Investment Mont Kiara properties., Will it be the first ghost suburb?

TSBjorn1688
post Jun 18 2019, 02:57 PM, updated 7y ago

1,924 posts

Let's have a chit chat on Mont Kiara properties.

Let's also be clear what constitutes Mont Kiara properties, places such as Segambut Dalam, Dutamas etc isn't MK.

Prices have mostly fallen atypical with 99% of condos that as they age they also fall in value especially as many start to touch that 10 and 20 year mark.

Build quality for most of the original ones built by Sunrise seem to be holding up.

Vacancy rates are extremely high these days but let's be realistic its always been higher than average.

Who are still into buying this place? Anyone dumping it?
Aventador360
post Jun 18 2019, 03:14 PM

349 posts

Buying the original ones by Sunrise like Pines and Palma whenever got price dips. The UEM ones don’t interest me. Quality sucks and overpriced in my opinion.
SUSkevin23
post Jun 18 2019, 03:26 PM

1,803 posts

MK is always self sustaining. It will never be ghosttown due to the fact there is a few international schools there. Tons of offices there.

Alot of ppl are still buying the newer developments along Jalan Kiara 3.

Prices have gone down due to competition in the area.

This post has been edited by kevin23: Jun 18 2019, 03:28 PM
BukitKing222
post Jun 18 2019, 04:18 PM

352 posts

Wah ...if Mont Kiara is ghost suburb, then all other area like Subang, Puchong, Kepong , Cheras , Shah Alam will be HELL! lol

Why this deserve a thread on its own...so redundant..

In fact, more upscale developments are coming soon in Duta, Kenny Hill, MK and Bukit Kiara itself...They need a bigger mall there.
edwedw
post Jun 18 2019, 04:40 PM

96 posts

If looking for MK new project (basically due to sub sales need a lot of cash) and for own stay, which is the better option? Just wanna hear opinion from sifu sifu here.

Pentamont
Inspirasi
Astrea
KAMI

Any other new project left out?

This post has been edited by edwedw: Jun 18 2019, 04:41 PM
BukitKing222
post Jun 18 2019, 04:48 PM

352 posts

ALIX MK
Solaris PARQ Phase 1 and 2
KL Metropolis upcoming launches
BON ESTATE MK
edwedw
post Jun 18 2019, 05:04 PM

96 posts

Thank you but basically only Bon Estate MK is at the border of MK...

QUOTE(BukitKing222 @ Jun 18 2019, 04:48 PM)
ALIX MK
Solaris PARQ Phase 1 and 2
KL Metropolis upcoming launches
BON ESTATE MK
BukitKing222
post Jun 18 2019, 05:04 PM

352 posts

Ardena MK
limmmkb P
post Jun 18 2019, 05:15 PM

Probation
22 posts

I just moved into mk bayu end of 2017.

- tbh the older apartments do lack that wow factor, but i think in time with refurbishments it would fine.

- a bit of renovation in your own unit will make it so much better than the newer apartments, cause u can get alot more space for ur budget, unless u have an unlimited budget then just go for the new ones.

- the older condos seem to be built with more land, and i guess the developers were more generous in making the spaces not feel so cramped.

- but facilities wise, needs alot of improvement, but if u dont use the gym then probably u wont really mind.

- as for living in MK, its a good neighbourhood.. police security is tight, u can walk to the nearby malls from ur condo which is quite nice, and if you normally work or hangout at the areas surrounding MK then its also a plus.

- traffic situation is good, i leave the house at 8am, and its quite clear, takes me 10mins to exit the MK area on average.

this just my 2 cents smile.gif goodluck to all the buyers and sellers!

BukitKing222
post Jun 18 2019, 05:22 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(limmmkb @ Jun 18 2019, 05:15 PM)

- tbh the older apartments do lack that wow factor, but i think in time with refurbishments it would fine.

- a bit of renovation in your own unit will make it so much better than the newer apartments, cause u can get alot more space for ur budget, unless u have an unlimited budget then just go for the new ones.

- the older condos seem to be built with more land, and i guess the developers were more generous in making the spaces not feel so cramped.

- but facilities wise, needs alot of improvement, but if u dont use the gym then probably u wont really mind.

- as for living in MK, its a good neighbourhood.. police security is tight, u can walk to the nearby malls from ur condo which is quite nice, and if you normally work or hangout at the areas surrounding MK then its also a plus.

- traffic situation is good, i leave the house at 8am, and its quite clear, takes me 10mins to exit the MK area on average.

this just my 2 cents  smile.gif goodluck to all the buyers and sellers!
thumbsup.gif

Older part of MK is a GEM... You wont get that anymore in Klang Valley

The future hot spot will be at KL Metropolis, Kompleks Kerajaan and Duta North area.
lightbulk
post Jun 25 2019, 09:26 AM

599 posts

I used to stay in Mont kiara. My spouse and I loving this place so much. It took less than 30min to reach KL city center in the morning to work. Good neighborhood. Feeling proud to tell people we staying in MK.
Reason we moved out because agent keep offering us tempting rental with Japanese tenant for my unit. Thanks to that, because of the good rental with positive cash flow we bought a landed and moved out. It has been 7 years now. The MK condo still rented out with Jap family.
I have bought another condo in MK and can't wait for it to complete.
I'll move back to MK for sure. The lifestyle here cant find in anywhere else (this sure MK haters will shoot me).
Talk about haters, I really find a lot MK haters r not staying in MK or ex-MK resident like me and most of them pro-Desa Park City. Aiyo both places have their own beauty.
amxxlim12 P
post Jul 4 2019, 02:24 PM

Probation
18 posts

I am living in MK for the past 5 years and I love it! I'm actually really happy MK now has Kiara 163 retail park. So easy to bring my children to the jungle gym playground and also so many kids friendly cafes. I don't think I'll ever move.

I have a few investments in different properties in MK itself but finding it hard to find any buyers... anyone knows of a good platform I can use to advertise? All the listing platforms doesnt seem to give me any results....
amxxlim12 P
post Jul 5 2019, 06:12 PM

Probation
18 posts

QUOTE(m.ariff @ Jul 4 2019, 03:43 PM)
Perhaps you may want to try this?

just read about this online a while ago....

https://www.bharian.com.my/bisnes/hartanah/...asaran-malaysia
What is this about? Is it like iproperty? I tried to post on iproperty but they said I have to be an agent... So troublesome!
amxxlim12 P
post Jul 8 2019, 09:46 AM

Probation
18 posts

QUOTE(Kuan Lee @ Jul 6 2019, 04:33 PM)

I have a few properties to dispose off. Been engaging a few agents. 2 of them brought some buyers for viewing but they don't come back to me after all the viewings unless there is an offer. Last month i discover a new platform "Ohmyhome" . I found that their agents are more responsible and more professional. They have complimentary DIY service as well. I suggest you may consider engaging this company.
What do you mean by complimentary DIY service? I'm interested if I can sell off my properties. At this point I don't know where else to look for buyers
amxxlim12 P
post Jul 12 2019, 04:10 PM

Probation
18 posts

Anyone here can recommend which is a good investment in MK now since HOC extended till 31st Dec....
shi shi
post Aug 2 2019, 10:45 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(edwedw @ Jun 18 2019, 05:04 PM)
Thank you but basically only Bon Estate MK is at the border of MK...
I am also looking for a new unit in MK for own stay, 'real MK area' I meant. Check out Pentamount (location-wise so so, surrounded by Kampong) yet was told that almost fully sold. sad.gif
Also visited Pavillion Hilltop, quite like the location (very exclusive) and impressed by the landscape. However, the designs of the metal gates installed by the existing owners along the common corridor really turn me off, remind me of low costs flats. sad.gif

Be honest, I am not familiar with Mont Kiara or rather KL as well, as I have been away from Malaysia for many years. But based on my last two visits to MK, I am impressed by the ambient of the area. Thinking of moving back to MK in 1-2 years time.

At the meantime, house haunting is going on..... wish me good luck.

SUSBillCollector
post Aug 3 2019, 04:35 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(shi shi @ Aug 2 2019, 10:45 PM)
I am also looking for a new unit in MK for own stay, 'real MK area' I meant. Check out Pentamount (location-wise so so, surrounded by Kampong) yet was told that almost fully sold. sad.gif
Also visited Pavillion Hilltop, quite like the location (very exclusive) and impressed by the landscape. However, the designs of the metal gates installed by the existing owners along the common corridor really turn me off, remind me of low costs flats. sad.gif

Be honest, I am not familiar with Mont Kiara or rather KL as well, as I have been away from Malaysia for many years. But based on my last two visits to MK, I am impressed by the ambient of the area. Thinking of moving back to MK in 1-2 years time.

At the meantime, house haunting is going on..... wish me good luck.
Pentamount is also on the border of MK and Kg Segambut Dalam. It sold very well because of it being cheap relative to the size of apartment you are getting. Good luck paying for the maintenance fees though.

Easiest if you list what is important to you, such as whether you want to be in proper MK, what you need to be close by and ultimately your budget.

Personally prefer the older ones over those newer ones as it feels more spacious and most of the initial flippers have long since disappeared.
shi shi
post Aug 3 2019, 07:22 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Aug 3 2019, 04:35 PM)
Pentamount is also on the border of MK and Kg Segambut Dalam. It sold very well because  of it being cheap relative to the size of apartment you are getting. Good luck paying for the maintenance fees though.

Easiest if you list what is important to you, such as whether you want to be in proper MK, what you need to be close by and ultimately your budget.

Personally prefer the older ones over those newer ones as it feels more spacious and most of the initial flippers have long since disappeared.
Yes, you are right that Pentamount is also at the border of MK and Kg. Segambut. I actually looking for slightly newer if not brand new development as I am conscious about the wear n tear of the some of the old towers (especially the latent defects due to aging or lack of maintenance). Good designs and common facilities (well-equipped gym, nice swimming pools) are important to me as I believe that is what i am paying to live in a condominium environment.
amxxlim12 P
post Aug 5 2019, 05:58 PM

Probation
18 posts

Yeah... Any new properties in MK to recommend? How about Arcoris? Is it a good place to be at?
SUSBillCollector
post Aug 6 2019, 12:28 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(shi shi @ Aug 3 2019, 07:22 PM)
Yes, you are right that Pentamount is also at the border of MK and Kg. Segambut. I actually looking for slightly newer if not brand new development as I am conscious about the wear n tear of the some of the old towers (especially the latent defects due to aging or lack of maintenance). Good designs and common facilities (well-equipped gym, nice swimming pools) are important to me as I believe that is what i am paying to live in a condominium environment.
The original condos built by Sunrise before it was taken over by UEM are mostly well maintained and surprisingly aged fairly well presumably because the low occupancy rates these buildings had when it was new.

QUOTE(amxxlim12 @ Aug 5 2019, 05:58 PM)
Yeah... Any new properties in MK to recommend? How about Arcoris? Is it a good place to be at?
Nice place but pricey which isn't surprising considering who designed it.

I don't remember there being any new units from the developer.
amxxlim12 P
post Aug 6 2019, 06:46 AM

Probation
18 posts

How about Mah Sing or Sime Darby properties? Any recommendations?
SUSBillCollector
post Aug 6 2019, 09:05 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(amxxlim12 @ Aug 6 2019, 06:46 AM)
How about Mah Sing or Sime Darby properties? Any recommendations?
I don't follow anything by Mah Sing but from a few of their projects build quality has left a lot to be desired especially for something that was supposed to be high end.

Sime Darby's development will always carry a brand premium therefore you have to hold it for a longer time to realize any capital gains but you do get a good product most of the time and they always adopt a customer is always right stance when it comes to defects and rectification. I am guessing if you can consider Trinity Pentamont then you do have lots of choices.
andrewlimkn
post Aug 6 2019, 11:26 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(shi shi @ Aug 3 2019, 07:22 PM)
why is Pentamount considered at the border? Though it is at Jln Kiara 5 which is still part of MK.

Any comments on Astrea? Is the premium worth paying for UEM Sunrise property? Concern is future development towards the north in the future.

I am looking for new developments and am more concerned on getting the right layout (prefer around 1800 with bigger living and master space and not too many other rooms). I like Pavilion Hilltop layout too but it appears that the selling price is still quite high. There is also the WCT development coming soon next to it
a16791
post Aug 9 2019, 08:20 AM

306 posts

Imho better value can be found in sub sale . For 1,800 sft it’s either r22 or Pavillion hilltop which are the newer ones . U can slowly pick and choose .

Majority of the new launch is not prime mk area .

This post has been edited by a16791: Aug 9 2019, 08:21 AM
magmachilli
post Aug 23 2019, 07:47 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(limmmkb @ Jun 18 2019, 05:15 PM)

this just my 2 cents  smile.gif goodluck to all the buyers and sellers!
If you don't mind, would you mind sharing on how you settled for MK Bayu? I'm currently looking to buy around MK as well for self stay, with a preference for the older Sunrise developments, but I find it hard to decide which to go for eg Pines, Palma, Pelangi, Bayu, Astana etc.

My current thoughts at the moment is that Pines and Palma seem to have better facilities than Pelangi, but Pelangi has better security and is slightly newer. But other than that, the actual condo unit itself seems very similar I'm layout and ceiling height. Pelangi seems to be priced at a slight premium and but I'm not sure why. And then Astana seems to be the most expensive of the lot for what seems like a similar offering.

Just rambling, but do appreciate if anyone has thoughts! Thanks!
magmachilli
post Aug 23 2019, 07:48 PM

20 posts

Also, it seems like rental yield for these older units are below 4% at current prices and after maintenance fees. But with increasing supply of newer units it seems like yields will remain at these levels while capital appreciation is limited.

I get that you cant have everything, but it seems like there isn't much to gain from an investment perspective. Unless there is something I'm missing here.
a16791
post Aug 25 2019, 02:13 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(magmachilli @ Aug 23 2019, 07:47 PM)
If you don't mind, would you mind sharing on how you settled for MK Bayu? I'm currently looking to buy around MK as well for self stay, with a preference for the older Sunrise developments, but I find it hard to decide which to go for eg Pines, Palma, Pelangi, Bayu, Astana etc.

My current thoughts at the moment is that Pines and Palma seem to have better facilities than Pelangi, but Pelangi has better security and is slightly newer. But other than that, the actual condo unit itself seems very similar I'm layout and ceiling height. Pelangi seems to be priced at a slight premium and but I'm not sure why. And then Astana seems to be the most expensive of the lot for what seems like a similar offering.

Just rambling, but do appreciate if anyone has thoughts! Thanks!
Pines & Palma has more units than Pelangi . 500 & 400 vs 300. Pelangi’s location also offer slightly better access and also located with mont kiara’s more high end offerings . Other than this the 3 are the same ie each floor has 4 units of 1,200 sft and 2 units of 1,400 sft .

Astana more expensive due to bigger size. If my memory is not wrong they only have 1,400 & 1,700 sft .

xSphina
post Oct 13 2019, 07:59 PM

101 posts

I've heard of Astrea which has 1,800sqft and big living n dining space (at least to me la ya) but not sure if it will be finished building by the time you move back cause scheduledcomplete around 2022 sweat.gif
Here's the link if you might wanna take a look: https://uemsunrise.com/storage/files/ast-si...chure210918.pdf

Not sure how you are hunting but I think the map feature in Land+ might help you with your hunt and convenient since got app too biggrin.gif
Link here -> https://www.land.plus/ and for your convenience in seeing the available prices in MK -> https://www.land.plus/kuala-lumpur/mont-kia...tments/for-sale
All the best in your hunt!~ thumbup.gif
Fendi Daud P
post Oct 16 2019, 12:44 PM

Probation

hello, i got one hottest Project nearby ikea, Feel free to contact me ya.. tQ. tongue.gif
NewMomKelly
post Oct 28 2019, 09:32 PM

76 posts

I personally recommend MK 28 and Mk 22 .

