PC Audio Stoner Acoustics User Thread, New UD130 Released

TSStonerAcoustics
post Aug 1 2019, 04:48 PM, updated 6y ago

34 posts

Hey folks, couldn't find a Stoner Acoustics User Thread. Quite sure there are a number of users here.

Why not share all your thoughts and discuss everything about here. We'll be participating here to answer any in depth questions you may have with the products.

We recently also just released the new UD130 as a replacement for our staple UD125 as well.

https://stoneracoustics.com/ud130/

buraqdunia
post Aug 1 2019, 04:54 PM

617 posts

i for one a supporter for local product/s.

1st SA was ud110. using it until it give up , then bought ud125.

oh i'm eyeing ud130.
cloud_valentine89
post Aug 1 2019, 05:14 PM

45 posts

I suppose this is exactly the same as UD125 except with micro usb port and an analog knob.
Anyway, UD125 is really great!
TSStonerAcoustics
post Aug 1 2019, 07:07 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(buraqdunia @ Aug 1 2019, 04:54 PM)
i for one a supporter for local product/s.

1st SA was ud110. using it until it give up , then bought ud125.

oh i'm eyeing ud130.
Thanks for the support. wink.gif

QUOTE(cloud_valentine89 @ Aug 1 2019, 05:14 PM)
I suppose this is exactly the same as UD125 except with micro usb port and an analog knob.
Anyway, UD125 is really great!
Completely different audio receiver and DAC wink.gif You get full USB Class 2.0 support as well. This is essentially a mini-UDXA

The analog pot is actually a digital control as well. 😁

This post has been edited by StonerAcoustics: Aug 1 2019, 07:28 PM
2tigers
post Aug 2 2019, 09:40 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Aug 1 2019, 07:07 PM)
Thanks for the support. wink.gif
Completely different audio receiver and DAC wink.gif You get full USB Class 2.0 support as well. This is essentially a mini-UDXA

Hey Stoner

Any special price for lowyat/malaysian members like the one you did for the 125?

Looking to upgrade my 125. Always support Malaysia Boleh. rclxms.gif

Cheers
2tigers
TSStonerAcoustics
post Aug 2 2019, 10:20 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(2tigers @ Aug 2 2019, 09:40 AM)
Hey Stoner

Any special price for lowyat/malaysian members like the one you did for the 125?

Looking to upgrade my 125. Always support Malaysia Boleh. rclxms.gif

Cheers
2tigers
haha, thanks for the kind words. We'd hope that this kind of conversation happens at the sales thread (audio accessories) instead.

The thread got reported as SPAM by some user apparently. Which is funny because there are many similar user threads around. Let's try to steer away from sales and keep the topic strictly as a User Club only.

however though, feel free to PM us as well for any sales related matter.

ahmadfaizadnan
post Aug 2 2019, 04:24 PM

429 posts

The price seems great for the specs. Is there any review on this?
TSStonerAcoustics
post Aug 2 2019, 04:34 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Aug 2 2019, 04:24 PM)
The price seems great for the specs. Is there any review on this?
AudioFi is picking it up as the first Malaysian reviewer. Not sure exactly when the review will be out but it's going to be out there soon.

A few foreign reviewers will also be picking it up. Again unfortunately we aren't sure exactly when it will be released.

ahmadfaizadnan
post Aug 3 2019, 04:46 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Aug 2 2019, 04:34 PM)
AudioFi is picking it up as the first Malaysian reviewer. Not sure exactly when the review will be out but it's going to be out there soon.

A few foreign reviewers will also be picking it up. Again unfortunately we aren't sure exactly when it will be released.
No prob. I'll wait for the review; might buy one in the future.
Aku_Lugua
post Aug 9 2019, 03:48 PM

166 posts

My UD110 still live and kicking. cool.gif But seldom use it any more. Quiet busy nowadays.
TSStonerAcoustics
post Aug 9 2019, 06:08 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Aku_Lugua @ Aug 9 2019, 03:48 PM)
My UD110 still live and kicking.  cool.gif But seldom use it any more. Quiet busy nowadays.
Wow, that's impressive. We wished we still kept one though sad.gif

The hobby can be quite time consuming. It's hard to listen to good music and work at the same time without buzzing off. laugh.gif
G_KeN
post Aug 9 2019, 07:17 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

any loaner tour? brows.gif
:+:[J]erR[y]:+:
post Aug 9 2019, 10:23 PM

On my way learning
1,108 posts

I used your product even before UD100 haha! And the UD125 for may years until I get an independent DAC and Amp.
Nice works there! biggrin.gif
TSStonerAcoustics
post Aug 13 2019, 11:28 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Aug 9 2019, 07:17 PM)
any loaner tour? brows.gif
We may have some plans for TT session at KL. Stay tuned. Very likely will happen after reviews from 3rd parties start rolling out.

