Tanix Tx6 + pre-installed channels bundle

vignaroli
post Aug 30 2019, 05:14 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 30 2019, 04:33 PM)
.. there is no free lunch... u dun pay peanuts and get the world for free, reliable and smooth.
if so, everything collapses... so, u can understand what "free" means.
however, u can get adequate and decent stuff if u learn and do enough.

tanix is a fairly good brand, well known for low prices, decent hardware.
most popular is tx3mini (<rm110) - plenty discussed here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+380

tx6 specs look good, uses allwinner chipset, but had a reputation for getting hot, i.e. overheating...  better google it, see if fixed by now.
other tanix models using amlogic dun overheat - tx3mini, tx3max, tx5max.
regret to get the tx6, overheat and the air vent is not on the bottom....before i use H96 max rk3328 almost same overheating problem over 90 but adding a laptop cooler can bring down to 60 - 70.......tx3 mini even not that powerful but never go exceed 65....mostly working around 50

now if i wanna change new box will target amlogic only

This post has been edited by vignaroli: Aug 30 2019, 05:15 PM
vignaroli
post Aug 30 2019, 05:22 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 30 2019, 05:19 PM)
Haiz....

Thats why specs dun mean anything....better read/watch reviews.... and best, read comments from actual users.

Overheating is an issue mostly with allwinnwr and rockchip.

Much less or no complaints about that with other chipsets.
learn a lesson, sometimes have to view/test to believe..... tongue.gif
vignaroli
post Aug 30 2019, 05:24 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 30 2019, 05:19 PM)
Haiz....

Thats why specs dun mean anything....better read/watch reviews.... and best, read comments from actual users.

Overheating is an issue mostly with allwinnwr and rockchip.

Much less or no complaints about that with other chipsets.
if just overheating no problem, problem is the box picture quality will drop/judder, worst scenario it will hang /freeze
vignaroli
post Sep 4 2019, 03:23 PM

341 posts

https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5ivr0l.jpg

No sound from this spdif port when connect to external speaker .....seller inform me sound only from hdmi....that is av port...is it true?

Coz i saw from google it supposed to be spdif coxial port.
vignaroli
post Sep 5 2019, 09:37 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 4 2019, 06:36 PM)
the port must be wrongly labeled...!

looks like a composite AV or 3.5mm audio port to me.
spdif optical, spdif coaxial look like this:

most boxes today have only optical, only premium have both.

btw, tx3 mini and tx5 max have spdif optical port but not coaxial.

another reason why tx6 is inferior to most models alto it boasts of android9.
https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/05/5iyuhg.jpg
no sound when plug 3.5mm cable like this

https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/05/5iywTX.jpg

Seller said need plug this kind of cable
Too hard for me to find one as my speaker don have such composite

vignaroli
post Sep 5 2019, 09:41 AM

341 posts

anyway, just ordered a new box with cooling fan build in - mecool m8s max

tired of overheating issue, although amlogic s912 is an old model chipset, but maybe is more suitable one for me

0.0203sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:43 AM