QUOTE(10071985 @ Oct 16 2020, 01:12 PM)
Actually I didnt buy this dumbbell.I bought the normal adjustable dumbbell where I have to rotate the collars at both sides to change weight
Advice needed for home gym
Oct 20 2020, 08:54 AM
1,799 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Oct 25 2020, 11:12 PM
104 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
what other power racks do you all recommend?
Nov 2 2020, 04:22 PM
376 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: K.Hills |
QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Sep 24 2020, 09:20 AM) Not TS, regarding dumbbells, I see that many people love to buy a dumbbell rack for their home gym and then have fixed dumbbells for each weight. i'm one of those who prefer the basics for dumbell, i have the space (a 850cm x 850cm~) room specifically for gym eq's, so i opted to get a dumbell rack just because it completes the "look".If space is a concern, is it better to buy a adjustable rubber dumbbell? And probably cheaper? I only have to waste a bit of time by removing the rubber plate. But if space is a concern, i still will stick to those basic hex-dumbell, fixed dumbell, because i tend to drop/be rough with the dumbells - but don't get too many, maybe just 3-4 within your weight range, and don't get a rack, just stack them on the floor. To me, weightlifting should be kept simple, and i find bowflex type dumbell adds unnecessary complication, just get me a some fixed db, a simple powercage without fancy attachments, an eleiko bar, and any china-brand oly plate and i'm golden. |
Nov 2 2020, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(zhenhao @ Oct 25 2020, 11:12 PM) the latest stock of basic powerrack from savage gear is good.some might say it's small (ie. internal depth is around 50 - 55cm only, and width is smaller then most commercial gym power racks), but i find that "smallness" kept my form in check, hell you wouldn't need to be stepping back more then 1 step after unracking the barbell for squats anyway, and your bar path for most lifts are usually vertical anyway so there's no point in have so much real estate inside a cage when most of the time the emphasis of weightlifting is solid, stable, immovable base- unless you're >6ft, 100kg above - then look elsewhere. i can do ohp/squat/deadlift (lazy move the barbell outside lah, way easier to slide out the safeties only)/flat&incline bench/rows/chinup&pullups all with this small cage |
Nov 2 2020, 04:34 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
966 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(Spitzer @ Nov 2 2020, 04:31 PM) the latest stock of basic powerrack from savage gear is good. If you can do the OHP inside the rack, that's a plus.some might say it's small (ie. internal depth is around 50 - 55cm only, and width is smaller then most commercial gym power racks), but i find that "smallness" kept my form in check, hell you wouldn't need to be stepping back more then 1 step after unracking the barbell for squats anyway, and your bar path for most lifts are usually vertical anyway so there's no point in have so much real estate inside a cage when most of the time the emphasis of weightlifting is solid, stable, immovable base- unless you're >6ft, 100kg above - then look elsewhere. i can do ohp/squat/deadlift (lazy move the barbell outside lah, way easier to slide out the safeties only)/flat&incline bench/rows/chinup&pullups all with this small cage I cant do the same in the decathlon unit I bought, it would clash with the upper frame. |
Nov 2 2020, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Nov 2 2020, 04:34 PM) If you can do the OHP inside the rack, that's a plus. Yeap - just barely, if i were to wear squat shoes and OHP in it, it'll touch.I cant do the same in the decathlon unit I bought, it would clash with the upper frame. If it's someone 6ft+ confirm cannot, the rack is 230cm in height - and i tested it on their showroom before i bought it |
Nov 19 2020, 03:25 PM
24 posts Joined: Oct 2020 |
QUOTE(jasonix @ Aug 17 2019, 07:22 PM) Thanks for sharing this! |
Jan 13 2021, 03:09 PM
Probation
35 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
hi all,
I am planning to add this bench to my home gym as the only thing possible for my leg workouts currently are just squats which can be quite fatiguing. Just wondering if anyone has tried this kind of bench before or any opinions on it. https://shopee.com.my/BPS-Master-Six-Power-...83335.367481246 ![]() |
Jan 18 2021, 03:51 PM
614 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
QUOTE(Aljfg @ Jan 13 2021, 03:09 PM) hi all, did you purchase? its cheap, but nt sure about the qualityI am planning to add this bench to my home gym as the only thing possible for my leg workouts currently are just squats which can be quite fatiguing. Just wondering if anyone has tried this kind of bench before or any opinions on it. https://shopee.com.my/BPS-Master-Six-Power-...83335.367481246 ![]() |
Jan 18 2021, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Oct 20 2020, 08:54 AM) Actually I didnt buy this dumbbell. I think if buy the adjustable dumbell with the spinning collars is much cheaper than the Bowflex type of dumbells right?I bought the normal adjustable dumbbell where I have to rotate the collars at both sides to change weight Just not sure if the bar itself can handle up to 30kg and above without breaking, if we buy the cheap kind of dumbell from Lazada or other place |
Jan 18 2021, 04:02 PM
Jan 18 2021, 04:35 PM
1,799 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(NGV22 @ Jan 18 2021, 04:01 PM) I think if buy the adjustable dumbell with the spinning collars is much cheaper than the Bowflex type of dumbells right? Yea. Definitely cheaper than Bowflex but since I only use it up to 10kg only so I can't tell if 30kg will work or notJust not sure if the bar itself can handle up to 30kg and above without breaking, if we buy the cheap kind of dumbell from Lazada or other place NGV22 liked this post
Jan 20 2021, 10:31 AM
Probation
35 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
QUOTE(NGV22 @ Jan 18 2021, 03:51 PM) The quality is not bad, I mainly use it for the extension feature, the preacher curl and leg curl feature are subpar. But for its price it is pretty worth it. NGV22 liked this post
Jan 29 2021, 02:12 PM
109 posts Joined: Aug 2019 |
Any bros have a home gym in condo?