QUOTE(:+:JerRy:+: @ Aug 9 2019, 10:23 PM)
I used your product even before UD100 haha! And the UD125 for may years until I get an independent DAC and Amp.
Nice works there! biggrin.gif
Thank you. flex.gif
starrysky
post Aug 18 2019, 05:50 PM

21 posts

i'm also one of the UD125 user here.... will wait for review out for me to decide to move to UD130 or not...

btw, UD125 is really great until now serves as my main desktop DAC....

keep up the good work SA
Lespectraal
post Aug 19 2019, 09:40 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Aug 1 2019, 07:07 PM)
I'm sold. Digital control is just what I need for my sensitive IEMs. The analog pot is a great idea. Coming from a JDS Labs C5, the ergonomics isn't as great with the level switch than it is with the analog pot. It's more natural twisting a knob, and you'll know how high you've set the volume.

Great work Stoner Acoustics.
TSStonerAcoustics
post Aug 19 2019, 09:48 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(starrysky @ Aug 18 2019, 05:50 PM)
i'm also one of the UD125 user here.... will wait for review out for me to decide to move to UD130 or not...

btw, UD125 is really great until now serves as my main desktop DAC....

keep up the good work SA
Thanks for the compliment. It's feedback like these that makes it all worthwhile. Glad you enjoyed it.

QUOTE(Lespectraal @ Aug 19 2019, 09:40 AM)
I'm sold. Digital control is just what I need for my sensitive IEMs. The analog pot is a great idea. Coming from a JDS Labs C5, the ergonomics isn't as great with the level switch than it is with the analog pot. It's more natural twisting a knob, and you'll know how high you've set the volume.
Great work Stoner Acoustics.
Sounds great!

We like this feature a lot too. laugh.gif The concept was originally PicoSlim's. Justin's way ahead of the game during that time.
adn6244
post Sep 7 2019, 01:33 PM

Finally collected ud130 from the post office today.

I'm using Samsung Note 9, playing through UAPP connecting to ud130 with fiio CL06 cable. The app recognise the device and playback is running on the phone. I just couldn''t hear anything from the output.

LED flashed during boot up and off when UAPP continue playing. No indication whether it's low or hi gain as per the user guide.

Swap to the cable came with the device and connect it to the phone using the Samsung otg adaptor. Same result.

Tested it with hidizs ap60 pro too. Ud130 was detected by the player. Same behaviour as phone.

So for now I can't use it on the go with my phone or music player.

Did I do anything wrong or not doing something right to make it work with the phone? Or is Note 9 not supported? I am shocked if it isn't.

Went home test it using jriver and it's working fine. Low gain have to turn all the way to 2 o clock to reach my usual listening loudness. Hi gain make the sound bigger at 1 o clock settling.

Sound musical and nice in the brief testing .

The device look solid and light for portable use. Slightly thicker than I have imagined but overall still happy with the physical size.

This post has been edited by adn6244: Sep 7 2019, 02:56 PM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Sep 7 2019, 07:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(adn6244 @ Sep 7 2019, 01:33 PM)

I'm using Samsung Note 9, playing through UAPP connecting to ud130 with fiio CL06 cable. The app recognise the device and playback is running on the phone. I just couldn''t hear anything from the output.

LED flashed during boot up and off when UAPP continue playing. No indication whether it's low or hi gain as per the user guide.

Swap to the cable came with the device and connect it to the phone using the Samsung otg adaptor. Same result.

Tested it with hidizs ap60 pro too. Ud130 was detected by the player. Same behaviour as phone.

