The iPhone 11 Discussion Thread | V1, Just the right amount of everything.

ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 10:36 AM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 25 2019, 04:57 AM)
Anyway, just wanted to post a quick review - I actually bought the 11 for my little sister but she let me use it for a day!

Display: To be honest, coming from the iPhone XS Max, the drop in resolution is really obvious. I'm fine with LCD colors being not as punchy as AMOLED but I noticed when you view at photos taken by the camera, you'll see that it's a bit blur. When you zoom in, it is actually clear. I'm a photographer so maybe I find it more obvious. If you're not so particular about this then other than the gallery images, the display is good enough.

Built quality: This is Apple we're talking about. The built quality is really amazing. I prefer the brushed aluminum sides compared to my XS Max. The color. It looks GOOOD!!

Performance: Well it's using the latest chip from Apple. Won't say it's miles faster than my XS Max but if you're coming from a 7 Plus like my little sis, then the difference in speed is definitely noticeable!

Main camera: I really love it! Portrait mode now definitely supports subjects and because it doesn't use a telephoto lens, the images are not zoomed in. Image quality is really awesome! Night mode is pretty cool too. I noticed the difference between night mode and standard mode is not too drastic, but it does light up the image more. The wide angle lens is pretty good too - Won't say it's as sharp as the main sensor but it's definitely very usable.

Selfie camera: Definitely noticeably better in quality. Plus the angle is wider so you can fit more of yourself in frame. This is a massive improvement.

Battery: Again, coming from the XS Max, I'd say the battery did last a little longer than my XS Max. Definitely able to last through a day on heavy use. Unplugged at 8.30am, about 30% remaining at 6pm. I bought a 3rd party 18w charger and it charged up really quickly. I know some of you only charge at night but once you get used to this speed, you won't go back to 5W! tongue.gif

Other than that, really nothing much else to cover. I'm really amazed by everything on the 11 except for the display which I think is a major drawback for me. Anyhow! That's just me! For any of you out there who purchased the 11, be excited as it's really one hell of an iPhone!

PS: Images below shot with my XS Max  tongue.gif

[attachmentid=10319433] [attachmentid=10319434]
this is very good first impression. And coming from a photographer person!

im still deciding which one suits for my wife. long battery life and very good camera is all that she need..
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 12:10 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 25 2019, 11:13 AM)
Seriously the cameras are really great. If long battery life + great camera is all she needs, look no further. The iPhone 11 will serve you well.
Just don't forget to buy a quick charger too.
If you're looking for an affordable charger from Apple instead of 3rd parties, the iPad 12W unit is actually pretty quick. I'd recommend that. Plus you also don't have to buy a separate Type-C to Lightning cable like those PD chargers so that saves you some costs!  biggrin.gif
Okay that reason would be good enough. Its just her current phone are bigger than that in screen. not sure if that consider a downgrade if she gets the 11. For me, i feel it is. Still deciding between that or the Max Pro. laugh.gif

For the charger, lol i saw MKBHD throw it away. U do need a better charger all along.. well i will keep that in list. Thanks ! icon_rolleyes.gif
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 03:04 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 25 2019, 02:24 PM)
The only benefit I see for getting the Pro Max is better display. Other than that, I just can't justify the price difference of at least RM2K  mega_shok.gif .
I mean it does get an extra camera too but laugh.gif

The 11 is just so good. It shares so many hardware as the Pro. If only it had a 1080P AMOLED display, I'm sure sales for Pro will be affected.
Anyway, uploading another shot of the 11 to poison you guys further  rclxm9.gif
[attachmentid=10319728]
if the 11 have the same display, you can say bubye to 11 pro. nobody will buy that. not pro max though.. that is candy to everyone's eye. just need enough fulus to get it.

my wife won't find the telephoto of any good usage.. and for me the wide angle is very useful. The 11 is actually a sin from Apple laugh.gif
i dare say that for its lesser price and literally no difference in casual photoshoot. i mean think about it. If you are only holding an Iphone other than Ipad, whatever the 11 is offering is good enough. Like me, despite im using a flagship, i won't ever able to push its technical spec to the max as im a casual user only.

The only reason i think about the Pro Max for her was she is the type that love to watch Netflix on her phone. Downside is.. my note 10 plus also she feel heavy. what more is the pro max which is much heavier by lot.. 196gram vs 226gram.. holycow.. hahaha...

maybe i should psycho myself and think how good was the Iphone 4 and just be done with the 11. laugh.gif

ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 03:49 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Sep 25 2019, 03:40 PM)
Im dilemma about this 11 or pro max..

