7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Banks are racist in Malaysia, Any experience?

ClessRV
post Aug 16 2019, 11:17 PM

702 posts

I'm 'Other', Banks usually pening, so they just approve my applications.
tictac88
post Aug 16 2019, 11:29 PM

191 posts

on the other hand, affirmative action will help some people to borrow less loan, and therefore lower the risk due to the loan amount smaller. so overall it probably will just cancel out each other compared to other race which need to borrow more for the same type of house.

This post has been edited by tictac88: Aug 16 2019, 11:29 PM
SUSXnet
post Aug 16 2019, 11:38 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(lotter92 @ Aug 16 2019, 07:00 PM)
I'm bumi and wonder if this is the reason why my housing loan application was very hard to get approved, despite of my good DSR and clean CCRIS record. Applied to 3 banks, only 1 approved (although only 80%), only able to get 90% if joint name with my wife. SMH
Bumi - banks prefer their own kind
ak101ss
post Aug 17 2019, 12:04 AM

Tauke Mabuk Guinness Stout
449 posts

Mana ada. I Indian also my ctos ok jer, Citibank/HLB always offer me personal loan jer
thesoothsayer
post Aug 17 2019, 01:33 AM

954 posts

I'd imagine race would be behind other factors like:
Job stability
Qualifications
Leverage
Payment history

No point looking at something general like race, when you have so much specific data.

All things being equal, I'm not too sure how much weight would be given to race.

Pikichu
post Aug 17 2019, 08:56 AM

2,278 posts

Once I had to go to bank during lunch hour, number queue at CIMB.
I notice that a Chinese customer got poor service.
When next customer, a Malay, suddenly teller give good service.

When I shared this story in coffee shop, a journalist shared too.
That during bank annual meeting, half of meeting are all complaints to BOD.

If open post ask, surely majority will say not racists because that's locals do not see themselves that way.
Plus the majority of 70% gets decent to good service from majority staff.

In reality....

QUOTE(2feidei @ Aug 16 2019, 06:18 PM)
It call profiling based on race.....
if u good paymaster, good credit rating, nothing to worry.
Don't look everything within race and religion scope only
+1 One must ensure good credit payment.
Otherwise can blame it on anything because the core data is credit rating.

QUOTE(sameday @ Aug 16 2019, 06:21 PM)
u heard the thing call big data ? whatever the data tell them, they follow. nothing to do with racist.
Every bank in the world is the same, they rely on big data to guide them. All risk department rely on big data, from there they work out the profiling category.
assuming if you go russia or singapore or china and then work in bank, samething will happen, if in china, they will profile according to your kampung, what type of chinese u are, gender, school. etc..
bank are for business, they loan for profit, not NGO.
A loan officer has thousands of applications per day or week, how is the bank going to handle it?
Banks will use data, if credit rating record fail then how can you expect to pass ?

If customer is first time with no credit data then loan officer will decide based on other data.
If you live in same address as Najib then fail.
If you are young with no high income pay then only entitle to small loan.
If you open stupid post asking about racism in bank, then bank got offended, then fail.

QUOTE(HolySatan @ Aug 16 2019, 07:06 PM)
cimb
cina india melayu bangla
Majority of CIMB staff were from Bank Bumiputera which was link to BMF / Carian Investment scandal in Hong Kong.
Last year, a Razak was in CIMB's board of director.
As old man said, MY easily forgets.

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Aug 16 2019, 10:48 PM)
Gov stuff different  story cos very stable,  non gov one tomrrow u can lose yr job no 100% u can afford to pay. Gov one they terus tolak from gaji that why gov stuff can get a lower interrst rate compare to non gov job.
Bank staff also get special rate for loan and deposits.

Affirmative action does not help. That's why NEP never touch banks.
Banks are super powers that control politicians. Have you heard Goldman rule the world.
Govt had local banks spawned to loan to locals and industries.
BNM also approve micro loan schemes, partly because ah long / ceti loan sharks were making a killing. So banks did not want to be left out.

