Dog Lover Mamaktiam! V2!, A Place For Dog Lovers To Gossip...

crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 23 2007, 12:04 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 22 2007, 11:50 PM)
I've heard that shih tzu's are popular for their picky eating habits once they are given too much of human food...
tats y so far i don dare to simply gv any food other than his own treats and kibbles...LOL...anyone have this type of experience?
Yes, I had this experience with my late shih tzu. Ended up I had to give him homecooked meals till he was 12 years old.... so.... to lessen your trouble, might as well stick to kibbles lah heheheh.
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 23 2007, 11:04 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(won @ Aug 23 2007, 12:36 AM)
Thanks for the advice.  smile.gif
I will add the internal organs into the menu. I do add a little bit of garlic into the chicken sometimes,  but no sugar or salt added. Will try the vegetable puree also.

Originally I only feed kibbles to my dog , with Vit C and E daily (prescribed by vet).
However, he still fall really sick (twice). During the last sickness, he couldn't take any kibbles /can food at all so I end up cooking for him to get him eating. He has now recovered and I started feeding him kibbles again. I am just wondering that maybe adding some fresh food to his meal may help him to boost up his immune system a bit. I do notice that during the period of feeding him fresh food, he poo much lesser.  tongue.gif He is not picky on his food at all  and willing to eat anything.
Maybe your dog is allergic to something in kibbles.... you can try holistic but go for the ones with only chicken meat....

Anyway, if you see that the homecooking improves your dog's health, then you stick with it. Sometimes different dogs have different requirements. It is true that feeding fresh food will make dogs poo less.... coz the dog ends up absorbing all the nutritious stuff. Those dog food make dogs poo poo alot is coz its filled up with fillers like corn or wheat.

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Aug 23 2007, 09:52 AM)
Is pig liver ok ar? Last time I feed my late dog with pig liver + rice thrice a week but then stopped feeding him with it coz read in the papers that the farmers where injecting the pigs with something. If it's safe, I'm thinking of giving them some pig liver once a week as a treat.
Yah, it is ok. Once a week is good enough coz internal organs are high in Vit A.... but it is good to give them a bit. Get the pig liver from a trusted supplier.... well, even chicken liver is dangerous too coz of the hormones and antibiotics injected into them but then we still eat. As long we take in moderation is good enough. So we just apply that to our dogs, give them internal organs in moderation is fine.

Added on August 23, 2007, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 23 2007, 10:22 PM)
anyone interested in this trip?? laugh.gif

http://www.puppy.com.my/afamosa/
It was discussed before in a thread. If you area newbie to it, it will sound awesome.... but then you aren't really vacationing with your dog since the dog will be locked up most of the time in the living quarters and only allowed during pp.com's games.... I find that.... well.... pointless. Might as well you bring your dog to a beach or field where you can spend time with your dog. Afamosa don't allow dogs into their parks if you wanna bring them out. They only let you bring when the games are held and also only in the living quarters.... depressing loh.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Aug 23 2007, 11:07 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 26 2007, 09:46 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 26 2007, 05:01 PM)
I think M.Schnauzer is good for you. Try to contact jtl and look at her signature, her MS looks super adorable. Shih Tzu is very stubborn dog so you have to belasah them (if you have the heart), hahahaha...

Today, I brought Casper out to cafe to have tea with my gf and frens... Then a lady brought her baby daughter age 3 or so come and play with Casper. When I told Casper to sit, the baby daughter sit on the ground. Then the mother say "People asking the dog to sit, not you to sit... why you sit?!" Everyone lol-ed..

I just saw junnie_87 posting a lot in free.com.my. Is she a dog breeder or a pet store owner? Anyone can enlighten me?
She is a dog dealer/ agent. All those dogs are not hers..... maybe 1 or 2 are her bf's breeding, not sure.... but when getting dogs from any dog agent or dealer, beware of the health for I have heard my fair share of problems from dog dealers and agents doing business in LYN's GS...
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 29 2007, 11:31 PM

12,047 posts

Thread closed coz new thread opened.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0378sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled