REIT, real estate investment...

cherroy
post Sep 1 2009, 04:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 1 2009, 04:08 PM)
fellow Arreit shareholders

have you gotten your 1st interim DPU? (3.4190 sens)

payment date is on 28th Aug, i have yet to receive mine, aiks.
Only received Stareit for last week.

May be raining season (rain non-stop for a week already) + lot of holidays delay the postman delivery.

UOAreit
Qcapital
Axreit

also not yet received, all are payment date on 28th.
cherroy
post Sep 1 2009, 11:35 PM

25,802 posts

OK, received Arreit and Qcapital today.
cherroy
post Sep 3 2009, 03:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alextkc @ Sep 3 2009, 03:04 PM)
How do i know if mine is a norminee account? or all those trading account registered with HongLeong are norminee account?
Sorry, really embarassing. know nothing abt share, except looking at the price.

thx.
If not mistaken

HLebroking mostly are nominee account.
HLG is the investment bank that got direct account.

Generally those trading portal offered by normal bank like Maybank2U, PBebank, HLe, etc are nominee type account as they are not principally broking firm/investment bank.

Those principally investment banks are like OSK, Hwang are those offering direct account, although they can offer nominee account as well.

See you statement where your shares being kept will know. If you share is kept with Bursa's CDS account, then it is a direct account, if the share is kept with HLe one then it is nominee.
cherroy
post Sep 4 2009, 04:42 PM

25,802 posts

2.00 seems not attractive to buy anymore unless DPU more than 16-17 cents pa.
cherroy
post Sep 22 2009, 12:16 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Vinct @ Sep 21 2009, 06:21 PM)
I feel that REIT management keep on injected new property to the portfolio in order to raise their management fee. As the manager's fee is base on certain percentage of the NTA, hence next year when they revalue the properties, sure the value of NTA will increase and their manager's fee will increase as well, they are not care about Earning Per Unit is increase or not. Through their creative package, they try to convince that the new property injected will not going to have dilution effect, but this is not the case. This is a negative point for REITs investor, what do you think?  rclxub.gif
Yes, your concern is reasonable.

But you get a few points wrong here. smile.gif

Inject new properties into the reit, won't increase the NTA. You increased the total asset owned but not the NTA, as you need to take loan to purchase those properties.

Also manager fee is based on properties value under the portfolio, it is not based on NTA.
So inject new properties mean more managerial fee, yes, right. More job, more fee, fair enough, as long as it brings benefit to the shareholders.

Inject new properties won't have any dilution effect, if there is no new shares being issued or private placement.

Also even there is private placement which is to fund the new properties acquisition, it doesn't mean dilution effect must occur, as those new properties will increase your income based, as long as those rental income is good, if could offset the dilution effect.

Last year private placement of Axreit doesn't dilute the DPU, instead due to good rental income from the new properties, it increases DPU from 12-13 cents to now a bout 15-16 cents range.

If reit having more properties mean they are more diversified which means risk is more spread out, which is a good thing. Also if properties market goes up, it might benefit more.
We had seen how Atrium which only have 4 warehouses, one of the warehouse tenant moved out, it impact severely its DPU.
cherroy
post Sep 22 2009, 02:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Vinct @ Sep 22 2009, 01:09 PM)
Cherroy, thanks for sharing  notworthy.gif ,  would like to explain more details:

In terms of REIT,  maybe I should use NAV instead of NTA to avoid confusion. NAV is net asset Value per unit (Total Asset Value less Liability) and manager's fee is 0.3% NAV p.a., (depend on certain REIT, some 0.5%) , so as a manager, one way to increase salary is increase the total asset value. It doesn't matter if I raised fund through private placement, right issue or take loan to buy a new property.  In fact, if manager not actively perform the acquisition, as long as reduce the liability, then NAV will increase as well.

Take Axreit as example, last year's private placement and acquisition has increased EPU from 13.63 cent to 15.27 cent, a increase of 12%. But manager's fee increase from 3077K to 4242K, a raised of 37% !  (if no dilute effect, at least investor should expect same percentage of increase in EPU similar to manager's fee)

Atrium is even worst, the latest 2nd Q result, manager's fee increase from 150K to 189K, but the DPU decrease significantly due to tenant moved out and other cost.