Screen, telephoto, bigger battery... extra appx 2500.. argh.. which one should I go for?

I’m not sure whether I’m ok to adapt the LCD.. while years using Amoled.. lol.. any recommendation?
i think its quite easy actually. My wife will be thankful that i even consider buying an Iphone for her. So for the very same reason i list down what she need :

1. She watches Netflix heavily on the phone. So she needs something comfortable to hold on onto. The Pro Max is shit heavy. so that's out.

2. She is only a casual user - casual photoshoot, casual video, instagram, FB and whats not. that's it. I know from her style, she is ideally an Iphone user. I remembered when she use her Iphone 6 64gb, she need sometime to fill that up. But then again, that was then when all images are created and size ideally to what is offered ( 16,32 and 64GB). So here, i know d. She only needs the Iphone 11 and max 128GB. It can last her good 3 years before another change.

3. Problem is me. I love spoiling my wife. And i hold a flagship. My eyes only see the Pro Max hahahahahah So that is why im still contemplating on which to get.

But the above speaks the obvious.. i should just get her the 11 and be done with it. The 128GB for me is like an equal buy to the 128GB of XR. But that is just me. And because of this reason, i might take the 256 GB instead. haha. u see where this go? keep upgrade upgrade and upgrade finally i fatality myself buy the Pro Max 512GB rclxub.gif laugh.gif
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 04:25 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Sep 25 2019, 04:08 PM)
Hahaha.. understood. I’m already spoiled by amoled for years.. I really dunno how the lcd will perform.. whether am I gone back down or what.. lol.. and my partner also spoiled by amoled for years..

2500.. that’s the thing I’m thinking.. 2 sets will be 5k extra ah.. lol
that's too bad bro... u can't undone the treatment to your eye. u will feel the downgrade. definitely. n u will not be happy.

so just dun mind the 5k, and get the what u aimed icon_rolleyes.gif
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 06:31 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Sep 25 2019, 05:08 PM)
Haha haha... 11 Tiffany color is so so nice.. somehow I found the yellow also different from the previous Xr
My god the more i realize the tiffany the more prettier it is! Apple did mentioned this year the colour is more towards Pastel.

N mkbhd din even bother to review the specs. He review the colour instead hahaha
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 06:35 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 25 2019, 05:53 PM)
Bro faster buy your wife the 11 and upload some poison pics here hahaha!
U know what, i think i might jusy get the 11. Yeah. And that would be the most fantastic Iphone purchase of the year. Black or tiffany? Wait. The purple looks nice too. Bahaha im so dead to choose. Coming 27th can buy on the spot? How does it work? I think preorder all out of stock d.
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 25 2019, 08:39 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(sramesh @ Sep 25 2019, 06:39 PM)
Yes we can walk in and purchase on 27th. Plenty of stock based on checks with Machines.
QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 25 2019, 07:21 PM)
Plenty of stock. Just check out the real color before you decide.
Good good this is good 🤤
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 09:16 AM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 26 2019, 08:33 AM)
1 more day biggrin.gif

Backing up all my iphone SE photo >.<
QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Sep 26 2019, 09:08 AM)
1 more day, can't wait..
I already prepared my mentality just incase i trigger happy. Lol
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 09:16 AM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 26 2019, 07:38 AM)
The 11 will fast charge too, just that need to buy the fast charger separately laugh.gif
What is the price of the fast charger?
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 10:54 AM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 26 2019, 10:36 AM)
Depends u wanna support original Apple or not :

18w wall charger - RM149
1meter usb c to lightning - RM89

https://www.apple.com/my/shop/product/MU7W2...dapter?fnode=97
https://www.apple.com/my/shop/product/MQGJ2...le-1-m?fnode=97
OR you can go for third party like UGREEN @ RM60 :

https://shopee.com.my/(Free-1-M-USB-C-to-Li...3440.2682490032
QUOTE(attw @ Sep 26 2019, 10:49 AM)
About RM150 or so, but bear in mind you’ll need to buy a USB-C to lightning cable as well. The other alternative is to just get an iPad 12W adapter. It’s not that fast from 0 to 50%, but overall still OK for the price.
Only for the Pro, not for the normal 11.
Okay thats a good price. Not sure if i want to use 3rd party. But maybe along the way. So that is Rm238 all in. X 2. One at home. One in office. Once i fot my hand on the slowpoke charger tha the 11 comes with. Im gonna do a video where i throw it away like mkbhd did. HAHA.