Did I do anything wrong or not doing something right to make it work with the phone? Or is Note 9 not supported? I am shocked if it isn't.

Went home test it using jriver and it's working fine. Low gain have to turn all the way to 2 o clock  to reach my usual listening loudness. Hi gain make the sound bigger at 1 o clock settling.

The device look solid and light for portable use. Slightly thicker than I have imagined but overall still happy with the physical size.
hey, have you tried turning off usb debugging on the Note 9? We do have a customer who uses the Note 9 and has been reported to work perfectly with the Note 9 even using USB Class 2.0

Also we have responded to your question via email.

adn6244
post Sep 7 2019, 09:42 PM

Thanks for the prompt response.

Tested debugging and various apps. Swap cable too. USB debugging didn't affect the usb out in my case.

Almost gave up and decided to try USB1.0 and it works.

Music finally coming out of the headphone!!

TSStonerAcoustics
post Sep 8 2019, 02:29 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(adn6244 @ Sep 7 2019, 09:42 PM)
Thanks for the prompt response.

Tested debugging and various apps. Swap cable too. USB debugging didn't affect the usb out in my case.

Almost gave up and decided to try USB1.0  and it works.

Music finally coming out of the headphone!!
That's great. Glad it worked out for you.
TSStonerAcoustics
post Sep 20 2019, 01:03 PM

34 posts

Hi Would the fella who reported our post on sharing a local review done by a Malaysian kindly let us know how this is a spam to begin with?

EDIT: Just as an update (that was removed), the folks from AudioFi has the very first review out for the UD130.

This post has been edited by StonerAcoustics: Sep 20 2019, 03:56 PM
raif
post Oct 2 2019, 01:45 PM

126 posts

Just got this yesterday. Played fine on Windows10... On another computer with Windows 7, no such luck. Complained about no driver. Does Stoner have any windows 7 driver? I already installed the Savi Audio software but no such luck
TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 2 2019, 03:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Oct 2 2019, 01:45 PM)
Just got this yesterday. Played fine on Windows10... On another computer with Windows 7, no such luck. Complained about no driver. Does Stoner have any windows 7 driver? I already installed the Savi Audio software but no such luck
Did you run as administrator before installation?

wink.gif
raif
post Oct 2 2019, 03:58 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Oct 2 2019, 03:17 PM)
Did you run as administrator before installation?

wink.gif
Well at 1st I didn't then the 2nd time I did. Maybe I need to remove and install again.

Edit: After removing driver and installing it again, still no luck!! Anybody here has luck with windows7 and ud130?

This post has been edited by raif: Oct 2 2019, 05:16 PM
raif
post Oct 2 2019, 08:22 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(adn6244 @ Sep 7 2019, 01:33 PM)

Went home test it using jriver and it's working fine. Low gain have to turn all the way to 2 o clock  to reach my usual listening loudness. Hi gain make the sound bigger at 1 o clock settling.

I agree with you on the volume. I had to dial in to 3 oclock on low gain but as I understand from PM with Stoner the digital knob is different from analog. Yes, incremental increase after around 12 oclock increased the volume substantially so I never max on low gain. However what I don't understand is why high gain seem not to do much amplification?? If I was at 3 oclock on low, when high I expect at least I would be around 12 oclock, as it is the volume remained at slightly less than 3 oclock for me. Hopefully Stoner Acoustics engineers can take a look at this.

I tried also line out mode and I'm more than satisfied with its performance. I tried this on a pair of cheap usb speakers and they sound much louder compared to the sound coming out of my laptop headphone jack. The usb speakers has a volume controller so what I did was I set the usb speaker volume at a comfortable sound with ud130, then without changing the volume I take out the 3.5mm jack from ud130 and inserted it the laptop. I could hardly hear the sound. It was so soft from the laptop, so line out mode using the cheap usb speakers was a success. smile.gif .

This post has been edited by raif: Oct 2 2019, 08:27 PM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 2 2019, 09:54 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Oct 2 2019, 03:58 PM)
Well at 1st I didn't then the 2nd time I did. Maybe I need to remove and install again.

Edit: After removing driver and installing it again, still no luck!! Anybody here has luck with windows7 and ud130?
This is certainly odd. The UD130's Audio Receiver dates back to Windows 7 Era!

Can you try it with USB Class 1.0?
raif
post Oct 2 2019, 11:39 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Oct 2 2019, 09:54 PM)
This is certainly odd. The UD130's Audio Receiver dates back to Windows 7 Era!

Can you try it with USB Class 1.0?
I think this is a small issue for me as I don't use the computer with windows 7 to listen music. OK, one last try...the windows 7 is not connected to internet so during installation, does the installer try to connect to internet for file transfer etc.?

ps: I did try usb class 1.0

This post has been edited by raif: Oct 2 2019, 11:39 PM
adn6244
post Oct 8 2019, 09:40 AM

I am using win 10 and it's recognised straight away. Have not been able to use it lately due to work.

One thing I realised though...hard to find short micro to micro usb that guarantee work with ud130.

End up getting a otg adaptor and use the cable that comes with ud130. And not all phones work with the DAC. But this is the fault of Android then ud130.

So if u happen to find a really short and cheap micro to micro cable that work with ud130 and mobile phone, grateful if you could drop the link here.
TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 8 2019, 10:23 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(adn6244 @ Oct 8 2019, 09:40 AM)
I am using win 10 and it's recognised straight away. Have not been able to use it lately due to work.

One thing I realised though...hard to find short micro to micro usb that guarantee work with ud130.

End up getting a otg adaptor and use the cable that comes with ud130. And not all phones work with the DAC. But this is the fault of Android then ud130.

So if u happen to find a really short and cheap micro to micro cable that work with ud130 and mobile phone, grateful if you could drop the link here.
You need an otg specific micro to micro for it to work as it requires a specific termination on the USB side of your phone.

This is why when u use an actual otg adapter with the original USB cable it works 😊
adn6244
post Oct 8 2019, 11:12 AM

Haha I actually looked for one that tagged as otg and confirmed working with chord mojo. Unfortunately it doesn't work with all the mobile devices I have.

Ud130 work with pixel 3xl with fiio CL06, works even with Spotify.

Going to try it on Mi A2 lite soon.

penmarker
post Oct 8 2019, 11:36 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(adn6244 @ Oct 8 2019, 09:40 AM)

By pure luck I found out there are short micro-micro cables available for drone users. I looked up on Lazada for with keywords like drone micro usb and found a short one.

https://www.lazada.com.my/-i453452956-s6925...lFlag=true&mp=1

For some reason one side of connector is longer than the other. But it works fine.

This post has been edited by penmarker: Oct 8 2019, 11:38 AM
minizian
post Oct 10 2019, 12:13 AM

1,074 posts

New UD130 user here. Thank to Stoner Acoustics for quick response.

Stingy person who using very old DAC and AMP setup before changing to this. laugh.gif
TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 10 2019, 10:53 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 10 2019, 12:13 AM)
New UD130 user here. Thank to Stoner Acoustics for quick response.

Stingy person who using very old DAC and AMP setup before changing to this. laugh.gif
That's great. Thanks for the support.
:+:[J]erR[y]:+:
post Oct 10 2019, 01:20 PM

On my way learning
1,108 posts

Is there an upgrade programme available? From UD125 to UD130? Hehe biggrin.gif
minizian
post Oct 10 2019, 02:09 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Oct 10 2019, 10:53 AM)
That's great. Thanks for the support.
I think the previous setup i have were much warmer/bassy. Which was quite noticeable when playing on Bass oriented headphone.

UD130 is more on neutral side right StonerAcoustics? Since i am stuck to one kind of setup for long time.

This post has been edited by minizian: Oct 10 2019, 02:10 PM
raif
post Oct 18 2019, 07:23 PM

126 posts

Hi, above is my setup to play Sony music player that has wmport.

A) Fiio L27 wmport to micro usb cable
B) Female to female micro usb cable
C) Micro C female to male micro usb adapter
D) Micro C male otg to type A female with power (female micro usb)
E) Micro usb male to Type A male cable (this cable is to power)
F) Cable that comes with ud130 (actually same type as E)

If anyone is wondering, the device underneath the sony player is another amp/dac which you can just ignore. Just sharing in case anyone wants to use ud130 with a Sony with wmport interface. smile.gif

This post has been edited by raif: Oct 18 2019, 07:42 PM
adn6244
post Oct 18 2019, 11:06 PM

Hi raif,
Nice! Though it's working for u, there are just too many cables on the table that my wife will approve.

