Credit Cards Public Bank Credit Cards V6, PB Visa Sig 3% & Quantum 2% Cash Back

kclamtarc
post Dec 25 2020, 01:02 PM

388 posts

hi guys, am considering to switch cc.. but looks like the thread for Public Bank Visa Signature is already closed on Apr 6 2017, 09:17 PM (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3991972/+3440)

Is this card still alive? how's its reputation so far, if anyone of you are willing to briefly share? I learn that its 6% cash rebate is quite attractive, that leads me here heheheh... thank you..
kclamtarc
post Dec 25 2020, 01:09 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 25 2020, 01:04 PM)
Yes, still available. One of the best card with 6% cash back on online/dining/groceries but capped at RM 38.
thank you for your input, much appreciated. then can proceed with online application at Ringgit Plus hehe. Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday!
kclamtarc
post Dec 25 2020, 06:26 PM

388 posts

Can’t believe that I diligently went through this thread starting from page 400 for the whole afternoon LOL. The discussions are really beneficial. But please excuse me as I have additional doubts, would be very appreciative if any sifu here have the knowledge to help clarify for me?

Visa Signature card

1) To be waived from annual fee, a minimum of 12 swipes over 12 months is needed. Can I have, say, perform 12 swipes in 1 month, then considered fulfilled this criterion?

2) Does the 6% cashback limited to weekday/weekend spend, and wave/insert to terminal? Or no restriction on this?

3) Does “online transaction” includes e-wallet top-up too?

4) I am confused between “online transaction” and “direct debit” too… Do they mean the same?

5) Is paying for medical/life insurance over the counter considered “recurring transaction”?

6) Pumping petrol does not entitle for cashback. But can it help me to earn VIP points? I think this is not stated in product disclosure sheet

7) I suppose 2x complimentary access to Malaysia Plaza Premium Lounge refers to 2 entries? So if I exit the lounge to toilet, then considered 1 entry used up right? (sorry for this suaku question)

8) To apply the card, is it enough to provide 3 months payslip, employer confirmation, and photostate IC both sides? I had PB credit card but cancelled many years ago..

9) I currently only have a CIMB credit card. Should I cancel it before applying this Visa Signature card?

Thank you very much.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by kclamtarc: Dec 25 2020, 06:27 PM
kclamtarc
post Dec 25 2020, 06:45 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 25 2020, 06:31 PM)
1) To be waived from annual fee, a minimum of 12 swipes over 12 months is needed. Can I have, say, perform 12 swipes in 1 month, then considered fulfilled this criterion?
As long as, 12 swipes in the preceding 12 months; no need to be strictly once per month

2) Does the 6% cashback limited to weekday/weekend spend, and wave/insert to terminal? Or no restriction on this?
No restriction on any day; no restriction either contactless or PIN

9) I currently only have a CIMB credit card. Should I cancel it before applying this Visa Signature card?
No impact if you're financially qualified or over-qualified.
Thank you so much GrumpyNooby for your insightful feedback, I am much clearer now rclxm9.gif

I suppose this card can also ask for SST rebate then, just like its Quantum counterpart?
kclamtarc
post Dec 25 2020, 06:49 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 25 2020, 06:46 PM)
Yes, can try to request
alright, thank you thumbsup.gif
kclamtarc
post Dec 28 2020, 08:39 PM

388 posts

Can anybody share where can the VIP points be viewed?
kclamtarc
post Dec 28 2020, 08:49 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 28 2020, 08:39 PM)
statement or call cs
alright, thank you smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
kclamtarc
post Jan 7 2021, 01:42 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Jan 7 2021, 01:16 PM)
I see, thanks!

If really can get cb with saved card method, would be awesome.

Currently need more step to reload my Tngo, but if that assures me 100% to get cb, I don't mind it.
would be even more owesome if you can share if eventually you can or cannot get the cashback ya rclxm9.gif
kclamtarc
post Jan 13 2021, 05:23 PM