This post has been edited by ridox_orimabu: Sep 26 2019, 10:55 AM
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 01:09 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 26 2019, 11:11 AM)
Or RM60 x 2 = RM120

Or RM149 + RM89 + RM60 = RM298

Or RM149 + RM149 + RM89 + RM89 = RM476
Else you can buy official cable plus the head only Ugreen 3rd party 18w PD wall charger which cost RM33 biggrin.gif

Other alternate can see Aukey also
I just want to know if use 3rd party will i damage the battery faster or no such thing? I kinda have this one assumption on peoduct use on Apple but not official kinda stuff. Maybe im wrong ..
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 01:12 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Sep 26 2019, 12:04 PM)
Still dilemma.. lol.. iPhone 11 or pro max.. one last day to decide before go buy tomolow..
Im gonna get my wife the 11 only. Realize that the lifetime of this Pro Max is only 1 year anyway before they take it out again just like Xs and Xs Max by Sept 2020.

Only thing is colour... i think C63 manage to convince me on the Tiffany. But lets see how as my wife will pick up which in the end.

128gb Tiffany 11
Or
128gb Black 11.

Either way, the photo she will take starting from there will be like super upgrade so thats a big plus. Hahaha
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 01:57 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 26 2019, 01:46 PM)
so far should be ok?
And Apple lightning cable also need MFI certified nowadays.
QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 26 2019, 01:50 PM)
FYI I've been using a 3rd party charger for the past 1 year on my iPhone XS Max.
Battery is still great. Health is rated at 96%.
Thats great to hear. Shall look around then.
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 02:01 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 26 2019, 01:48 PM)
LOL! Seriously. Once you see the real thing you will understand how beautiful the Tiffany (aka Green) is. Heck it's nothing like green. It's Teal!

In my opinion:

1. Green (Teal): Nothing much to say other than it might be a little bit girly. But it's a GREAT color.from your nose)
2. Purple > This color is also really nice! Only thing is that when in darker environment, the purple looks a bit dark. You either love it or hate it.
3. Yellow > Not bad too. The lighter gradient compared to the XR looks nice. But the side aluminum that surrounds the phone has this slightly greenish tint (looks a bit like the booger
4. Red > Too damn red. like blood. if you like blood red this might just be your thing.

White and black no need to explain.
Me and my wife love Tiffany colour. Coz it varies. But since the Tiffany also sort of like THE colour for the new Iphone, along with the midnight green on the pro, i believe this colour will strike alot of sale. Easy to sell back also after usage. Haha.

Now i just need to convince my wife like how u poison me LOL.
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 02:04 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 26 2019, 01:54 PM)
Many people pointed this out too.
However, if you think about it, 4G is still shit in Malaysia. Heck sometimes we still get 3G.
If Malaysia can reach the level where there is awesome 4G coverage at any location in Malaysia that will already be a wish come true.
5G? Maybe another 5 years.

PS: The way 5G infrastructures work are also different from 4G. Speeds are high but it requires a lot of those 5G poles to be set up across the entire country.
Watch this video to find out more. Based on this, I don't think Malaysia can afford 5G at the moment (I might be wrong!)

Agree. 5g in Malaysia is still a very long distance idea what more is the implementation. I cant imagine though if one is fix just beside my house and in downloading the whole Netflix stuff in just 1 day.
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 02:40 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Sep 26 2019, 02:25 PM)
Actually I seldom watch movie on phone.. play games yes.. I watch movie on my iPad pro. Hahaha.. so I'm thinking whether it will be under utilize the pro max.. coz I went to see the XR lcd . After all not that bad actually..
The lcd is very good looking nonetheless. If it can satisfy a movie freak like me , I’m sure my wife will be too.

Just now I tried adding all the accessories including a 30w charger. It accumulate to 5 hundred plus. That’s the 30w charger,2m cable and a clear casing. Hahaha
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 03:21 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 26 2019, 02:50 PM)
Which charger you looking at?
This one

ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 04:20 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 26 2019, 04:16 PM)
No need 30W bro.... overkill and doesn't make a difference in charging speed. I think someone shared a graph before.
Ahh i see. My bad. So its no difference eh. No wonder nobody talks about it.

Cheaper in total then ahahaha
ridox_orimabu
post Sep 26 2019, 07:03 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 26 2019, 05:30 PM)
Overkill unless u wan wait next gen Iphone that support higher charge rate biggrin.gif

Which .. dunno how long will they support XD

if not wrong, Iphone 8 is the first gen that support fast charge which they doesnt indicate also
Hahaha guess it is overkill. If 18w also can offer 50% in 30 mins charge, the 30w ( if it does work, which is not and no point) sure like one plus mclaren.

0.0829sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:42 AM