What's the reason for not directly connect L27 to ud130? Is it because Sony do not have enough power to drive ud130?

That could be the reason why my player was detected but no sound from the DAC. Battery also drain noticeably faster when DAC is connected. Got to try the split cable one day.
raif
post Oct 20 2019, 01:54 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(adn6244 @ Oct 18 2019, 11:06 PM)
Hi raif,
Nice! Though it's working for u, there are just too many cables on the table that my wife will approve. 

What's the reason for not directly connect L27 to ud130? Is it because Sony do not have enough power to drive ud130?

That could be the reason why my player was detected but no sound from the DAC. Battery also drain noticeably faster when DAC is connected. Got to try the split cable one day.
Yup, that's the reason, my Sony A45 doesn't have enough power or the L27 does not provide power connection otherwise it would be awesome. The E cable (to power) can use a power bank if you want. I'm waiting for another otg cable that could tidy up the connection. Will update you guys later if that is working. smile.gif

This post has been edited by raif: Oct 20 2019, 02:01 PM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 20 2019, 03:47 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Oct 18 2019, 07:23 PM)

Hi, above is my setup to play Sony music player that has wmport.

A) Fiio L27 wmport to micro usb cable
B) Female to female micro usb cable
C) Micro C female to male micro usb adapter
D) Micro C male otg to type A female with power (female micro usb)
E) Micro usb male to Type A male cable (this cable is to power)
F) Cable that comes with ud130 (actually same type as E)

If anyone is wondering, the device underneath the sony player is another amp/dac which you can just ignore. Just sharing in case anyone wants to use ud130 with a Sony with wmport interface.  smile.gif
That is a very impressive setup. We have a customer (Malaysian) in Singapore who runs both the UD125 and UD130 with a very clean separate power bank to his DAP/Phone setup as well
raif
post Oct 20 2019, 09:19 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Oct 20 2019, 03:47 PM)
That is a very impressive setup. We have a customer (Malaysian) in Singapore who runs both the UD125 and UD130 with a very clean separate power bank to his DAP/Phone setup as well
Thank you. Speaking of ud125, please reply my pm on how to purchase it. Thanks

andrekua2
post Oct 20 2019, 09:57 PM

13,494 posts

Hi Stoner,

I want to ask about this particular problem I faced when using UD125. I'm using it primarily with my Windows PC (win8). I noticed that whenever I play multiple source (like playing one youtube stream and another from facebook), the device will start to hang after a while. I will then need to unplug and plug it in again to 'reset' it. Is there anything I can do to solve this bug?
TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 22 2019, 03:09 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 20 2019, 09:57 PM)
Hi Stoner,

I want to ask about this particular problem I faced when using UD125. I'm using it primarily with my Windows PC (win8). I noticed that whenever I play multiple source (like playing one youtube stream and another from facebook), the device will start to hang after a while. I will then need to unplug and plug it in again to 'reset' it. Is there anything I can do to solve this bug?
This is certainly odd. We have not encountered such an issue before. The UD125 funnily doesn't run on proprietary drivers, so the conflict may perhaps be explained by Windows' stock UAC 1 drivers.

Have you tried upgrading to Windows 8.1 with the latest updates?

TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 22 2019, 03:12 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Oct 20 2019, 09:19 PM)
Thank you. Speaking of ud125, please reply my pm on how to purchase it. Thanks
cheers, you got pm!

raif
post Oct 23 2019, 08:22 PM

126 posts

I saw the unboxing of ud130 at Z Unboxing ... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TuvR7KD0by4
minizian
post Oct 23 2019, 10:11 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Oct 23 2019, 08:22 PM)
I saw the unboxing of ud130 at Z Unboxing ... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TuvR7KD0by4
Wonder if it as bought by himself or was send to him for tryout. Buatana Malaysia for sure. thumbsup.gif
bluesavana
post Oct 27 2019, 08:02 AM

hi, does anyone still has the driver for ud110 for both windows7 and windows10?

My harddisk just died and can't seem to find the driver online. Or is there any similar driver that I can use?