For the case of ARREIT (Amanahraya), they have injected many properties to REIT and increase NAV since listing, as a result last year manager's fee increase from 460k to 1255k (increase of 172%) whereas DPS increased from 5.441 cent to 7.011 cent (increase 29% only). The latest 6 months alone manager's fee increase from 616k to 671k, but the DPU stand at 3.4190 cent, decreased of 4.39% from 3.5759 cents previously.  

Since the properties rarely loss value and often appreciate, NAV will increase every year and manager's fee will increase regardless of rental increase of not. (I would think this is not fare enough, the fee should base on percentage of rental income instead of NAV) From the above sample, we should identify who is good manager, sleeping manager / worst manager.

A good manager should do the job of increase the DPU though acquisition, the best is even sell the under performing properties to finance the acquisition of undervalue properties. As an investor, we are looking for dividend growth REIT and future capacity to pay high dividend and not so concern about manager's fee, as long as they are relatively good compare to others.
You raised a good point, nod.gif but reit wise situation is 3x better than UT. UT managers charge fixed 1.5% annually, (that's why it is lucrative business to do nod.gif ) disregard they are performing or not even sleeping. biggrin.gif
No offence or discredit the fund managers. smile.gif

Yes, managers should be getting fee based on performance like x% of total rental income generated which by then there are more incentive for managers to perform better in term of DPU to the shareholders. But if total based on rental income solely, it is a bit no fair to the managers as well. As what if there is period of no tenant, still they need to work and paid for their expenses for looking after the properties and seek for new tenant. We can't expect others totally work for free, right/
Just like if company is not making profit, we can't say give zero wages to the management board.

My view, the better way is to have fixed low amount based on NAV (lower than current) but compensate back with high % of rental income generated.

Reit is a bit different. They cannot reduce liability significantly without private placement because every profit made every semi-annually they need to distribute at least 90% to the shareholders already, so there is little left in the money to pare down the borrowing, while there is cap of 50% borrowing based on NAV which restrict the ability of managers to inject properties.

For good manager, or sleeping manager or manager that inject more properties to increase the fee while benefitting none to shareholders, you or we already can judge from the just like figure you posted. So we knew we have a choice to choose which is better one to invest.

For Axreit case, from shareholders point of view, the increase of manager fee is well justified because the increment of DPU.

While for incremental part of fee, we cannot have same proportion increase in % wise due to mathematically issue as mentioned by your posts, (you cannot have same increment of %) as well as shareholders getting more diversication effect with more properties.

Eg. like below 2 situation will give you clear picture why we cannot say increase in Manager fee must as same as DPU.

Let say reit has 10 million share issued

A scenario
1 property under management, with NAV 10 million with rental income 1 mil.

So manager fee is 50K
DPU Rm0.10

B scenario
Inject another property similar property 10 million and rental income also 1 mil but the acquisition is done/fund by private placement of another 10 million shares issued.

So now manager fee is 100k (100% increase), even you use rental income, it is still the same incremental %.
Total rental income is 2 mil but you have 20 million shares now, so DPU still Rm0.10.

Above clearly show, 100% increase in fee, but no increment in DPU, so can we say, the manager is sucking money?
Not a straight forward answer as you have diversification benefit already in B.

If one said, there is no justification of manager fee 100% increase, so you oppose the acquisition in B and opt A, which is not right also as A is more risky than B.

That's why it is impossible to have same % increment of fee with DPU through properties injection.

Any acquisiton will increase the DPU it is a good deal for existing shareholders, as for current shareholders, we concern about how much increment we can get without forking out a single cent, which we cannot run away the manager fee increase more than DPU due to above example show.

Properties injection is important for reit, because in reit, size does matter in term of attracting instituitional investors as well as diversifcation objective.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 22 2009, 02:27 PM
cherroy
post Sep 30 2009, 04:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Sep 30 2009, 04:29 PM)
if not mistaken tenant is back in the property & now they are having 100% occupancy. Anyone can verify that ?
Yes based on its latest update.
cherroy
post Sep 30 2009, 11:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Sep 30 2009, 08:30 PM)
Atrium is having 100% occupancy. But almost 50% is DHL, 75% of their properties are logistics company. I think risks are quite high indeed. I am new to REITs, I am thinking of having some part, but I feel their revenue is not well diversified.

