Advice needed for home gym

TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 17 2019, 06:58 PM, updated 4y ago

960 posts

EDIT June 23 2020

So I got the Decathlon rack in post #2 and have been using it for a while now.
I would really like a second bar holder but decathlon doesnt sell this separately.

Anyone know where I can get another set? I am comfortable with buying from Taobao if needed.
Purpose is so that I dont need to unrack the bar, swap the position of the holder and re-rack.

This is what I'm looking for:

Original post:

Here is what I'd like to have in my gym

1. Squat rack
2. Bench
3. 1 full length oly bar (86")
4. One set of weights
5. 3m x 3m floor padding

For those that have home gyms, could you advise me on the following

1. Place in klang valley or seremban/nilai area that has sample equipment that I can see for myself. Most sport stores only have catalogs

2. Pros and cons of your setup.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Jun 23 2020, 11:21 AM
jasonix
post Aug 17 2019, 07:22 PM

28 posts

Biggest Decathlon store at Shah Alam

https://www.decathlon.my/p/8491828_weight-t...-back-work.html

TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 17 2019, 07:38 PM

960 posts

QUOTE(jasonix @ Aug 17 2019, 07:22 PM)
Whoa

I didn't know decathlon had these. I havent seen them in the USJ or Damansara branch
Armesh
post Aug 18 2019, 03:14 AM

1,485 posts

Last week saw in Scott Garden Branch
DrBarbarian
post Aug 18 2019, 08:59 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 17 2019, 07:38 PM)
Whoa

I didn't know decathlon had these. I havent seen them in the USJ or Damansara branch
saw it at damansara branch couple months ago.... price and quality seems decent....

I got most of my stuff from fitness factory in shah alam... near i city.....
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 18 2019, 09:01 AM

960 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Aug 18 2019, 08:59 AM)
saw it at damansara branch couple months ago.... price and quality seems decent....

I got most of my stuff from fitness factory in shah alam... near i city.....
Do they have squat racks as well or are they mostly machines?
DrBarbarian
post Aug 19 2019, 09:01 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 18 2019, 09:01 AM)
Do they have squat racks as well or are they mostly machines?
they do have squat racks... you are not considering the power rack?
helven
post Aug 19 2019, 12:45 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

https://www.facebook.com/desiregymmalaysia/
They have loads of stuffs.
But if you're able to ship stuff from China, you can find the equipment they sell. Of course no warranty, once purchase, you're on your own to talk to the merchant if your item damaged or missing.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=559672260241

Things you might missed, could be not a big deal
1. Squat rack hole that fits your needs. China rack tends to not have many hole near the height where you rack your bar for bench press like expensive rack does

2. Rack width and pole diameter
China rack tends to be slimmer, like 1.5" than standard 2" where can you find alot of accessories from 3rd party vendor,

3. Bar weight
Not all bar is weighted 20kg.

4. Bench height (could be big deal for you cant lay your feet properly)

5. Bench stability. Good bench is very expensive. I still prefer the one I build with wood.
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 21 2019, 06:38 AM

960 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Aug 19 2019, 09:01 AM)
they do have squat racks... you are not considering the power rack?
I'll consider if the price is right.

Do you know where I can get a mini barbell jack?

https://www.amazon.com/Deadlift-Unload-Barb...s/dp/B01MUI2JG5
DrBarbarian
post Aug 21 2019, 08:56 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 21 2019, 06:38 AM)
I'll consider if the price is right.

Do you know where I can get a mini barbell jack?

https://www.amazon.com/Deadlift-Unload-Barb...s/dp/B01MUI2JG5
you seriously need/want this? I dun even know it exist.....
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 21 2019, 09:32 AM

960 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Aug 21 2019, 08:56 AM)
you seriously need/want this? I dun even know it exist.....
Yes
I didnt know it exists until I used it in a gym

Very convenient for changing plates
helven
post Aug 22 2019, 02:17 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 21 2019, 09:32 AM)
Yes

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=523122764296
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=595624086464

This post has been edited by helven: Aug 22 2019, 02:40 PM
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 25 2019, 09:36 PM

960 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 22 2019, 02:17 PM)
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=523122764296
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=595624086464

Thanks, now I need to find out how to purchase on taobao.

Got any tips?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Aug 25 2019, 09:41 PM
helven
post Aug 27 2019, 12:59 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 25 2019, 09:36 PM)
Thanks, now I need to find out how to purchase on taobao.

Got any tips?

Thank you.
You can get agent to buy for you, look at service noticeboard section. Or ezbuy.
For heavy item, remember to use ocean freight which takes about a month to reach.
ToniV
post Sep 1 2019, 05:15 PM

2,372 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 17 2019, 07:38 PM)
Whoa

not bad the price
mikehuan
post Sep 3 2019, 02:12 PM

terrorhoof!
5,002 posts

did up my home gym from savage gears. HQ in damansara. Barbell, power rack, mats and weights.
Added wooden olympic rings from decathlon for variety.
Also recently purchased chains from hardware store for weighted dips and pullups.
TSCurrent Events guy
post Sep 3 2019, 02:17 PM

960 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Sep 3 2019, 02:12 PM)
did up my home gym from savage gears. HQ in damansara. Barbell, power rack, mats and weights.
Also recently purchased chains from hardware store for weighted dips and pullups.
Do you have a bench?
ToniV
post Sep 4 2019, 03:36 AM

2,372 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Sep 3 2019, 02:12 PM)
what's the price like?
ahpompom
post Sep 4 2019, 02:37 PM

113 posts

I also just gotten my stuff from savage gears. HQ here (https://goo.gl/maps/sLfMUWXNkQBL847r6) you may walk in for a try. I can PM you the guy in charge of sales if you keen. Their barbells are more professionally made, two variants. One for training use, RM5xx, another for amateur profession at RM8xx.

I am using the bump-plates, which is very friendly to condo tiles.

ahpompom
post Sep 4 2019, 02:42 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 21 2019, 09:32 AM)
Yes

IMO, for home use, try these silicone wedges instead. Even more convenient to use and store.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/deadlift...zQTSL0&search=1

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:00 AM