388 posts

just got a call from public bank telling me to resend a clearer version of IC to them. the email given is pbcscredit@publicbank.com.my

can somebody verify if this email is valid ya? just in case you have experienced. thank you~
kclamtarc
post Jan 14 2021, 10:37 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 13 2021, 08:14 PM)
How do you apply your card?
by sending application to cardsmarketing@publicbank.com.my oh

i followed up with them 2 days ago, and been told still in process
then last night got call by this girl telling me my IC not so clear
anyway, hmm, since the domain is @publicbank.com.my , I returned my clearer IC to the email she gave already
I also cc to cardsmarketing@publicbank.com.my

will update here of the progress so that everybody can benefit

This post has been edited by kclamtarc: Jan 14 2021, 10:39 AM
kclamtarc
post Jan 15 2021, 06:12 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 14 2021, 10:41 AM)
I tell you what. Just give PBB customer service a call and ask if pbcscredit@publicbank.com.my is a valid email
just called. Yes, CS said pbcscredit@publicbank.com.my is genuine and it belongs to PB Credit Processing Department.
kclamtarc
post Jan 15 2021, 06:20 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 15 2021, 06:13 PM)
Good, thanks for the follow up. Now at least we can advice others accordingly.
welcome blush.gif
kclamtarc
post Feb 7 2021, 04:51 PM

388 posts

can we choose to receive SMS notification whenever we spend using credit card?
i spent a few times via Pin, did not get SMS notification
then one time I accidentally used wave, I got SMS notifcation
but after that even though I used wave, no more SMS notification
it seems random to me blush.gif

This post has been edited by kclamtarc: Feb 7 2021, 04:53 PM
kclamtarc
post Feb 7 2021, 05:12 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Feb 7 2021, 05:00 PM)
Inform CS you would like to set your SMS transaction limit to RM1.00
oh I see! smile.gif Thank you for informing ya rclxm9.gif
kclamtarc
post Feb 7 2021, 07:13 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Feb 7 2021, 06:47 PM)
Not all Paywave transactions are verified with your card issuer in real-time.
Eg in Kuching, you use Paywave at H&L, you get offline approval (approval code is not 6-digit number and your available credit limit is not earmarked), PB will not know this transaction until it is posted (in the following day), of course PB can't send you SMS immediately after you wave your CC.
I have this doubt because I am comparing with CIMB credit card, in which whenever I swipe, regardless of the amount and merchant, will always have a SMS sent to me
kclamtarc
post Feb 7 2021, 08:18 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 7 2021, 07:15 PM)
why compare with other banks?

it won't change PBB's business policies anyway
oh, not purposely compare. It is for my convenience actually. I prefer it to be sent to my phone so that when I check my phone I know the exact amount I need to pay. I dont have the habit of keeping receipts.
And if I can get SMS immediately after my card is charged, I feel more secured. Like, if suddenly I receive SMS when I am not using my card, I can take immediate action to call the bank.

This post has been edited by kclamtarc: Feb 7 2021, 08:19 PM
kclamtarc
post Feb 7 2021, 08:55 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 7 2021, 08:24 PM)
sms is costly and unreliable

pb engage app can track card usage, even unposted txn.
thanks for the tips! I will go explore PB app
kclamtarc
post Feb 19 2021, 08:26 PM

388 posts

Do laugh at me.

I am very stupid and insensitive to think that Visa Signature offers max RM 38 cashback for Dining, max RM 38 cashback for Onine transaction, and max RM 38 cashback for grocery. Until I get my first statement to realise these three categories actually come with a combined max cashback of RM 38 only. HAHAHAHA. So stupid aiyo. Cannot forgive myself.

This post has been edited by kclamtarc: Feb 19 2021, 08:27 PM
kclamtarc
post Feb 20 2021, 08:54 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 19 2021, 09:21 PM)
we forgive you biggrin.gif
By the way, I would like to share that (for Visa Signature) in Kuching:

cashback:
Yomies Yogurt - Vivacity
Secret Recipe - Vivacity
Oishi Sushi
Everwin 11th miles
Hon Yan SB-BT 11
Hon Yan Sdn Bhd
Everise - Vivacity
CS Mini Market-Jln Wan Alwi
Boost APP 3D-EC
Emart Tabuan Tranquility

VIP points:
Red Viva SB (Loong Kee BBQ Pork) - Vivacity
Aeon Co-Kuching Central
kclamtarc
post Feb 21 2021, 11:16 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Feb 20 2021, 09:34 PM)
Aeon Supermarket (including food and bakery outside Supermarket) - Groceries, Maybank machine (not sure the new Aeon Credit card machine).

Some card machines at Everrise especially CIMB machines at Departmental section - not Groceries MCC, so no 6% CB. But Everrise accept Boost, you can top up Boost to get 6% CB then use Boost to pay Everrise.
Thanks. I bought stationery inside Aeon Co-Kuching Central so no cashback.

0.0492sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:34 PM