My condo gym closed more than a year now and don't really have good equipments for compound movements so I'm thinking of getting a power rack from savage gear, but not sure if the tiles or floor loading can handle the weight. I worry if over time, the weight will cause the floor to sunken. Used to squat heavy almost daily at external gym but with Covid, all closed and I really miss it. Any bros can share tips/experience? Thanks in advance. |
Jan 29 2021, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(likeazit @ Jan 29 2021, 02:12 PM) Any bros have a home gym in condo? My quick recommendation would be to invest in mats as opposed to having the weights be installed directly on tiles. I routinely check mine on a quarterly basis and use a level to check if my house floor is bowing.My condo gym closed more than a year now and don't really have good equipments for compound movements so I'm thinking of getting a power rack from savage gear, but not sure if the tiles or floor loading can handle the weight. I worry if over time, the weight will cause the floor to sunken. Used to squat heavy almost daily at external gym but with Covid, all closed and I really miss it. Any bros can share tips/experience? Thanks in advance. |
Jan 29 2021, 08:26 PM
109 posts Joined: Aug 2019 |
QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Jan 29 2021, 02:26 PM) My quick recommendation would be to invest in mats as opposed to having the weights be installed directly on tiles. I routinely check mine on a quarterly basis and use a level to check if my house floor is bowing. Thanks for replying boss.Yup, definitely will get mats or else neighbor below sure will complain whenever I'm re-racking. How long have you had your gym setup boss? Also, is it safer if I place it near beams? |
Jan 30 2021, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(likeazit @ Jan 29 2021, 08:26 PM) Thanks for replying boss. I've had the rack for about 1.5 years now and just added a treadmill in sep 2020. I see no harm in putting it near beams but it might not be necessaryYup, definitely will get mats or else neighbor below sure will complain whenever I'm re-racking. How long have you had your gym setup boss? Also, is it safer if I place it near beams? |
Feb 6 2021, 12:00 AM
1,454 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: BumiRaja🦸 |
My house too small doesn't fit any power racking .Barbell and weight plates ,floor mats is my home gym
Feb 22 2021, 11:35 AM
53 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
QUOTE(Spitzer @ Nov 2 2020, 04:31 PM) the latest stock of basic powerrack from savage gear is good. how much did you got the power rack for?some might say it's small (ie. internal depth is around 50 - 55cm only, and width is smaller then most commercial gym power racks), but i find that "smallness" kept my form in check, hell you wouldn't need to be stepping back more then 1 step after unracking the barbell for squats anyway, and your bar path for most lifts are usually vertical anyway so there's no point in have so much real estate inside a cage when most of the time the emphasis of weightlifting is solid, stable, immovable base- unless you're >6ft, 100kg above - then look elsewhere. i can do ohp/squat/deadlift (lazy move the barbell outside lah, way easier to slide out the safeties only)/flat&incline bench/rows/chinup&pullups all with this small cage |
Feb 22 2021, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(PCMasterRace @ Feb 22 2021, 11:35 AM) rack only is around 2k i think, i got the xmas promo, include barbell, plates, rubbermat 100cm x 100cmat first i was checking out the eleiko set since it's a lifelong investment, 16k for rack, 3k for bar, 10k set of plates, but once i bought the savage gear ones, it's already good enough for me with no intention to upgrade already. |
| Change to: | 0.0209sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:21 PM |