Unifi Air, is it good?

joshhd
post Aug 10 2019, 01:07 AM

7,794 posts

Unifi Air will be the same or very similar like the usual 4G LTE service you used by usual telcos like Maxis, Celcom, Digi, U Mobile....
The coverage is expanding, but not everywhere yet, and it definitely takes time.

If Unifi Air is not available in your area yet, I would advise to give up considering about that, and go for other telcos (e.g. Digi, Yes 4G LTE, U Mobile) that has better 4G service in your area and subscribe to their wireless broadband plans, whichever suits your data usage and budget.

Or stick to Streamyx (Unifi Lite) for the speed up to 8Mbps, and RM69/month. There's isn't much you could do.
joshhd
post Aug 25 2019, 04:57 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(lambox105 @ Aug 25 2019, 04:19 PM)
Well, unifi air is a broadband sim not mobile sim eventhough it uses the same micro/nano sim
Broadband sims are NOT designed to be able to call or to be called directly

Is the Unifi Air's SIM card "phone number" begins with the prefix "015-xxxxxxx"?

As what I know, 015 prefix are only for wireless broadband use, and can't be used for making and receiving regular mobile calls. It applies to all telcos.
joshhd
post Aug 25 2019, 06:06 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(cjoenic @ Aug 25 2019, 05:56 PM)
yes. i tried connect a phone set to the rj11 jack on the router. no calls can be made neither receiving.
its 010-xxxxxxx i did try to call the number, cant go thru, it said number is not in service.

Hmm, if it's 010-xxxxxxx, there is a chance that TM could activate voice service if they want.
joshhd
post Sep 14 2019, 02:12 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(chiafoo @ Sep 14 2019, 09:45 AM)
Tried lan cable , same speed like wifi on desktop and laptop juz 5Mbps . And i try torrent on hp , before it reach 1Mbps the ping go crazy . I suspect it is Nat table issue on device @ TM telco tower .

You have to report this problem to TM so that they can solve the issue for you.
joshhd
post Sep 27 2019, 11:32 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Sep 27 2019, 10:25 PM)
Hi guys/ gals,
Does anyone uses Huawei E5186 modem for UNIFI AIR? I plug it in and it is not working sad.gif
But when I plug it is in Huawei E5377 modem , it is working, not sure why?

Any idea? Thanks

You check on the supported 4G frequency bands for both huawei modems, on the packaging box or user manual, see if it supports any of the bands used by TM Unifi mobile below:

LTE FDD Band 5 (850MHz)
LTE TDD Band 38 (2600MHz) or 40 (2300MHz)

Then you know which frequency bands that unifi mobile uses in your area, as well as knowing your huawei modems supports at which frequency bands.

Unifi Mobile = Unifi Air
joshhd
post Sep 28 2019, 11:55 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Sep 28 2019, 10:30 PM)
or you can just think the other way round, if unifi air introduced with something that supports band 38, like the celcom b618-22d, u won't get good speed on this band too, b'coz it's being congested, conclusion is it's not that TM put good speed on b38, but just b5 and b40 is being congested, same thing will happen the other way round. We should feel fortunate instead there's still a band available that is not too occupied

True also.
Don't forget, 65d also supports b28 (700MHz). TM might interested in getting some of this spectrum after analogue switch off has completed and spectrum auction begins. If that really happens, Unifi air users that using Huawei b618-65d modem can get to enjoy service from this 700MHz band right after its base station is up and running, on top with 850MHz and others.
joshhd
post Sep 30 2019, 08:44 AM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(jin^manusia @ Sep 30 2019, 03:52 AM)
Can anyone explain how some got better mbps? What i mean more than 20mbps...

Hmm... This is something that you may not able to contol.
Same like mobile telcos, speeds are on best efforts basis. It depends on the location and the network traffic in your area.
joshhd
post Sep 30 2019, 06:29 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(matt_rix @ Sep 30 2019, 05:39 PM)
Is the coverage the same as unifi mobile?

Unifi Air and Unifi Mobile are the same thing, and coverage is also the same. It's just that both services are cater for different user needs. Marketing.

QUOTE(jin^manusia @ Sep 30 2019, 06:21 PM)
Meaning they didn't capped the speed?

By right, no.
But they can cap the speed if they feel like it.
Since they "promised" to get an average 20Mbps, then just accept as it is. If your speed is lower than 20mbps, then you may ask TM what's going on.
joshhd
post Oct 5 2019, 11:29 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Oct 5 2019, 11:01 PM)
Hi guys, just need confirmation. Is it confirmed that Unifi Air and Unifi Mobile is the same thing? Because according to "check my coverage", there's no Unifi Air coverage at my location.

An does good Celcom 4G coverage equal to good Unifi 4G coverage? Their staff told me they're using Celcom 4G. However my phone seems unable to lock 4G even at place where Celcom got excellent coverage. This makes me hesitated to get the Unifi Air because Unifiy Mobile is awfully problematic.

It make me wonder whether it's my phone is the problem, or it's the 4G is the problem...

If "Check my coverage" tells you there's no Unifi Air coverage at your location, then it is safe to say that you are advised not to consider subscribe Unifi Air for the time being then.

Good Celcom 4G coverage does not necessarily mean Unifi Mobile will roam Celcom's 4G network whenever Unifi's own coverage isn't available in the area. Also, whenever your Unifi Mobile shows 3G or H+, it is roaming on Celcom's network.

Unifiy Mobile is awfully problematic.
You've already got your own answer...

What is your phone model? Check if your phone model supports these 4G LTE bands, which are Band 5 850MHz, Band 38 2600MHz and Band 40 2300MHz. If all these 3 bands are supported, yet you get poor network performance from Unifi Mobile at your area, then it is advised that you give up and switch to other telco for the time being.
joshhd
post Oct 6 2019, 12:26 AM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Oct 5 2019, 11:53 PM)
Seems like my problem regarding coverage is "settled" for now. I set to "LTE/UMTS auto (PRL)" in hidden "phone info" menu and 4G seems like stable than before. On the other hand; sadly, 4G only 1-2 bar then disappear. I guess it is indeed the coverage issue. Will try if this working at workplace tomorrow.

According to the spec for Redmi Note 5 pro:
4G Bands:TD-LTE 2300(band 40) / 2500(band 41) FD-LTE 2100(band 1) / 1800(band 3) / 850(band 5)3G Bands: UMTS 1900 / 2100 / 850 / 900 MHz2G Bands: GSM 1800 / 1900 / 850 / 900 MHz GPRS:Available EDGE:Available

I guess only 1 band out of 3. Does this explain the poor network performance?

Thank you regarding Celcom network roaming info. That's new info for me. Whew, kinda to telco talk already.  laugh.gif

When you force 4G/3G that way, do double check that you're still able to make/receive phone calls.
sadly, 4G only 1-2 bar then disappear. I guess it is indeed the coverage issue
1-2 signal bars is consider quite poor already, and that could be the reason your phone fall back to 3G. Yet, you mentioned that it'll disappear as well, which somehow shows that the network is unstable in your area.

Your phone supports 2300MHz Band 40 and 850MHz Band 5, but doesn't support Band 38 2600MHz.
Well, if so happen Unifi Mobile's coverage is good in your area, but only on Band 38 2600MHz frequency band, and not so well perform on other bands, then too bad for you lo... Try look for your family or friend's phone models that supports all 3 bands, then do all the network tests, like monitor signal bar/readings, speed tests, video streaming and web browsing, etc. Then at least you'll know the root cause of poor network performance comes from where.

My advise, give up and move on to other telco. console.gif

0.0204sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:15 AM