your control centre to let your iPhone/Watch knows you are going to sleep).

For those with 2 Apple Watch (I use my Series 1 during bedtime), you can disable the Sleep Tracking on your S4/S5 by going into Watch app, Sleep, then select "Don't use this Watch for Sleep". Just a matter of preference, not saying one is better than the other.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0629sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:48 PM