QUOTE(sinslayer91 @ Dec 12 2019, 03:45 PM)
Do u guys think the 24months contract is worth it or should I just go with sim only? Because I accepted their free trial and got the b618 with me now, but I am only getting +-10mbps on speed test, sometimes even lower than my current streamyx 8mbps.
I am planning to just use it for internet TV, terminate astro. And keep the streamyx for gaming(lower more stable ping). I do have a Huawei E5377 mifi. Would that be able to hit the same performance as the +-10mbps of the Huawei b618 with the unifi air? Cuz it seems like the b618 can't reach its full potential here.
QUOTE(xeon1989 @ Dec 12 2019, 07:37 PM)
If your case, you may apply unifi mobile sim and try on your E5377 first.
IMO U can't get better speed than B618.
Anyway, 10+Mbps seems too low.
Try place it near to the window and test again.
I accepted their 'free trial' also ... actually it's already signed contract, with 30-days cooling off period; that's why the courier need to take photo of your IC when receiving the package. And since Unifi Air monthly billing starts on 1st of every month, you'll get billed even when it's less than 30days, for my case lah; but my area got good TDD-LTE 2300MHz (Band 40) coverage (I think), so I don't mind accepting the 24-months contract after 2-weeks testing.IMO U can't get better speed than B618.
Anyway, 10+Mbps seems too low.
Try place it near to the window and test again.
In your house, to try and confirm where got best signal, can install Huawei SmartHome app for B618-65D, use the Signal Strength(?, forgot name of the function) to see where can get at least green bars. Blue bars are the best, while red are the worst. My upper floor can get blue bars but inconvenient; I just put at lower floor with just green bars but so far stable ... just that recently, at night around 8pm-10pm, maybe too many people subscribed already until network congestion (or could TM throttle the speed, to balance the load?).
If no optimum blue or green bars, maybe you can tell TM that when they ask why you can't accept the contract, on top of the lower than 20Mbps speed.
Dec 13 2019, 09:25 AM

0.0573sec