Unifi Air, is it good?

andrekua2
post Aug 7 2019, 09:54 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(bl@ze @ Jul 31 2019, 11:38 PM)
I'm in the same situation..stuck with 4mbps..from your post it seems to be a good deal. Any contracts that you have to commit to?

My only concern is latency when gaming. You wouldn't happen to be a gamer would you bro?
Rest assured streamyx users are mostly not gamers. How do you think you'll win with these speed?

I can't wait for this too since my office is stuck with 1mbps. Even a 5-10mbps is hella better than what I'm currently paying for.
andrekua2
post Oct 17 2019, 05:24 PM

13,472 posts

Damnit TM... I went to TM Point so many times but you kept telling me not yet for business. All you need to do is tell me to use my personal name and claim from my company instead.

After 2 months of frustration, finally got my Unifi Air... I cant wait to type authorize letter to cancel streamyx. So damn happy... maybe my area got Unifi thus only me on Unifi Air, therefore Im getting really good speed.

andrekua2
post Oct 18 2019, 07:20 AM

13,472 posts

Those who want sim only to use on your phone why not settled for unifi mobile RM99? I think it will have much wider coverage than this Unifi Air. It's unlimited data and call according to what I saw.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Oct 18 2019, 07:21 AM
andrekua2
post Oct 18 2019, 09:52 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Oct 18 2019, 08:58 AM)
i believe the coverage is same.

rm79 is cheaper than rm99.

youtube not capped.

unlimited hotspot.
Really? I thought it is using different band because the sales person keep saying the coverage for both are different.
andrekua2
post Nov 22 2019, 10:20 PM

13,472 posts

Last month, I shared the speedtest for my unifi air that I just registered for my office. It was 3x Mbps. Now after a month with 2xx GB usage, I find myself stucked at around 7-12Mbps. What a huge difference. I dont know what happened but the signal strength for 20mhz drop like hell to between 0-2. I turned on B5+B40 10mhz and signal strength could reach 8. If B5 only, then even worse 3mbps.

Although I'm complaining, but it's not like I had any other choice since my boss self developed this factory. Pulling fibre from the nearest point cost over RM10k. Paying RM79 now is much better than the RM99 1Mbps streamyx we used to pay. Yes, you heard me right, 1Mbps for RM99.
andrekua2
post Jan 16 2023, 11:15 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(Billy.Who @ Jan 11 2023, 07:29 PM)
Anyone using Unifi Air with those cheap USB modems from Lazada/Shopee?

Saw a few good deals with the relevant bands (5 / 38 / 40) for below RM 100.

Considering getting one since I only need it for around 2 months

Also, anyone using the Air sim via a phone?  I asked at a TM Point store and they said Unifi Air doesn't allow it and will block access if the sim is detected on a phone..
I did tried using office Unifi Air sim in my Realme GT Neo3 to see if there would be 5G but no signal at all. I don't know if it was my phone not supporting band 38 and 40 or just Unifi blocking the access. Plugging back the sim into B618 and Internet is back. Tested at the same location.
andrekua2
post Jul 28 2023, 07:34 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jul 19 2023, 10:14 PM)
maybe asked before but

anybody here use unifi air with cctv decoder (e.g: hikvision)?

is it enough/ok?

tq
I used Unifi Air in my office with cctv before (not sure what is the brand, I think is dahua). I think it connects to third party server before going through clients. It works but kinda slow since Unifi Air is not really fast in my area (about 20Mbps download and 2-5Mbps downloads depending on situation). I have since upgraded to Celcom 5G.
andrekua2
post Jul 28 2023, 07:38 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Feb 6 2023, 08:11 PM)
Might try complain one more time

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/654142
MCMC told to resolve telcos' service quality issues by June — Fahmi
But am losing hope with that minister, very weak compare to gobind
I think might just as well move on since there are 5G now albeit at higher price. Unifi Air was provided due to the last mileage problem and it was limited due to the band 5/40 limitation with TM (the service itself is a rebrand of P1).

I think Unifi aint gonna upgrade their band 5/40 just for Unifi Air. Cost wise it does not make sense for them.
andrekua2
post Jan 4 2024, 11:35 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Oct 3 2023, 06:56 PM)
Interested in the unifi air 5g but too bad that their pricing set too high. In comparison, u brand and y brand much cheaper around half of the price.

Just that the u brand got 1000gb fup while y brand have a bad reputation 😮‍💨. I have been using unifi air 4g for ages and no issue so far, if the unifi air 5g is just slightly above 4g like rm20 then will be good.

Unifi quite bad in doing business, if not because of monopoly of fiber sure the company will struggling. They should reach out to those current user of unifi air and offer them a special rate to upgrade to further improve their revenue..

With pricing of 149, I think most of the people will rather go for the fiber optic option or opt for u or y brand 🙄
Late reply but I was using unifi air 4g too until Celcom finally came with 5G offer with 1000GB FUP. Can't wait for unifi and their slow ass action. So far so good, add RM20 and speed went from 20Mbps to 500~1000mbps. Expensive but worth it. At first wanna sign yes but 150GB meh... luckily didn't sign.

If celcom doesn't came out with 1000GB offer, I think most would offer 150~200GB and call it a day. Personally I feel like more and more ppl are using 5G now that the max speed that I used to get which is 1000mbps is now mostly at 500+mbps. Still 25x faster than Unifi air. What is really much better is the ping aka response time. Even my 12 years comment about better response when playing roblox on his tablet. The only downside about 5G is if you upload a lot. The upload speed was not advertised but with celcom, speedtest for upload is between 30-50mbps which is a bit low.

andrekua2
post Jan 5 2024, 10:01 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(tomato people @ Jan 5 2024, 09:53 AM)
Celcom plan name?
Home wireless 5g

0.0193sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:19 PM