Tks

TSStonerAcoustics
post Oct 27 2019, 02:31 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(bluesavana @ Oct 27 2019, 08:02 AM)
hi, does anyone still has the driver for ud110 for both windows7 and windows10? 

My harddisk just died and can't seem to find the driver online. Or is there any similar driver that I can use?

Tks
The UD110 runs on UAC 1.0, you should not be needing drivers. wink.gif
bluesavana
post Oct 27 2019, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Oct 27 2019, 02:31 PM)
The UD110 runs on UAC 1.0, you should not be needing drivers. wink.gif
hmm.. strange. It's not recognizable in my PC.
Perhaps i can PM you to seek more clarification.

Tks.

adn6244
post Nov 3 2019, 10:40 AM

Dear UD130 users : anyone using jriver can share your experience?

I am using jriver v25. Installed bravo driver. Also installed musicbee as alternate music player.

1. In jriver, I choose ud130 uac2, wasapi, audio Output set as per source.
A. Play dsd file first. Result : good music
B. Play 16 bit file first, then follow by dsd. Result : 16bit good music. Dsd total silence and follow by system hang.
C. Reboot and repeat 1A or 1B. Result : total silence.

Now jriver won't play thru ud130. Playing fine thru odac (plug and play).

2. In jriver, I choose bravo hd, Output set as per source. Result : total silence

3. Restart laptop and open musicbee. Repeat A and B. Result : good music

Is anyone using jriver? Could you share the audio and DSP setting?

4. While music is playing, I touch or pick up ud130, I can hear statics when I touch it. Lesser if I put a piece of plastic between my hand and the DAC. Is this normal?

This post has been edited by adn6244: Nov 3 2019, 10:44 AM
adn6244
post Nov 3 2019, 11:46 PM

I have reinstall jriver, reset to default. At the end, it just keep repeating 1 A B C above.

This is the first DAC that I own required so much testing yet it doesn't work at the end.

Will try again when I have time. Or it's time to move on.
TSStonerAcoustics
post Nov 4 2019, 10:46 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(adn6244 @ Nov 3 2019, 11:46 PM)
I have reinstall jriver, reset to default. At the end, it just keep repeating 1 A B C above.

This is the first DAC that I own required so much testing yet it doesn't work at the end.

Will try again when I have time. Or it's time to move on.
Hi could you try playing back with Foobar as per instructed on this page:

https://stoneracoustics.com/ud130-manual/

It may perhaps be a misconfiguration of software on Jriver side.

Let us do some testing on our side.

EDIT: The DSD Switch is handled by the microcontroller. The microcontrolller on board does this by detecting the DSD flag from the audio receiver. The Jriver might not be sending the right message to the audio receiver via the USB during the switching that is why it may cause some hangups on the UD130 side. That's our initial hypothesis. Let us know.

This post has been edited by StonerAcoustics: Nov 4 2019, 10:48 AM
adn6244
post Nov 6 2019, 11:06 PM

Hi ,
Thanks for the input.
I was busy testing different components, sequence of file play and cables used. Finally it's working on my win10 laptop + jriver v25.

What I did :
1. Make sure all windows update are installed. Unlikely to be the reason since Usb 2 driver already come with win 10 and I've installed bravo driver. no harm doing this.

2. Update jriver with the latest release. Change audio output to bravo asio in jriver.

3. Use usb split cable to provide power to DAC independent from the data. Similar to bro Raif did but I only have one split cable (haha) connect to the belkin cable come with ud130!

Result : music again !!

Observations : ud130 need quite high power (relative to other DAC that I owned) and really need to find the right usb cable to make it work.

Tested different usb split cable, usb ports (laptop or usb hub). It works when power is supplied by power bank or laptop usb port. No idea why it requires separate power as my laptop is used with other DAC via the same usb port without problem.

Most importantly I can enjoy music now. Time to get rid of the old odac and amp instead haha.

This post has been edited by adn6244: Nov 6 2019, 11:16 PM
raif
post Nov 7 2019, 08:59 PM

126 posts

Congrats adn6244 !!

I got a simpler split-Y with power cable

Now, this is the setup with the cable and power bank

This post has been edited by raif: Nov 8 2019, 03:00 PM
andrekua2
post Nov 10 2019, 10:24 AM

13,494 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Nov 7 2019, 08:59 PM)
Congrats adn6244 !!

