Advice needed for home gym

ahpompom
post Sep 4 2019, 02:37 PM

113 posts

I also just gotten my stuff from savage gears. HQ here (https://goo.gl/maps/sLfMUWXNkQBL847r6) you may walk in for a try. I can PM you the guy in charge of sales if you keen. Their barbells are more professionally made, two variants. One for training use, RM5xx, another for amateur profession at RM8xx.

I am using the bump-plates, which is very friendly to condo tiles.

ahpompom
post Sep 4 2019, 02:42 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 21 2019, 09:32 AM)
Yes
I didnt know it exists until I used it in a gym

Very convenient for changing plates
IMO, for home use, try these silicone wedges instead. Even more convenient to use and store.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/deadlift...zQTSL0&search=1

ahpompom
post Sep 4 2019, 05:42 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Sep 4 2019, 04:29 PM)
I checked out their site and saw they listed a bench at RM2100 and that's a bit too much for me right now.

Time to look into doing bench presses with a yoga ball.
I would suggest you to do floor press instead of doing it with yoga ball, the instability (thou give you slight core muscle exercise benefits that can be replaced by other safer options) are pairing with greater risk of injury.

Just use another plates to "alas" the weight plate and slide under the bar for floor press. biggrin.gif

Oh ya, no bench for me ATM, out of budget already....hahaha!

Target next year to get a flat bench (as light/simple as possible to move around) + a proper workout cage. (squat, bench press, dip, pull up....etc..)

This post has been edited by ahpompom: Sep 4 2019, 05:45 PM
ahpompom
post Sep 5 2019, 10:49 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Sep 4 2019, 07:08 PM)
Floor bench presses full ROM is up to the plates or elbows touch the ground right?

Feels weird that the bar wont touch the chest.
I shared your concern too, if you are still having access to gym, you may use the flat bench press to do a full ROM to perform press. Then home gym setup would be an assist to improve the performance of press by focusing on tricep activation + upper pectoral muscle, hence I will suggest a close-grip bench press with elbow touching ground. (close-grip means grip at shoulder length, not gripping palm next to each other, that one also prone to injury.)

Technically, with stronger tricep, with correct volume training in systematic ways, it will improve your bench press performance.

Side note: May be you can adopt GVT - German Volume Training 10x10@60%1RM .

hope this helps...

This post has been edited by ahpompom: Sep 5 2019, 10:51 AM
ahpompom
post Sep 5 2019, 11:13 AM

113 posts

A day: Chest And Back (Can do at home with Barbell setup)
Set 1: Barbell Bench Press - Close/Medium Grip - 10 sets, 10 reps (90 seconds rest)
Set 2: Bent Over Barbell Row - 10 sets, 10 reps (90 seconds rest)
Set 3: Chin-up - 3 sets, 10 reps (60-90 seconds rest)
(for upgrade, beside adding weights, you can do incline bench press for Set 1, or change Chin-up into Pull-up.)

Note: With 1-2 days apart between A and B day.

B day: Legs And Abs (You may do this at gym to utilize the relevant machines)
Set 1: Barbell Squat - 10 sets, 10 reps (90 seconds rest)
Set 2: Lying Leg Curls - 10 sets, 10 reps (90 seconds rest)
Set 3: Seated Calf Raise - 3 sets, 10 reps (60 seconds rest)
Set 4: Hanging Leg Raise - 3 sets, 10 reps (60-90 seconds rest)

Take note on the rest timing, I use my phone to record the rest time, strict or not strict depends on the stamina and form that day. Be adaptable to your own body's limits. biggrin.gif
ahpompom
post Sep 6 2019, 04:11 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Sep 5 2019, 05:30 PM)
I checked the link, seems like they are gym also? Macam a nice place to train
yeah, i visited the gym before the purchase done. It let you try all the equipment around before you wish to keep some at home.

Or if you stay near to Cheras area, I can recommend "Muscle Camp Gym" too, 24 hours. (RM15 per entry, or RM68 per month).

Both are fine for me, depends which area I'm in when i visit KL. rclxms.gif

0.0172sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:10 AM