Mk 28 is very nice and well maintained , low density and life stop exclusively at your unit
wongkokhon85 P
post Jun 5 2020, 10:13 AM

Probation
23 posts

Self sustaining township close to everything. 70% of the population are made out of expats. My family also moved here from desa park city. Convenience
lightbulk
post Jun 8 2020, 11:03 AM

599 posts

QUOTE(wongkokhon85 @ Jun 5 2020, 10:13 AM)
Self sustaining township close to everything. 70% of the population are made out of expats. My family also moved here from desa park city. Convenience
Wow first time i hear ppl move to MK from desa park city.
But no doubt Mk is well located.
Desmondboy71 P
post Jun 22 2020, 08:01 AM

Probation
27 posts

idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eHome/laporanJualanRumah.cfm?pmju_Kod=13779&proj_Kod_Fasa=1&proj_Nama=KONDOMINIUM%20TWY

Pentamount 95% sold

TWY 95% sold

INSPIRASI 97% sold

Ardena land new project coming out! 2.4 million ringgit condo!

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/cove...lanned-launches

tanyauchuan
post Aug 6 2020, 04:16 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(BukitKing222 @ Jun 18 2019, 05:04 PM)
Ardena MK
changed to Allevia by UEM Sunrise dy

This post has been edited by tanyauchuan: Aug 6 2020, 06:24 PM
tanyauchuan
post Aug 6 2020, 04:17 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(wongkokhon85 @ Jun 5 2020, 10:13 AM)
for me, i choose MK rather than DPC😅 once stay MK never move out😅
tanyauchuan
post Aug 6 2020, 04:19 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Aug 6 2019, 11:26 PM)
why is Pentamount considered at the border? Though it is at Jln Kiara 5 which is still part of MK.

Any comments on Astrea?  Is the premium worth paying for UEM Sunrise property?  Concern is future development towards the north in the future.

I am looking for new developments and am more concerned on getting the right layout (prefer around 1800 with bigger living and master space and not too many other rooms). I like Pavilion Hilltop layout too but it appears  that the selling price is still quite high. There is also the WCT development coming soon next to it
Allevia by UEM Sunrise, size 1700sf-2500sf, 4units per floor, 2towers
tanyauchuan
post Aug 9 2020, 12:20 AM

379 posts

Allevia by UEM Sunrise

UEM Sunrise just done project Sefina
Underconstruction project Astrea, Kasih Kiara, Allevia
tanyauchuan
post Aug 19 2020, 05:08 PM

379 posts

This post has been edited by tanyauchuan: Dec 8 2020, 02:10 PM
tanyauchuan
post Aug 19 2020, 05:08 PM

379 posts

This post has been edited by tanyauchuan: Dec 8 2020, 02:10 PM
sibeh hoseh
post Feb 19 2022, 09:32 AM

66 posts

I'm wondering will the office or commercial lots doing better with so many projects still flooding mont kiara

Higher population should be able to fill and rent all offices and shops

I'm looking to invest here but not buying residential for sure cause I reckon its over built in this part of town
Cavatzu
post Feb 24 2022, 08:35 AM

2,832 posts

The residential population base does feed into the commercial activity which is highly attractive.

I wouldn’t write MK residential off which has been built gradually over 30 years. It is still a focal point for a specific aspirational lifestyle. It attracts expats and along with that higher rents which justifies higher asking prices. Can you say the same of areas like Old Klang Road or Subang which sit in the same tier of pricing?

It may be dense but it’s still preferable to these new one note developments with a single floor plan spread over a few thousand units.

0.0299sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:32 AM