QUOTE(Xnet @ Aug 16 2019, 11:38 PM)
Bumi - banks prefer their own kind
+1 Yes.
In the end, where does money come from ?
Printing cost of RM100 = maybe RM0.20
Loan out RM100 interest about 6% = RM6
Customers repay loan of RM100 = RM106
Profit to bank : RM106 - RM0.20 = RM105.80

Example is simple but lots of banking matters, people do not understand except what they have been brainwashed or imagine.

So is bank racist?
maybe some of their staff are
banks are biased for profit. After all 1mdb did not trade with itself. See how many Goldman staff being prosecuted....

Lada Putih
post Aug 17 2019, 01:38 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 16 2019, 06:08 PM)
Local banks in Malaysia are racist. Is it true or false?

Few months ago, I still remembered I met a property consultant and were talking about house projects to buy.

While talking about income, DSR, and others related things, he said to me that within each bank there's a thing called, "Profiling".

What he meant by Profiling is that each applicant is been categorized with score to pass the house loan.

Example of Profiling:
Working: MNC? Normal Sdn Bhd? Enterprise?
Salary: Above 3k? Above 5k? Above 8k?
And bla bla bla etc etc...

The most important: Race/Bangsa: Melayu? Tamil? Cina? Lain-lain? Etc.

I meant very strictly here I don't mean any racist post and I do not want to see anyone simply commenting racially.

So,
1) The property agent told that if bangsa Cina then it's very much likely to approve the loan because the data in BNM shows people from Cina race are good paymaster and don't delay their commitment.

2) And, bank will consider more points when it comes to Tamil race. Abit tighter application than Bangsa Cina.

3) Melayu race is one of the most strict to go through screening and taking many things into consideration because the data shows people from Melayu race are default in loan payment or don't service the loan in time.

4) So, when it's comes to lain-lain race then the bank will only look into after looking into the main 3 races. As I'm Punjabi, so I will fall myself into Lain-Lain/other race which is in bracket (Punjabi).

Please guts, no racist or racial attack comment. MOD please pay attention on this thread.

My question how true is it the local bank practice such Profiling??? Or anyone go through such experience with bank?
More to do with holidays like hari raya and tahun baru cina Xmas and deepavali etc
yeezai
post Aug 17 2019, 04:02 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Aug 16 2019, 06:49 PM)
Kebanyakkan chinese keje positiion tinggi. kebanyakkan malay position tinggi sampai la ke grabfood majoriti malay.

aku kenal seorang.dia support biz aku since dari murah ke mahal bende.laki bini dia support aku. payment x pernah failed. siap suggest kawan dia guna services aku. nk kata tak tau harga. dia chatterd account ada company sendiri. ada 5 company under onw roof. bini dia pulak ada 3-4 company.  she chinese btw.

anak dia member lyn. tapi bukan jenis lepak kat /k/ i know this because i saw he open lyn page got his id
U tak nampak cinis in low position before ? U nampak banyak ore kito keja grabfood tapi tauka grabfood ni keja halal ..gaji blh sampai 3k++
JoeK
post Aug 17 2019, 05:55 PM

1,099 posts

It's about your credit score.
If you're a good paymaster, they will give you loan, CC etc. No problems.

You should not worry
ScooterBoi
post Aug 17 2019, 06:09 PM

1,372 posts

Few months ago, I still remembered I met a property consultant and were talking about house projects to buy.

While talking about income, DSR, and others related things, he said to me that within each bank there's a thing called, "Profiling".

What he meant by Profiling is that each applicant is been categorized with score to pass the house loan.

Example of Profiling:

I meant very strictly here I don't mean any racist post and I do not want to see anyone simply commenting racially.

And yet you did turned the matter racially yourself.

After just talking to one guy. After he did explained the factors and information on the loan application that the banks would need to determine whether to accept or reject the application.

What you have shown was the perception of the consultant on past statistics of who and what background would likely to have the loan approved or disapproved.

