Unifi Air, is it good?

khk1987
post Nov 2 2019, 03:35 PM

257 posts

I got my own Unifi Air + modem although sales advisor told me will not get full performance but at least better than 8Mbps cap on bebas.

3km away from 4G coverage my findings as below:
- Using band 5, hovering @ 11Mbps on DWR-953, while 4-6Mbps on B618, RSRP -90dB
- Using band 40, B618 able to go up to 16Mbps, RSRP -104dB
* Tested when SNR value is at min 10.

** Before Unifi Air comes into picture, band 38 & 40 were widely detectable in my places. But now band 40 is spotty and band 38 is no where to be found.
** Sim activated 1 hour after application.
*** No "warranty" sticker placed at the SIM slot

This post has been edited by khk1987: Nov 2 2019, 03:37 PM
khk1987
post Nov 5 2019, 01:45 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(chiafoo @ Nov 4 2019, 11:45 AM)
hi guys , can dlink DWR-921 support unifi AIR?
I tested with DWR-953 (supports B5, B38 and B40) to compare with B618.

It is able to work flawlessly on B5 even away from actual LTE coverage about 3km away. Just check your device LTE band frequency it supports.

Now my DWR-953 putting up for sale for those uses Unifi Air without contract.
khk1987
post Nov 5 2019, 02:37 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(chiafoo @ Nov 5 2019, 02:11 PM)
I checked the datasheet/spec in dlink MY website but it didnt write about the band however seller told me it is supported . Is it using same band with unifi mobile?
Yes. I have my own unifi bebas both also has the same coverage. I helped you checked the data sheet. It is supporting band frequencies of 900/1800/2600/800 MHz

Only 2600 Mhz which is band 38 is supported for your device. From my experience in Bdr Sg Long band 38 is missing after unifi air has launched.

This post has been edited by khk1987: Nov 5 2019, 02:41 PM
khk1987
post Nov 5 2019, 02:58 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(chiafoo @ Nov 5 2019, 02:53 PM)
If u dl the datasheet in pdf , it dint include LTE band 2300Mhz  bangwall.gif so confusing this dlink haha
Yeah too confusing, best to try out with unifi mobile sim. But from dlink router we cannot know which band it connects. Check your model revision number, I found there's B, C1 and C3 revision for dwr-921. C3 will have all the bands I believe.

This post has been edited by khk1987: Nov 5 2019, 03:06 PM
khk1987
post Nov 5 2019, 03:08 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Nov 5 2019, 03:02 PM)
eh. where got this option?
If you have B618 + HManager apk for android to configure b618.
khk1987
post Jan 14 2020, 12:49 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Jan 14 2020, 10:58 AM)
I am thinking to trial unifi air too, but they not seem to have simcard or device to loan user.
I have the 4G LTE router, I just need the sim-card to trial. Read the page and need RM100 deposit, kind of step back. Really hope they have trial simcard we can loan and later give back...  With unifi mobile, i able to detect Band 40 and speed >34Mbps, anyway, the Unifi Air coverage map shown that area no coverage and car from coverage zone.
Unifi mobile coverage = Unifi air coverage.

I have tried before subscribing to Unifi Air. Although the sales person gave me warning due to coverage is not covered (about 2km away from actual coverage shown in website), I can confirm it should work. After getting the Unifi Air, both Unifi Mobile and Unifi Air shares the same LTE tower.

In my area for Bandar Sg Long, B40(2300) is strong while B5(850) is spotty.

With my signal status range:
RSRP -111 to -100
RSRQ -11 to -7
SINR 6 to 11

Able to get speed around 15Mbps to 30Mbps download speed and 1Mbps to 3Mbps upload speed.

FYI, I tried to strengthen the LTE signal by using "4G LTE" antenna 88dbi booster which is total failure as B618 has way much more stronger signal reception. That antenna only serves as outdoor antenna where "good signal reception" area is outside which is not suitable for your previous LTE router to be exposed to any weather conditions.

This post has been edited by khk1987: Jan 14 2020, 11:20 PM
khk1987
post May 3 2020, 10:09 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ May 2 2020, 06:39 AM)
Any good antenna can be use with unifi air modem? Dunno why weeks before MCO my upload speed drop from 5Mbps to just barely 0.3Mbps. Can't upload shit sweat.gif

Before this I can easily upload to my youtube channel. 1GB file only took me about 45-60 min to complete. Now it took a whole day. Download speed still maintain 20-40Mbps even during MCO.
Just don't buy the 4GLte brand, the shaped like a book claiming 88dbi. It only works as extender in outdoor. Get the shark fin shape one from Huawei which I'm planning to try it out.
khk1987
post May 3 2020, 06:11 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(kvn4000 @ May 3 2020, 01:31 PM)
Hi, mind to share the link or shark fin picture pls?
I’m using huawei B618s-65D. Really hope there is something can help this lousy unifi air.
https://shopee.com.my/HUAWEI-2G-3G-4G-LTE-4...9745.6118827207

Ensure the connector given is TS9 for B618 since there is no description mentioning about it. Only works when you are in high rise and balcony is facing the tower.
khk1987
post May 6 2020, 01:32 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ May 6 2020, 06:56 AM)
Do I need to use repeater? Or just direct connect from this antenna using normal coaxial cable with ts9 converter?
Yes, direct connect only. Can see whether it is connected properly through the router's interface as by default it is set to auto.
khk1987
post May 13 2020, 09:22 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ May 13 2020, 08:51 AM)
Already order this antenna from shopee. I tot it was ready stock but its not. Hahahaha damn misleading liao the pic for the product. Write there 2-4 days post via poslaju but need to wait 2-3 weeks first bcoz of item is pre order. Better buy direct from overseas seller sweat.gif
COVID period like this the shipping day estimates may varies. Just hope for faster shipping and he could be putting the longest delivery period just to avoid getting frustrated customers to complain bah. I haven't bought mine yet as monthly budget already overspent and shrunk.

0.0591sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:59 PM