I got a simpler split-Y with power cable

Now, this is the setup with the cable and power bank
OMG, the cabling and powerbank make it not worthwhile IMO.

Maybe Stoner can consider adding a micro usb or usbc for power.
TSStonerAcoustics
post Nov 10 2019, 02:49 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 10 2019, 10:24 AM)
OMG, the cabling and powerbank make it not worthwhile IMO.

Maybe Stoner can consider adding a micro usb or usbc for power.
The end result is the same if you used a proper termination for the Y Split. In fact it'd be a bit cleaner than using two separate USB inputs on the UD130 side.
andrekua2
post Nov 10 2019, 02:50 PM

13,494 posts

QUOTE(StonerAcoustics @ Nov 10 2019, 02:49 PM)
The end result is the same if you used a proper termination for the Y Split. In fact it'd be a bit cleaner than using two separate USB inputs on the UD130 side.
How about adding a 9v?
raif
post Nov 10 2019, 04:18 PM

126 posts

Well to be fair...due to Sony wmport usage, you see at least 2 more extra cables in the picture. If I were to use just a handphone/dap with micro usb, wiring would be simpler.

This post has been edited by raif: Nov 10 2019, 04:35 PM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Nov 10 2019, 09:20 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 10 2019, 02:50 PM)
How about adding a 9v?
unfortunately the UD130 doesn't come with an inline regulator, so you'll have to strictly use a 5V regulated input.
ahmadfaizadnan
post Nov 10 2019, 09:20 PM

429 posts

does the ud130 require external power?
TSStonerAcoustics
post Nov 10 2019, 09:26 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Nov 10 2019, 09:20 PM)
does the ud130 require external power?
No it doesn't. biggrin.gif It's just a rather individual case above. The USB 2.0 standard spec is rated for 0.5A per port and the UD130 draws less than half of that.

raif
post Nov 10 2019, 11:02 PM

126 posts

Well, technically ud130 does require external power because it doesn't have a battery. When you connect it directly to a pc or phone, it draws power from the connecting device so this is external power. If the connecting device cannot supply power then it needs the split y connection as shown from my usecase with power drawn from power bank.

Edit: Of course, if you say that usb powered does not count as external supply, then yes one might say ud130 does not need external power thumbsup.gif . I'm editing this post coz I saw somewhere that a device that is usb powered, a reviewer just said that the unit does not need an external power.

This post has been edited by raif: Nov 13 2019, 06:51 AM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Nov 11 2019, 04:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Nov 10 2019, 11:02 PM)
Well, technically ud130 does require external power because it doesn't have a battery. When you connect it directly to a pc or phone, it draws power from the connecting device so this is external power. If the connecting device cannot supply power then it needs the split y connection as shown from my usecase with power drawn from power bank.
rclxms.gif You are correct.
4lt4ir
post Nov 20 2019, 02:46 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

So is everyone enjoying their UD130? Asking because I'm thinking to get one as my first desktop dac/amp, mainly for earbuds, iems & headphones <150 ohms. Any drawbacks that I should be aware of? Similarly, what are the main advantages of the ud130? I'm mostly concerned with sound quality and the tactile feed of that volume knob. Any feedback appreciated. Thanks!
boreddeadbeat P
post Dec 14 2019, 09:00 AM

Probation
24 posts

How does the UD 130 compare to FX Audio Dac-X6 and SMSL M3? Looking to buy my first dac/amp.
2tigers
post Apr 27 2020, 05:40 PM

18 posts

Just received my U130 today. Doing a quick listening test. I can say it is a step up from the U125 (which I have too). I am also comparing it to the Mojo. Honestly its not its equal but for RM300 you cannot go wrong. I am impressed to say the least. Kudos. Malaysia Boleh!