Any comment about this ?

BTW, do you know when will Capital Land be listing in our shore ? According to previous news they said will be postponed from 2008 to 2009, but until now no movement yet.
Yup, risk of non-diviersification is quite high, but if turns out to be good, you are getting a yield more than 10% (if there is 100% occupancy), so it is always a trade-off.

For reit, I posted before, I preferred Axreit more, but I got some in Atrium also.

Capital land should be listing in the 4Q, but may delay to next year as well, the postpone is due to poor market sentiment on IPO market. Reit IPO might not received well response, as people here still new to reit.

The capital land proposed to list consist of shopping mall like Gurney Plaza etc.
cherroy
post Oct 1 2009, 01:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Oct 1 2009, 09:09 AM)
Thank you bro cherroy, will study other counter like Axreit. Why Capital Land will list in the market while its subsidiary Qcapital is available ?
Capital land owns part of Qcapital, it is not solely owned by them.
cherroy
post Oct 6 2009, 03:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Oct 6 2009, 02:40 PM)
Today, I bought Amfirst.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Amfirst is expected to give near 5 cents soon. thumbup.gif
cherroy
post Oct 12 2009, 09:59 AM

25,802 posts

It is bad for local reit market development. sad.gif
cherroy
post Oct 12 2009, 04:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Oct 12 2009, 04:01 PM)
Pana,

what is claimable? from my understanding, all tax are not claimable la..
Witholding tax is not claimable.

Only imputation tax (on ordinary dividend) is claimable.

Reit is under witholding tax.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 12 2009, 04:39 PM
cherroy
post Oct 12 2009, 04:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Oct 12 2009, 04:46 PM)
Dear Cherroy,

I have never claimed a single cent on my taxes.
If i'm not mistaken, beginning this year 2009, all dividend tax is not claimable.

meaning, you pay the full 25% corporate tax.

Correct me if i'm wrong
You can claim on the Tanjong's dividend as it is still under old imputation dividend system (or other stocks you have declared without the word single tier)

Wait, your gross income probably already max the bracket, ie. your annual income is already on the highest bracker, so please don't bother to claim back, you are not entitled to claim back. You still save 2%, as corporate tax 25%, personal 27%.
cherroy
post Oct 14 2009, 05:05 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Oct 14 2009, 04:22 PM)
Not only HEKTAR, but most REITs also kena dumped. Diverse from the market if you are confident about it. When everyone rushes in, we certainly will not buy at cheap already. That is also one of the reason why CapitaLand keeps postponing their listing here due to poor response.  doh.gif
Due to low liqudity across the reit, once there is need for fund manager to dispose, it will cause the particular reit price being depressed.

Reit is not as same as ordinary stock, even the overall market is bullish, reit upside potential is capped by its property valuation and its rental income. So if rental income won't improve too much, there is no reason for reit price to go up like ordinary stocks.

Reit locally generally won't move in tandem with general stock market trend one. They generally move based on its fundamental suggesting.

Reit is not kena dumped across. Just they shouldn't up too much way beyond its fundamental.

While since Australia raise interest rate, there is talk about some central banks are considering to hike interest rate. If interest going up (FD rate), the differentiate in yield between reit and FD become smaller, and less attractiveness for fund managers.

Only if property price going up or rental income increment, it only justifies reit price to go further up.
cherroy
post Oct 14 2009, 11:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(flight @ Oct 14 2009, 07:41 PM)
The only part I agree with is the part where interest rates will affect REIT prices.

REITs do follow market sentiment, if they did not they wouldn't have collapsed so spectacularly during the market crash. The fundamentals were unchanged during that period.

With a yield of around 8% in most REIT's right now I think it's still a relatively safe place to park your money.

