see if its over-rated

after chinese new year haha
i tink a gain boost in the wah makes a difference
but tats just me haha

sean392
post Feb 6 2008, 01:44 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Feb 6 2008, 12:22 AM)
i've gt 1 unit at my place
feel free to come over n try it
see if its over-rated
after chinese new year haha
i tink a gain boost in the wah makes a difference
but tats just me haha
holy shi-

how much is it going for

wokeh time to find ur studio @_@
kurikuraX
post Feb 6 2008, 02:10 AM

this section is optional
907 posts

Somebody said SD-1? laugh.gif i just got my SD-1 last weekend

sorry out of topic laugh.gif
liew90kw
post Feb 6 2008, 03:09 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Feb 6 2008, 02:10 AM)
Somebody said SD-1? laugh.gif i just got my SD-1 last weekend
sorry out of topic laugh.gif
i can see you like it very much laugh.gif

btw chris where in the world is your studio?
can't make much sense outta the map, not familiar with that area.
my band's thinking of relocating our base camp laugh.gif
Rossie
post Feb 6 2008, 09:42 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

You can only use the distortion when the wah's on...
The distortion of the wah actually acts as a booster when you use your wah... The wah sounds sweet, but it's still achievable through other cheaper versions of the Crybaby w/ Fasel...

If you don't care for the distortion of the wah, for the price of a Slash wah you can get a boutique wah (ie. RMC) or the much more versatile 535Q... I really don't see the need for the distortion when you can only use it when the wah is on; but if you can find a use for it, then good for you smile.gif

Here are sound clips of a RMC 2 wah:
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=641337
Scroll down a little for the two clips...
sean392
post Feb 6 2008, 11:28 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

@rossie
do you have Satch's settings on the 535q? can't seem to get a ultra sweet tone after like a few months of tweaking ><

I'm a big fan of Slash's wah sound, so its very tempting @_@

Rossie
post Feb 6 2008, 12:01 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Sorry, don't really listen to Satch much... Can't really give any comments on his wah sound...

Seriously, Slash tone is more to what he plays rather than the gear he uses... Anyway, Slash started out by using a normal Crybaby, if that works for you, then great! If you're not satisfied, try to add a red fasel and a true bypass mod, it makes alot of difference... The fasel makes the wah more vocal-like, and the true bypass takes out the tone suck when your wah is off and have gazillion pedals... The tone suck can be solved by placing a good buffered pedal before the wah (ie. TCE SCF); then again, it would be cheaper to just mod it to true bypass... If you're just using 2 or 3 pedals, the tone suck wouldn't be so pronounced... So you don't really need to have your wah TBP-ed...
crazychris
post Feb 6 2008, 01:10 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

yup usuali all the signature series guys started wit the basic wah
and they tweak some parts and added in sumtin and gt their signature tone
tats how signature pedals work
but of cz u can get it close to the real thing wit signature series

a fren use to tel me
if u play wit effects alot and dun have tat much $$
den bear wit the toneloss

enteryourusername
post Feb 6 2008, 09:54 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Feb 6 2008, 09:42 AM)
You can only use the distortion when the wah's on...
The distortion of the wah actually acts as a booster when you use your wah... The wah sounds sweet, but it's still achievable through other cheaper versions of the Crybaby w/ Fasel...

If you don't care for the distortion of the wah, for the price of a Slash wah you can get a boutique wah (ie. RMC) or the much more versatile 535Q... I really don't see the need for the distortion when you can only use it when the wah is on; but if you can find a use for it, then good for you smile.gif

Here are sound clips of a RMC 2 wah:
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=641337
Scroll down a little for the two clips...
i'm buying an original crybaby wah, n going to mod it tongue.gif
Rossie
post Feb 7 2008, 08:21 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Chris: Not entirely true... If you can indeed afford to play with that many pedals, I don't see why you can't afford to fix the tone-loss. It's the matter of choosing the right kinda of pedals for your needs. Some players are a believer of true bypass, while some are not. For instance, if you do have say 10 pedals in your chain, and all of them are true bypass, you will still lose your signal at the end of the chain as the 10 pedals in your chain, although all TBP-ed, adds to the length of your signal and by the time it reaches your amp, it already loses some top end. Buffered pedals are good because they can strengthen your signal, the downside is they will add some color to your tone, and it depends on the player whether they'll like the extra coloration of not. You can strategically place one or two buffered pedals in your chain to solve this. And of course there's the dedicated buffer pedals like the Axess BS-2, you can add one in the beginning of your chain, at the end of your chain, or add one at the beginning and end of your chain; depending on your needs. This is one really cool pedal, highly recommended if anyone's getting a buffer pedal.

Enter: Very cool... Your wah sound totally depends on your on playing and the control of the wah. Heard tons of people that uses their unmodded original Crybaby and make it sound so darn good; likewise, heard a number of people with their boutique wahs like RMC, Buddah etc. but sounded like crap.

OT: When I saw DT last month, JP used two wahs; one placed in the middle of the stage while the other is on his pedalboard. Other then the rock star factor by soloing with the wah in the middle of the stage, that particular wah has a more modern, greater sweep; while the one on his pedalboard has a more vintage-y sound with less sweep. Both of them sounded incredible, then again he's JP thumbup.gif

0.0189sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:23 AM