Unifi Air, is it good?
phaez
Jan 6 2020, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(colmanjr @ Jan 6 2020, 12:41 AM) i checked with coverage area and no unifi air coverage. but i did use jasa pack and tested the signal. someone manage to get poor signal. meaning somehow there is signal for air? have anyone tested unifi air out of coverage area? Just subscribed yesterday with contract for 24month that includes B618 4G Router. My home is out of blue coverage area about 4km(approximately). Manage to get 1bar signal with speed up to 15mbps. I'm satisfied with this spec since other telco that offer unlimited plan is congested in my area. Gonna tune external antenna to get better coverage later. Edit : Forgot to mention I lock Band 40. Band 5 & band 38 signal is everywhere but use 5mhz spectrum that always congested. Band 40 is for Unifi Air. Unifi Mobile usually will utilise band 5 & 38. That is why coverage map in Unifi Air page is smaller. This post has been edited by phaez: Jan 6 2020, 09:58 AM
phaez
Jan 6 2020, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(Agsx @ Jan 6 2020, 12:55 PM) risky who knows if they suddenly become slow u need to keep paying for 24months lol dumb Lol did not mention I am paying for that
phaez
Jan 7 2020, 08:19 AM

QUOTE(ZyD86 @ Jan 6 2020, 06:16 PM) How you lock the band from the modem?mind to share? Log in to fix manually, or simplest way to manage is to use Hmanager apps on android. you can google the apk files. It is over the net.  regarding "dumb" post earlier, hope anyone else don't follow the dumbness and study all telco before posting.
phaez
Jan 7 2020, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(penanghomes @ Jan 7 2020, 12:58 PM) Hi ! Should i apply for Unifi Air. My location is only less than 50metre away from outside coverage. [attachmentid=10392136] You can apply but the risk is on you. I can say that Huawei B618 modem signal reception is better than mobile phone. as for me, my location is further than you, towards the coverage area, somehow I still manage to get 2 bar signal with up to 27mbps (TM promised up to 25mbps).
phaez
Jan 7 2020, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(GameSky @ Jan 7 2020, 07:28 PM) you can't change, unifi air mostly will kena nat3 ..even my fren. you could try, some said cannot, some said ok online gaming. Mine also get nat3. My network not suitable for gaming, packet loss and jitter. If I want to game, will hotspot from my maxis mobile.
phaez
Jan 9 2020, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(godslayer84 @ Jan 9 2020, 09:07 AM) If hotspot from mobile, will it eat alot of data? For example 1 hour will consume how many data? it is subjective, depends on your game, either u use voice chat or not, streaming etc.
phaez
Jan 10 2020, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(colmanjr @ Jan 10 2020, 08:41 AM) Im using JASA pack at the moment to test. But is there a difference in term of coverage between air vs jasa? That is another question So unifi tumpang celcom if out of covrerage? Thanks for replying. How u apply air if it is out of range? Mine 2-3km from the blue area. How u check cellmapper? Heard its not updated. So the blue map is for band 40? Or 5,38,40 Basically, JASA pack and unifi air coverage is the same, the only difference is Band allocation. Jasa to utilize band 5. It is written somewhere in the T&C agreement when u sign up for it, I've seen it. However, if u have the capability to lock band signal (rooted phone or modem), you can do that. Unifi air utilize band 40. During my application unifi air, TM staff did not check may location. She just ask whether I am aware of the coverage or not. 1st I said I want to try to get sim only and modem(contract) later, but she told me that I would have to sign up new account for that (with another RM100 deposit). Then I just straight to get 24m contract for the Huawei B618 instead.
phaez
Jan 17 2020, 09:44 AM

QUOTE(Rudd @ Jan 16 2020, 06:55 PM) Is 2 bar LTE band 40 acceptable? u need to try do speedtest after all, check back your needs. mine here 2 to 3 bar only, but speed can reach 30mbps ++. But, ping is a bit high and and not stable. not suitable for online gaming, even mobile gaming.
phaez
Jan 17 2020, 10:40 AM

QUOTE(Rudd @ Jan 17 2020, 10:35 AM) Thanks. I tried with standard bebas, can get constant 7mbps+. Will buy LTE plan and try another speed test. Theoretically, b618 should gain more bar compared to e5573 (my current device) right. Theoretically it should. I believe all portable router signal reception more or less the same as mobile phone. That constant 7mbps from which band?
phaez
Jan 17 2020, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(Rudd @ Jan 17 2020, 10:52 AM) if lock band 40 should be faster if it is available in your area.
phaez
Jan 20 2020, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(Rudd @ Jan 19 2020, 10:22 PM) Tested band 40 on mobile phone, and got 16mbps dl, 1.5mbps ul. Believe it will go faster with B618, at least for me. For you, the risk is all yours
phaez
Jan 21 2020, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(Rudd @ Jan 21 2020, 12:29 PM) The free b618 is tempting. But the 24months contract is risky for me, as i might move to different house again next year. For now, tried asking for unifi air @tmpoint, the staff did not allow me to proceed signing since my current house missed the coverage map by few meter. So the best way is to sign up w/o contract but you will have to find your own router. 2nd market value now is RM600~700. And you can sell it back later if u move, with no coverage or hv fiber.
phaez
Jan 23 2020, 01:45 PM

afraid no coverage in ur area. Unifi will rely on celcom for 3G network. So you'll need to force 4G only.
phaez
Feb 12 2020, 08:35 AM

My area is outside blue area in the map, but I can get up to 60mbps download speed. Now I keep quiet about it so no one in my area subscribe unifi air to avoid congested
phaez
Feb 19 2020, 10:56 AM

DL and UL stated average 20mbps. However, UL speed is suck. now matter how good my signal is, with DL speed I can get up to 60mbps, but only manage to get 2mbps UL.
phaez
Feb 20 2020, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(jumanjimd @ Feb 19 2020, 05:28 PM) anyone try with android box.. astro go on mobile phone seem smooth Tried with nvidia shield tv pro, smooth in every aspect for every legal streaming platform with speed up to 40mbps in my area. Only recently illegal streaming services seems lag after 7pm onwards.
phaez
Feb 21 2020, 08:52 AM

I've check it myself, it is unifi/tm problem it was lag, but when I shift to my hotspot from phone (maxis and even Umobile GX38 6mbps), everything was running smooth, not even a single lag.
phaez
Mar 3 2020, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(azwandy @ Mar 3 2020, 02:02 PM) make sure u get green-green-green is the best.. ignore the value.. or at least 2 greens.. lpda can help u if your area signal is not strong.. better signal reception, better data packets travelling through wavelength radio frequency, better speed.. it is not always like that, I manage to get green green yellow but speed is 2mbps only. but after midnight to morning can get up to 140mbps. then I realized my area is congested. (umobile) then I try unifi air, yellow yellow red only but manage to get 50mbps . both using B618. umobile with pair of LPDA, but unifi did not since I feel contented with the speed already.