Those who love highly geared REIT's like AXREIT should take note that AXREIT has almost maxed out their 50% debt available to them. If interest rates come up, not only are they going to look less attractive, their going to have to pay back all the money they were borrowing from the bank. Unless they got fixed rate or something like that, which doesnt seem likely.
Reit does partly follow market sentiment, after all everything (in short term) follow general market sentiment, even rubbish stocks also can go up in a bullish market. biggrin.gif

But for local reit, due to low liquidity, a lot of time, it tends not to follow market sentiment. As reit still limited to some investors interest only, particularly from fund managers that look for fixed income investment like insurance funds, while only little retailers are participating in it.

Reit fall spectacularly during the crash (in fact everything fall drastically back then) especially in US and UK, because of property market bubble burst, while they are highly geared than what local reit is, and some unable to refinance the borrowing due, which need to fire-sale their portfolio properties at the wrong time so it is not without fundamental change. For local, with serious recession threat, it means future rental or tenant lease renewal could be problematic (that's why local reit also failling quite a lot), Atrium is the classic example whereby DPU falling sharply due to tenant moving out, so fundamental does change.
But right now with recovery and improvement all across, so does prospect of reit.

Axreit is under private placement (50 million shares) just month ago which pare down the borrowing.

Interest going up or not, reit company is not paying back all the money they borrow one (they don't have the money to pay for, as 90% of income is always distributed to the shareholders already). Always refinancing and roll over the loan when due, except through private placement to raise cash or sell the portfolio properties, only they can able to repay the all borrowing

Yes, interest rate goes up does hurt the attractiveness of reit, while mean more interest expenses incurred.

But if interest rate goes up, it means economy is doing well, so generally properties market also in good shape and potential better property value appreciation as well as better negotiation price for the rental.

cherroy
post Oct 14 2009, 11:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 14 2009, 11:12 PM)
Can anyone share any articles of REIT dividend income and personal income tax?

Added on October 14, 2009, 11:15 pm

What do REITs do with the balance 10% net earnings? Put in FD?
Reit income is subjected to witholding tax, and not applicable anymore on personal income tax, as far as I know

There won't be double taxation.

Could be, Some do give 95% or 99% as well. Company still need some cash for operation.
The 10% of rental income is peanut figure compared to its overall borrowing. Cannot rely on the 10% left to pay for the borrowing.

Most reit property has yield around 9-10% ie. your property worth 100 million, expected rental income is around 10 million pa.

So if you use borrowing to finance the purchase of the property at 50% gearing, it means you get a loan of 50 million to finance it. Your rental income is 10 million and left 10%, only 1 million. It takes 50 years accumulation before can repay the full amount of the loan. So you cannot rely in the left 10% for repayment of the full loan.

You service the loan, but not pay in full. Refinance is always the key of reit company for its borrowing. That's why reit fall drastically when credit market freeze time during last Oct. as without refinancing available to them when due, they won't able to repay the borrowing, and need to fire-sale their properties.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 14 2009, 11:29 PM
cherroy
post Oct 21 2009, 02:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 21 2009, 12:04 AM)
Is there a typo? NAV revised DOWNWARDS? Shouldn't upwards be better? Why revise downwards when it's still below the market price?
I haven't go through the Q report, but there is no revision on its properties value, if not mistaken, so there won't be any change in the real value of properties.

The decrease of NAV could be dilution effect on private placement which I don't think will be too much because private placement being priced at around 1.6x. (if I remember correctly)
cherroy
post Oct 22 2009, 10:51 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Oct 22 2009, 10:44 AM)
actually, i'm expecting 2.2 to 2.4 cents.
will c in a few days time
I do thing a bit too optimistic for 2.2~2.4, anything DPU around 2 cents is good enough already.

My opinion only.
cherroy
post Oct 22 2009, 02:56 PM

25,802 posts

Arreit has a nice run up lately, 0.88 already. Some news around?
cherroy
post Oct 23 2009, 11:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(claricecmw @ Oct 23 2009, 10:27 PM)
So far nobody posted or may be it is irrelevant....anyway was wondering whether the 5% RPGT as announced during budget just now has any effect to REITs counters?
There is little direct/immediate impact of the property gain tax on the reit side, as reit seldom/never sell their properties since the injection/introduction of reit.

But property gain tax does put some 'cold water' on the property transaction, which affect some on the property market. But I don't think the 5% will be a major issue across, yes it does have some impact, but 5% tax won't reduce the property transaciton too much.

22 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0451sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:21 AM