8,667 posts

NetEase 3Q results: https://ir.netease.com/
foofoosasa
post Nov 16 2021, 08:58 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 16 2021, 01:42 PM)
Good day for China stocks after the Biden-Xi videocall.

Anyone adding?
Hibernate for a while already. Lol

Manage to lower my cost for tencent and baba few weeks back.

Hopefully can get some angpow before Christmas
The Nomad
post Nov 17 2021, 12:50 AM

35 posts

I have Tencent, Alibaba, JD.com, ChinaETF, among others, in my portfolio. But I'm not adding any HK/China stocks even though many are currently cheap.

Firstly, China under Xi is not the same as China under Deng, Jiang or Hu. More insular, less business friendly, more prickly, more micro-management, etc.

Secondly, HK/China stocks has had a lot of more downs than ups in the past 5-6 years (of course one could say the same about Malaysian stocks). The 2015-16 bust, the Trump trade war, HK protests, the recent govt crackdown.

Will not sell my holdings when they are at depressed prices. But in the next major reshuffle of my portfolio, China/HK will probably make up only 15%-25% of my holdings.
Cubalagi
post Nov 17 2021, 07:43 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(The Nomad @ Nov 17 2021, 12:50 AM)
I have Tencent, Alibaba, JD.com, ChinaETF, among others, in my portfolio. But I'm not adding any HK/China stocks even though many are currently cheap.

Firstly, China under Xi is not the same as China under Deng, Jiang or Hu. More insular, less business friendly, more prickly, more micro-management, etc.

Secondly, HK/China stocks has had a lot of more downs than ups in the past 5-6 years (of course one could say the same about Malaysian stocks). The 2015-16 bust, the Trump trade war, HK protests, the recent govt crackdown.

Will not sell my holdings when they are at depressed prices. But in the next major reshuffle of my portfolio, China/HK will probably make up only 15%-25% of my holdings.
What was the % of China in your investment portfolio?
The Nomad
post Nov 18 2021, 12:01 AM

35 posts

Currently 25%. It was >50% a few years ago.

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 17 2021, 07:43 AM)
What was the % of China in your investment portfolio?
SUSTOS
post Nov 18 2021, 07:35 PM

8,667 posts

Baba earnings out from HKEX announcement portal: https://www1.hkexnews.hk/listedco/listconew...21111800841.pdf

Financial statements can be found towards the end of the PDF document.

Presentation slides: https://www.alibabagroup.com/en/ir/presenta...s/pre211118.pdf

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 18 2021, 09:03 PM
ChAOoz
post Nov 18 2021, 08:55 PM

3,501 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 18 2021, 07:35 PM)
Baba earnings out from HKEX announcement portal: https://www1.hkexnews.hk/listedco/listconew...21111800841.pdf

Financial statements can be found towards the end of the PDF document.

Presentation slides will come later.
Disappointing earnings. But i guess that is partially to be expected with the China crackdown.
Sycamore
post Nov 22 2021, 11:58 AM

334 posts

Hello, sifu investing in HKEx and the Sino market.

Have you ever open local bank account in Hong Kong?
Have you done that before?

I have done some research. Foreigners are allowed to open local bank account per regulation yet
I read alot mixed feedback saying difficulties in opening bank account at Hong Kong.

I am thinking of making appointment with BoC, not sure will it works. Might visit Hong Kong next year 1Q.
https://www.bochk.com/tc/contact/online/hkpaccountopen.html

btw I read all 230+ pages of discussion about IBKR and 48 pages of this thread. tongue.gif
swiss228
post Nov 23 2021, 04:01 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Nov 18 2021, 08:55 PM)
Disappointing earnings. But i guess that is partially to be expected with the China crackdown.
Anyone planning to buy 9988? It's at the year's low, and since this is a red chip (was?), I am planning to go in at $133 and hold for a 2-3 year horizon.
CSW1990
post Nov 23 2021, 04:21 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Nov 23 2021, 04:01 PM)
Anyone planning to buy 9988? It's at the year's low, and since this is a red chip (was?), I am planning to go in at $133 and hold for a 2-3 year horizon.
For me won’t touch a stock that going downtrend and so many negative news for long term.
Why not consider 3690 or JD much much better in TA
swiss228
post Nov 23 2021, 04:23 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Nov 23 2021, 04:21 PM)
For me won’t touch a stock that going downtrend and so many negative news for long term.
Why not consider 3690 or JD much much better in TA
Thanks for yr input. Yes, it's a bad idea to buy stocks that touch lower lows every day. Will consider the stocks u mentioned.
TSHansel
post Nov 23 2021, 06:03 PM

9,361 posts

Problem is,.. bros,.. we don't know how long e need to wait for the counter to recover. Yes, given its fundamentals, and with China there, it will recover,... but when ?

If we go in and we're 'trapped', then we may lose out on opportunoty cost shld we have gone for other counters.

LIke myself and my US Cruise Ctrs now,... I'm trapped,....
TSHansel
post Nov 23 2021, 06:03 PM

9,361 posts

Problem is,.. bros,.. we don't know how long e need to wait for the counter to recover. Yes, given its fundamentals, and with China there, it will recover,... but when ?

If we go in and we're 'trapped', then we may lose out on opportunoty cost shld we have gone for other counters.

CSW1990
post Nov 23 2021, 06:31 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 23 2021, 06:03 PM)

Which US cruise counters you are in?
I have CCL as recovery bets but this round I plan add RCL if my order matched
SUSTOS
post Nov 25 2021, 09:15 PM

8,667 posts

https://finance.mingpao.com/fin/instantf/20...9f%e8%83%bdfail

[Column in traditional Chinese]

Good comment. I like the last line.

坦白說,若沒有散戶在二級市場「接貨」,大戶又如何有韭菜可收割呢?

"Honestly speaking, if not for the retailers who are willing to buy in the secondary market, how can the institutional investors harvest their profits in the first place?"

tongue.gif
Cubalagi
post Dec 3 2021, 10:58 AM

4,499 posts

Very painful time to be holding China tech names ...

How are u guys holding on?

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Dec 3 2021, 10:59 AM
thecurious
post Dec 3 2021, 01:10 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 3 2021, 10:58 AM)
Very painful time to be holding China tech names ...

How are u guys holding on?
Took the loss and cash out. The clamp down doesn't seem to be stopping any time soon. And the growth factors seems to be dwindling.
ChAOoz
post Dec 3 2021, 05:27 PM

3,501 posts

Im still balls deep in china tech.

What i learn after investing in china is that although their citizen are productive, china will always struggle to surpass US as no.1 in economic power due to their close policy as contrast to US open system and also their government struggle between balancing control vs growth.
-TcT-
post Dec 5 2021, 07:21 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Dec 3 2021, 05:27 PM)
Im still balls deep in china tech.

What i learn after investing in china is that although their citizen are productive, china will always struggle to surpass US as no.1 in economic power due to their close policy as contrast to US open system and also their government struggle between balancing control vs growth.
Same here. Neverending shit. CCP press down their own tech companies.
ChAOoz
post Dec 6 2021, 02:29 PM

3,501 posts

Alibaba to reorg and with emphasis on international commerce.

Well its about time they focus on that. Average down again today for 9988.

84 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:33 PM