To think and suspect that the banks conduct racial profiling, you need an insider to say that the bank disregards all the financial information on the loan application and approve or reject the loan based solely on his name and race.

Seager
post Aug 17 2019, 07:38 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Punjabi = Kaum india

Don't know where you heard Punjabis fall under the Lain2 bracket.

Source: I am Punjabi myself
SUSRO Player
post Aug 17 2019, 11:09 PM

Now I am a Se7eN Star TigeR!
4,276 posts

Example of Profiling:

So,
1) The property agent told that if bangsa Cina then it's very much likely to approve the loan because the data in BNM shows people from Cina race are good paymaster and don't delay their commitment.

2) And, bank will consider more points when it comes to Tamil race. Abit tighter application than Bangsa Cina.

3) Melayu race is one of the most strict to go through screening and taking many things into consideration because the data shows people from Melayu race are default in loan payment or don't service the loan in time.

4) So, when it's comes to lain-lain race then the bank will only look into after looking into the main 3 races. As I'm Punjabi, so I will fall myself into Lain-Lain/other race which is in bracket (Punjabi).

Please guts, no racist or racial attack comment. MOD please pay attention on this thread.

My question how true is it the local bank practice such Profiling??? Or anyone go through such experience with bank?
bank = money

you & bank = money talks...

TSLUSINGH
post Aug 17 2019, 11:41 PM

67 posts

Guys, I gave the property agent the link of our lowyat forum feedback /posts on this topic.

I agreed about Profiling Risk Database. I knew about it. So I Whatsapp the property agent.

The agent says, the information that he got about this is within an insider from the local bank.

This is scary then.

tictac88
post Aug 17 2019, 11:47 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Aug 17 2019, 06:09 PM)
To think and suspect that the banks conduct racial profiling, you need an insider to say that the bank disregards all the financial information on the loan application and approve or reject the loan based solely on his name and race.
no bank will do that because it is simply not allowed to have unsound credit policy by disregarding all financial information except race, and auditors will have a field day on such things.

inb4 people gonna blame auditors also racists too

This post has been edited by tictac88: Aug 17 2019, 11:48 PM
tictac88
post Aug 17 2019, 11:50 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 17 2019, 11:41 PM)
Guys, I gave the property agent the link of our lowyat forum feedback /posts on this topic.

I agreed about Profiling Risk Database. I knew about it. So I Whatsapp the property agent.

The agent says, the information that he got about this is within an insider from the local bank.

This is scary then.
there are other possibilities such as so called insider is not even reliable in the first place. credit policy should be defined properly with proper weight and rating at every level. anything else should not be acceptable. and it will be unconceivable with the whole credit policy only use race as primary criteria.

This post has been edited by tictac88: Aug 17 2019, 11:56 PM
ScooterBoi
post Aug 18 2019, 12:11 AM

1,372 posts

This is scary then.
I don't it is any scarier than you claiming you knew about 'profiling risk database'.

So much spin from the 1st post... that maybe you should change your nick to pusingh.

Pikichu
post Aug 18 2019, 01:11 PM

2,278 posts

This is scary then.
You better tell him to hide his/her ass. Just violated the law and company's confidential information.
SUSjvcpcv55
post Aug 18 2019, 02:26 PM

627 posts

go look at ptptn defaluters
Divou
post Aug 18 2019, 05:30 PM

53 posts

They have profiling based on gender ?
thahirah
post Aug 18 2019, 05:54 PM

276 posts

The percentage of bankruptcy in Malaysia is quite balance between races. Many major banks in malaysia are GLC.

Why are you guys wasting time thinking abt all these glass ceiling over your head?

Im a bumi, my first house purchase was 350k subsale, working experience 9 month had cc for only 2 months. i was 23 years old. Loan from Public Bank a chinese bank. it was a subsale i payed the 10%. How? Because im smart and i showed them i had money? Simple no racism or my parents involved. Haiyah apa yang susah.

This post has been edited by thahirah: Aug 18 2019, 05:56 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:32 PM