This post has been edited by 2tigers: Apr 27 2020, 05:41 PM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Apr 27 2020, 06:52 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(2tigers @ Apr 27 2020, 05:40 PM)
Just received my U130 today. Doing a quick listening test. I can say it is a step up from the U125 (which I have too). I am also comparing it to the Mojo. Honestly its not its equal but for RM300 you cannot go wrong. I am impressed to say the least. Kudos. Malaysia Boleh!
Thank you very much for your kind words and support! thumbup.gif
amyhs99
post Apr 27 2020, 10:01 PM

3,807 posts

Anyone tried to connect the UD130 to an iPhone?
2tigers
post Apr 28 2020, 01:00 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 27 2020, 10:01 PM)
Anyone tried to connect the UD130 to an iPhone?
I don't think the iPhone can power the unit. It does not have a battery of its own.

amyhs99
post Apr 28 2020, 03:51 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(2tigers @ Apr 28 2020, 01:00 PM)
I don't think the iPhone can power the unit. It does not have a battery of its own.
Will try to experiment once this adaptor reach my doorstep blush.gif
4lt4ir
post Apr 28 2020, 08:25 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(2tigers @ Apr 28 2020, 01:00 PM)
Not necessarily so. My old Motorola android phone powers the UD130 via USB OTG just fine.
amyhs99
post Apr 29 2020, 12:40 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Apr 28 2020, 08:25 PM)
Not necessarily so. My old Motorola android phone powers the UD130 via USB OTG just fine.
Ya, as stated in their website.

"Android USB OTG Support
The UD130 works with your modern Android Smart Phones via the USB OTG.
*Some phones may not work with the UD130, contact us for more details."

Will wait for the Lightning to USB3 and test it out. biggrin.gif
4lt4ir
post Apr 29 2020, 11:37 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 29 2020, 12:40 AM)
Ya, as stated in their website.

"Android USB OTG Support
The UD130 works with your modern Android Smart Phones via the USB OTG.
*Some phones may not work with the UD130, contact us for more details."

Will wait for the Lightning to USB3 and test it out.  biggrin.gif
Yes, that is correct. As mentioned, my Motorola phone powers the UD130 just fine. However, a Huawei Nova 2i does not.
amyhs99
post Apr 30 2020, 01:45 PM

3,807 posts

Managed to make the UD130 work on IOS, but with a catch.
You need to connect the power to the CCK Adapter to make things work. iPhone cannot power up the UD130 by itself.

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 28 2020, 03:51 PM)
Will try to experiment once this adaptor reach my doorstep  blush.gif
raif
post Sep 8 2020, 11:39 AM

126 posts

What is the max line-out voltage for ud130? Doesn't say in the spec but on the site of ud125, the max line out voltage is stated at 4.8Vrms. Any idea for ud130? Thanks
andrekua2
post Apr 17 2022, 06:27 PM

13,494 posts

This thread has long been abandoned...

My pc went dead and I tried plugging UD125 to my Sony X90J. I was surprised it works... clean high quality audio. Forget about using bluetooth, arc(earc)... I'm happy it's so flexible.
otnuus
post Apr 18 2022, 11:27 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 17 2022, 06:27 PM)
This thread has long been abandoned...

My pc went dead and I tried plugging UD125 to my Sony X90J. I was surprised it works... clean high quality audio. Forget about using bluetooth, arc(earc)... I'm happy it's so flexible.
Good for you. ARC is very useful in my case. I can keep my old receiver and still run DD 5.1. The receiver has a decent dac too. I sold my UD100 and still using UD120 on my desktop. Really good stuff from Stoner Acoustics.
andrekua2
post Apr 19 2022, 01:30 AM

13,494 posts

QUOTE(otnuus @ Apr 18 2022, 11:27 PM)
Good for you. ARC is very useful in my case. I can keep my old receiver and still run DD 5.1. The receiver has a decent dac too. I sold my UD100 and still using UD120 on my desktop. Really good stuff from Stoner Acoustics.
Perhaps I'll buy an earc sound bar one day when it become more affordable. Tried my sister arc system before and it was really convenient that it was able to output audio regardless of which channel being active. A really good one just cost to much more to even consider buying.
ktek
post Apr 20 2022, 10:58 AM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 19 2022, 01:30 AM)
Perhaps I'll buy an earc sound bar one day when it become more affordable. Tried my sister arc system before and it was really convenient that it was able to output audio regardless of which channel being active. A really good one just cost to much more to even consider buying.
sony x90 is tv rite. wow the android have dac driver

0.0500sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:44 AM